Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > South Molton > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Marsh Lane
North Molton Road
South Molton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX36 3HQ
Tel: 01769 579269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 85 Reviews
                8/10 from 85 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  85 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendy Dean 4 reviews from this member

 A very nice, clean and well set out site. Beautiful walk around the park along the river to the dog exercise area and the woods. Even while very wet it was a good walk. Facilities were clean and tidy.

There is a bar that looks good, but we didn't use it. Tried to buy some bits from the shop, but no one was around to pay so didn't get anything in the end.

Quite close to the nearby village so able to walk to shops.

All together a good very wet couple of nights. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mwyatt 1 review from this member

 Lovely site. Well kept and the pitches were great.

The clubhouse was great, well priced and the staff are lovely.

Beautiful woodland walks and the area is gorgeous.

Bus stop outside site is very handy and South Molton is a nice town. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Soallj 1 review from this member

 Stayed many times. We have always found it to be a friendly easy going site.

All facilities up and running.

The Sunday Lunch deserves a 5 star rating. We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Arthur Savage 57 3 reviews from this member

 My biggest disappointment with Riverside was the shower/toilets. Not the cleanest I’ve seen. Also you never knew which tap would give you hot water or cold water. At one point I had hot water coming out of both.

Staff in the bar and shop were friendly and helpful. Location is good for touring North Devon. Non electric tent pitch was nice and flat and not to crowded.

Would probably not return as I have been to better sites. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dorset Diver 1 review from this member

 This site suffers badly from road noise and is busy and crowded at the weekends.

It has a very clear and well written Covid policy but for the most part it is not followed and cleaning is haphazard to say the least.

The facilities would be quite good but are very much in need of repairs.

The serviced all weather hard standings are good and ideal for the winter.

With reservations we enjoyed our stay but are unlikely to return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trike99 1 review from this member

 Do not think that just because they have put up a notice up saying that the pitch has been and will be sanitised dose not mean that they have been. We have been here for four days now and have see many caravans come and go but not once as anyone been to sanitise any of the pitches. So it makes you think what else do they not do to help keep every body safe.

The site is not bad the pitches could be more level as on the pitch that we are on we have had to put one side up 5"and then there is a 2" drop from the tarmac to the stone which is not level so can not put up the awning proper as 7" drop is to much.

The site is quite nice but it only as one chemical waste point which is some way from some of the pitches. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: V1820 1 review from this member

 Noisy next to road.

No allocated pitches for tents, free for all.

Became noticeably busy on Friday - field got very boggy with the many cars driving on and off.

No toilet paper in female toilets on Saturday morning and the toilets hadn't been cleaned before 9am after a busy Friday night. Although toilets had been very clean from Tuesday to Friday!

No soap in male toilets for most of the week which wasn't great with Covid. No restrictions with how many people allowed in toilet/shower block at one time however hand sanitiser dispensers were located either side of the main doors of toilet blocks. Signs asking for people to use them and encouraging the use of face masks (unfortunately this wasn't the case).

Fob available for barrier (£10 deposit), we chose not to and asked reception to open when returning from days out. When staff arent at reception we were told to ask at the bar! Not ideal set up and if you're getting back to the site late worth getting the fob

Card payment machine wasn't working so used cash in shop and bar.

Awful smell when lifting the ground sheet - unsure why? Only our 2nd time camping with a new tent and foot print/ground sheet.

The shop was stocked up, staff were polite and friendly but maybe more cleaning needed for the weekend busy times especially with current situation. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Km22knl 1 review from this member

 Riverside caravan and camping 

Devon - South Molton

We left early. That’s sums up our trip in a nutshell

We were hoping to have a relaxing 7 night stay here, we were not impressed from the moment we arrived.

I cannot believe this site is Covid compliant, so disappointed.

I contacted management with lots of my concerns and received a reassuring tick box response 2 days later, sadly nothing was put in place as promised so we had no choice than to leave early.  

- We arrived to a uncut pitch 

- Our pitch had food and kebab sticks on it when we arrived 

-The electric tent pitches were squished together. Non Electric did look spacious. With having to use a shared EHU point, I really feel under the current conditions they should only be filling every other pitch on the electric field.

-Our electric point was located on the next door pitch, so limited us to how we could pitch up due to our cable stretching to the max. We also had to go on there pitch to get to our water tap- just not right!

- lack of soap in the toilets, often empty- not good under current conditions.

- no social spacing in public areas just 2 meter signs, no guidance or zones separation

- masks not worn in public areas, nor signage to encourage this.

- filthy toilets and showers

-bins constantly over flowing 

- broken glass on several occasions ( my hubby cleared it up as worried the kiddies would hurt themselves) 

- The busy road was so noisy, We could see the lorries pass by. This was an A road- constant traffic  

- Cars and motorbikes could be heard driving around the grounds at 2-4am.

- No noise restriction put in place.

- Cash only in the shop

I would never return, my only regret was not leaving earlier.  (long story but keys got locked in the car so needed to wait for assistance)

I took lots of pictures and videos, I only wish I could upload these, so you could hear the level of the noise.

Our camping next door neighbors were just as disappointed as us.

I feel its only fair to say, due to car problems we didn’t take the gazebo and I called prior and the park arranged for a credit note for us to spend on site.

Not normally one to complain but this was the pits. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: MrsYoza 1 review from this member

 Likes

-Breakfast was very tasty, 2 double yolker eggs of breakfasts.

-The removal of a large group of young adults(10-12) who were there for drinking & partying taking over parking 6 cars in an already cramped area next to families.

-plenty of constant hot water.

Dislikes

-Jumbo electric pitches are NOT jumbo, as stated on our booking, should of been 10m x 15m, actual pitch was 5m x 10m, struggled to have car & tent on pitch comfortably, we took our gazebo but was unable to use due to no space, bare ground on pitch up to the point of pure mud, grass uncut around park including pitches. Pitches very close together feel very packed in. Very smelly around site (sewage/rotting grass) especially on our pitch, upon getting home our footprint is now unusable due to the stench still lingering after washing. The smell was also outside the bar & around the hard standing pitches.

-You are very close to the dual carriageway as states, so it is very noisy.

-no respect from other campers cutting through pitches & gaps in the hedge which management seem to encourage, also other campers not thinking of others, not cleaning showers out after use, not clearing waste out of the washing up sinks. Which I understand is not the campsites fault, but spot checks could be carried out to avoid these issues.

-photos show a fence around the play park, this is no longer the case & dogs are exercised off a lead within the area of the park, also dog poop around the area on playing field.

-no signs of the covid procedures as stated on their website, sinks were cordoned off 3 days into our stay, toilets were not closed to be cleaned, & cleaning left very little to be desired, the cleaners cleaning around you in 10 minutes flat. Signs on service point on pitches stated that the pitch was cleaned & sanitised before your arrival, I never once saw a member of staff check any pitches or clean or sanitise.

-I understand its the previous users not thinking of others, I had to constantly clean out the shower before using. Although the showers were hot, perhaps too hot to wash our children, the water only lasted 10-12 seconds & you had to stand a certain position to actually get wet, nothing that perhaps a good descale would sort out. Benches in showers in block 1 get wet, no benches in showers in block 2. Everywhere gets wet, no dry area to get dry/ changed.

-we decided to have breakfast one wet morning, although the lady was on her own we were left stood waiting at the bar for a good 10 minutes, no 'sorry ill be with you shortly' just ignored us, when it came to taking our order, again no sorry for keeping you, just a what do you want attitude.

-fishing pegs overgrown & unable to fish comfortably, the few pegs that weren't were snapped up by other anglers.

-£10 deposit needed for car barrier, upon checking in I asked about it & was told I didn't have to purchase there & then, but was unable to gain entry without one, had to go back to reception to ask to open the barrier.

-Very small shop with not a lot of stock, ie no milk, bread, bacon etc in a morning. Card machine was broken during our stay so had to pay by card via the bar.

Considering this site has only been open for 7 weeks, the standard was definitely not 5 stars, especially for the cost, we have stayed on far more superior sites for less money. I phoned numerous times & emailed the campsite with my complaints & issues & received a very blase generic response. It appears others felt the same during their stay during the same period. 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jgknight 1 review from this member

 Beautiful setting. Lovely campsite, room for all. Good food and bar. Excellent.

Love the easiness of full serviced pitches.

Picnic tables and loads of parking for extra car. 
via mobile


Previous     85 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near South Molton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4452 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement