Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Roseland Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Isle Of Bute > Roseland Holiday Park Reviews

Roseland Holiday Park
Canada Hill
Rothesay
Isle Of Bute
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA20 9EH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 8 Reviews
                7/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elmo the motorhome 26 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights.

Unfortunately, this is the only site on the Island. Tourers are wedged in between the numerous statics on the site. If located on hard standing pitches you will overlook / be overlooked by statics a few metres in front / behind you. Likewise, on the sloping grass itches (chocks needed) you will have static caravans above you.

Overall facilities are average. There is one shower in each (men / ladies / unisex) and a single dishwashing sink.

The isle of Bute is well worth a visit. A beautiful location.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Stayed for 2 nights to see the island. First thing to say is the toilet block is immaculate. Its been refurbished and very clean - couldn't fault it. Hardstanding area is a little small but does its job, ehu and water behind pitch. If you want to sit outside your van all day its maybe better on the grass pitches but we found the hardstanding more than adequate to use for the evenings. Chem disposal and recycling on site and its all kept very well and statics are well looked after too.

Watch out if you use Sat Nav from the ferry - ours took us up a very winding set of switchbacks, we had to reverse to get round corners and we are only 6m - stay on the main road up the hill.

The island is well worth a visit a lovely circular drive round and some beautiful beaches. Mount Stuart appears to be the main attraction with events on most days. Ettrick Bay is stunning, miles of beach and views over to Arran, nice little cafe on the beach. Rothesay has a good collection of shops, you can buy pretty much anything you need there. A few cafes and several pubs plus lovely gardens all the way along the promenade. A proper Victorian resort which is showing a few signs of neglect in a few places but on the whole is really well kept.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Libbtylou 4 reviews from this member

We went with the family that have left the last review and would mirror all the comments they left, The site is lovely and everyone was very welcoming.

Yes, it is on a slant but we just pitched feet down which is great for sleeping (Tip: take spare iceblocks to level tables. )

The caravans are behind where you pitch but they are on raised decking which is about 10ft high so you don't feel like you are pitching in front of them!

The toilet block is spotless and we never had to wait for anything including the showers. Yes, they are £1 but it lasted for ages and I switched it off before it ran out!

The town is walkable and there is plenty to see for a long weekend.

Book with confidence as we always worry about sites but this site was great!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OLLIE04 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from this fab campsite, the toilets were spotless and I am very fussy on this subject. The site was mainly static caravans that were all beautifully kept. Our camping field was situated in the middle of all the static homes, this was great for keeping an eye on all of our little ones, close to the toilets, washing up facilities etc. (even a cold drinks machine great idea). Pool room for the kids. The owners were friendly but left you alone. The rates were brilliant £12 per night no electric but its there if you want it. Its on a slight hill but didn't bother us in the slightest. We had amazing views. A short walk to the town, great exercise on the way back up the hill. Would definitely recommend it. It was excellent for us.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leolion 12 reviews from this member

Arrived for the Rothesay Games and first time here (first time doon the water)

Firstly, before I get to the site, I am bit surprised no-one mentioned this for others - When we came along the front in Rothesay we seen the tourist brown square sign for Campsite, turned right into a one way street and at a junction seen a sign for Canada Hill (as per address of site) going to the left but no other sign for campsite so we took to the left and seen other sign for Canada Hill so went up this hill and this goes up quite steeply going left to right quite tightly when towing a 21st Van, you need to check before approach.

Where I turned left you should go straight and 1/4 mile you will see a brown camp site sign point to the left turn here and about a mile up the hill (if you pass golf course – you’re on track). Enough driving.

Upon arriving what we thought was the reception was the toilet block/games room, reception was near back of site, once found the owner (was friendly) he showed us to our pitch

This was a row that was for M/Homes and Tourers and there are about 10 spaces with electric hook up - This row is situated in between two rows of static left and right and was opposite the Toilet Block/Games Room, not really ideal for the owners of the static vans.

I am assuming that if you did not want electric hook up then you would be put where other reviewer's have put - in a grassy area in the middle of static vans.

I am assuming that this site was taken over and changed a bit as per pictures from internet from 2010/2011. Also I assuming that this was predominantly a static site as a lot of static vans still have the old metal window frames, which goes to be an old site too.

The toilet block was clean and tidy but not enough cubicle/showers/sinks if you had a site full of vans and tents, laundry room (one washing machine and drier), washing up area (one sink), one chemical toilet (that’s ok),

No waste water outlet (was told to put it down a 4” drain which sat below a fresh water tap – which blocked up). And in order to recoup for putting these amities in place a charge of £1 for the showers.

Hence my thought for being predominantly a static site at one point. Although nice views, especially with nice weather as wee had.

The Games from consisted on a Pool Table and an Arcade Machine and information leaflets.

Never seen a play area for kids as such, like climbing frame or swings etc - just grass.

Prices were reasonable for a caravan.

Supermarket not to far, prices slightly dearer but it is on a Isle.

Never really got to see much about as left on Sunday – But after this review, something intrigues me to come back again.

Site Location - Steep Hill bad signing

Facilities - Not much of but ok

Value for Money - was ok

Customer Service - Friendly Enough

Child Friendliness - Grassy Area for kids to make own entertainment, but this can impede with other tents/campers. Needs a separate kids climbing frame (or similar).

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cyclecampers 3 reviews from this member

As cycle campers we didn't feel that £18 for 3 people and two small, 2 man tents was good value at all, particularly as we then had to pay £1.00 each to shower. The cost for a much larger 6/8 person tent and a car, taking up a lot more space, with more people, was considerably cheaper. And,the camping area was in the middle of static caravans and felt rather exposed and overlooked by their deck areas.

The site was close to the town centre, the facilities were all clean and the site had spectacular views. However, the night we were there, there was an unacceptable amount of noise (car doors slamming,laughter and aggressive shouting, using abusive language) from a rowdy group in a nearby tent after they arrived back in their car between 2 and 3am. There was no one from the site to deal with this, unlike other sites where wardens patrol and cars have to be parked outside a gate if they return late. We didn't want to tackle the group at the time as we weren't sure how they would react but there was no one from the site available to discuss this with the following morning.

We are absolutely NOT party poopers but felt that the site didn't cater for lightweight campers, who would do better to find a wild camp elsewhere on the island.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chase 5 reviews from this member

On arrival once we found the owner we were made very welcome. It was suggested we stayed on the grass area which is located in the centre of the (static) caravan site instead of the, quite tightly spaced hard standing area. The grass area (about the size of a 5 aside pitch) appeared perfect and we had it to ourselves!

Not that perfect though - I kind of kicked myself for not remembering that this was not a CC site and the 'No ball game' didn't necessarily apply here. Pretty soon we were sitting half on half off the 6 aside game, with that constant expectant feeling every time the ball was hoofed or bounced past the caravan accompanied by the yells and screams off the goals and near misses! For the 5 days we were there every afternoon had football till it was dark (8.30) and on one occasion quite a bit after. Typically the night we had a bbq. BBQ next to your awning with a football flying around, in the dark = stress.

We came back one afternoon to find a grandfather with his grandchild doing laps round the grass in a golf buggy - very nice, looked like fun but go and do it elsewhere rather than round my caravan and over my cables - pretty ignorant.

The next morning we were saved the bother of putting our radio on as the owners of one the statics that overlooks the grass had decided to enjoy breakfast outside but not miss their favourite radio show - which must have affected many other static owners also.

And I'm sorry, contrary to the previous persons review (was 2 year ago s'pose) The toilet block was not very good the push button taps on the tiny sinks 2 ft away from urinal, did not stay on for more than 2 seconds, the ladies shower (£1 a go - bit cheeky) was stone cold.

Ok, to balance - Nice enough looking site and you can walk into Rothesay in about 10 mins. Loo rolls etc always stocked. Friendly Owner.

It's not quite the lunatics taking over the asylum - but you know what I mean.

Sorry - Never thought I'd here myself say it but.

Rules! Give me some Rules!

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wheelsfargo 6 reviews from this member

This is mainly a static site - but has a small touring field for tents plus 10 hard standings more suited to motor-homes. Both touring areas are beside the toilet block and games room. Whilst there was only 2 toilets and 2 showers, they were fresh, clean and spacious. There is washing up facilities to the rear of the toilet block which is in the touring field and a vending machine for drinks/sweets etc.There is a play area.

The site is beautifully landscaped with flowers and hanging baskets everywhere.

Motor-home pitch was £12 per night for 2 adults - I think the electric was another £2.

BB-Q's are allowed if on a stand / or bricks.

My only gripe would be the showers were £1 - but considering the camps reasonably priced pitches it was still a good value site.

Rothesay is beautiful and there are lots of places to visit - start at the New Visitor Centre.

There was Free Parking on the seafront at Rothesay.

We were on the Island for 3 days and nights - I can highly recommend the Isle of Bute and the Roseland Caravan Park.

Supermarket within a mile of site.

Caravan Club and Camping and Caravan Club members wont be disappointed.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4242 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019