Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Le Logis Du Breuil

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Poitou-Charentes > St Augustin Sur Mer > Le Logis Du Breuil Reviews

Le Logis Du Breuil
36 Rue Du Centre
St Augustin Sur Mer
Poitou-Charentes   (Browse area)
17570
Tel: 00 33 5 46 23 23 45
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 390
Open: 04 May - 30 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 30 Reviews
                9/10 from 30 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Liannwilcox 4 reviews from this member

We stopped here for a few nights while visiting the area.

Unfortunately the site was not at all what we were expecting looking at previous reviews.

Positives

Polite and welcoming staff, large level pitch, nice restaurant with average prices and attractive if over populated pool.

Negatives

The site is predominantly full of British tourists who are all sectioned together like a modern day housing estate in middle England. Everyone on this vast site seemed well acquainted with each other and albeit very friendly was somewhat reminiscent of a scene from stepford wives. Children running riot everywhere with no parental control up until 2300 hrs at night. Dodging children on bikes at all hours. Not the peace it advertises. I did not feel at all like I was in France but along with sun lounger reservations it felt like a cheap package holiday in the med.

The shower and toilet facilities were some of the worst we have used in France. Very old, broken and heavily stained toilets. Most of all though they were filthy with toilet paper strewn everywhere, smelt of urine and faeces on the cubicle panels. There is no 3 or 4G in the area so Wi-fi is needed and at an additional hourly rate this is another expenditure that shouldn’t be charge for when your paying over €55 euro per night for a pitch with 6 amp electric. At the higher end of pppn pitch fees I do not feel we got value for money on this site. If they update the toilet block, provide Wi-fi, clean up the sanitary areas, provide toilet rolls in the cubicles and cap the noise then maybe yes but we certainly won’t be recommending or returning.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Theothertwin 17 reviews from this member

This site has very large pitches in an assortment of locations: shady, part shady and full sun. More pitches have been opened this year and offer fully serviced pitches, which if the campers does not require are locked by way of tap lock etc.

The site is very popular with the British and at first, when we arrived, we thought we were at an Isabella show site. According to Christian, the owner, it is has the highest levels of booking from the Caravan and Motorhome Club than any other site in France.

Christian and his family run the site and they are very hands on. It is very clean and well cared for. The grass is cut regularly and also as soon as a plot is vacated it is cut before the next people arrive. The swimming pool is excellent and has a slide, bubbles and side channel. Gradually sloping to aid entry. They strictly observe the French rule in the pool - NO SHORTS! You may well be asked to leave the pool if you ignore the signs.

The on site restaurant is good but when we were there it lacked the support of those on site. The meals we had there were very good but you do need to keep an eye on the notice board about specials. The meals were slightly compromised by the World Cup schedule but as that is nearly over should be ok now.

There is an on-site shop which was ok but a 5 minute walk away is a small supermarket and a Boulangeri. The local market consisted of one stall selling local vegetables and fruit.

Whilst the site has over 300 pitches I cannot say it ever felt big, it may be different in high season though. We tried to avoid using our car as we can cycle but for those who can’t it was 10 minutes to Palais sur Mer and Palmyre sur Mer. Bigger supermarkets could be found at Palais (5 minutes by car) and Rohan (15 minutes by car). The only downside to this site is that you need to cycle or drive to the beach, otherwise it is perfect.

Toilets and showers were very good and we never had to queue for either. Nice play area for children but some ignorant people thought it was for their dog .

We hope to return in a few years as the area has lots to offer and we did not see it all.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Delboyarapaho 5 reviews from this member

Still a very good and well organised site. Great pool area and super large pitches and very well maintained. Plenty of shade if wanted and clean amenities. Cristian the site owner makes contact with everyone and is available several times a day for any issues to be resolved. Very customer focussed and friendly.

Restaurant provided a nice meal but pretty basic. Good restaurant just across the road from the entrance. Cycle routes into st palais and to Grand Cote from the site use roads in places but normally not too busy.

Site is a little out of the way for a motorhome and the beach is a several mile cycle ride but there are several aires nearby the beach where vehicle could be left if beach is of interest.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony1958 3 reviews from this member

A massive site with great facilities in a lovely part of the world. We chose not to use their restaurant, preferring to cater for ourselves. When we first arrived, the pitches looked to be quite close together but we needn't have worried. Once we were taken to our pitch it was in a shady area under the trees and had plenty of room. It was a little more expensive than some of the sites we stayed at but I think that was more to do with the location in an area that is mainly geared towards tourists.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frannyvan 17 reviews from this member

Arrived around teatime after a one night stop-over at Rennes from the Poole Cherbourg Ferry, to a speedy check-in.

Really pleased with our pitch, which was under a large oak tree, over looking the playpark. Felt very safe to let our 4 year play on the park alone, as were plenty of other children around (mostly English and Dutch). Defo glad we took a couple of bikes as our oldest was able to ride down to the on site shop to get a baguette for breakfast and also the bakery and Proximart in the village. Other big supermarkets were within easy reach in the car.

Facilities were nice and open and kept very clean considering the traffic in and out. Water was nice and hot for washing up and nice big laundry sinks. As with most french toilets, it's handy to take soap to wash your hands with and maybe toilet paper as could run a bit low.

The new pool was very busy and was hard to get a seat most days, but the kids loved it. Lovely and warm and lots to keep them entertained.

We may have picked the wrong couple of weeks and would consider going later in August if we return next year, as the costal roads were rammed with beach traffic and the supermarkets were chokka!

We were very lucky with the weather, or maybe was typical for The Charante but certainly better than the dreary summers we have experienced in Cornwall in the last couple of years.

Also we'd love to return to the Zoo at Palmyre as was a great day out which we all enjoyed. Especially feeding Giraffes and Elephants with Popcorn!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 4princesses 11 reviews from this member

We first visited (and reviewed) this site last year. However, with the addition of the new aquatic park, I felt it fair to add another review.

The pool area with slides, lazy river, hot tub is a huge addition to an already fantastic site. Our children loved spending time there, and whilst at times it was crowded (it is the height of summer after all) everyone was very respectful and still able to enjoy themselves.

The site is a family run one and the family take great pride in their site both in the care of it and their friendly manner towards everyone.

This site has a lot of returning customers and it is easy to see why.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Newodyssee 6 reviews from this member

Generally a good site. We rented a brand new caravan which was excellent- only disadvantage was that it was next to a waste disposal area where the caravan owners emptied their toilets-so smelly at times. Swimming pool was a definite plus- new this summer. An excellent pool with plenty of space, water slides, Jacuzzi area, lazy river. Restaurant service was good, and menu child friendly. The camping area seemed overcrowded to us- we usually camp in France and are used to larger, hedge surrounded pitches. Most mobile homes were owned by British families and there was a true British feel. However, my son happily joined in table tennis and football games with the 'regulars' and wasn't excluded at all. Reception friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Xenophon 7 reviews from this member

A very well-run site. We spent time on two different pitches. All pitches are a good size, but some are enormous, if irregularly-shaped, which wasn't an issue for us. Some pitches, on the two 'avenues' running North/South next to the main field have little or no shade and we needed rock pegs because the ground was so hard. On the other hand, there are a lot of shady pitches - you need to ask when booking. Plenty of washing facilities, cleaned well and regularly. A bicycle is a definite advantage if you are on the south or west side of the site, because it is huge, and you will find yourself a long way from the pool/reception/shop etc. I can't comment on the shop as we went down the road to the Proximarché oppposite the site entrance which had everything we needed on a daily basis plus an excellent butcher (the owner of the business) who did everything he could for us. Prices are a bit higher than at the supermarkets at Vaux and past Les Mathes, but I like to leave the car parked up as much as possible. It's about 25 minutes to the beach by bicycle, for example, for someone who uses a pushbike regularly.

I couldn't fault the quality of what is offered by this site, but we won't be going back. When we were there, at the end of July/start of August, this was an overwhelmingly British site, which is not we are looking for when we go to France (there was a set of circumstances that led us here this time); a lot of people have bought mobile homes here and spend the summer or sublet them to British families, the avenues next to the open field reminded us of a CC site (unsurprising as it can be booked direct through the CC), which we would choose not to visit in the UK, there are a lot of repeat visitors and a well-established social circle, which was not particularly inclusive (though that didn't bother us). I can understand why people might prefer to be somewhere where language will not be an obstacle, and they would be well served here, but if you are a bit more adventurous, you may find it a bit too much like home, but with good weather.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Tillett 1 review from this member

This is our fourth visit to this site and it never disappoints. Very large pitches

New toilet block 2014

Shop and restaurant bike hire all on site

Nice pool only downside no umbrellas for shade

Good mix of nationalities

Very friendly staff who all speak English

Not a lot in the immediate vicinity, but only a short drive you will find all you need beach, supermarkets and small seaside towns. Lots of cycling on the doorstep

This is not a commercial site no entertainment

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 4princesses 11 reviews from this member

Where to start! This is a wonderful site with so much to do in the surrounding areas.

We stayed on a serviced pitch which was huge and in a great location. The nearby toilet and shower block was spotless and cleaned regularly. The staff were very friendly and the campsite shop well stocked - I enjoyed my morning stroll to get the croissants every day!

The pool was a fair size although it was cold despite the blazing sun. The rules do say no balls allowed in the pool (something we didn't notice initially) so my daughter was told she couldn't play with her inflatable beach ball, which was fair enough. However, this rule was consistently applied as the were often others using balls in the pool!

Its a site I would definitely stay at again and I can see why many people do return every year.

Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near St Augustin Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Poitou-Charentes

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4230 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019