Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lower Porthamel Organic Farm

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Powys > Brecon > Lower Porthamel Organic Farm Reviews

Lower Porthamel Organic Farm
Lower Porthamel
Talgarth
Brecon
Powys   (Browse area)
LD3 0DL
Tel: 07956 423232
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 20 spacious pitches
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ElleJayBee 1 review from this member

Stayed here in the rain and the sun, we had the site to ourselves for one night and really appreciated being able to build a fire. So few campsites allow fires these days. The place is pitch black at night, perfect for star gazing. The toilets and showers were clean and plenty of toilet roll but only two of each for each gender.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kitekrazy 1 review from this member

What a nice site, good clean toilet block with all the expected amenities, and two great fields to choose from! the orchard is better suited for camping, so we opted for the meadow to pitch up in. OK, it slopes but anyone with a van should be prepared to cope with that. A minor down side is that there is no power available, but we carry a generator for such, but we didn't even need this as the sunny days there got the solar panel to recharge the battery easily. And what great views across the valley to enjoy. What a pleasant site with a great nature trail to walk if you wish.

The couple in charge were great, very helpful, and friendly - the puppy could easily be kidnapped! One we will certainly come back to.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kayfamily 4 reviews from this member

Just got back from a long week at this site and it was really relaxing. The site itself is made up of an orchard which is very pretty, (the pitches are between the trees) or a large field. We had a group of us so stayed in the field. The owners are super relaxed and we didn't even see anyone till the following morning, foraging our own firewood the first evening. They offered to sell us some when they did visit or said we could gather more ourselves from the woodlands which was great.

The location is good, just outside of the National Park, but its only 10 min drive to Brecon. Nearest pub is about a 20 min walk.

The only downside I could imagine is that there is only limited facilities so if the site was busy, you might have to queue - thankfully it was really quiet whilst we were there.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: ElsiesMum 1 review from this member

We visited this campsite today, planning on staying for the weekend, however unfortunately our 6 month old had other ideas and after 5 hours we had to pack up and come home!

I say unfortunately as this is such a lovely campsite I didn't want to leave. The shower block is very well maintained with lovely big Belfast sinks in the washing up area too.

The owners were away but the owners mum came to greet us and was more than helpful with local information and provided us with some wood and kindling for a fire (not that we got to have one!).

We were the first ones there so got a choice of where to pitch in the pretty orchard, not that there's really a bad spot!

Needless to say, when our daughter is a bit older and we decide to brave camping with her again, we will definitely revisit this site.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bristow 1 review from this member

Our stay at this campsite was very relaxing and enjoyable. We arrived Saturday lunchtime and were able to choose where to pitch our tent. We chose the Orchard, where there were picnic benches and areas for campfires.

The toilet, shower and the washing up facilities were clean and tidy.

Excellent Value for money.

Friendly and welcoming.

Camping like the good old days with nothing to distract you like the mobile phone or computer.

Basic camping equals fun family times!

We visited Hay and Brecon whilst staying at this location.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnb2 3 reviews from this member

Despite previous reviews of this campsite not being very good we decided to give it a go as it is under new management. True, the owners have a very laid back approach to rules and campers but this is a nice refreshing change to some others we have been to. Stayed here for 4 nights in the prettiest, quietest orchard with lovely views and great countryside location. The showers were probably the best I have ever had on a campsite and owners were very friendly. The only draw back (or advantage) is it is a good couple of miles to the nearest pub, shop or cafe. Had a meal at the local 3 horeshoes which was brilliant. If you're in this area then try it!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shudder 1 review from this member

Lovely pitch with great views and nice walks. We booked a place in advance, but instead of the orchard, were directed to a field which is next to the busy main road. The owners are friendly and describe themselves as 'relaxed.' This is fine, and preferable to the over-controlled atmosphere of some campsites. However, it is not an excuse for laissez-faire. The toilet facilities were inadequate for the numbers of campers, with long queues, non-flushing toilets, cold showers etc. And the site should really have been declared full rather than allowed to get more busy. There was also a problem with noise. The group next to us played very loud dance music from a powerful car stereo from mid afternoon until the early hours on Saturday and Sunday. Since they did not respond to polite requests we asked the owners to help.

Constructive criticism:

This place could be amazing with a bit of gentle management. Regulate the numbers for the facilities available. Manage antisocial campers. If the owners want to permit loud parties then fine, but advertise the fact so that campers who want peace and quiet (and their young children) are not caught unawares.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greyspeckledhen 11 reviews from this member

We stayed here for half term which was really very rainy, despite which we had a fantastic time. The campsite owners were very friendly and came to check that we were ok every day, showed us where to dry our things and dug trenches across the field to allow the water to drain off it better.

The campsite is basic as the cafe and shop are no longer in operation. There are showers and washing up facilities - two showers in each toilet block plus a disabled toilet and shower, I think.

Being able to have campfires was a real bonus as far as we were concerned and the nature trail was lovely to walk round too.

The campsite is very pretty - worth mentioning the large pond if you have wandering toddlers, though our wandering toddler was fine (if muddy from the rain!)

Lots of indoor stuff to do nearby. We went to Brecon swimming pool, the Hay festival and Llangorse climbing centre (much loved by our 9 & 10 year old).

The River Cafe in Glasbury is great (not cheap) but child friendly and lovely food. We also really liked the Honey cafe in Bronllys.

We'll definitely be back to this camp site.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gocamp 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here on the first bank holiday in May. This is a nice little site and the facilities were very new, though could perhaps have done with a few more showers and toilets. We couldn't find a hot tap for the washing up and so had to fill a bowl from the shower which wasn't ideal, but hopefully they will sort this out soon.

The site is in an orchard and was very pleasant as there were lot of lambs in the field next to us and they were also some friendly ducks in the camping field. They do allow open fires which isn't a problem, but worth mentioning as you do smell of smoke the whole weekend. There were some big family groups on the site which was fine, though it was rather noisy until late (by this I mean the adults and not the kids!).

We really enjoyed our stay on this site, but there was one really big downside. The owners allow dogs on site and whilst we don't mind pooches, we would rather that the owners of the animals were responsible for them. Unfortunately the dogs roamed the site and were also allowed to poo where they liked which really isn't on when there are kids around and also when they poo right next to your tent.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gelksy 2 reviews from this member

A small site within a small organic farm, which sells its own and local produce in a small farm shop.

The facilities were modern and clean, though when the site is full (as it was when we were there) get a little stretched (quite long waits). If I was to get picky I would say they could be improved by having hooks etc for clothes in the shower.

The site is great for children as it has ducks and chickens(though a five o'clock chorus may not be to everybodys liking!)and a nature trail and allows open fires.

We had a good trip and will return, though it was marred somewhat by a group of single male teenagers who stayed up shouting and swearing until three int he morning; not what you want on a family site. I know that this can happen anywhere (and we will return), though given that the owners live on site would have heard the commotion it is a shame that they did not intervene. The next day when I mentioned it at the shop no apology was offered.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Powys

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5816 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019