Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - La Ferme Des Aulnes

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Site Reviews

La Ferme Des Aulnes
Rue Du Marais
Fresne Sur Authie
Nampont Saint Martin
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80120
Tel: +33 (0)3 22 29 22 69
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Salmong 20 reviews from this member

We stayed for 13 nights, travelling as a family party with 4 caravans.

Excellent reception staff, very helpful and spoke good English, we were shown to our pitches on the smaller site opposite the main reception.

Pitches were quite small, and only just had enough space for a caravan and awning, water was available to most pitches.

The toilets and showers were cleaned on a regular basis, quite often we would walk across to the showers on the main site if busy.

Shop on site sells a good selection of the basics, and bread / croissants can be ordered each day.

Swimming pool was always busy, and was very clean, there is a games room with Pool table and also facilities for archery, etc

The nearest town is Rue, which is a 10 minute drive away, but has all of the shops, cafe's and banks, etc

Enjoyed our stay on this site, and would definitely stay again if in the area

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dep1 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 10 nights at the beginning of October 2014. Countryside location but easy to find and access. Nearest town is Rue about 7 miles away. Friendly staff who speak English. They take you on a buggy to select your pitch. Tip: make sure you select one with a waste drainage point. As far as I could see, all had a tap on pitch but not all had a waste point. As there as no central waste water point it means using your neighbours. Private pitches of a very good size bordered with high hedging. Some a bit difficult to access. Site is split in two. Mostly motor homes across the road with some tarmac - not hard-standing as used to in UK. Used Camping Cheques to pay and was half expecting to have to pay additionally for electric but this didn't happen. Confusing info on their site about this. Facilities: Very clean, very few and unisex. Cubicles and urinals in one small block. Adjacent block housed about 4 showers and 2 private sinks. Very quiet when we were there. Must be busy in high season. There are some garden sheds near the washing up area that contain individually, a loo, and 2 sinks. There is another small shower/toilet block on the other part of the site. Be warned that if there is heavy rain, it does get very muddy. It rained a lot for us so that we had to buy a couple of plastic tarpaulin type ground sheets to cover the squelch in the awning and the other to lay down as a path to the caravan. Only one chemical waste point so depending where you are you could have a bit of a walk. Can't comment on the play area as out of season it was not in use. Restaurant small and seemed pricey to me. Pool was great and empty so was able to splash about on my own. Excellent for overnight stops and short stays which we may use it for again in future but a fair bit of travelling to get anywhere if staying for a while.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

Very impressed with this site got took on a golf buggy to choose our pitch. Facilities were really good the only thing I didn't like to much was there was a large static presence on site. Got vouchers for free drinks in the bar which was a nice touch and had entertainment on every night even though it was low season. Nice places to visit in area hesdin, rue, st valery, le crotoy, Montreal all worth a visit. Was very impressed that the toilet block was still heated even though we were the only caravan on site and the jacuzzi was still on. Can't wait to return

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Welshcamper100 12 reviews from this member

Booked this campsite for 10 nights after reading the positive reviews given. First the good points, an easy 90 minute drive from the eurotunnel, a lovely location within easy reach of some quaint French towns, St valery and Le Crotoy being the nearest, plenty of good supermarkets in Rue which is a 10 minute drive, clean facilities and a warm pool, archery, table tennis and friendly helpful staff. Now the negatives, when we arrived we were shown to a pitch opposite the park, big mistake, however, we could put up with the noise until the 5th night. This prompted us to move pitches across the road which seemed quieter. Again very disturbed sleep, karaoke until 1am, car doors slamming until early hours, loud road noise and one unpleasant incident involving a French couple arguing in a very aggressive manner through the night. Perhaps we were just unlucky but unfortunately it was the noisiest site we have ever stayed on after dark. The site is mostly privately owned lodges which is reflected in the loud entertainment. Would I return? Not without ear plugs!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Zazu 1 review from this member

After reading all the positive reviews on here, this site seemed perfect for our 10 night stay.

On arrival, the site looked small and rustic. After a long wait at reception while the receptionist dealt with other arrivals, we were shown to a pitch on the opposite side of the road, near the beach volleyball court. The pitch had a hardstanding strip and was hedged on three sides, making it very private, but with plenty of room.

The following morning saw the arrival of a coach containing our new neighbours. A party of 21 kids (Approximate ages ranged from 5 to 11) and 5 adults, along with luggage, cook tent, gazebo/marquee and 10 tents were soon offloaded and in residence in the 4 pitches surrounding us.

Although they were generally well behaved, they did make a lot of noise, took over the play area so that nobody else could use it, and the facilities (3 toilets and 3 showers)became rather “stretched”! Avoiding going for a swim at the same time as them became something of an art, as did avoiding the dishwashing sinks just after their meals! One of the adults however, always gave us a cheery “Bonjour” as we fought our way through their tents to the facilities block, and we soon became used to their ways.

They remained in residence for 5 nights, but left their equipment for the next group (teenagers) to arrive 2 days later.

Our main gripe about this is that we were not told of this group’s imminent arrival when we were shown to our pitch. Most of the other pitches near us were occupied by one or two night stop overs, and if we were stopping over too, it probably wouldn’t have bothered us as much. However, as a 10 night stay, and as our main holiday, we would have preferred a quieter pitch.

In the meantime, we had a more pressing problem, and one which ultimately led to our decision to leave the site earlier than planned and move on. Every evening, we had an infestation of slugs. This may sound a bit wimpish, but they were everywhere (even up the awning walls) and we couldn’t leave anything out in the awning. The final straw came when we found one inside the folding camper bedroom area. The weather had caused damp conditions and was showing no signs of improvement, so we decided to move on as quickly as we could. Fortunately, we made the right decision and the sites we then went to (in the UK) had no such problems, and the weather was better!

The restaurant on site lacked atmosphere (there was nobody there except staff), and the barman/manager was a bit grumpy when we asked for a drink one day. It was raining, so maybe he didn’t expect any customers? We tried takeaway pizzas one night which were convenient but nothing special.

The swimming pool was a good size, but not as warm as I expected it to be. The cover was always on as the weather was not warm enough for it to be open. There is one changing cubicle and one toilet and some “lockers”. Most of these don’t lock and some don’t even have doors, but are handy for leaving your towels in.

There were two outdoor table tennis tables and one indoor, and there seemed to be dancing on in one of the buildings most nights.

The surrounding area was lovely. We enjoyed days out at Le Touquet, Berck and St Valery sur Somme, and saw seals basking out in the bay at Le Hourdel (take your binoculars). All are within easy driving distance of the site.

We also enjoyed cycling from the site on quiet country roads.

The Carrefour supermarket in Rue was very busy and it was often difficult to find a parking space, but there is also a Lidl in Rue, which we found easier to use.

In summary, in different circumstances (better weather and no groups next to us), I am sure we would have enjoyed the site much more, but I don’t think we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jones8447 2 reviews from this member

What an excellent site-

We spent a long time trying to find a nice campsite in France that was not too far away from Calais. This site seemed perfect and therefore we booked it online through their website, we to await the confirmation but this was through within 12 hours closely followed by a posted confirmation and reciept for out deposit.

Upon arrival the receptionist was expecting us and escorted us around the site on a golf buggy so we could choose which pitch we wanted from the available ones. All of the pitches are secluded by a hedge and all have a water pipe. We didn't have a electrical hookup but most of the pitches appeared to have it available.

The site was excellent, the showers and toilets were communal but we rarely saw anyone there and they were always immaculate.

There is an outside and inside area for washing up, within the shower block there is a washer and dryer which are coin-operated.

On site there is a bar/restaurant, entertainment room, tv room and games room, a heated covered swimming pool and small shop. The shop has a few basics but there is a supermarket only 10 mins away.

The shop provides fresh bread but it has to be ordered the evening before. Within the shop there is a fridge an freezer for the use of campers and there was always plenty of space, very handy!

We had an a wonderful stay, the staff were lovely and very helpful, we will definitely be going back in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IestynH 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 3 nights on the way home from a family holiday, our first in a tent. Good set up, decent sized pitch, water and electricity all fine. On site swimming pool was very good, though its plastic dome makes it quite noisy at times. We had pizza and chips as take-away from the restaurant, again good (if a little expensive).

Our major moan however was the washing/shower facilities mentioned in the May 2011 review; compared with the other 3 sites we visited on this holiday, these were not up to the high standards we had come to expect. The showers in particular were not only throwing out warm water rather than hot, but were doing so from a height of 7-8 feet and in a spray. The water was cold before it even got to our kids' heads! And no, there was no temperature adjustment on the unit either!

We would probably stay here again as a stopover, but would look for another option if wanting to spend more time in Picardy.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nlyall 2 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from this site, and felt compelled to write a short review.

I can only agree with most of the comments that were presented last year and before (i.E beautiful surroundings, well kept pitches, good facilities etc). The staff were exceptionally helpful and even offered to arrange excursions for us. The site was very relaxed, and unlike many others we felt our young family could stroll around without too many cars and people to worry about. Fairly good play area but unsafe for very small children without supervision.

The on site restaurant certainly looked the part (very rustic typical French feel) but the food was pretty awful and very expensive. My daughters meal was barely heated up, and as chicken, felt a bit nervous after that. No excuse really as the place was empty. Shame really as we would have gone back again if half-decent.

The site had a good launderette and utility areas. Sadly the showers were a bit grim and were only just warm. Had they had provided hot showers I think they could have been forgiven!

All in all one of the best sites I have stayed at in a while and will go back again. Plenty to see within an hour of the site and great if you are into cycling and walking as many of our fellow campers were. Site quite at night apart from regular shootings of rabbits, I hope. Still it is surrounded by lovely farms so I guess you have to expect a bit of that.

Pleasant stay and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Twoboys 9 reviews from this member

Thanks to the first reviewer for giving directions - they were really helpful.

We stopped here for one night on the way down and one night on the way back from the Dordogne, as it's only an hour and a half's drive from Eurotunnel, and not far from the motorway.

We had booked in advance, which was just as well on the way back (mid-week mid-August) as I heard the owner tell someone else the site was full.

The swimming pool was excellent - covered, warm (29 degrees) and big enough to actually swim. It closes at 7 in the evening, and on the rainy day on our journey home we were almost the only people in it. It also has changing rooms and lockers, so you don't need to walk across the campsite in your wet swimming things.

We were in the touring section across the road from the main site, where the toilets and showers were great. They're all 'individual cubicles' and very clean. The volleyball court (and tiny football pitch) were behind our tent and our boys were the only ones using them.

On arrival everyone is given a free drink ticket for the bar, for coffee, wine or a soft drink for kids. Very small glass of wine, but very nice. And a roaring log fire, on the wet and windy day. Fab!

Loads to do, but also really quiet.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feeblecat 40 reviews from this member

We used this site as an overnight stop en-route to Calais. It is about 1 and a half hours drive from the ferry port so was perfect for us (having just drive from the other side of Normandy. Very friendly staff. Lovely wee piano bar and located in a nice country setting. Can't comment on the facilities really as arrived late and left early but they looked fine to me, and can't comment on the area for the same reasons. I would certainly use it again though for an overnight stop.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


853 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019