Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Utah Beach

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Manche > Camping Utah Beach Reviews

Camping Utah Beach
Regine Et Bernard Cardet
La Madeleine
Manche
Normandy   (Browse area)
50480
Tel: (33) 02 33 71 53 69
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/04 To 28/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 11 Reviews
                8/10 from 11 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ianandgilly 22 reviews from this member

 We did a one night stopover as we wanted to visit the D Day museum.

This site is a gem - even though there was a group of students who were quite noisy! The owners had put them away from the motor homes so we hardly heard anything from them.

Good facilities and decent pitches and we could chose our spot. Easy access to the beach and a short walk to the museum. The beach is fabulous and if the weather holds out the pitches are great for sunbathing.

The only issue some people might have is with mixed facilities - they are supposed to be segregated but no one seemed to observe the rule.

Free wifi across the site was welcome too. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyphil 9 reviews from this member

 Staff were really friendly and helpful. We were only there two days which to be honest was about right for this campsite. The toilets, shower block washing up were looking all very tired. I think the new owner is working on it so hopefully it works. There is a pool and games room for kids but we did not have any so did not use. The campsite is right above the cliffs and you can walk down to the beach as see for yourself the problems that the US forces faced on D-day. There is a museum at the top of the road which is really good and had loads of things to look at. The American war graves were about 10 minutes drive away as well as the overlord museum which was very dark and hard to see things. I will visit again as there is so much history to see in this area so you need about 4 to 5 days to do it justice. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: SandraScot1 35 reviews from this member

 Just back from Normandy and spent 2 nights here. It's functional - however it's still out of season for the French and there wasn't much going on. The shop was not stocked, however the pool was open and the loos and showers (mixed) were fairly clean. There is a restaurant and bar on site but it never seemed very busy and we didn't eat there. There is an alternative 4* The Cormorant about 2 km further up the road and having stayed there before that would be my choice for this area. However out of season obviously means the ACSI Card is accepted which gets you a cheaper overnight rate. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Awesome60s 12 reviews from this member

 This is a splendid site at this time of the year (end August early September ) but remember perceptions can change depending upon how busy things get as the seasons change.

The generally large touring pitches are grassy over a sandy top soil with the obvious advantage of excellent drainage should it rain. Staff were professional and friendly. The two adequate toilet blocks serve opposite ends of the site. A Motorhome service point is adjacent to the main toilet block.

A lot of effort has been made to ensure the site is child-friendly. There is a covered swimming pool, a bouncy castle, crazy golf course, a playground, an aviary, and a small animal paddock. Although we did not use it, the Restaurant seemed to be very well patronised by local residents.

The site is in an excellent position: it's a short walk to one of the best WW2 Museums; a short drive to Ste Mere Eglise and its excellent Museum; and of course it's adjacent to the historic Utah beach. The villages in the surrounding area are most interesting and attractive.

In summary, at this time of the year, a splendid campsite well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Navman2860 6 reviews from this member

 We spent 7 nights here in August 2013. The site is a couple of minutes walk from the beach and about 10 minutes walk to the Utah beach landings Museum.

The site has a covered pool that our girls used more than once. The small shop stocks a few basics but I wouldn't rely on it for anything much more than the morning bread and ice creams:)

The showers are no longer push button and fine. There is a small child's play area and a few goats in a compound.

The beach is fine sand and shallow seas for quite a distance out.

We would use this site if we came back this way. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

 Had a one night stop before heading home via Cherbourg. It was the weekend after the DDay celebrations so lots of people with jeeps and dressed up on the site. Decent bar, had a takeaway pizza which was fine. Didnt use the pool etc, showers could have been better. They seemed to have goats and birds area for kids and crazy golf. 2 minute cycle to the museum which was fantastic.

We also cycled out and found the 101st airborne easy company monument down a little side road. (big band of brothers fan). Cycyled into the town again lots had been going on for DDay week, all camped out around the church, small museum there. Had a really good lunch in the restaurant looking at the church.

It was very cold and blowy the night we stayed but a lovely easy stopover for Cherbourg ferry. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gusmo 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 3 nights here as part of a two week tour round France. The site is just 2 mins walk from the beach which is lovely, wide flat and clean. We saw horses and chariots running alongside the waves in the sunshine, beautiful. We wanted to see the historical D Day sites and relics and the site is perfectly placed for this with the museum only a 10 mins walk along the beach. The nearby town of St Marie du Monte can be reached by bicycle in less than half an hour. It has a couple of restaurants and there are signs giving little insights into events of 6th June 1944.

We booked the site direct via the internet with no problems. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were directed to the motorhome service point on arrival. Pitch - it was near the portacabins at the end of the row and it easily accommodated our unit, which at 8. 3m is on the large size. We had hedges to two sides making our pitch private. The site was quiet with the 10. 30pm quiet rule observed by all.

Toilets - the main block was clean with unisex toilets and showers, toilet seats and loo roll. The showers were push button and not all that powerful, but were warm enough. The main block was locked between 10pm and 7am but the portacabins were available. Facilities - decent kids playground, goats, bouncy castle, tennis court and ball games area, swimming pool. The pool was covered so could be used in all weathers and it was clean, although a little on the cold side. The majority of campers were French and so the speedos rule was generally observed, however we did see a few bathers in surf shorts and no-one objected.

Shop -basic in that there was no fresh milk, only UHT, but there was fresh bread daily. Other essentials in jars/tins/packets were available but it mainly catered for gifts. Bar and restaurant - we didn't try but they looked nice. Two washing up sinks had no plugs so you will need a bowl. Would recommend the site to anyone wanting to visit the landing sites as it is perfectly located for this. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NickyNovinka 1 review from this member

 We stayed at Utah Beach for a week with our 6 year old son. We pre-booked and got a really good value deal using the Flower Camping Website.

We were lucky to get a massive pitch with views over fields, under some evergreen trees to give some shade.

The toilet block was clean and facilities were numerous enough to cope at high season.

We ate at the restaurant once and the food was high quality, the take away pizzas were also good. The pool was a bit small and did get crowded but the site was full when we were there.

The location of the campsite was pretty isolated (which we liked) and the beach was fantastic, 2 mins walk. We spent every evening watching the farmers harvest oysters and watching the sunset over the otherwise deserted beach. Loads of sea life to investigate along with the WW2 fortifications. The site is a 10 min stroll down the beach to the museum and Roosevelt cafe. There was a nature reserve 5 mins drive away.

We found the free Wi-Fi useful to contact the UK.

The only negative about the site was the entertainment on Thursday and Friday nights was rather loud, keeping my son awake. It did finish by 11pm though. They also played the same CD loudly for aqua-aerobics at 10am every day which did get a little wearing after 7 days!

All in all we had a great week and would recommend the site to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wenpip 12 reviews from this member

 This was the second (out of 3 sites ) site we visited as we wanted to visit the D-Day landing beaches and as this was smack bang on Utah Beach. The site was really easy to find with sat nav via the postcode and well signed posted.

It really was a 2 minute stroll to the Utah landing beach front and perfect for all the museums and general D-Day memorials etc.The beach was really lovely to sit on in the day and at sunset - really calm. The weather was perfect and my kids even swam in the sea which was warm.

The site is secure as it has a barrier and either reception open this for you or you can use the key card that they give you if reception is closed.

The pitches are individually marked with plot numbers - you were allocated a pitch either behind the reception / central area which was nearer to the modern shower blocks, toilets and swimming pool etc.Or on the others side (which is nearer to the beach if you are looking at their website picture) which had a couple of portacabin toilets and a portacabin shower but the ground here was really rocky and hard and we struggled pegging down. The site has permanent static caravans (residents lived here) too and they were dotted around.

Some of the pitches (behind reception / pool area had bushy hedges ( in need of a trim) and we couldn't read the pitch numbers - Some were shaded under tress.

We struggled with the pitch size for our 6 man Monty plus extension plus car - didn't have the feeling of space for example for cooking or for our table and chairs etc. A smaller tent would have been fine but you will definitely need rock pegs and would be a good idea for them to mention this on their web site. Many of the campers had camper vans and they seemed ok. I thought they should provide a pitch as appropriate to your tent size as some small 2 man tents were on huge pitches whilst we squashed onto our small pitch!

We both felt claustrophobic on this site - I love sitting outside the tent in my chair drinking endless cups of tea and watching the world go by and the kids playing , but they could not get round the back or sides of the tent and had to play off pitch. Again , some of the larger pitches had more room but you are allocated your pitch on arrival.

The park was really nice and new and the kids loved playing on this.

We both felt slightly uncomfortable in our pitch not least because a narrow rocky path / road divided us from the tent opposite and we could touch the camper van/ tents in the adjacent pitch.

We had really lovely hot weather and the kids went in the pool which was a little small for the number of people and got quite crowded but they had lots of fun.

We ate in the restaurant over the 2 nights - they had a specials menu that changed each day which was very tasty - everything is served with frites (fries) arghhh! but the food was lovely. The kids menu consist of choice of Pizza with a drink and ice cream.

There were x 2 toilet areas - 1 shower blocks was large, modern and clean and I never had to Q. The shower cubicles again, were good size .Really liked the showers and they had individual wash cubicles with a mirror and a sink. The others for those at the top end of our area/ pitch were had the portacabins but it was dead quick to walk to the nice block for privacy and luxury!

The washing up area had 2 sinks but no plugs- you need a bowl!

The shop had basic essentials and fresh bread each day and had wine, snacks and a few kids toys and gifts.

We wouldn't stay here again as it simply served a purpose to visit the D-Day beach and museums - We didn't really want to stay for the original 5 nights we had booked and rang round to find another site but don't let this put you off as I know lots of people who would love this type of camp (We spoke to one couple who had been there for a week and who were loving it!) - it just wasn't for us - but is definitely good for a 1 -2 night stay for the landing beaches and if you like a small busy, relaxed site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkeypotts 1 review from this member

 Great site, quiet, really friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and good value.
There were plenty of clean showers and toilets and never a lack of hot water and no extra to pay for using them.
The pitches were large enough for a big tent and a car and flat, but just a little muddy due to the rain.
The site is only a minutes walk from the beach which looked nice and clean and goes on for miles but we didn't have the weather to sit on it so it was pretty much deserted. I wouldn't imagine it gets too busy because the site is quite remote other than the Utah Beach Museum.
The site shop is fairly small but reasonably priced and has the essentials and fresh baguettes and croissants.
The on site food is great, either a take away pizza or from the restaurant which is good because it's a couple of miles to the nearest village.
The swimming pool looked clean but a little bit small and there's a small games room too with a couple of pinball machines.
Overall it's a nice little site which I would definitely use again, hopefully with better weather next time! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Utah Beach child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Utah Beach have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Utah Beach?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Utah Beach dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Manche      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6145 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement