Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Le Parc Du Val De Loire

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Mesland Loir Et Cher > Le Parc Du Val De Loire Reviews

Le Parc Du Val De Loire
155 Route De Fleuray
Mesland Loir Et Cher
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41150
Tel: 00 33 2 54 70 27 18
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 11 Reviews
                7/10 from 11 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gaffnepe 1 review from this member

 The place was clean but it was hard to warm to it once we found out the Free Wi Fi was 30 minutes in 2. 5 hours and they got very nasty when we asked for what their own booklet promised. For six people what they had promised would have cost hundreds more. Also, safety was an issue. The children's areas had rules but no enforcement so it was law of the jungle at the pool and trampolines. Also they placed campers in the recreational areas thus limiting the little there was for teenagers, in particular. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa390 12 reviews from this member

 This is a big holiday site with hundreds of pitches as well as chalets. We were a couple, with a self-contained small touring caravan (<16 metres) so only used the showers and the wash basins to wash up a portable barbeque.

Reception was bright, clean, helpful, organised and friendly with some bilingual staff if you need them.

As for facilities we found our washing block was quite adequate, clean and with plenty of hot water. The WCs we didn't use but they seemed crude with no seats and were very low down as if for the use of children only. The chemical WC emptying point was adequate but a rinsing tap inside the cubicle would have been more convenient than using a sink outside. The toilet block seemed however to be a magnet for the (mostly Dutch) teenagers shouting and fooling around in the evening which could be intimidating for smaller children. The laundry was useful.

Our pitch 369 was mostly quiet and on the edge of the site, so well away from the main entertainments area of the site, just as well because the music was rather loud but not too late into the evening. Pitch access with a caravan was a little difficult because of existing trees round which you will need to manouevre, so be careful if you have a big caravan.

The camp shop was well stocked, linked to the (excellent) Casino supermarket in Onzain and their freshly baked bread twice a day was lovely.

Electricity was a bit dodgy, despite having a 35 metre 16 amp cable, we needed an additional cable to reach the nearest socket tower, which we borrowed for a EUR30 deposit from reception. The reverse polarity warning was present on our system the whole time and the connection was exposed in all weathers. We didn't have any problems with tripping out, assuming a 10 amp rating however.

Of concern to us, given the history of thefts from this site (see earlier reviews) was the fact that for most of our 8 day stay here, the security barriers were locked open, allowing free access to anyone who cared to drive in. We assume some sort of fault was causing this but it was never repaired.

So, caution, lock your car and caravan, even when you are inside them, keep your valuables close to you and do not leave keys or anything that matters in your tent or awning.

Otherwise this was a pleasant site and well placed for this part of the Loire Valley. We would return.

Amboise is delightful especially the food market on a Friday morning (arrive at 10am and free parking is easy by the river. ) Blois is pretty and worth a visit and of course the Chateaux are worth a visit too.

The best restaurant in the area is without a doubt La Domaine du Hauts de Loire with two red Michelin rosettes which is between Mesland and Onzain and you could almost walk there. Book ahead for a table, dress is smart casual. It is quite expensive as one would expect, but the food and service are quite exquisite with lovely wines and all the trimmings; budget about 150 per head for dinner. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

 We arrived in the monsoon conditions at the end of April. The touring pitches were a bit of a quagmire ( not the fault of the site) and quite small. However the electrics were in 2 main pillars at either end of the touring rows, you will need at least a 25 metre ehu lead or longer. The fitment is French NOT CEE as shown in the ACSI book, nor is the power 10 amp as quoted. The consensus was about 5amps before tripping.

Otherwise the site looked perfect for families with small children. With the heated pools, water slides etc. The new sanitary block was going to be marvellous when completed, we still had the luxury of centrally heated showers and toilets.

Amboise is well worth a visit for the Clos Luce where Leonardo da vinci spent the last few years of his life. The gardens have full size interactive models that would keep even teenagers interested.

There is Wifi at the site, but at a price.

Best bit is that they take Vacansoleil cheques in low season 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: James and Sarah 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights on the way back from the south of France.

The site has good facilities and entertainment for the size of the this site.

This was spoilt as on the second night the tent was cut open whilst we slept, just above the side pockets in the bedroom our two girls were sleeping in. The campsite dealt with us in a helpful considerate manner. They called the local police as requested. (My wife liked the look of the Gendarmerie office who attended us. ) We were not the only victim that night of the crime.

To summarise, nice people, nice location, unfortunately because of the attack I would never take my family there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VWilding 1 review from this member

 We visited this site with our touring caravan with our 12 year old daughter and 8 year old son. Our friends came with us with their tourer, 3 kids aged 4, 8 and 13.

On first impression the site looks quite sparse and not as immaculate as we found when staying at Parc de Montsabert(Yelloh) the year before. There are lots of things for kids of all ages to do and a very inviting games area, great pool area and sunbathing area. Beware of the Chlorine content of the covered pool- all our children's skin burnt and dried out( not sunburn)

The site may be a bit tame for kids over 14-15 as no big entertainment program.

It is a great site for kids to ride around on their bikes and there are parks, boules and everything you would expect.

The shower block nearest to us was cleaned each day but did smell awful by the end of the day. There did not seem to be a particular time for the cleaning although it was stated on the entrance.

The shop was pretty good value- good job because the supermarket was about 6km away! You can get all your essentials and bread/milk/ water/ wine!

The BIG down side for us was that the site was raided by thieves on one night when it was windy and raining ( to drown out any noise). About 10 tents were slashed as people slept in them and money, Sat Navs, Nintendos etc were taken. It was the tents that were targeted rather than caravans or campervans and the British and Dutch appeared to be the ones that were targetted. Lots of holidays were ruined. Our awning was unzipped but nothing of value was in it. The family next to use had their tent slashed as they slept and they stepped over the kids, emptied the blokes jeans pocket- took the keys and opened the car and emptied the car too! No security visible only a barrier and you would think it was safe as it is in the middle of no-where. If you are going to stay in a tent on this site please lock all your belongings in the boot of your car and sleep with the keys!Apparently the site was ' done' in June 2010 so it was not a one off and I am annoyed that Security was not stepped up too.

Great cycling in the area ( on quiet roads) and lovely restaurant in Mesland doing Plat de Jour where nothing is too much trouble and kids welcome.

We will be going back to Parc de Montsabert ( near Angers)- not quite as much to do but a haven of peace and tranquility, immaculate a very hands on owner and safe! Hope this helps! We caravan in France every year and have probably been lucky that theives have never struck before. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Creders 9 reviews from this member

 We booked this site a while ago as it seemed to have everything on site to keep our 9 yr old son entertained and appeared it would have a little something for the grown ups.

When we arrived it was extremely busy with 2 large areas by the gates that had free form pitching which did nothing to entice you into the site. There was a mixture of units all randomly pitched and it resembled a refugee camp!

We had booked an individual pitch and was at first disappointed with the location but it probably proved to be our saviour as I will explain later. There are not many hook up points and fortunately we had taken an extension as our 25 metre lead was about 4 metres too short. A European adaptor was also needed. Water points were in short supply too. The marked pitches were well defined with established trees and were of a reasonable size.

The sanitary facilities really let the site down. The showers were grubby, the sinks stained and the toilets cleaned on what seemed an irregular basis. Toilet paper was never available from late afternoon onwards and the toilet doors were etched with graffiti from the 1990's. One of the toilet blocks had no sink for handwashing. Considering this is a 4 star site they fall far short of what should be expected. The washing up sinks didn't fare any better either.

The new pool complex was inviting with a couple of slides, a jacuzzi and water fountains. There is a covered pool for the days the sun decided to stay behind clouds. The pool area was kept clean but the water never seemed to warm up but that never bothered my son or any of the other kids in the water every day.

The pool was over looked by a terrace which had a bar/restaurant. Lunch menu was nice and not too expensive. The restaurant was very busy at night with all the food being made fresh so sometimes a long wait ensued. The food was not too bad on price with pizza/pasta being around 8 Euro and meat dishes around 10 euro. Beer came in at 4Euro and a 50cl carafe of local wine a bargain at 5.5 Euro and it was very drinkable too!

The promised entertainment was very low key. Comprised of disco or karaoke nights and a visiting circus which went down a storm with the kids but not much at all for grown ups.

The play areas for kids were very good with zip wires, BMX ramps and Margurite the cow which was a big bouncy castle with wait for it, a cow in the middle! Provided hours of fun but was unsupervised and numbers exceeded the recommended amount at times. Reasonably flat around the park and was safe for the kids to go off cycling around the park.

Unfortunately the holiday was tarred by the fact that a few people on site were robbed overnight. It appears that there are gangs attacking campsites over night through the part of the Loire we were staying in. On the night our site was targeted a couple more sites locally were hit too. Around 7 units were targeted both tents and caravans. The tents and awnings were slashed and any valuables which were in sight were taken. One family had the car keys taken from their shorts pocket and the car emptied of all the valuables which they had locked away thinking that they would be safe. The campsite reception staff were visibly upset by the incident which had also happened only a few weeks before. The site said it did employ a night patrol man but I have to admit we never saw him and a few nights we did observe the main gate to the site being left open. Saying that the peripheral fence to the site was not particularly secure either. The local police said it had been a particular problem over the summer. I have great admiration for the people affected because they were determined it was not going to spoil their holiday. As it turned out our quite public pitching spot probably kept us safe as the pitch 2 spots away was targeted!

Shop on site was small but baked its own bread/croissants each day and never ran out no matter what time you went in.

Site is quite isolated and it was a good 5 minute drive to the local town. There was a selection of bars, restaurants and a couple of banks with ATM's. There was also and Intermarche with a petrol station.

Dont think I would go back to this particular site but I would visit the area again.

Top tip from this holiday- Hire one of the fridges it saved us a fortune in food costs! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joannehoward 10 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for 3 nights in August. We had booked and paid in advance on the internet. We had booked the cheapest pitch option. As we pulled through the gate the place looked packed. We checked in by a friendly girl and were told to camp anywhere in the 2 first areas.

There was only 1 or 2 pitches to choose from, being gaps between trees. It looked completely crowded with hardly any space in between caravans and tents.

The electric boxes were spaced far apart with 13 sockets on each so extra long leads were needed but we got lucky near a box. The area where we were pitched as far as I could tell had only one water tap, the only other one I could find was in front of reception, the toilet block was a good walk away.

We would have had a different experience if I had paid more for an individual pitch, and asked to be nearer the shower/ toilet block. There is a big row of about 10 loos and 4 urinals near reception but no handbasin, which I thought very poor. They could easily put in a handbasin and a tap in this area.

The pools, pizza bar, take away and play areas were very good. The shop was small but they baked their own bread and cakes every morning. Once they had a clown entertain the kids and then the next day a whole circus turned up for entertainment.

If I go again I would book an individual pitch rather than going on the free camping area. There are 2 big supermarkets a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ciarri 20 reviews from this member

 Four nights in mid august

We hadn't booked, but there was plenty of space even at this busy time, its a big site so I suppose generally there will be pitches available. We had been here before 4 years ago and loved it. It's since been taken over by new owners who have much improved the swimming area - ceating more water slides and a more extensive outside pool area. There's also an adventure playground for older kids with a couples of zipwires, etc. Which they love. The campsite has a lovely autmosphere, really relaxing around the pitches, yet lots to do for kids (and parents)

The one downside is that since the changes have been made, the price has risen, it cost 49.10 per night for 2 adults and 3 children on a pitch without water and drainage (these pitches cost a few euro more), which I thought was quite steep for a campsite in this area. The toilets and showers are very clean but a little shabby looking. Having said that, its really a great site, in a lovely loacation. Amboise is a lovely town and Clos Luce, Leonardo Da Vinci's house complete with interactive life size versions of all his fabulous inventions is a day trip that kids of all ages will love 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Malve 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a week here.

This is an excellent site. Pitches are large and for the most part in sheltered areas. There is an outdoor water area with water slides as well as a heated indoor pool. Staff are very friendly. Bar/Pizzeria/Restaurant does pretty good food and you can take this back to your tent/accommodation if you wish. There is a special each night and Tuesday and Thursday nights were Paella and Moules Frites respectively. Entertainment provided for kids and adults during the day and evening included table tennis, basketball, football, petanque etc.

Site was cleaned everyday and rubbish and recycling was outside the site over the road so no nasty smells etc. The toilets nearest the reception did not have any wash basins so would advise to use other facilities although these all got quite busy in the morning.

There were a good range of nationalities on site although there was definitely a heavy Dutch bias.

Also a lot of people only stayed for a short period/overnight.

There is a small shop on site for basics (bread) but there is an Intermarche 5 mns away in Onzain and a Leclerc Hyper 20 mns away in Amboise. The site is right in the middle of the Touraine wine region so plenty of wineries and is an ideal base for visiting the chateaux of the Loire.

All in all a site I would thoroughly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Blonde 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed for three nights and loved every moment, fantastic location. Massive pitches, everything neat and tidy. Two swimming pools - one covered, tennis courts play area for smaller children, and not forgetting 'Margeurite' the bouncy cow!
Evening entertainment very good suitable for all the family. Bicycle hire on site plus they have their own bakery - the bread was fantastic (still warm straight out of the oven)!
Toilets and showers well maintained, bins emptied regularly. Overall definitely a 10/10, well worth the trip! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Le Parc Du Val De Loire child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Does Le Parc Du Val De Loire have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Le Parc Du Val De Loire ?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Le Parc Du Val De Loire dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Mesland Loir Et Cher      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4160 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement