Log in or Register

Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us


Reviews of Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping Reviews

Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping
Poyston Cross
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 4EB
Tel: 01437 731777
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 16
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 35 Reviews
                7/10 from 35 Reviews

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (2)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Darranlamb 1 review from this member

 Spent a lovey bank holiday weekend at Ginger Hill.

The owners Richard And Julie were very welcoming and friendly and have a wealth of general knowledge.

A lovely peaceful location and a great place if you like to fish!

Will be booking to stay again 
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dymmockmorgan 1 review from this member

 We are a family of five and a puppy we have visited Ginger Hill several times over the years and really enjoy the non commercial campsite.

If you like all the entertainment, swimming pool, shops then this is not a site for you.

If you like the hands on camp fires and NO Doís & Dontís then this is a site for you.

As we know the area quite well this is an ideal site to make as a base to explore the Pembrokeshire area.

We looked at staying here last year 2017 for our family holiday however Richard the owner was very honest and explained that the old shower and toilet facilities were no longer fit for purpose.

We emailed Richard late July 2018 and Richard said the toilet and shower facilities had been upgraded and that they are part of the Greener Camping Scheme and wow what an improvement.

Richard has invested a lot of time and effort to bring the facilities up to an excellent standard.

As a family we wish Ginger Hill every success in the future and look forward to visiting again.

Thank you for an enjoyable holiday.

The Dymmock-Morganís 

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HelenCampbell 1 review from this member

 Having visited Ginger Hill a few times over the past year, my latest visit saw much-improved toilet and shower block improvements which now sparkle!

The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, and I loved being allowed to pitch my tent amongst the trees by the lake.

I'll be back! 

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Homelovingal 5 reviews from this member

 We visited this caravan site recently. We did read the previous reviews but after looking at the website we felt that it must have greatly improved to have such a sophisticated looking website. It hasn't. My review can only echo what has been said on previous years. This site was neglected. The shower/toilet facilities are a disgrace. On arrival there was no hot water, one hot tap didn't work at all and nor did the hand drier. The facilities are housed in a portakabin that was dirty and neglected. The rubbish bins outside were overflowing onto the floor and obviously hadn't been emptied for some time. This site has huge potential but it should not be expecting guests to pay for such conditions. The owner is pleasant but made excuses. 

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: With John 2 reviews from this member

 Such a disappointment. What could be a beautiful campsite a in wonderful setting is in fact a run-down, over-priced campsite of disappointment. On the plus side, its wonderfully quiet, secluded and was great for our dog to enjoy the open spaces off the lead. On the negative side, the site is very boggy because of poor drainage and the copious unmanaged trees which are way past needing to be thinned out. The toilet block is dirty and largely unmanaged (although the toilet itself was clean at the time). The toilets aren't heated and have cobwebs everywhere, doors that don't close properly and just don't justify the per-night price. The chemical toilet disposal area looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks.

Its all such a shame, the campsite has wonderful potential if only it was managed properly. We felt that the people who run it just don't care and at £17. 00 a night its currently double the price it should be for the standard offered. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lyn Pitman 1 review from this member

Just had a wonderful weekend at this campsite the owner was very friendly and helpful with directions.

The site itself was wonderful for children to run and play with various tyre swings dotted around the grounds and various little woodland areas for them to play and have fun, there was a really good fishing lake there so next time the boys will definitely want to take their rods.

Every where was clean and tidy did not see any litter anywhere, the toilets and washing up area was spotless.

Would definitely recommend this site if you are looking for a quiet peaceful holiday and don't want the kids asking you to put your hand in your pocket constantly, as there is nothing there to spend any money on which is a bonus as we had our children, Grand Children & Niece with us !

We had a party of 6 two adults, then 17, 16, 7 and 8 months old and every one had a lovely time.

To sum up if you want to get away from it all and let kids run and play safely this is the site for you. 

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tessietwo 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site over Easter 2012. Luckily we only booked for 1 night. We were impressed by the slick website and the £10 a night fee (no EHU).

On driving up to the site it looked impressive, lovely house and cottage but as we had a small dog on board our motorhome the farm dogs saw our dog and chased our motorhome down to our chosen pitch and stayed outside for a while. This made me feel uncomfortable and I wasn't happy as we had to pay an extra £1 a night for our dog who was too scared to go outside.

We were disappointed by the shower/toilet block. It was a very old portable cabin, with plenty of spiderwebs to prove its age. The paint was peeling off the internal and external walls, the toilets were dirty and the door to the female shower could not close, which was very inhibiting.

When using the outside sink next to the toilet portable cabin, to wash up, there was rotting bales next to it, don't know why they were there, but their smell was extremely off putting.

The site was very waterlogged and even though there were hard standing areas it was still messy, especially with a dog and going back and forth to the toilets.

Unfortunately we wouldn't go back to this site again. 
Management response: We were refurbishing the toilet block around the time of this review, £500 has been spent just to paint it.

New decking, seating area and fishing pegs have also been added.

The wettest April on record is only going to cause wet ground conditions!

My dogs are the friendliest dogs you could ever meet

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilypaul 1 review from this member

 We have just spent our main two week holiday at this site. The day we arrived the campsite was waterlogged as we arrived another couple who had also recently arrived were just thinking of leaving, we had a chat and as none of us were familiar with the area decided to stay. Fortunately the pitches were hardstanding, ours just wide enough for the van, we did find a local shop however who gave us an unending supply of cardboard so we could access the van without slipping or sinking into the mud. On the subject of locals and the local area, the nearest town was Haverford West very convenient area in which to stay to access pembrokeshire, the people were incredibly friendly and helpful and the town has every amenity you could wish for.

We chose this site for the fishing, my husband being an avid fisherman, this was very disappointing the lakes were full of weeds and most of the pegs overgrown. The facilities at the site are basic, a portacabin in need of a lick of paint, houses the toilets and showers. Previous to us being there a family of 60 had stayed, some sort of reunion I think and to be honest our first purchase was a bottle of bleach for my husband to clean off the excrement on the gents toilet. We never used the showers.

On the positive side the scenery around the site is beautiful the woodland setting is lovely. We enjoyed the use of the firepits, it was very tranquil the trees surrounding each pitch give great protection from the wind and created a lovely atmosphere of peace. The owner is a really nice laid back guy, overall we enjoyed our holiday but will probably try to do more research on facilities in future especially travelling hundreds of miles, though we would happily go back to Pembrokeshire. 

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Colm123 1 review from this member

 A great camp site for those who don't require lots of facilities.

Firstly the negative points for us.

Toilet and shower block is small and a little tatty but its warm and free. Site can get a little boggy after rain. Signage at the entrance to the campsite is very small and we missed it twice on arrival.


The Owners are very friendly and helpful not just with site issues but on what is around the area. You can have campfires in the barrels provided and they also have firewood available. Its £10 a night!

Would I go back? Yes! Lovely area and great owners and if like me all you need is a pitch and basic facilities 

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sophia9187 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a very enjoyable week at this campsite, so much so that we had to extend our stay for a few days.

Ginger Hill is a lovely campsite in very picturesque settings!

On our first day we asked the owner about a fire pit and as well as supplying us with one of these he even gave us a box of free wood to get us started (old offcuts etc) This box lasted us almost the whole week! Richard the owner is extremely friendly and always engaged us in conversation.

The three lakes are lovely to look at and we were able to pitch our tent right at the waters edge. The small lake is brilliant for children, we were pulling small fish out of there constantly.

The bigger lake does have bigger fish in it but due to the amount of weed it can be quite tricky to fish. Richard said he would be addressing this in the Autumn.

Toilets and showers were basic but kept as clean as possible for a portacabin. We were sleeping in a field so can't complain really :)

As for the local area Morissons and Tescos are short drives away, horse riding and fishing is available near by and we were 40 minutes from beautiful Tenby.

Will we be back again? Definitely! 

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ginger Hill Caravan And Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities

Other Sites Near Haverfordwest      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions

4007 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022