Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Moulin Du Roch

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Sarlat > Camping Le Moulin Du Roch Reviews

Camping Le Moulin Du Roch
Route Des Eyzies
Sarlat
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24200
Tel: +33 05 53 59 20 27
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 195
Open: 22/05 To 22/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jwirwin 1 review from this member

Just returned from this site after 20nts, well what can I say ?, first impressions when we arrived after a 28 hour journey from Northern Ireland which included watching French farmers burn tyres in middle of a26 motorway was not very good as reception was closed, so had a walk around site which impressed us very much.

We eventually got on to our pitch & as we were setting up we came across 5 dead mice so we came to the conclusion that our pitch wasn't inspected or the grass cut. The pitch itself was very spacious & private but was in our mind very vulnerable to theft as the road running along side of pitch had no prevention to stop people from entering site apart from a little fence which a small child could climb.

The site itself is beautifully kept & staff very helpful who always acknowledged you, pool & bar very clean but Same problems exist on this site as every other site we have visited during the last 12years is ppl leaving towels on loungers which is very annoying cos the pools half full but no one on loungers so my wife decided to bring her own up which was a bit of a nuisance. The takeaway was fab as portions of frites was huge so 1portion done 2 ppl :) also pizza & burgers amazing so full credit to chef.

Cycling in area is very dangerous as road running front of site is very fast so was a bit disappointed as we love cycling. Sarlat etc is a fab drive or go the opposite way for prehistoric sites to include to beautiful village of les eyzies. Kids play area I thought was restricted and could be doing with more grass area, the lake needs a good clean as we spotted numerous dead fish dotted along edge of lake & was still there after 20 nights.

The wifi was absolutely dreadful & very expensive for what it is, I had to go by lake to get any kind of signal & even at that it would cost you a euro to read a few mails & took ages to disconnect while you were still being charged from your wifi time.

Finally a vetting process might be an idea as our last 3 days there was an absolute nightmare as 3 family's from Bristol I think, done nothing but roar & shout all day & night & urinate in the water facilities along with throwing rubbish into hedges. Overall campsite very nice but would not call it 5* as we have been to a few 3&4*sites around dordogne and would put it on same level as some of them also a bit on the expensive side for what it is.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rennavarac 6 reviews from this member

The best campsite restaurant we have every experienced with a good 3 course meal for 16. 50 Euro's. However, as this was the beginning of June, staff were still undergoing training and, on another night, the take-away rotisserie chicken was not properly cooked!

Friendly English speaking staff and a small shop selling baguettes and croissants. However, to buy the same from a traditonal boulangerie means a 18km round trip to Sarlat.

Pitches are adequate with plenty of water points. Understandably, pouring grey water down the water point drain is forbidden, but don't take a Wastemaster as hefting a full one 40cm to pour it down the waste water basin in the toilet block is hard work.

A fantastic area for site seeing and a lot to do.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vini 1 review from this member

My wife and I have spent a month at this site every year since 1999. We try other sites all over France before arriving at moulin. We stay in May & june and leave before the site gets busy in July.

Good Points

Very good heated swimming pool.

Good Take away and restaurant.

Good choice and size/type of pitches incl wifi.

Good fishing Lake.

Good shower/toilet/washing/block, plenty hot water.

Children play area incl fenced off pitch area.

Good choice of accommodation for friends.

Good supermarkets in the area.

Plenty of attractions in the area and Sarlat is a must for shopping and a large Saturday market.

Poor point

Waste/water emptying point is 24'' off the ground.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

Just back from this site. It was our first venture to the Dordogne area. On the whole we enjoyed both area and site although weather was very changeable with some rain every day! I spoke to rest of family (OH, 18yr old and 9yr old sons)and these are our pros and cons

Pros

Great reception, bar and indoor games (snooker and table football)

Beautifully maintained site

Very clean facilities

Great area to visit, lots to do and see

Good pool area

Snack shop chips - great

Cons

Pitches quite tight and shady really does mean very very shady!

Wifi useless!

Distance and hills/steps to toilets/ showers and washing up facilities

Entertainment bit hit and miss

Restaurant menu limited and didn't change from week to week.

Places to go

Canoeing/kayaking down Dordogne or Vezeres

Roque Saint Christophe

Lascaux II

Chateau de Fenelon

Great meal at Mentalo restaurant (Les Elzies de Tayac)

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nc-woods 4 reviews from this member

We had a wonderful stay here nothing was too much trouble for staff. Only thing that marred our stay was the fact that there was no notice of the rotisserie closing for the season, otherwise couldn't fault it.

Toilet blocks were spotless at all times pitches were plenty big enough for caravan, awning and car.

Restaurant was excellent not my favourite type of food in this area but well cooked and presented

Close to Sarlat and all attractions don't miss taking a canoe trip even for the aged it's great fun

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dodger936 12 reviews from this member

Well, what can I say, we started planning this holiday some months ago and had some excellent advice and assistance from other members.

We wanted to go to this area because my parents used to go to the Dordogne 20 years ago and they always raved about it. We looked for a site in the area and came across 'Le Moulin du Roche'

It looked an excellent site with good facilities and it also had great reviews on here, so we booked it!

We then found out from my Aunty and Uncle that not only was this the same area that Mum and Dad used to go, it was exactly the same site!

Anyway, was it all worth it, of course it was.

This has been the best holiday that we can remember. It was simply fantastic. We arrived on a Sunday in the pouring rain but then didn't see any more until the following Sunday. Apart from that the weather was fantastic. With regard to the site,

PROS -

Fantastic facilities, always clean and we didn't queue once while we were there.

Showers nice and hot and free

Situation - beautiful location, lovely site and area, nice walks, (we went on one of the mapped walks through the forests and I can't remember any nicer scenery, it was like being in a Disney film).

Shop - had everything we needed and a great selection of freshly baked goodies every morning. You simply put your name on the list outside the shop the night before and ticked the box(es) of the eight or nine choices that were there. Next day, you collected it from the shop and enjoyed it in the sunshine!

Reception - excellent, very helpful and good discounts available. We went canoeing down the Dordogne and it was not only arranged and booked for us by reception, they gave us a hefty discount as well! That was a day to remember for the rest of our lives and was worth the journey to the Dordogne on it's own! haha

The bar was our favourite haunt between 5ish - 7ish and we would sit outside watching the boules or just cooling down with an ice cold beer or some surprisingly potent home made sangria at 2 euros a glass.

The restaurant was great and we used it more than we've ever used an on-site eatery as the food was so good. The daily set menu was varied and very reasonable at 12 euros for 3 courses. The steak for 20 euros was mind blowing. It consisted of a very large piece of fillet, (not a slice but a whole end piece). This came on a very hot marble platter that you actually cooked it on yourself! You sliced a piece off and cooked it to your taste and enjoyed it! Heaven.

Pool area was super clean and pool was very very nice when it got hot.

The staff couldn't do enough and you could tell that they enjoyed making the holiday as good as it was.

I will be counting the days until we go back there.

Please remember that different people like different things and this was ideal for my Wife and I. It also looked great for families with children but it was 6 miles from the town of Sarlat so there was driving involved. Would I recommend it? of course!

Thanks again to the members on here who gave us invaluable advice and thanks to Le Moulin Du Roche.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

I would agree with others that this is a good campsite and thus I won't go over the good points. I do need however to add one major caveat. We had a less than happy time here and if we could have left we would have done but they would not refund any money at all, and as it is a very expensive site, we could not take 'the money hit' ( we had paid for two weeks)and just move on.

We had very specifically requested a quiet restful area on a 'grand comfort' pitch. The pitch was a good size but opposite the speakers from the swimming pool area. Every day, the speakers blasted out English pop music of the boom boom variety at all hours of the day, starting with pool aerobics at 10 am. It was incredibly loud. It was certainly the loudest I have ever heard on any campsite in my 25 years of camping and caravanning.

The disco thankfully is only once a week but went on until 12:15, but there were other musical shows as well.

If you want peace and quiet there are many areas you can choose from but not with a grand comfort pitch, so please be aware of this.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jamatsue 1 review from this member

Totally agree with previous comments. The weather was fantastic. Everything about our holiday was great. All staff were always happy and nothing was too much trouble. We were also on a serviced pitch near the main area which was lovely - close to everything but never noisy. The area is gorgeous - our 2 boys (12 & 10) said the highlight of the holiday was canoeing down the Dordogne; Sarlat and Rocamadour are a must see. We always stay on a Castels site when in France and this site is ideal if you want enough going on but not feel that you are at 'Butlins' abroad. The whole site has a lovely family atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stretch83 7 reviews from this member

Phew, what a scorcher - arrived in 39 degree heat, the warmth of the air was equal to the greeting when we arrived at site. Two adults and two children (7&13). We had booked a premium pitch, which came with full service facilities for waste and water, table and chairs for six, two sun loungers, sun umbrella, bbq and fridge - all in our own little shed. Fantastic - wholly recommend the extra. The two pools were warm and very inviting in the heat; the two wash blocks were clean and there was always space no matter what time of day / night. You can order bread / croissants for breakfast everyday, orders in by 6pm the day before. A samll, but well stocked shop on site was good, prices keen to compete with local Carefore at Sarlat (c. 10kms away). We booked a canoe trip down the river Dordogne with pick up from the site - very good, even with a 7 yr old.

Great site from which to explore the regions history of prehistoric man, cave dwellings and paintings and also the famed 'goose' etc etc

Camp site was very quite from around 10. 45pm onwards and cars are banned from 10. 30pm. Most of the managed sites are near the 'lake' but we had one much closer to all the main facilities, pool, snack - takeaway service, bar and restaurant, which was very, very good.

Great site, great location and we were lucky with unbelievable weather, with the odd thunder storm, but all cleared through by morning. We will certainly revisit.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John + Jan 13 reviews from this member

We were two adult parties - and we were not lucky initially with the weather. It was cool but the welcome was not. Usually most campsite offices show little interest in customers but, at this campsite, they were totally focussed on looking after us. There was also a superb heated pool which was the warmest place in the cool rain!

In addition there was a director of activities called Pomme who was wonderful - even persuaded an elderly man like me to come to Aquagym every day.

The pitches were individual and large and the only request is that tall trees be lopped to give more sun and hedges need to be grown to shelter us from road noise - but this was not a serious problem.

The toilets were very clean and well serviced and the restaurant simple, economical but served very good food with weekly theme nights, organised by the impressive patronne.

The other improvement we would recommend is air-conditioning in the bar and a sizeable TV which receives English football during the World Cup!

Castells is usually excellent - and Moulin du Roch is the best so far!

Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019