Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Westhill Farm Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Westhill Farm Caravan Park
Catherine Street
East Huntspill
Highbridge
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA9 3PX
Tel: 01278 786326
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 15th February -14th January

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (5)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Camper2015 1 review from this member

Lovely week in a gorgeous peaceful setting right next to river. Kids enjoyed meeting the cows, sheep donkeys and chickens and helping collect eggs. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location - convenient for beach and kids entertainment at Burnham on Sea and Brean. Good facilities available with ongoing upgrades. We can't wait to visit again next year and see the finished results. Thanks again for a great holiday!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paucoop702 1 review from this member

Had a lovely pitch with electric and water by the river. Beautifully kept site with lots of improvements being made. Little gem of a place with Donkeys sheep chickens and cattle, lovely free range eggs for sale too. Some lovely places to walk dogs and the fishing looks good we can't wait to get a license ang go back. There are two lovely pubs near by so will have to give them a go. The owner is friendly and helpful and is around if you need info or eggs etc.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DebDerry 3 reviews from this member

This was a great caravan site consisting of a static caravan park and two touring caravan fields.

Access is via a narrow lane which was a bit tricky, but we have quite a large outfit, (Vectra estate and ACE Northstar Caravan).

Our pitch was on the river meadow right by the riverside. It was a lovely spot.

The site facilities were a shower block divided in two with a male and female toilet and shower in each half. Although basic, these were always clean and well serviced. There is a much larger shower block under construction that looks like it will be great when completed.

There were some donkeys in an adjoining field that children loved to feed and pet, but no playground as such.

There was plenty of room for kids to run around, but I would say the large field away from the river meadow would be a better bet if you have kids. Obviously a river can present a danger to unsupervised children.

We enjoyed a riverside walk through fields to the local pub. This took us about half an hour. Although it was not difficult, if you have any mobility problems I wouldn't attempt this. There were two pubs within walking distance and both serve good food at a reasonable cost. It would take less than five minutes by car to get to these two pubs.

Burnham and Brean were about half an hour away and we enjoyed a walk over Brean Downs and along the sands of an evening. All the shops you could need are here. This is Somerset, so there was a local Cider Farm just down the road, mmm lovely!

There was a little road noise in the distance from the motorway, but sitting and listening to the river soon blocked it out.

The owners were nice helpful people and the site was very well maintained. Ask about the home grown meat, it's delicious.

A great base to see the west coast of Somerset from.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Earl of Greystoke 1 review from this member

I camped at Westhill Farm for 3 nights in mid-week with four work colleagues (aged 32 to 63) on our annual fishing trip. I visited the site 2 weeks before booking to check it out and it was ideal for us.

Mrs Heald, who was very helpful and friendly, gave us a level grass pitch with electric hook up next to the River Brue. This is a pretty river which at the farm runs through a mixture of pasture and woodland- We saw plenty of wildlife including Herons, Kingfishers and woodpeckers- we also caught plenty of fish!

We ate at the Crossways Inn which is 5 minutes away at West Huntspill- this was CAMRA Somerset pub of the year 2013- a rare find. Even closer is the Crown at East Huntspill which we also visited- a lovely free house with good beer and food. For us the site was very convenient for the King's Sedgemoor and the Huntspill rivers where we had some great fishing.

I note previous comment on the motorway which is weel screened and at its closest is over a quarter of a mile from the site. Although we were aware of it it did not bother us either when fishing or in our tents.

The grounds are very well maintained and there is a large modern shower/toilet block currently under construction.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rob19 2 reviews from this member

Went to visit this site again with my friend to show him this great little site I found back in May. Fished the river and basically had a nice peaceful weekend. We will both definitely visit again soon. The owners are very helpful pointed out which pubs to visit etc. Working very hard on improvements both on the touring site and the static caravan site some really nice vans for sale, wish I could afford would buy one tomorrow.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campingqueens 3 reviews from this member

The site description is quiet, anything further from the truth is all we can say, the noise from the motorway is continuous. The motorway is actually visible from the driveway of the site. We had originally booked for 6 nights but gave up after 3 having not had any sleep. When we went to settle up the owners insisted we still pay for the full six nights as they didn't think it was noisy! We had tried to find the owners on a daily basis to discuss the problem with them but they were not around, on the one occasion we found someone we were told we needed to find the owner but she was off site at present. The new shower block still isn't completed so you are relying on one toilet and one shower for all the resident caravans and tourers. All we can say is we strongly recommend you do not use this site if you are in a tent, maybe the noise wouldn't be so bad in a van but the noise will be with you the whole time you are outside.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob19 2 reviews from this member

Just returned home after our stay at Westhill farm, my husband and I have been touring for nearly 30 years and have to say that it is one of the best sites we have ever stayed on!

We stayed for 10 days and have already booked for next year.

We were met on our arrival by the owners who personally showed to our pitch, we had a riverside pitch with excellent views of the river, we asked if we needed to settle up there and then and were told absolutely not, get set up have a cup of tea and we'll see you later.

The park is beautiful and well maintained and obviously having a lot of money spent on it, a new toilet block was being built during our say and I understand it will have individual private bathrooms and looks like its going to be stunning. The existing toilets were very clean warm and had lots of hot water for showers plus it is free!

The owners are very hard working and are always doing something no matter what the time of day, but never to busy to stop for a chat. My husband took his fishing tackle with him and the owners son took the time to walk along the river with him and show him the best fishing spots, as a result he managed to catch his biggest ever Carp.

We loved visiting the farm animals especially feeding the donkeys, the eggs for sale at reception are amazing!

All in all a lovely park quiet, peaceful not in any way commercialised, can't wait to go back next year, just a shame we didn't find it sooner.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Arab 3 reviews from this member

We were using this site as a stop over on our way to Cornwall and thought after reading reviews for the previous two years about updating the out dated showers and toilets thought these would now be done and this would be a nice little stop over. Wrong the site is awful the toilets and showers were disgusting and to say the least we couldn't wait to get going the next morning. We only saw the owner on arrival and that was enough

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Markclairejamie 1 review from this member

We stayed here in June, we found the campsite clean and friendly. Toilet facilities clean although need updating which we understand is being undertaken.

Touring pitches in large field each pitch has their own water and electric points, plenty of space for our small child to run around in and fenced off from the river.

Our son loved looking at the farm animals which you are free to do at your own leisure. The site is well located a short car ride from Burnham on Sea, Weston Super Mare and Cheddar Gorge.

Well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suze2603 4 reviews from this member

Lovely 'CL' site, tourers being in a fenced off corner of a field at the back of the farm.

We 1st came here several years ago, before the farm changed hands and can see that great improvements have taken place, and are planned for the future.

Each pitch has its own hook up and water tap, and the toilet block is a short walk away. I understand the owners are planning to improve these facilities, which are ok, but obviously in need of updating-don't let that stop you from visiting though, because this is a lovely hidden gem of a place, with farm animals and donkeys for kids to look at, and beautiful free range eggs for sale. Good dog walking area, miles away from any busy roads, though the M5 is across the fields. As previous reviewers have noted, there is some motorway noise, but it's not intrusive.

Very handy spot for Glastonbury, Street Shopping Village Burnham on Sea, Weston-Super-Mare and Wells.

Friendly, welcoming owners on secure quiet site-yes, we'll visit again, if only to get more eggs and pet the donkeys in the next field!

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


695 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0908