Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Glen Rosa

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Glen Rosa Reviews

Glen Rosa
Glen Rosa Farm
Brodick
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8DF
Tel: 01770 302380  or  07985 566004
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 7 Reviews
                7/10 from 7 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Katieg 1 review from this member

 Great basic site, good base for hiking, plenty of space.

Unmanned but clean, well stocked loos and cold water tap - all we needed.

Pack a midgey net! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rossp1 1 review from this member

 Perfect location and feels just like rough camping with the benefit of cold running water.

Midgies are a pain so take some spray, candles and get a fire going quick!

Would happily use again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Revjimbob 1 review from this member

 I have been going to this campsite for 20 years, usually at least once or twice a year. I live in Ayrshire just across the Firth of Clyde.

I love it - it is as picturesque as they come. I love being able to set fires, and don't mind the basic facilities at all. It is a lot quieter than it used to be when I started coming, and drunken neds are a lot rarer (the police used to give those who had illegally camped on the beach at Brodick a free lift to the camp site).

Highly recommended, but bring a midge net. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fanty 1 review from this member

 Very very basic was the owners own words.

What a lovely site for the gorgeous views.

There is one toilet block with two wash basins and as bugs bunny would say that's all folks.

There is room for 5 or 6 cars to park at the side of the road. Then its humph your gear down a slippy slope. There is a lovely river snaking along side the camp site which has 4 main areas to camp.

Midge nets are a must unless you burn gorse to smoke them out. Its about a 20min walk into brodick but the scenery is lovely.

The owner sells 6 logs for 4. 50 so but them from down the town where you get double for less.

It costs 4 per night for over 12 and 2 per night for kids to camp. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu_and_Dawn 12 reviews from this member

 This site is like no other I've ever visited.10/10 in some respects, 1/10 in others. Let me explain.

First the positives. The site is located in just about the most stunning location you could put a campsite, beautiful views all round, just at the foot of northeastern mountains of Arran, as a base for walking/climbing it is great 10/10.

Also on location, Brodick ferry and the town with supermarket etc are half an hours walk away.10/10.

This is one of the few campsite which allow open fires, nice while camping and very very good in the war against the midges (which are copious by the burn)10/10

Now the negatives.

Firstly, the 'facilities' there are flushing toilets, and a tap. That's it! There is a plastic wash bowl attached to the tap by a chain and some washing line in the gents (which were absolutely filthy, there is graffiti from 2002. I accept the simplicity of the toilet block but a lick of paint is not too much to ask) 1/10.

There was a lot of litter around the site, and on our second night we saw maybe why. It was a Thursday and in the afternoon two 'groups' arrived that were not quite there for the walking like the people who had been there the previous night. One of these groups was made up of 4 adults and 9 kids, they made straight for the trees snapping branches to make a fire and generally hell raising. I probably sound like a snob but I was surprised to be invited with their whole party to the pub at 9:30 (in the morning!) Hearing cries of where's my f***ing vodka at 6:30am from the groups' matriarch made us glad we were finished on our backpack trek and were off home that day.

As I said this site is near the ferry terminal (cost $5.70) and Glasgow is only a short train ride from the other end so it is a cheap holiday for some. I did conclude that for all I was glad we were going it was kind of nice to see these feral kids out of their city environment, who knows it might be the making them.

I'm sorry if this review has drifted from the point but its worth pointing out there are four fields on this site and the field furthest from the road is probably a safe bet for those who appreciate their peace.

Overall, VERY basic site, which attracts all sorts, far field is best bet. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

 I'll be honest. As a seasoned backpacking wildcamper, even at 4pn this didn't seem great value. After all, the very limited facilities mean that all you get over wildcamping is a flush loo (if that's important to you), loo roll, and somewhere you won't get rained on while you 'do the deed'.

To be fair, while I hadn't known of this on arrival, the owner did explain the basicness of the site before taking my money. What you are really paying for is the stunning surroundings & view--which ranks even with some of the most beautiful wildcamps I've experienced. Certainly it scores major points for combining that scenery with all the amenities of Brodick--takeaways etc.--being only an easy 30 mins walk away.

Campfires are freely allowed, and there's fuel for them if you look--there were certainly plenty going on my 2nd evening, presumably to ward off the copious midges mentioned in the previous review. This did have the slightly unfortunate downside of the ground being spattered with black patchese. There were also scatterings of beer cans etc.

In lieu of a shower, the river is good for a dip, and if it hadn't been for the weather & me feeling a bit unwell I'd have made more use of it. A caution though on how the 'wild' nature of the site may have unintended environmental impact: a couple of other campers were washing all over with soap in the river

This place is good for a couple of nights, if you don't want to be too 'away from it all', and could probably do for longer if you were lucky with the weather (and/or had a vehicle you could lurk in). Longer than that, I'm afraid I'd rather spend the same budget overall by alternating wildcamping with campsites or bunkhouses. Or do as one bunch of people I met: a few nights at Glen Rosa rounded off with the crisp white sheets of the spa resort a mile down the road! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BivvyBoy 29 reviews from this member

 This was my first visit to Arran, and I'd found this campsite on the www.

The www entry for the site is quite honest about the lack of facilities, and the price reflects this so I had no real concerns about the lack of showers etc.

The site is easy to find from the main coastal road, if you take the minor road signposted to Blackwater then turn again down the lane signposted Glen Rosa carttrack. You book in / pay as a clearly signposted house on the left about 250m before the actual site itself.

The site itself is in a stunning location looking up Glen Rosa towards Goatfell and the central Arran hills. It's extremely well located for hillwalking as most walks can start literally at your tent.

The site offers cold running water and toilets/sinks. The toilet block is adequate but not especially attractive nor a total pleasure to use. Let's just say it's functional.

The actual site itself is problematical because of its layout, and this is what bothered me the most. Basically the camping area is down by the burn on what is obviously the level water meadow of the burn itself. The area is split into two halves by a zone of marshy reeds.

I say down as the road is about 20 metres higher than the camping area, and there is no made track down to the camping area. You might be ok in a 4x4 or if there has been very dry weather, otherwise, your car stays up at the top on the road, and you hump your gear down yourself for anything up to 150m.

It also means that if you're in the area furthest from the toilets, you will have to walk almost back up to the road to drop down again to the toilet block.

There is no land next to the road dedicated to campsite users - there's a 4 berth area that is very popular with day walkers visiting the glen, (who seemed to make three cars fill the space of four!). There are a couple of niches further back along but again these were seldom empty. I managed to get my car just off the road to a small level area on the path between the two camping areas, but it was touch and go to get it off the grass and back to the road.

The area is rife with midges - I was prepared for this, but saw people camped closer to the burn / water meadows wearing mosquito nets.

The road itself is quite busy as it's possible to drive another half mile before the track ends with a gate. There's a lot of pedestrian / cycle traffic too, and sadly not everyone is respectful enough to keep their noise down. The glen echoes much of it back, and I felt no sense of peace or isolation as I had on Islay.

The site was a little untidy - litter, remains of fires, and an abandoned sleeping bag! This didn't suit the wild surroundings at all.

Sadly the weather turned wet and stayed wet, so I cut short my visit. I didn't feel at home enough to sit the rain out.

I would recommend this site to those that are backpacking or cycling, but not to anyone whose car is an integrated part of their camping. The lack of vehicular accessibility caused me major problems, and I note that this aspect of the site's geography isn't referred to on their website.

Despite the gorgeous views, I don't think I'd go back. Sorry :-( 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Glen Rosa child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Glen Rosa?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Glen Rosa dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4850 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement