Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of La Corniche

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Plozevet > La Corniche Reviews

La Corniche
Plozevet
Plozevet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29710
Tel: 00 33 02 98 91 32 93
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 120

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geoff48 23 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed stay of 9 days here mid to Late June 2014.

We travelled here from Roscoff on quiet roads, the journey took approx, 2 hours. The site was very easy to find, the actual entrance is about 20 yards down a minor road but is well signed from the main road. The entrance is straightforward usually you would need to pull in to the car park on the left as you enter the site, reception is immediately ahead. Because we were in low season the barrier arm was up and we went a little past reception and met the owner as he was doing some jobs. Having shown him the booking form and CCI card he gave us the choice of sites advising us which ones would be sunny and which ones provide shade. Jean Pierre was very friendly and seemed to prefer my French rather than his English, I think his English was at least as good as my French so language was no problem. In high season a key is needed for the barrier, and in fact towards the end of our stay the barrier was used, we were given a key without deposit though in high season a deposit of 20 Euro will be needed. We were given a choice of pitches and being typically English opted for the sunny aspects. The wise Dutch Germans and French sensibly seemed to opt for the shade.

The pitches are an average size, certainly adequate for my 5 berth and awning. There are small hedges splitting the areas into 4 pitch sites, served by UK style electric points. The water point was also incorporated to the electric bollard. The water pressure was very low also you couldn’t rest your Aquaroll on the unit but length of the filler hose was sufficient to prevent problems. The site roads were compacted sand and gravel. The pitches I saw all appeared level and our pitch had no reverse polarity.

There was a mixture of Nationalities on site and a variety of units motorhomes, caravans and tents.

The toilet block and showers were unisex with toilet boards and toilet paper supplied for the WC’s. There was one exception with one tradition French style toilet (not personally tested)

The heated swimming pool was clean warm and refreshing, and there was a playground for young children.

Because we were in low season the salle d’amination was not used for any programmed activities however for those that wanted the world cup matches were shown on a projector.

There was bread ordering service and a very small bar. The bar opened around 17:00 hours when I took it upon myself each day to try the local cider produce, verdict excellent!

Whilst we were enjoying our stay it became evident that the site was gearing up for high season bar snacks were introduced and was good value in quantity and price – 5 Euro for Croque Monsieur and chips.

The site is very well run, the toilet block, showers and washing up area kept clean and cleaned regularly. I should mention how helpful the owners son Clement was our conversations each afternoon were both informative and interesting and certainly improved my French! (He speaks very good English having spent a year in Australia and a few months in the States)

There are many supermarkets nearby, the nearest in Plozevet is Intermarche. The village was quite pretty but lacked in character, perhaps due to low season? This is a site ideal for touring Finisterre with all its attractions. We had excellent sunny weather each day, I had expected rain, wind and some sun so the weather was an added bonus. Would we return, yes though we suspect in high season that the towns and resorts in the area will be busier. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dealt25 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Pitches large, with plenty of room to spare after we set up our awning. Toilets and showers clean and modern and never had to queue. Swimming pool warm and a good depth range for my five year old. Take aways were available while we were there, but often had to be ordered the day before. Village only 10 min walk away and supermarket nearby too. Croissants etc available to order at office, which we took advantage of! Lovely site with loads to do in the area. Would definitely come again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynn and Bob 1 review from this member

 This site was booked through the Camping and Caravanning Club and the Club's comment in their brochure was very accurate indeed.

We arrived with our caravan, were greeted warmly and were very efficiently checked in and shown to our excellent pitch. At this pitch, Monsieur asked us if we were happy with it or would we like to choose another.

We have a large caravan and had the awning and gazebo up in no time with plenty of space left.

The facilities were excellent with toilets always kept clean as was the washing up area.

As a result of the good weather, the pool was a welcome retreat, and contrary to previous reviews, was heated.

The bar was small, however, sold the necessary thirst quenchers and did not charge over the odds for this, unlike many other sites in the area.

The location of the site is very rural with plenty of peace and quiet (Lynn is a school teacher and this was very much appreciated).Although rural,it is only a 500 metre walk into a lovely village that caters for your immediate needs. An Inter Marche is the same distance again and is excellent.

The management of this site is excellent and we cannot praise them enough for the effort they put into bringing everybody together for various evening functions - BBQ's etc.

There are three main routes out of the village that lead to other interesting parts of this area.

We were there for a week and did not cover every place we wanted to visit.

The local roads were a pleasure to drive on unlike our roads at home!

Overall, we were delighted with this site and would highly recommend it. We will certainly be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twoinatent 3 reviews from this member

 A fantastic little site. It accommodated our large unit (7m x 8m) well with room to spare! The pitches are made more private by being hedged off. The facilities were clean although a little tip - the toilet roll is in a dispenser outside the toilets and on occasions there isn't any at all - so take a loo roll with you and you will never be caught short ;).

The campsite is in comfortable commuting distance from Roscoff ferry port and most of the attractions in the west Brittany area. There are 3 supermarkets nearby which is always handy. We would definitely consider coming to this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chloe205 1 review from this member

 We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Camping La Corniche. I chose it because of the positive reviews on this website and also because we have 2 small children (aged 5 and 4) and I felt that some of the larger sites with the massive waterparks were just too big for the little ones (one of whom has an appalling sense of direction and would undoubtedly get lost!) The campsite feels safe as the reception area was always manned and there is a locked gate (for which you need a key - 20E deposit).

The site is tidy, well arranged and the pitches adequately sized. The water and electricity (10amp) are well situated and so the hook ups are close to the pitches. The pitches are mostly surrounded by shrubs and bushes at least on 2 sides, and so feel quite private. The hydrangeas were out and so the site was colourful.

The toilet block was always spotless. There were plenty of loos, showers and basins. I found it a little strange that the male and female blocks led into each other so there were frequently blokes in the ladies side - but I wasn't that bothered - the cubicles are pretty private really. The water wasn't very hot which would be my only real criticism. There are 2 under cover washing up areas also.

The pool was beautifully clean and had a smaller paddling area for the kids with a waterfall mushroom thing, a shallow end and a deep end. There are loungers around the pool and some umbrellas. The signs around the school strictly forbid swimming shorts (my husband was dismayed when I told him he'd have to wear speedos) but in actual fact this did not seem to be very rigidly enforced whilst we were there. The water was reasonably warm - would have been lovely if the weather had been better for our stay! The small play area and trampoline were a big hit with our boys too.

The site does have Wifi - I did pay up (10E for a week) but wasn't very successful at logging in. Some other visitors were able to access the internet but found that the connection was not always reliable.

The staff are all very pleasant. Jean-Pierre is the boss and is very friendly. He doesn't seem to speak a lot of English though (or maybe he was just being polite as he might have known I was desperate to practice my rusty French!) There are various evening activities organised, including BBQ and discos. There is also a small games room. The on site takeaway served good frites, and on some nights did moules-frites (which apparently were good - sadly I'm allergic to them so didn't risk it!)

Plozevet is a small town with a tourist office, a couple of bakers, 2 butchers, and a few eating places and bars. There is also an excellent Intermarche which sells virtually everything (closes 7.30pm and 12.30 on Sundays). The campsite has a baker's delivery every day (not incredibly cheap but bread quite good and very convenient!) The beach is probably about 15-20 mins walk or 5 mins drive and is sandy with rockpools also nearby. Big waves though being the Atlantic!

We didn't have great weather whilst we were there and so were forced to look for beach alternatives. Fortunately there's plenty to do - we visited the Aquashow at Audierne which we enjoyed, went swimming at the Aquarive indoor pool in Quimper, climbed the lighthouse at Penmarc'h, and spent a very wet day in beautiful Concarneau. The port musee at Douarnenez is also a good wet weather day (you can scramble around on their collection of 5 different boats).

All in all we had a fab holiday and would recommend this campsite. Thanks for reading and have a lovely holiday! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Happyscrapper 4 reviews from this member

 We booked this site through the Camping and Caravanning Club who arranged everything from booking the site, ferries, etc. It was the first time we have taken our Motorhome abroad and were really pleased with the facilities on offer at this site. Everything was extremely clean and tidy and the owner was very helpful and nice. The site had a mixture of mainly English and French visitors and we found everyone on the site to be very friendly, with the French people eager to help us speak French and enjoying it when we didn't quite speak French to them. Nearly every evening there was some form of entertainment ranging from bingo, football match, Samba band, petanque, a local singing group, a disco, etc, but it was so laid back that you didn't feel that you had to participate unless you really wanted to. Also they organised things to do for the children during the evening which was a great way for the English and French children to mix.During our stay we saw lots of French people playing petanque all around the site which was very interesting.

Our Motorhome is 17ft long and we were given a lovely pitch which had enough rooom for our awning plus room for an outside table and four chairs to the side of the our motorhome. Also the pitch was open at the front so it made is very easy to position and park our motorhome. Pitches are separated by hedges which provided privacy on the pitches. The swimming pool was superb and was heated slightly when we were there. The area surrounding the pool was spotless with sun loungers and a couple of parasols provided for shade. The toilet block was again very clean and the only fault was the showers did not have controls to change the temperature as we found them to be a bit cold for us.

Plozevet village is only about a 5 minute flat walk away and has bakeries, bars, cafe's and the Intermarche supermarket is about another 5 minutes walk from the village. We did not move our motorhome once we arrived on site as it was so easy to walk to the village or in the other direction to the beach. We also took bicycles which meant we could choose from quite a few beaches nearby. Two minutes away from the campsite is a bakery which sold some extremely tasty crusty bread and croissants.

During our stay at this campsite they had the world famous Mondial Folk Festival on in Plozevet which was fantastic to watch during the week.

We would recommend this site and will be visiting again next Summer. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Creders 9 reviews from this member

 What a gem of a site!

The site is flat with clearly marked pitches, some are bigger than others but all are a decent size. All have EH at 10amps (C&C Club advertise it as 6), we did have reverse polarity but had taken appropriate EH. Some pitches seemed to be in the shade for most of the day due to well established trees.

The sanitary block was always kept clean. There are individual cubicles with sinks,an individual vanity light and power point, only wished I had taken an adaptor! Toilet paper was on the outside of the cubicles (forgot every now and again oops)and the toilets were always clean and never had a queue. Showers were plentiful but had no thermostatic control, saying that I never had a problem. In the sanitary block there were 2 washing machines and dryers(the cost of a wash included the soap powder) and also 2 undercover wash up areas one of which had 2 hand washing sinks.

The on site pool was spotless. This was due to the fact of the owners strictly imposing hygiene rules i.E. No footwear, no swim shorts, no drinks / food or smoking around the pool. A little harsh maybe but the clean pool and area made up for it!

There is a play area with swings/slides for different age groups and a set of goal posts. Bikes are for hire but only adult bikes much to the disappointment of our 7 yr old. There is also a games room with an air hockey table,pool table, football table (@1 euro a game)and also table tennis tables which were free you just needed to buy bat/ball.

The on site shop was very basic but you could order fresh bread/croissants the night previous to collect in the morning. Small bar with alcoholic / soft drinks very reasonably priced. A small amount of entertainment organised such as footy comps and swimming pool games and a couple of evening shows (local music / dance), very enjoyable on the patio with a bottle of local cider!

The town is a 7 minute walk away with a butchers, bakers, gift shop, a couple of bars and restaurants and an Intermarche which was very well stocked. There was also a bakers 4 minutes walk from the site which was open daily and their bread was delicious! The beach was sandy / rocky and around 20 mins walk.

Further afield there was a SuperU and a Carrefour for shopping and Plozevet is ideally situated for visiting the local area. Was there when the Mondial Folk festival was on,which was a treat, nice to see local communities coming together. Great atmosphere!

Cant find a negative thing to say.

Took a family vote and we are going again next year! Cant say any more than that! 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Delboy5465 20 reviews from this member

 We booked this site through the Camping & Caravanning Carefree Travel. Situated an easy drive from Roscoff approximately 72 miles.
The site is excellent ,the pitch we had was more than adequate for our car,camper and awning plus room to sit outside. The pitches are split up into sections divided by hedges ,the ones where the caravans went never had hedges at the front which enables easier access getting onto pitch.
There is a security barrier at entrance which you need a returnable deposit of 20 Euros. There is an excellant swimming pool which we found to be unheated though this was fine on hot days also has a number of sun lungers around the edges.
The shower and toilet block was great also ,the showers could have done with being alittle warmer though there were plenty of them and also seperate cubicles with handbasins. Everything was kept as clean as possible and we never had to queue for these.
There was also a small football pitch ,playground and games room to keep the children occupied.On certain nights there were different shows which included traditional Breton dancing and also a disco .
The site was within walking distance of Plozevet approx 5 minutes along the road were you could shop at the Intermarch supermarket which also had a petrol station .In the village was also a pizza takeaway and a couple of bars / creperies .There was an equal mixture of nationalities on site. Locally we found some great places to visit such as Point De Raz and Benodet and our favourite was Quimper which was approx a 20 minute drive away.
As this was our first venture camping in France we would highly recommend  the site ,peace and quiet ,not too far from the beaches dotted along coast and with excellant facilities ,my only gripe was the pool was cold and the showers could do with being warmer and if I visited this area again I would not hesitate to go back to La Corniche. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is La Corniche child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does La Corniche have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to La Corniche?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is La Corniche dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Plozevet      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2993 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement