Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Green Man

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Southam > The Green Man Reviews

The Green Man
Church Road
Long Itchington
Southam
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV47 9PW
Tel: 01926 812 208
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 Vans + tents
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 34 Reviews
                9/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents. This is a club member only site - you can usually join on site

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Denz63 7 reviews from this member

Lovely site, very friendly owners.

Nice change to go to a proper pub. Fish and chip van stops at the pub on Friday nights, delish. Co-op just down the road, with cash point.

Will definitely return.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stanton01 1 review from this member

We only live a few miles away (2. 6 to be precise) but wanted somewhere nearby that felt like a holiday. Mark (landlord) is a lovely bloke, fab setting, dog friendly, very quiet and a nice boozer which doesn't do food but the chip van stops by on a Friday.

No showers or overnight loos but the pub facilities are open from early morning until closing time.

Shop a short walk away along with a varied choice of other drinking holes.

Oh yeah and it's cheap! We'll be back!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Richard19540 24 reviews from this member

I have stayed here three times before and will come again.

It is just what I look for in a site. I have not read a bad review of this site and that is well deserved.

No hook up or toilet/shower block but that is ok with me - just enjoy the fine pub and lovely village

The fee? 12 - good value.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Havvanwiltravel 3 reviews from this member

We needed a stop-over on our journey to the West Country and when we saw the reviews for The Green Man and noted it's proximity to the Grand Union Canal, we decided to make it more than a one-night stay so that we could enjoy a walk or two along the towpaths.

We stayed five nights and it really wasn't long enough to explore the wider area but we managed three good canal walks and a bus-trip into Leamington Spa.

We walked down the road to The Two Boats for our evening meal and found it very good for quality and value, also enjoyed the hospitality of the Duck on The Pond.

The owners of The Green Man were away themselves but the bar-staff made us very welcome. We didn't use the toilet facilities ourselves but believe them to be good from listening to views of tent-campers.

The camping field itself is spacious and well-kept and in spite of being close to the car-park we weren't aware of noise. With the Co-op just opposite and the bus stop literally at the door, The Green Man was perfectly situated for a couple of seniors.

The village is quite spread out but the villagers were very approachable and cheery, there are many footpaths criss-crossing the village and some very nice architecture to admire. There is also a disused railway, now part of the National Cycle Network within 10 minutes walk of The Green Man.

This is definitely a site we will return to and hopefully stay long enough to explore the wider area of this part of Warwickshire.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bush56 4 reviews from this member

Site is at the back of the pub, in a field that runs down to the river. Owners were friendly and we could use the pub loos, which were very clean, between 7am and midnight.

Tents on one side, and campers / vans on the other, but plenty of room for all, with a relaxed feel. 10 a night (no electricity). Only had a drink in the pub, so couldn't vouch for the food. Visited the Buck and Bell, again just for a drink, but a clean and friendly place.

Village is lovely to walk round, with lots of old buildings, and a late opening shop.

We cycled to Leamington Spa and Warwick one day via cycle paths and the canal - lovely and peaceful, with plenty to see.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bertman1966 3 reviews from this member

We stayed for 3 nights over the August bank holiday. We were the second outfit on the site on the Friday and pitched on the left hand side, out friends who joined us later in the day came and pitched next to us.

I think we made a genuine mistake as we pitched between the two markers so took up a bit more space - also we pitched where the caravans normally go as it was flatter there.

We had 3 / 4 caravans that came next to us but nobody seemed to have any issues with us. This is a very friendly site in a beautiful village. The Green man pub is fantastic with a great selection of real ales.

The chip van turns up on a Friday night and you are allowed to sit in the pub and eat them.

There are limited facilities on the site but that is what camping is all about!

There was a 'do' on the Saturday night with music from the garden of the pub, but we loved it. Our 18 month old son was sound asleep so we could boogie round the tent to some good old 80' tunes!

We will be back again to this site, the landlord is a real hard worker - he never stops but is always friendly and helpful. Well worth stopping here!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kylewood 1 review from this member

This is a great campsite. Me and some friends just wanted a weekend away.

At the start they were not to sure about us, we are all 17 and 18. But they allowed us to come and the owner said 'you are a disgrace to your age group, you where brilliant not one complaint'.

That made the whole group happy and said we are allowed to come back. So if you are looking for a weekend away from home go there.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Camperbaz 2 reviews from this member

I would recommend this site to anyone wishing to stop for a night or a week.

We got a very friendly welcome from the landlord who personally showed us us the facilities.

The site is a well kept flat field with a stream at the bottom in a quiet traditional old English village with a super market just a few minutes walk away providing everything you might need.

Many thanks for a great few days camping.

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Arrachogaidh 15 reviews from this member

Used this as a stopover before going to the Motorhome Show at the NEC. Difficult to find so arrived in the dark. Rain had made the field too soft for my large motorhome so we had to try and fit in the carpark.

Sadly quite a bit of traffic made it awkward. Nice welcome if short, from the landlord. Didn't realise pub didn't do food so that meant a run around. Beer was good and locals friendly. Noise late on made sleep difficult.

However we were allowed to park up until Saturday afternoon.

I think we may have expected more than is offered here.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anita-court 2 reviews from this member

What a warm welcome! Within 10 minutes of booking in, the owner came out with a lovely pot of tea (just what we needed after 4 hours on the road. The setting is beautiful and the site is well maintained.

There are only basic facilities but as a stop over site you don't really need any more. The staff in the pub and the locals are very friendly. As we arrived on a Friday night we decided to try the Chip van, very reasonably priced and delicious.

There is a Chinese about a 20 min walk away and although a little pricey its well worth the visit.

We will definitely be going back

Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019