Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > South Molton > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Marsh Lane
North Molton Road
South Molton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX36 3HQ
Tel: 01769 579269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 76 Reviews
                8/10 from 76 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jgknight 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting. Lovely campsite, room for all. Good food and bar. Excellent.

Love the easiness of full serviced pitches.

Picnic tables and loads of parking for extra car. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: January 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rob Ellway 1 review from this member

 We’ve just spent the night here and absolutely loved it. Very warm welcome, lovely hard standing pitch with picnic table.

Nice facilities and the food is out of this world. A family run site and very welcoming.

We will definitely be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Lankalean 1 review from this member

 Riverside Caravan and Camping Park and Country Club in South Molton is one of the most popular holiday destinations in Devon.

It is an extremely family-friendly site of 10 acres. A Superb place with a shallow river flowing along the border. The scenery is very beautiful.

The caravan pitches are spacious and there are a few static caravans for you to hire. There are a few children play areas and you could have a lovely walk through the wood watching wildlife; Site is spotless and you could walk along the river and relax all day.

Pet owners would love this site because it welcome dogs outside on the ground as well as at the bat and club house. It is open all year. During the Summer weekends they run many entertainment programmes, like Music events, Beer festivals, Bike rallies

I have never been inside a caravan in my life let alone owning a one. So don’t know what the static caravans at Riverside are like. However, the caravan residents I have met at the club house told me that they were roomy and very comfortable. There are many caravan pitches not close to each other too much and families have enough privacy to relax and enjoy their holiday

One of the reasons for the popularity of this park is that it is owned not by a faceless organization far away from the site but by a very charming family who lives very close to the site. They are there looking after the guests during the day. You would see them often at the modern bar and restaurant talking to the guests. Their constant presence is a reassurance to families with young children

I have started work at a major engineering company in South Molton. At first I stayed at a few local B & bs and hotel for the first few weeks. Some of them were a bit far as I had to be at work by 7. 30. Service was not very friendly in one hotel and the food was bland in another. Rather than hotel hopping, I wanted to find an ideal place so I could stay there Mon to Fri, until I rent a house by myself. Hearing about my quest, one of my new colleagues told me to try Riverside Caravan Park

Not many people know that in addition to the facilities for caravans, this park also has a little “budget hotel” with 9 luxurious rooms.

I have stayed in one double bedroom at their newly built luxurious block on top of the clubhouse. I did not expect the rooms to be more than average and was pleasantly surprised when I walked in the first time.

The rooms are very modern like the ones you get in the Holiday Inn. They are very spacious with a comfortable bed, a desk to work in, flat TV, large wardrobe, dressing table and two bedside cabinets either side of the bed. You have a kettle, supply of tea and coffee.

There are enough shelves to store your belongings. In some major hotel rooms where I have stayed in the past there were not enough sockets in the rooms. Once you plug in your mobile and the laptop you would have to pull the kettle out to use the hairdryer.

I am happy to say that Riverside guests would not have that problem at all. You and your partner have seven sockets spread around the room at convenient places and you would not have to pull the plug of the tv to use your laptop.

The room has super lighting with many bulbs on the ceiling not to mention the two table lamps. You would have no problem doing your work at night like me or read a book or paper.

There are large wall mirror and another small one on your dressing table. Glass fronted balcony would give you the panoramic view of the park. The windows are soundproofed and you never hear a single noise from the major dual carriageway A361 on the other side of the river. The bathroom is very modern with a stylish shower and a large sink

The rooms are immaculately cleaned and toiletries, tea, and coffee are replaced daily by the housekeeper. After a hard days work you get a refreshingly relaxed feeling when you come to your newly cleaned room with the freshly made-up bed and hoovered carpet and spotless bathroom

Unfortunately, I have to be at work by 7. 30 am so I do not have breakfast at the hotel. However the few families I have talked to have told me that they serve full excellent breakfast with a variety of choices. Sorry, I am teetotal so don’t ask me how good or cheap bar drinks are. The place seems to attract regular locals so the drinks must be value for money.

The Park’s best asset is the extremely friendly young staff. Bar staff like Lucy B, Uni student Bailey Tonkins, Francesca and Nicole are very courteous and superb at customer service. Nothing is too much trouble for them. They go out of the way to make your stay very happy

I do not go to nearby town to buy unhealthy chips or burgers for my dinner because the clubhouse provides you with excellent food. The chefs Husband and wife team, Mat and Jo, and the mother and, Sarah and Beckie are superb cooks. The presentation of a dish is vital for creating the right impression on the dinner. Every meal is beautifully presented on a tray such a way to whet your appetite.

You could have a superb home-cooked prepared by the inhouse chef Sarah. I am a vegetarian and I have tried all the dishes they have. I must say they are very tasty and filling. ( I am sure meat-eating customers would say the same about their steaks or chicken pies ).

If you don’t want a full meal at night, the staff would prepare any sandwiches with salad or crisps or any other snacks for you. Unfortunately, at present, they have only two dishes for Vegetarians on the menu but I was told that the new menu with more Veggie choices for them would be introduced in the Autumn.

However, the chef’s day’s special always have two or three vegetarian cuisine in addition to meat ones. What’s so important is that their prices are very reasonable affordable for families.

Riverside park is owned and managed by a very friendly lady called Nicky Penfold and her family I Nicky is the owner-manager. Her husband Joe is the Maintenance manager (or handyman). Their son Merlin is responsible for the site’s safety and security and the daughter Francesca deals with the Admin Side.

Nicky’s future daughter -in-law, Nicole runs the reception and the shop. One of the reasons for Riverside’s popularity must be the family atmosphere create by Nicky’s family. They all are well trained on Customer Service and would treat you as a family member during your stay.

If you have a problem with camp facilities or equipment they would fix it very quickly. When the hot water in my shower failed one evening, Nicky immediately called a plumber from 15 miles away and had it fixed at no time at all. That’s what I called looking after your guests. If it happens to you at a corporate run campsite, I bet you would shiver until their maintenance man come back to work next day

They don’t have a 24-hour reception at Riverside but Nicky’s son Merlin lives at the Park. In case of a dire emergency like an African lion trying to get into your tent, he would not mind you knocking at his door at the early hours.

As I said before, the rooms are luxurious, the food is excellent. Staff members are superb and Nicky and family are very Customer Focussed. What else you need to have a great holiday. All families with Caravans out there, bring your children to Riverside at October Half term and you would never regret it.

In conclusion. I would say that a luxurious room at Riverside Park is the ideal “Home from home” for any professional, office staff, builder, travelling salesman or the delivery driver who works away from home like myself. Great bar food and drinks, friendly staff and very modern room with all the facilities. (What else you need. )

I, therefore, recommend Riverside park 100% to all the professionals. If your stay is going to be months longer, Nicky would be very happy for you to negotiate a price with her. ( I must warn you she is hopeless with email. You are better off calling her )

If you work within 10 miles radius of South Molton, do not ring other places before you talk to Nicky. If you stay at River Side You would never be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dark Icon 1 review from this member

 Chose location because it was by a river. Expected it to be tranquil but noise from A361 was continuous and spoilt it. Also had the "family from hell" next to us who partied until 3am on Saturday night - couldn't sleep because of loud music blaring out from their caravan.

Doesn't this site have a curfew?

Wouldn't recommend if you want a quiet relaxing break. Will choose an adults only park in future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billandbenandtheflo 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic looking site. Facilities are great. Did hope for more going on in the clubhouse.

Toilets and showerblock are great but male cleaner did walk in with out warning, So make sure you don't show off more than you want to be seen.

Take ear plugs for the drunken campers. Apart from that it's lovely, the kids have a great play area and a nice brook running through the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monkeygee 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site with a warm friendly welcome. First impressions count and as it was our first visit, the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble.

Toilets and showers were clean and well maintained, the reception shop had your small necessities but with south moulton only a mile away this didn't matter.

The new club is great with drinks and food at reasonable prices, breakfast is recommended. It has some lovley fishing pools with some very large fish, banking a 22lb mirror carp myself.

If you need a lot of shopping Barnstaple is only 15 mins drive away and has your major supermarkets. Will definitely be booking again for next year 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bbdawes 12 reviews from this member

 This is a spacious site with a larger field for tents & campervans, and numerous electric pitches for caravans.

The new clubhouse seems very popular for food, drinks and entertainment.

They have themed weekends where the price goes up even if you are not there for the entertainment! Nice little walk on the edge of the site for dogs.

Good central location and easy access. Toilet blocks are clean and well located. There is a river running through the site which is great for older kids to splash in plus a decent playground. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Carit 3 reviews from this member

 Offered only a premium pitch and when arrived the site was nearly empty except for builders wagons and rubble. The pitch was grotty, as were others, with fag ends and weeds all over the pitch. Some road noise 24 hours a day.

The barrier, left open for the builders to get in and out closes when they leave and then we had to buy a card for £5 then get only £4 back - you pay extra to get in and out of the site!

Promised a bar - but only when the builders were there seemingly. The walk to town of 10 minutes is double that, and only on the way back down the steep hill.

Seems like they want your money (with a friendly smile), but don't bother to complain after. 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Woolliness 9 reviews from this member

 When we arrived someone one else was on our pitch which wasn't the owners fault it was due to the rally there but we went onto another pitch which suited us better although this was a cheaper pitch we were offered no refund?

A few negatives- Fishing £8 a day the dearest my husband has had to pay (on better fishing sites than this) also no discount for a weeks fishing if staying on site again he has always had a discount- £5 for the security barrier card but you only receive £4 back again never not had a full refund elsewhere?

Not enough lighting around the park where we were pitched there was no lighting around the road so was very dark not good when navigating the road-I feel that this is a very commercialized site and all about the money not customer service which is a shame.

The new shower block is good but only one hook in the ladies shower not enough to hang your things also no hairdryer which in the other block is 20p.

Good for dog walking and location to sight seeing -great fish and chip shop in south Molton and also the chinese there was good - we would visit again but hopefully comments are taken on board that it shouldn't always be about the money. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pip26 1 review from this member

 Leaving this site tomorrow and can't wait to go back. We booked this site as the one we were on was awful. All the hard-standing pitches are tarmac instead of gravel with a grass area for the awning and each have their own water, electric, tv connection, grey waste and wooden benches for each caravan what a great idea. Tv aerial cable, electric cable can be hired.

Toilet and shower facilities were the best we have ever seen and spotlessly clean Our compliments to the cleaners.

Reception also houses a small shop selling those essentials you always forget to bring as well as a good selection of basic food provisions.

The River Mole runs through the site and those campers that didn't want the electric etc. , could pitch along the river bank. The river was excellent for a bit of fishing and also safe for the kids to paddle in.

There was also a separate area for tents and although we had a fair bit of rain the ground was not too bad. The owners and site warden made you feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. Fantastic for dogs with plenty of dog walks very dog friendly. The food is outstanding from Aunt Pollys. It is a gem and although the main A361 runs along side the site there is minimal noise from traffic.

South Molton is within walking distance and all the main Devon attractions are just a drive away. Well done to the owners and their staff and a big thank you for a lovely holiday. 


Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Molton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4528 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement