Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tarn Foot Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Tarn Foot Farm Campsite Reviews

Tarn Foot Farm Campsite
Loughrigg
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9HF
Tel: 01539 432596
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 25
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 28 Reviews
                9/10 from 28 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   Wild Swimming 1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  28 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John83 1 review from this member

My friend and I recently stayed overnight at Tarn Foot Farm as part of a motorbike tour. The site met our basic requirements perfectly well. We were able to turn up and pitch without a problem, and the site owner warned us that the field and track might be slippy, but we were fine. We paid £5 (each) and pitched our two tents close to the entrance.

The field itself is at the bottom of a large hill and has few flat areas, but we managed to find somewhere vaguely flat, as had everyone else on the site. The ground is hard so bring a mallet or just hope for the best as we did. The site’s facilities are basic. There are two toilets at the side of the farm building, and one outdoor sink for everything else. Consequently it’s not a site if you like ‘glamping’, but this is camping as it should be. Cheap and basic, in a beautiful place, surrounded by nature.

The highlight of or stay was a night swim in the stunning Loughrigg Tarn which is 2 minutes walk from the site. If you enjoy nature and wild swimming then this is a great place to be. If you have a big motorhome or can’t cope without a children’s play area and on-site bar, then head somewhere else. Personally, I’d stay here again if I were in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Strawy 6 reviews from this member

A lovely little site.

Had read the reviews of this place and I wasn't disappointed at all.

Nice and basic but a brilliant location, field does slope but plenty of flat spots.

Stayed 2 nights for a tenner, a bargain, and I hope to return sometime.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HAshcroft 1 review from this member

My wife and I had a 5 night stay on this lovely campsite and it's exactly what were needed; quiet, rustic and pretty. The owners are very nice and the rules are few and easy to follow: no fires and no noise after 11. The field is not level but we loved that, as we didn't want to stay on a 'glamping carpark'. Having said that, we had no trouble pitching our large 6 berth tent. Do take along good tent pegs, as the ground is very hard due to naturally occurring stone. We loved sitting outside, watching the sunset and then hearing the owls hooting to each other; so peaceful! The site is an ideal base for exploring, either on foot or by car. There are countless walks to choose from and Ambleside is within walking distance or a few minutes by car. Watch out for those steep hills. The tarn is easily reachable by means of a stile and going up a small hillock, then down a small sloping field to the water's edge (watch out for the sheep/geese poop). For people complaining about no hot water and cobwebs in the loos (it's a very old farm out in the sticks, what do you expect?) Well, we easily sorted out a wash down by erecting 2 windbreakers to form a circle and placing a washing up bowl full of warm soapy water (from our kettle)on a camping table inside. Sorted :) There is a cold water tap over an old pot sink in the farm yard which is perfect for washing up, drinking water etc. I'd definitely go back to this site (Google Maps on our phone found it no problem, but remember to turn right at the red post box in the wall, coming up High Close, off the A593).

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dmsplat 16 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful and basic site that I would highly recommend. I was charged £3 per person and £2 for a car. The total facilities are a field, two very basic toilets and one old sink with a cold tap. That's it - and I think that's perfect.

The location is second to none in the heart of the lakes. It's just next to Loughrigg Tarn (good for fishing and swimming, apparently) and the site is right on a few footpaths.

You can walk across the fell to Ambleside - it's not a hard walk, but bits are quite steep. I can't remember how long the walk took, but I reckon an hour should do it.

The weekend I was there, the site was quite busy with DofE groups and other campers, but the facilities weren't strained and it was silent at 11pm.

If you love basic camping, being outside and having fun - this one should go on your list. I'm planning to go back in about four weeks toi carry on exploring.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

Beware - this site is NOT on the edge of the tarn!

But the views are excellent, with fields, trees, low hills and higher ones.

The toilets are some way from the site, and site facilities consist of two unheated toilets, and one outdoor sink (cold water only).

The grass was about a foot long, with few level pitches. However, there is no traffic noise, and thanks to the large field, we had a great distance between us and the other three tents. We camped on a Monday in June. Oh, the track is unsuitable for low slung vehicles.

Groups are not welcome except Duke of Edinburgh. No noise after 11pm, and no fires.

Charges - £3 per person plus £2 for a car.

Some idiot played on a drum for about ten minutes. Hopefully the farmer gave him a piece of his mind. Certainly, the selfish moron didn't play his drum again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Austens dad 2 reviews from this member

Now, I am really torn by leaving this review as I believe this is one of those little gems of a campsite that will just get busier the more people that know about it.

I will start off by saying this is a basic site. There is a field to pitch your tent, an out door tap and sink, 2 toilets and a view. Thats it. No shower block, no electric hook up, no kids play area etc.

The owners do not allow groups, its family's and couples only, the only exception being duke of Edinburgh.

The field for tents (or camper vans) is not the most level but there are flat areas. There is easy access wide enough for vans or large cars. The layout of the site means at most you are 200m away from the farm house where the toilets are. There are no rules about where to pitch, just find a place you like and set up.

The outdoor tap and sink services all cleaning needs for washing up etc.

The toilets are probably the cleanest ones I have ever been to on a campsite. The site owners seem very conscious about cleanliness and there is always a bountiful amount of quilted toilet paper (not your pound land special). I know this is a strange thing to review but is an important part of everyones stay.

The views speak for themselves. It is called tarn foot farm because it really is on the foot of a tarn.

This provided a much needed refreshing swim as well. The lake, sorry tarn is quite large and the site owners offer fishing at a minor cost, but swimming is free!

The owners themselves are lovely people and will more than happily freeze ice blocks, or chill the odd pint of milk. They really are that nice.

The site is less than 2 miles from Ambleside itself. Its a bit of a precarious walk home but this is a bus route if you want to leave your car behind.

There are ample walks from the site, one of my favourites is a short 3 mile walk to Elterwater and the Britannia Inn.

There is a great pub at Skelwith Bridge which is only 10 minutes walk down a hill from the site. (don't ask them about the legend of the thistle man)

There is every shop you could need in Ambleside, from a spar, coop and tescos that are open until 10pm, boots, camping shops and the like.

At the time we went it cost 16 pounds per night for 2 adults, 3 children and a car.

But beware, you cannot book places on this site. Its a turn up and first come first serve basis.

The owners do not advertise, there are no gimmicks, they have no website, there isn't even any signposts to is from the main roads.

So if you want a few days away on a no frills campsite, at an affordable price in the heart of the lakes then this is the site for you. We have just had 5 days there and loved everyone of them.

I have scored this site as 10/10 for everything, as if you expect what I have described above you cannot score it anything else.

Just don't t ell everyone!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stephen jones 2 reviews from this member

I first came to this site in about 1972 and as a child and I loved the freedom of the place. It was a regular holiday visit until 1982.

I`ve just been again some 30 years later and nothing has changed, nor will it ever

Change. Quiet, peaceful, tranquil, clean and friendly. You couldn`t ask for anything more or anything better.

100% recommended for swimming, fishing, walking / hiking, canoe or dingy boating. Perfectly safe for your youngsters and dog friendly.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Maggiesgirl 2 reviews from this member

Peaceful site, surrounded by wonderful scenery. Right next to Loughrigg Tarn, you can get tickets for fishing from the farm. A very quiet road leads to the farm; there is a private road with very little traffic which goes past the site.

Two toilets and an outside sink - perfectly adequate but not for anyone who wants a bit of luxury!

Would advise you avoid school holidays and bank holidays, can get quite crowded.

Skelwith Bridge is just a short walk down the hill with a wonderful gift shop and cafe, also Skelwith Force and the start of a nice easy walk to Elterwater. You can also get the bus to Ambleside here.

There is a great walk over Loughrigg Fell into Ambleside.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jules0377 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, does what it says on the tin. Owners are great, when we told them we were going up ScarFell Pike they warned us that 4 walkers had to be rescued the day before and they even checked on us to make sure we arrived back that evening. It was lovely and quite, great to get away from big sites.

The toilets were always clean. It's a great basic site, good to get away and back to basics. The hint about the red post box was very useful.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: If only 1 review from this member

Just spent one night, wish it could have been more! At this gem of a site. Great if you like the basic site with amazing views and walks. Owners could not have been friendlier, they even loaned me a pan to boil water as I had forgotten to take the kettle! Toilets clean. Walked into Grasmere and around Loughrigg Tarn, the weather was beautiful which enhanced this lovely walk. Children and dogs were never a problem and the site was quiet after dark. The only downside was we had to come away but we plan to stay longer next time.

Previous     28 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019