Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Marsh Lane
North Molton Road
South Molton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX36 3HQ
Tel: 01769 579269
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 62
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 72 Reviews
                8/10 from 72 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Billandbenandtheflo 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic looking site. Facilities are great. Did hope for more going on in the clubhouse. Toilets and showerblock are great but male cleaner did walk in with out warning, So make sure you don't show off more than you want to be seen. Take ear plugs for the drunken campers. Apart from that it's lovely, the kids have a great play area and a nice brook running through the site.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monkeygee 1 review from this member

Fantastic site with a warm friendly welcome. First impressions count and as it was our first visit, the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. Toilets and showers were clean and well maintained, the reception shop had your small necessities but with south moulton only a mile away this didn't matter. The new club is great with drinks and food at reasonable prices, breakfast is recommended. It has some lovley fishing pools with some very large fish, banking a 22lb mirror carp myself. If you need a lot of shopping Barnstaple is only 15 mins drive away and has your major supermarkets. Will definitely be booking again for next year

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bbdawes 12 reviews from this member

This is a spacious site with a larger field for tents & campervans, and numerous electric pitches for caravans. The new clubhouse seems very popular for food, drinks and entertainment. They have themed weekends where the price goes up even if you are not there for the entertainment! Nice little walk on the edge of the site for dogs. Good central location and easy access. Toilet blocks are clean and well located. There is a river running through the site which is great for older kids to splash in plus a decent playground.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carit 3 reviews from this member

Offered only a premium pitch and when arrived the site was nearly empty except for builders wagons and rubble. The pitch was grotty, as were others, with fag ends and weeds all over the pitch. Some road noise 24 hours a day.

The barrier, left open for the builders to get in and out closes when they leave and then we had to buy a card for 5 then get only 4 back - you pay extra to get in and out of the site!

Promised a bar - but only when the builders were there seemingly. The walk to town of 10 minutes is double that, and only on the way back down the steep hill.

Seems like they want your money (with a friendly smile), but don't bother to complain after.

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woolliness 9 reviews from this member

When we arrived someone one else was on our pitch which wasn't the owners fault it was due to the rally there but we went onto another pitch which suited us better although this was a cheaper pitch we were offered no refund?

A few negatives- Fishing 8 a day the dearest my husband has had to pay (on better fishing sites than this) also no discount for a weeks fishing if staying on site again he has always had a discount- 5 for the security barrier card but you only receive 4 back again never not had a full refund elsewhere?

Not enough lighting around the park where we were pitched there was no lighting around the road so was very dark not good when navigating the road-I feel that this is a very commercialized site and all about the money not customer service which is a shame.

The new shower block is good but only one hook in the ladies shower not enough to hang your things also no hairdryer which in the other block is 20p.

Good for dog walking and location to sight seeing -great fish and chip shop in south Molton and also the chinese there was good - we would visit again but hopefully comments are taken on board that it shouldn't always be about the money.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pip26 1 review from this member

Leaving this site tomorrow and can't wait to go back. We booked this site as the one we were on was awful. All the hard-standing pitches are tarmac instead of gravel with a grass area for the awning and each have their own water, electric, tv connection, grey waste and wooden benches for each caravan what a great idea. Tv aerial cable, electric cable can be hired.

Toilet and shower facilities were the best we have ever seen and spotlessly clean Our compliments to the cleaners.

Reception also houses a small shop selling those essentials you always forget to bring as well as a good selection of basic food provisions.

The River Mole runs through the site and those campers that didn't want the electric etc. , could pitch along the river bank. The river was excellent for a bit of fishing and also safe for the kids to paddle in.

There was also a separate area for tents and although we had a fair bit of rain the ground was not too bad. The owners and site warden made you feel very welcome and nothing seemed too much trouble. Fantastic for dogs with plenty of dog walks very dog friendly. The food is outstanding from Aunt Pollys. It is a gem and although the main A361 runs along side the site there is minimal noise from traffic.

South Molton is within walking distance and all the main Devon attractions are just a drive away. Well done to the owners and their staff and a big thank you for a lovely holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: RosanRay 9 reviews from this member

Well kept site with modern facilities.

As with a previous reviewer, the pitch we were originally allocated had a caravan already on it (which remained unoccupied for three of the five days we were there, and then disappeared). After some negotiation we chose a pitch next to a large, empty, car park. Since we were there before the school holidays, the pitch was fairly quiet, but I could imagine that in school holidays, there was a likelihood of kids rampaging round this car park on bikes/scooters, etc. (They are banned from riding round and round the facilities block. ) Also a potential nuisance was the fact that there are cut-throughs to other areas of the campsite very close to caravans, leaving little privacy.

Another oddity concerns the fully-serviced pitches. In my experience, most UK caravans have the drainage outlet on the opposite side of the 'van to the door. How does it make sense, then, to put the drain on the pitch on the door side of the 'van?? This seemed to be the case on a number of the other pitches, too. We had to park right up to the extreme edge of the hard standing so that we didn't trip over the drain hose every time we went out. Also, on our particular pitch, it was a very long way to the hook-up - we had to join 2 hoses to reach.

We were surprised to find that 1 is deducted from the 5 barrier card deposit 'for upkeep of the barrier'. Never come across that one before! Even more surprising was that, if you hired ice blocks at 3, you only got 1 back!

Toilet/shower facilities are OK, but the toilet brushes were revolting - looked as if the same ones had been in use for a very long time. They're only about a 1 in bargain shops - so it wouldn't cost a lot to keep them fresh!

On the question of noise, the owners can't do a lot about the road but, being the main route through to the coast, it is noisy, day and night. (I live near a main road and thought I would be used to traffic noise, but this was worse. )

The owners could, however, do something about noise on site at night. On the Friday and Saturday nights there was a whole load of shouting and screeching from a group of people, sitting out under a gazebo, which went on long after midnight.

So - probably an ideal site if you have kids, although you need to keep a close watch on little ones, because the river which runs through the site has quite steep banks and, although it's fairly shallow, it's quite fast-flowing.

We didn't try the tea-rooms or the bar.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cumbrianexile 3 reviews from this member

This site is very well placed for Barnstable and surrounding area, Lyndon an line mouth and ex moor also easy to get to. The site had a mixture of grass and hard standings and a very thoughtful table and bench to each pitch. Stayed on a very large hard standing fully serviced pitch. Clean and tidy toilet facilities, club house with a programme of what looked like reasonable entertainment over the season. Small shop with a few essentials. Staff all friendly. Nice riverside walks. Dog friendly too.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dapper001 1 review from this member

We visited this site for the first time this last bank holiday. It was very easy to locate and access, the staff were welcoming and very helpful. My children enjoyed the well groomed gardens and grounds including the. Play area. My husband was happy fishing on their fishing lakes and I enjoyed the quiet and relaxing. My kids met new friends and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. It was very busy this weekend as they had a themed weekend being Irish. This event was well organised and really fun. We ate in their tearooms which catered for all members of my family, the food was fresh and good value for money, we also enjoyed breakfast the morning we left which was so handy when it came to departing. Their shower blocks are well kept and offer warm and clean facilities. Thank you to the staff and look forward to visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Subo 8 reviews from this member

We would normally have given this site 8/9 out of 10 as the facilities were good, the pitches fairly level and the grounds excellent with a lovely river walk through the woods.

Well, to start with we were given a pitch which already had someone on it, so we were shown to a not so good one. We had booked some days in advance and paid for the top grade pitch so that p. D us off.

Then, for the whole time we were there they had 2 largish ground machines racing around the pitches. Now I know that maintenance is an on-going thing, but why did they have to race, belching out diesel smoke everywhere. I understand from the Alan Rogers rep who happened to be there at the time that many campsites now have electric maintenance vehicles so as not to disturb the campers.

One evening was a curry evening so we turned up at the restaurant only to be told that curry was cancelled. No notice displayed outside earlier on to warn us. Fortunately we had some food in our caravan so at least we didn't starve.

Then on the penultimate day we decided to treat ourselves to one of their breakfasts. Restaurant open a 9. 00 (or so it said). At 9. 30 it was still not open and they were Hoovering Inside. Another disappointment.

On our last evening we wanted to try their restaurant and give them one last chance to redeem themselves. We turned up at 7. 30pm and were told that the restaurant was closed as the son of the owner was having a birthday party there. Again, no advance notification and again we had to resort to our dwindling supply of food. There was a really loud disco which went on to about 1. 00 am.

So, all in all, a very good site but the owners/management need some training in customer liaison.

Finally, there is quite a lot of noise from the main road that runs next to the site. It didn't worry us too much but it might be irritating to some people.

Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Devon (North)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2824 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.1055