Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Site Reviews

Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping
Poyston Cross
Crundale
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 4EB
Tel: 01437 731777
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 34 Reviews
                7/10 from 34 Reviews

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dymmockmorgan 1 review from this member

We are a family of five and a puppy we have visited Ginger Hill several times over the years and really enjoy the non commercial campsite.

If you like all the entertainment, swimming pool, shops then this is not a site for you.

If you like the hands on camp fires and NO Doís & Dontís then this is a site for you.

As we know the area quite well this is an ideal site to make as a base to explore the Pembrokeshire area.

We looked at staying here last year 2017 for our family holiday however Richard the owner was very honest and explained that the old shower and toilet facilities were no longer fit for purpose.

We emailed Richard late July 2018 and Richard said the toilet and shower facilities had been upgraded and that they are part of the Greener Camping Scheme and wow what an improvement.

Richard has invested a lot of time and effort to bring the facilities up to an excellent standard.

As a family we wish Ginger Hill every success in the future and look forward to visiting again.

Thank you for an enjoyable holiday.

The Dymmock-Morganís

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenCampbell 1 review from this member

Having visited Ginger Hill a few times over the past year, my latest visit saw much-improved toilet and shower block improvements which now sparkle!

The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, and I loved being allowed to pitch my tent amongst the trees by the lake.

I'll be back!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Homelovingal 5 reviews from this member

We visited this caravan site recently. We did read the previous reviews but after looking at the website we felt that it must have greatly improved to have such a sophisticated looking website. It hasn't. My review can only echo what has been said on previous years. This site was neglected. The shower/toilet facilities are a disgrace. On arrival there was no hot water, one hot tap didn't work at all and nor did the hand drier. The facilities are housed in a portakabin that was dirty and neglected. The rubbish bins outside were overflowing onto the floor and obviously hadn't been emptied for some time. This site has huge potential but it should not be expecting guests to pay for such conditions. The owner is pleasant but made excuses.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: With John 2 reviews from this member

Such a disappointment. What could be a beautiful campsite a in wonderful setting is in fact a run-down, over-priced campsite of disappointment. On the plus side, its wonderfully quiet, secluded and was great for our dog to enjoy the open spaces off the lead. On the negative side, the site is very boggy because of poor drainage and the copious unmanaged trees which are way past needing to be thinned out. The toilet block is dirty and largely unmanaged (although the toilet itself was clean at the time). The toilets aren't heated and have cobwebs everywhere, doors that don't close properly and just don't justify the per-night price. The chemical toilet disposal area looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks.

Its all such a shame, the campsite has wonderful potential if only it was managed properly. We felt that the people who run it just don't care and at £17. 00 a night its currently double the price it should be for the standard offered.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lyn Pitman 1 review from this member


Just had a wonderful weekend at this campsite the owner was very friendly and helpful with directions.

The site itself was wonderful for children to run and play with various tyre swings dotted around the grounds and various little woodland areas for them to play and have fun, there was a really good fishing lake there so next time the boys will definitely want to take their rods.

Every where was clean and tidy did not see any litter anywhere, the toilets and washing up area was spotless.

Would definitely recommend this site if you are looking for a quiet peaceful holiday and don't want the kids asking you to put your hand in your pocket constantly, as there is nothing there to spend any money on which is a bonus as we had our children, Grand Children & Niece with us !

We had a party of 6 two adults, then 17, 16, 7 and 8 months old and every one had a lovely time.

To sum up if you want to get away from it all and let kids run and play safely this is the site for you.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tessietwo 5 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site over Easter 2012. Luckily we only booked for 1 night. We were impressed by the slick website and the £10 a night fee (no EHU).

On driving up to the site it looked impressive, lovely house and cottage but as we had a small dog on board our motorhome the farm dogs saw our dog and chased our motorhome down to our chosen pitch and stayed outside for a while. This made me feel uncomfortable and I wasn't happy as we had to pay an extra £1 a night for our dog who was too scared to go outside.

We were disappointed by the shower/toilet block. It was a very old portable cabin, with plenty of spiderwebs to prove its age. The paint was peeling off the internal and external walls, the toilets were dirty and the door to the female shower could not close, which was very inhibiting.

When using the outside sink next to the toilet portable cabin, to wash up, there was rotting bales next to it, don't know why they were there, but their smell was extremely off putting.

The site was very waterlogged and even though there were hard standing areas it was still messy, especially with a dog and going back and forth to the toilets.

Unfortunately we wouldn't go back to this site again.

Management response: We were refurbishing the toilet block around the time of this review, £500 has been spent just to paint it.

New decking, seating area and fishing pegs have also been added.

The wettest April on record is only going to cause wet ground conditions!

My dogs are the friendliest dogs you could ever meet

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lilypaul 1 review from this member

We have just spent our main two week holiday at this site. The day we arrived the campsite was waterlogged as we arrived another couple who had also recently arrived were just thinking of leaving, we had a chat and as none of us were familiar with the area decided to stay. Fortunately the pitches were hardstanding, ours just wide enough for the van, we did find a local shop however who gave us an unending supply of cardboard so we could access the van without slipping or sinking into the mud. On the subject of locals and the local area, the nearest town was Haverford West very convenient area in which to stay to access pembrokeshire, the people were incredibly friendly and helpful and the town has every amenity you could wish for.

We chose this site for the fishing, my husband being an avid fisherman, this was very disappointing the lakes were full of weeds and most of the pegs overgrown. The facilities at the site are basic, a portacabin in need of a lick of paint, houses the toilets and showers. Previous to us being there a family of 60 had stayed, some sort of reunion I think and to be honest our first purchase was a bottle of bleach for my husband to clean off the excrement on the gents toilet. We never used the showers.

On the positive side the scenery around the site is beautiful the woodland setting is lovely. We enjoyed the use of the firepits, it was very tranquil the trees surrounding each pitch give great protection from the wind and created a lovely atmosphere of peace. The owner is a really nice laid back guy, overall we enjoyed our holiday but will probably try to do more research on facilities in future especially travelling hundreds of miles, though we would happily go back to Pembrokeshire.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Colm123 1 review from this member

A great camp site for those who don't require lots of facilities.

Firstly the negative points for us.

Toilet and shower block is small and a little tatty but its warm and free. Site can get a little boggy after rain. Signage at the entrance to the campsite is very small and we missed it twice on arrival.

Positives.

The Owners are very friendly and helpful not just with site issues but on what is around the area. You can have campfires in the barrels provided and they also have firewood available. Its £10 a night!

Would I go back? Yes! Lovely area and great owners and if like me all you need is a pitch and basic facilities

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sophia9187 2 reviews from this member

We have just come back from a very enjoyable week at this campsite, so much so that we had to extend our stay for a few days.

Ginger Hill is a lovely campsite in very picturesque settings!

On our first day we asked the owner about a fire pit and as well as supplying us with one of these he even gave us a box of free wood to get us started (old offcuts etc) This box lasted us almost the whole week! Richard the owner is extremely friendly and always engaged us in conversation.

The three lakes are lovely to look at and we were able to pitch our tent right at the waters edge. The small lake is brilliant for children, we were pulling small fish out of there constantly.

The bigger lake does have bigger fish in it but due to the amount of weed it can be quite tricky to fish. Richard said he would be addressing this in the Autumn.

Toilets and showers were basic but kept as clean as possible for a portacabin. We were sleeping in a field so can't complain really :)

As for the local area Morissons and Tescos are short drives away, horse riding and fishing is available near by and we were 40 minutes from beautiful Tenby.

Will we be back again? Definitely!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

We really liked this site.

Set almost equi-distant from north, south and west coasts of Pembrokeshire this site is ideally placed to explore the county.

The site itself consists of several pitches dotted about in fairly mature conifer woodland threaded by gravel tracks. Some of these pitches are taken by resident vans. There are also a couple of small fields with unmarked pitches. One of the fields is open on three sides, another is surrounded by woods. We pitched on the field surrounded by woodland and it was extremely sheltered. There was no EHU on our field unless you had a very long lead.

Water is from standpipes. The loos and showers are in a portaloo cabin which has definitely seen better days, paint peeling off the walls etc. But please don't let that put you off, the loos are kept very clean and the showers are free.

There were firepits to be grabbed and the owner sells a sack of wood for a fiver if you can't be bothered to seek your own. The owner was very friendly and chatty but not 'in your face'. There are a couple of fish-stocked lakes in the grounds for serious fishermen and children using dip nets. It's a fairly noisy site, but in the nicest possible way, it's just full of birdsong, plus distant sheep and cows. There were only about six other units on site during a sunny half-term week.

There is a big Morrison's supermarket (with petrol station) on the edge of Haverfordwest as you drive from the campsite (5 minutes). Plenty of other shopping as well in the town.

You are, of course, in the centre of the Pembroke coast national park a terrific area for walking. Check out their website for downloadable walks leaflets, anything from a gentle stroll to a strenuous full day hike. The beaches are amazing swimming, surfing, sand, shingle, rock pools, take your pick. You can get good views of nesting seabirds on some of the sea stacks dotted along the coast. The cathedral at St Davids is delightful and has a very pleasant cafe. The Botanical Garden of Wales (40 mins) is well worth a visit.

If we go back to this part of Wales, and there's plenty to go back for, we will definitely be using Ginger Hill.

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019