Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Moelfre View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth > Moelfre View Caravan Park > Reviews

Moelfre View Caravan Park
Talybont
Barmouth
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL43 2AQ
Tel: 01341 247100
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/01/2023
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 16 Reviews
                7/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Cheria 1 review from this member

 Loved this place, been coming here for 19 years there abouts now. Clean, tidy, great park for kids to play.

Shower block clean, could do with modernising but did not put us off as clean and tidy.

New portable showers in Park field which we would recommend as hotter and a better shower.

Porter loos too which I never used so cannot comment.

Local amenities, walking distance ideal for kids and adults to access the 2p machines etc.

Local pubs and the gorgeous beach a 5 minute walk, what more can you ask for.

We would move there! Highly recommend molfre view :) xxx 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jcb2 1 review from this member

 We had a nice time here. Good site, but needs loo roll in toilet as none in it. Should been told this when book in. But site was ok. Did not see a lot of site owner as was closed a lot. A small shop would be nice so you can by milk, etc 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiona58 5 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a lovely week at moelfre view, on the whole it was lovely close to the beach and sands which is a little complex where you can find a club amusements fish and chip shop pizza bar and a shop. At the end of the road just before the beach is a little ice cream parlour, the ice cream is really nice and would recommend.

As for the campsite the pitches are flat and spaced well, we stayed on the electric pitches, the park was situated in the non electric part of the site. The site was quite after 11pm though we were pitched by the toilets and it was rather noisy at night time when the doors would slam shut (toilets pot wash and waste disposal all need a key to enter).

The staff at the site weren't the friendliest or the most helpful! apart from the lady who stays in the log cabin she was very friendly and helpful.

The facilities were clean to some degree but not perfect, you do need to take your own toilet roll as NONE is provided.

While we were staying we have a little visitor in the shape of a cockerel, he was most annoying cock-a-doodle-doing outside the tent at 5am everyday the site owners did try to send it back to the farm but each day he was back waking up everyone within ear shot of him.

The site offers wifi at a cost! we paid 10 for the week and to be honest I wouldn't bother and will not buy again it was difficult to connect and very slow if you did manage it.

(Phone signal if you are on O2 then don't expect your phone to ring or get a massage)

On the whole we did enjoy our stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ashwee 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 7 nights. It was lovely the view was amazing from our tent. There was a big park for our child to play on with a horse in the field next too it. The showers were pretty clean. However the customer service wasn't that good the office said it opened at half 8 but it was anytime really but in all was a lovely site. Would recommend it too anyone 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bowness 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite with a great location.

However, there was a number of issues the campsite needs addressing:

1) We asked for info on bus times and were told by the lady on reception told the buses weren't running. We then found out they were.

2) We asked for info on train times, as one of the big selling points of the site is they are near a train station, the lady on reception said ' sorry, they don't issue them anymore'. Well an idea might be for the lady to take a photo of the train times and print it out to give to campsite users ?

3) There is no toilet roll and not even a toilet roll holder in either the gents or ladies toilets. The lady on reception did not tell us about this when we checked in. We think this is disgusting and the only site we have ever stayed on that does not offer toilet roll.

4) We paid 5 for wifi access. It did not work on our pitch or even pick up the moelfre view wifi to even try and sign on. This means they don't offer proper wifi. When we complained the lady said ' oh you need an internet card to use wifi'. What a load of rubbish that is, an ipad has built in wifi that connects to a wifi provider. This site needs to realise that a lot of people travel and work these days and advertising a service that doesn't exist is not fair on the customer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Rober 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site the caretaker does an excellent job of keeping the site lovely and clean at all times. It was a pleasure to stay here. Just a few minutes walk to the beach and arcades. This site is perfect if you want a lovely holiday. The site is kept clean at all times and the shower block is also kept clean. There is barrier in operation so only people booked on site can get access 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paul Francis 2 reviews from this member

 Very well positioned campsite with the beach only a 5 minute level walk away, well kept site apart from irresponsible campers filling bins with broken chairs etc and leaving the bin lids open.

Although no shop, club or pool on site there is a shop, club, chip shop and burger bar a few minutes away on the way to the beach and included in the price is access to Sunnysands park just along the beach that does have its own clubhouse and swimming pool.

Toilet facilities were of good quality and kept clean - could do with toilet brushes in cubicles to encourage people to tidy up after themselves.

Service was good especially from the maintenance/cleaner man although the receptionist was a bit offish/unfriendly.

Good value site in a lovely place with beaches to die for, will be visiting at least once a year for the next few years. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bill.Y 4 reviews from this member

 The site is very flat which is great. The receptionist was not really very welcoming and when we left there was no real interaction. Just a 'We hope you had a nice stay and will come again' would have been a nice touch.

The shower block was very clean (and the times it wasn't was down to campers not cleaning up after themselves). Other than that there is a play area for children and nothing else which makes it a very expensive site for what it offers.

However, it is not far from the beach and other nearby facilities. Needless to say, the supermarket is a ripoff. A 5L bottle of water is 2. 99 while the Spar (A 10min walk away) sells it for 1 !??

The area has Porthmadog and Barmouth nearby. If the weather is good it's an OK site (albeit expensive) but if you have a rainy week it's a long way to go to visit anywhere interesting. We had a good week but that was because we were in a good group and had nothing really to do with the site.

I'm not sure we'll go again 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stephanie 1 review from this member

 One of the best sites we have visited. Wonderful views, sandy beaches and only a short walk to the beach. Staff very helpful and we had a very relaxing break. Toilets and showers clean and warm and we will visit again. Shop for all you need very near. A good place to be for visiting Snowdon and Harlech Castle and not to far from Aberystwyth.

When we arrived we were offered a premium pitch for the same price as standard. We would consider leaving our Caravan there for a season sometime. We have no children but it would be safe as there is a security gate on entrance. You do need to take your own toilet roll but you get used to this although in the start we had a few wasted journeys!

Overall a really nice site. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tomandchris 32 reviews from this member

 Just spent 8 great nights at this site. We were only supposed to stop for five but because of the fantastic weather we extended our stay.

First of all, I must disagree with the previous reviewer who done nothing but moan about this site, our details were all on a sheet which was in the office waiting for our arrival including car registration. We were not allowed to park anywhere, we were taken to our pitch by Brian, the Park Warden. Think the last reviewer was expecting the Ritz! well why come camping then???

Right, the site is on the left of a very narrow lane which can be hazardous at times, we know from our experience, we came across a lorry coming the other way when we were leaving the site. Once you get to the site though, it's fine.

There is nothing on the site, except toilets, showers, dishwashing facilities, elsan disposal and a coin operated launderette. The site is separated into four groups, the statics, the tents with no EHC, tents and caravans with EHC and the superpitches. All the grass is kept short.

The toilets and showers were always lovey and hot but one day, when it had been raining, they did get a bit mucky, but it was soon put right. A word of warning though, there is no toilet paper or even provision for any in the toilets so be prepared to take your own.

Out and about, you can use the bar, fish and chip shop, shop and swimming pool (charges apply) and arcade of the site next door. About 100 yards down the road is the Sands complex though. There is an arcade, quite a big supermarket, fish and chip shop, burger bar, and club. You can use all these facilities also. We had Sunday lunch and an evening meal in the Sands bar and both were great and not expensive at all. They also have acts on here about 4 nights a week, no charge to go in. It was decked out ready for the World Cup, not well received by our welsh travelling companions!.

You can also use the facilities of Sunnysands site, but this means either going by car or a walk along the beach, which is just at athe bottom of the road, very handy.

Out and about, Barmouth is about five miles away which has an Iceland and a Co-op for your provisions but both are really small, but are ok for a week. There are no other big shops there, but does have a fair and the usual seaside shops.

Would we go back there, yes, but would either go for a long weekend or longer as it's about two and a half hours away from home. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Moelfre View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Moelfre View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Moelfre View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4020 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement