Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Port Land

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Port En Bessin > Camping Port Land Reviews

Camping Port Land
Chemin Du Castel
Port En Bessin
Normandy   (Browse area)
14520
Tel: +33 02 31 51 07 06


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 256
Open: 29/03 To 04/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 14 Reviews
                9/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Angus traveler 1 review from this member

Friendly staff, however we were given our plot which is always worrying. If you have tent, or, caravan, plots are very good grassy size. However 6. 5 meter heavy motorhome hardstanding plots doesn't leave much space for awning for either side or privacy. The lower end of our plot was a walkway for others to their tourers. If you look hard there some decent plots there, but not volunteered, or asked what our preference was. They also think nationalities need to be together, while the rest of the site lay empty. The 3 days we were there the toilet block and shower block did not appear to be cleaned throughout our visit.

It has been the most expensive site at €33 per night & disappointing. 600m from village?? Which is lovely on arrival and has all the requirements for a self catering. But if I was a young parent with pram or young children, disabled with wheelchair its trek I wouldn’t & didn't do twice, due to the very steep hill. Were reasonably fit 50+ with bikes. Positives, it does have a nice pool & restaurant, but wont be returning.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 19 reviews from this member

We found ourselves on this site after our motorhome broke down in Welwyn Garden City. Red pennant booked us in a sword mobile home, after we decided to continue our holiday, using a hire car that was provided.

All I can say is that they could not have booked us on à better site, for accommodation and position in Normandy close to Bayeux and the landing beaches. Sorry we had no need to use toilets and showers but always looked clean, the reception is a breeze as all speak good English, the bar and restaurant are reasonably priced, and you can also order bread.

All in all a good site and if we are in the area again we would pull our motorhome on the site for à few days. P's our motorhome is now fixed and we are mobile again thank you Red pennant Arthur

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

Just returned from ten days at Camping Port'land. This was our first trip to France with our caravan. We drove from Calais to Camping Port'land it took five hours and cost 40 euro in tolls each way, but the roads are really good to drive on with very little traffic.

The site is a lovely one

Check in was easy, staff very friendly and spoke good English. There is a one way system around the site.

Our pitch was huge and had ehu, grey waste drain and water. The entrance on to the pitch was a little tight between a light post and hedge. My motor mover had packed in but a Dutch gentleman and his two teenage sons came and helped me push the caravan onto the pitch.

This is a great site for families with a children's play area with two inflatable bouncy castles permanently up and free of charge. There is also a sports /football area for older kids, tv and games room upstairs. Indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fishing pond. The bar is nice and we ate in the restaurant twice, free wifi in the bar area.

There is a good mix of nationalities on the site with plenty of French, Dutch, English, Belgium, Spanish and Italian people.

The showers and toilet blocks are unisex as are the public toilets in France, they haven't got the same hang ups as we have in England

A fifteen minute walk to Port en bessin from the rear of the site, down hill as you get to the town (very steep coming out for the first 300m then level)

Super you supermarket which does self service fuel in Port en Bessin. The site is a great base to tour the area with the D Day landing sites, Bayeux is 5 miles away with the Bayeux tapestry and Bayeux catherdral which was consecrated in 1077 is stunning. The British war cemetery is in Bayeux and is a poignant place to pay your respects.

Caen is about 40 minutes drive away

We would definitely return to the site

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Noobfamily 1 review from this member

Stopped for 7 nights, Easy access to the site, Reception staff very helpful and spoke good english.

Pitch was a good size With its own EHU and fresh water tap, The site is all 1 way on the roads.

Toilets and showers are good and clean never had to wait for a shower,

Bar and food was good nice area out side to sit and have a drink free wifi in bar,

Plenty for kids to do, play area, indoor pool, outdoor pool.

Nice walk down into port en bessin on the road from access gate on rear of site, every friday night at 11pm july/august free firework display in port en bessin.

In the town is a super u, plenty of small shops and cafe's and a tabac,

Ideally place to visit normandy beach landings and bayeux,

Would we visit again ? Yes no problem at all.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Claregirl70 5 reviews from this member

We arrived here after spending 9 nights in Les 4 Vents outside Paris.

This is a large campsite but as it is in sections it doesn't feel as big as it is. The reception staff were very helpful and the restaurant staff, where we ate on our first night, were very friendly. Food service was a little slow as the restaurant was very busy, but they came to apologise and we were happy to just sit back and relax after what had been a very busy day. The food was good and we were welcome to stay and relax over a couple of drinks afterwards. There is a separate pizza/snack bar but we didn't use it.

When I was booking this site in January the reception staff very helpfully emailed me a site map to help us choose a pitch. We chose a pitch in the 'Rotunde' (167) which is a lovely area - a large circular shape with each pitch opening into a central area which contained a communal BBQ area. Just for info our first preference would have been pitch 169 but I was told that we wouldn't be able to drive our car into this pitch due to the narrow access path surrounding the Rotunde, but when we got there this and all the other pitches in this part had cars parked in them and the path easily accommodated this. Also, one other thing to be aware of, if booking this site, is that many of the pitches had the EHU/water stand in the centre of the pitch?! This was the case in many of the pitches around us and even though the pitches are a generous size, we would not have been able to fit our tent (8m x 4m) in them simply because of the location of the EHU/water stand. I guess we were lucky that ours was towards the side, but it's just something to ask about when booking.

Our daughters (14, 12 and 7) loved this site! They preferred it to Les 4 Vents simply because there was more for them (whereas hubby and I loved the simplicity and silence of 4 Vents)! The pool area was great with an indoor pool, outside paddling pool, and a bigger pool with 3 slides. I thought the playground was kinda basic with table tennis tables and a bouncy castle - but it was very popular with our kids, even the older one - maybe there was another one with swings etc in another part of the site, but I didn't see it. Our older 2 girls spent a lot of time in the 'hangout' room upstairs over the bar/restaurant where there were pool tables, fuss ball tables and seating. The free wifi in this area and around the bar/restaurant/reception was in great demand which resulted in it being very slow at times and often hard to connect to.

The sanitary block closest to us was modern and sizable with individual washbasin cubicles as well as the usual shower and toilet cubicles. There were also two lovely nursery cubicles with baby bath, changing area and tiny toddler toilet. There were ample washing-up sinks here too and laundry facilities. Cleaning took place regularly throughout the day and night and any mess was down to the bad manners of the other users rather than the quality of the cleaning. The campsite was pretty full when we were there but I never had to queue for a shower and there was always hot water. There were temperature controls in the showers and washbasins which were great as the max water temp was too hot for the kids.

The site was patrolled by security at night and even though it was very busy there was no noise at night.

Communal charcoal BBQ's were plentiful and located in every area of the site.

The occupants of this site were mainly French and Dutch with a few Belgian and Swiss. I didn't notice any UK cars and we didn't encounter any other Irish until another family checked in the evening before we left.

The location of Port'land is perfect for exploring the D-Day Landings sights which was our reason for stopping here on our way back to Cherbourg. The little town of Port en Bessin is only a kilometer or two away by car (only 700m on foot by pathway from back of campsite) and has a SuperU and some nice restaurants.

We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed it - the great weather helped! I have no hesitation in recommending this site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wally567 3 reviews from this member

Stayed a couple of nights en route back to the ferry. But if in the area would definitely stay longer.

Really liked it. Pitches were a good size, site was clean, good ablution facilities. I really liked the way in which the site is landscaped.

Small shop. Bar food seemed quiet expensive so did not try. But went to the pizza stand by the main entrance and thought these were the best pizzas we'd had. Topped full of ingredients.

Good pool which was quiet when we went there.

Nice little fishing village about 10-15 minutes walk away.

Only minor negs:

No direct access to a beach (10 mins drive away)

Could not access the wi-fi.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

I was touring the D-Day Beaches and this offered an ideal stopping point, in what is a very typical large, commercially owned French campsite that had it all and was a pleasant stop over.

The receptionist was very friendly and being English there was no language barrier to overcome. Rates were OK, about 20 Euro for one campervan, one person and EHU, but for this you had a very, very large pitch, I think it could have accommodated 4-5 campervans if necessary and it was completely secluded by high hedges, it was level and had its own water point.

The toilet facilities were unisex and while ample could have been a bit cleaner, I just felt that whilst the toilet pans and sinks got a going over with a cloth, that the rest of the block was somewhat neglected. There was a bar/restaurant on site that whilst I didn’t try looked good, the indoor swimming pool was large and warm and whilst it was speedo’s only for men only, I was able to sneak in in my swimming shorts.

The town of Port-en-Bessin is about 20 mins walk down and back up a very steep hill, there are a number of restaurants that look OK, but not brilliant, upon perusing all the menus I decided cooking in my van was the better option. I had stayed in Arromanche the night before and would definitely recommend that over Port-en-Bessin.

All in all a perfectly acceptable site if not a great site.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahpike 3 reviews from this member

This site has very generously sized pitches which are all enclosed by fairly well established hedges. The staff were overall very friendly and welcoming. The large bar and restaurant area was open despite it being the off season which was very good.

The toilet and shower blocks were kept exceptionally clean and were very child friendly, we did not encounter any problems in terms of high usage but I would imagine it would get quite congested during high season as there weren't so many toilets or basins. We would stay here again and thoroughly recommend it as a site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Laura31 20 reviews from this member

Stayed at this campsite for a week in the school summer holidays. It is in a great location. Just a short walk to Port En Bisson which is a lovely seaside town with several shops and restaurants. On Friday evening during high season there is a street market and a fantastic firework display. Then it is just a 5 minute walk back to the site (up a big hill though!). There are some good and some not so good pitches. A few were shared pitches so you are really close to your neighbour. One or two also had paths through them which meant constant pedestrian traffic which would have driven me mad. Our pitch was fine but not huge. There is a restaurant, we did not eat there but we did have Pizzas from the takeaway. The outside pool was very cold, there is also an indoor pool which is heated and good for those occasional rainy Normandy days. You can order bread, croissants etc but you do have to remember to order the day before. There is a small shop with limited opening hours. There was some interesting entertainment when we visited, including a day when a company set up lots of old fashioned toys and games which were great fun to try. There is a lake and imitation beach. The grounds are pleasantly landscaped and the loo blocks were good, although they did get very heavy usage in peak season. The location is great for sightseeing with lots to do in the area including the WWII beaches, American Military Cemetry which was very interesting, Caen, Bayeux tapestry - all worthwhile visiting. The other campers were mainly Dutch (about 90% I would estimate. ) Overall I would recommend this site and would consider returning.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Markpd999 6 reviews from this member

This is a great site, pitches are nice and flat and well defined with hedges that cut down some of the wind being at the top of a cliff.

Toilets and showers (best shower I've had in France) are great,hookups are available.Could do with more water standpipes.

Has two swimming pools one covered, second with slides, this pool was closed bettween 12 and 4 which I thought was a bit silly.

The site claims to have a shop but this is a bit of a joke as it only sells wine and milk and souvenirs.

Has well stocked fishing lakes but access could be a lot better.

Bar and restaurant are good if a little expensive and quite loud, Pint of Lager 5.20 Euros.

Site is in a ideal place to visit the Normandy beaches and the bayeux tapestry.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Port En Bessin      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder