Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Manor Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Manor Caravan Park
Happisburgh
Norwich
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR12 0PW
Tel: 01692 652228
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Robandcat 1 review from this member

We've been to this site several times and feel that it deserves a bit of credit.

The setting is absolutely beautiful. You pitch-up on the cliff-top overlooking the sea. It's a short 5 minute walk to access the gorgeous beach. Yes there did used to be steps from the site down to the beach, but the unfortunate erosion of the mud cliffs put paid to that. Not the campsite's fault.

We've always found the wardens to be friendly, welcoming and laid back (which we like!).

Yes, the facilities are fairly basic, but they are perfectly functional, and we don't go to hang out in the toilets or the washing-up area. We go to walk miles along the unspoilt beaches and sip wine in the afternoon whilst looking out at the most beautiful view.

The Hill House pub at the entrance to the campsite is also great. Tables out front are a sun-trap on a sunny afternoon, and we've always found the proprietors, locals and campers to be a really friendly bunch to have a chat with over a beer or two.

If you love a chilled out peaceful atmosphere with beautiful beaches, great views, no traffic and day-trippers, then this is the place for you. If you want candyfloss and helter-skelters or regimental wardens with a book of rules then maybe you need to look elsewhere. But it's definitely got our vote.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony1980 1 review from this member

After reading previous reviews about this park I was rather worried that we had made a mistake when booking a short stay at this park but very glad we decided to give the park a try as on arrival was meet by a friendly lady owner who told us to pitch anywhere we could. All though 2/3 of site was taken up by a rally there was still plenty of room, a short 5 min cliff top walk brings you to a beautiful beach, all facilities were clean if basic would definitely stay again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Norfolkyorkie 1 review from this member

Lovely peaceful location on cliff top but shower/toilet block not clean. Mop & bucket provided for customers to clean after use. Not very welcoming on arrival even after making telephone booking we were not expected. Also no eating facilities available after 6. 30pm within walking distance, although lovely café on Beach Road 10. 30-6. 30 some days

Direct access to beach is a five minute walk away

Would not use this site again

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tinaw527 2 reviews from this member

Having previously been to the site I was disappointed on my return. The two men who run the site seemed to be put out at anyone turning up. They refused to let us book in advance then asked why we hadnt booked when we arrived! They charged us one price but then halfway through the week said it was wrong and wanted more money from us. The shower/toilet block wasn't cleaned often nor very well. The washing up facilities are outside and were never cleaned. I saw people come and be treated rudely and wasn't surprised when they drove away. The reason we liked the site originally was as it had direct access to the beach however due to errosion of the cliff the steps have had to be removed meaning you need to walk a distance to get to the beach. To be honest for a site with such basic facilities the pitch fee is well over priced and I would recommend for a less stressful holiday go elsewhere.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Campercarl 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from 5 nights camping at this site in Happisburgh during the Jubilee week. Was really surprised how quiet it was given the double bank holiday and half term so there was plenty of space in the camping field.

Firstly of note was the camping rate of £12 a night per tent, didn't seem to matter how many people were in it, with no apparent extras like a lot of other sites charge, which was a good start.

Despite the rain, the field is well drained (because on a cliff) and is flat.

The toilet block was never busy when we were there and was cleaned once a day. Showers were 20p, of which there are 2 male and 2 female and can't comment as didn't use. Toilet roll and soap always filled up. Whilst not the most modern, guess you get what you pay for, so we were happy as was clean enough for us.

There is a laundry (think is £3 a wash), and also a separate locked room which can be accessed by asking at the site reception during site hours of 09:30-17:00 which contain 2 small fridges (which have ice boxes for so was handy for re-freezing ice packs, no charge).

Separate from the toilet block on the camping field is a two sink dishwash area which had hot water, and is next to a small play area. Also contains the Elsan point at the rear.

We had no issues with pegging the tent, however with it being on a cliff it could be a bit exposed depending on the wind direction. We experienced some strong winds (but so did the whole country) when we there, and had to triple peg the guy lines to stop them pulling out the ground/or bending.

Note the steps to the beach are now out of action as part of the cliff collapsed, however there is access to the beach from the car park from the beach road near the lighthouse which is only a five minute walk. The car park has been completed and contains some wonderfully modern toilets.

Also the handy pub at the entrance to the campsite has some great beer, they weren't worried about having kids in the bar which has handy for us, however didn't try the food which looked a tad pricey, and landlord was a bit grumpy which talking to a local was fairly normal for him.

Overall I think this site is very good value for money considering it's location and fantastic sea view, and will probably be back.

You can also get to Stalham in 15 mins if you want to hire a dayboat on the Broads. It cost us £48 for 4 hours and would recommend Moonfleet Marine in Stalham as a great small company and a bit cheaper than the big boys.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Esox lucius 3 reviews from this member

Wanting a quick get away for the Jubilee weekend we wanted somewhere local, quiet and not too far from amenities. Manor Caravan park came up trumps. Situated right on the cliff top and tucked behind the pub.

The red and white stripey lighthouse sits in the back ground. A gentle sloping site, just watch where you pitch your tent, water does gather in some pitches. No limit to tent size, no pitch markings and EHU if you need it.

Beach just a five minute walk away, the metal staircase to the beach is now out of operation due to coastal erosion.

Toilets & showers were OK, nothing special but the facilities are working etc.

Not too far away from 'busy' villages and towns. Easy to get to.

Be warned, if the wind blows off the sea then check your tent is well secured, having a Outwell WL7 we had no problems, but some of the lesser known brands were flapping and buckling under the NE / E winds.

Would go back to this site, quite cheap but do not expect much from this site. The childs play park is small and suitable for toddlers.

The beach is good for young families. A great beach for a spot of bassing in the summer and a few smoothounds get caught too. Keep an eye on the tide if you go under the cliffs, you will be cut off.

Coastal erosion is very evident, just be careful, as the cliff did fall during the early hours of the night (not too much but was easily heard).

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BrandonX 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for the first time in August and were surprised at how quiet and peaceful it was for this time of year.

It is a nice flat field overlooking the cliffs and sea, and has beach access. We thought the facilities were really good and the people who run it are very friendly and helpful, so this place definitely offers good value for money. The site is conveniently situated behind the pub and Happisburgh itself is a lovely village with plenty of pretty walks to be done.

If you like to get off the beaten track and relax, then this place is great.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 26 reviews from this member

Went to Manor Park on a recommendation for a quick short break (Happisburgh is only 40mins away from home) Lovely location right on the cliff top with glorious views out to sea. At night all the gas rigs are twinkling away on the horizon!

16amp electric hookups, and also with water at each hookup point too.

The steps down the cliff face to the beach were very safe but a little daunting. Our very old dog wouldn't have been able to manage them.

The beach however to the right of the steps is full of sea defence debris which,according to signs that have been put up, is all to be cleared starting this month so will be a lot of disruption temporarily.

There is also building work planned for a new car park and toilets to the beach. If you walk to the left of the steps however, there is lovely wide sandy beach, perfect for exercising dogs and children! I would think that the sea here is unsafe at the moment until all clearance work has been done because of the failed sea defences.

We were lucky with the weather but I can imagine that it can get a bit blustery on site as it is exposed.

We enjoyed our short stay and will probably go again but there were a couple of negative points.

Firstly I thought that at £17.00 per night, it was a little on the expensive side, given that the shower block was very tired and in serious need of some updating.

As mentioned in a much older review, nothing appears to have changed. They were clean(ish) but that's all I can say!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gazza50 6 reviews from this member

Nice site atop the cliffs overlooking the sea. Can get very busy in the high season, and you are a bit shoved together.

The facilities are adequate but when busy are a bit unkempt. Best to always have an emergency toilet roll with you!

Some lovely walks in the area and a super beach with access from the site. Nearby lighthouse which warrants a look and there are many attractions within easy reach. The site can get quite windy at times but the view of the sea as you get up makes up for this. Fantastic fine ales pub on entrance to site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tentaddict7 18 reviews from this member

We decided to have a three night break over the August Bank Holiday, as we had invested in a new tent, as our 8 year old Sunncamp had started to leak, and this was the only site that had an electric pitch available, as a warm sunny weather forecast had obviously given everyone else the same idea!

We were quoted £10 per night plus £3 electric, incredibly cheap, and as they did not have a website, we had no idea what to expect, so arrived with an open mind.

The campsite is situated in a very pretty village, right on the cliffs by a working lighthouse, and there is a nice little pub at the top of the site, a good start! The tent field is separate from the static caravans, and has great views out to sea.

The pitches are not marked out, there are quite a few electric hook ups, and we were asked by the warden where we would like to go, it all seemed very relaxed, there was plenty of space for our large Vango Colorado 800 DLX three pod tent and porch extension. The site was very busy, but never felt too crowded, and seemed to be used mainly by families and older people, which suited our three children, who were as always hoping to make friends, and they were not disappointed!

The atmosphere in the site is very relaxed and friendly, and the warden was very helpful, checking that everything is all right for everyone, when we told him that there had been a lot of noise the first night from one particular family group (there's always one family that doesn't seem to see that kids screaming and yelling at 11pm is not fair on everyone else) he went and had a word with them, and the rest of our stay was very peaceful. There is a small chidrens's play area on bark chippings, which was nice for the younger children, but I would be wary with very little ones, as the cliff is not fenced off, you would need to be extremely vigilant.

We had a lovely day out at Cromer which is not too far away, and the rest of the time was spent relaxing. The ice cream van visits a couple of times a day, much to the delight of our children, but there is no shop on the site, which is not a problem to us,as the village shop sells all the basics, and is friendly.

There are a couple of tearooms in the village which we did not use, but looked very nice. It is possible to visit the lighthouse, and the church, and climb the tower. We also discovered that on the way out of the village there is a fresh fish shop, which sells Cromer crabs, shellfish and wet fish, we can highly recommend it.

The beach is down some steps, and is very pleasant and unspoilt, and it is very clean. There were lots of dog owners on site, but we never saw any dog mess the whole time we were there, nor did we we see any litter.

On the Sunday there was a social event organised by the site, two party tents were put up in a cordoned off area, and there was a band, and a raffle etc. It was good old fashioned family fun, and we saw many people dancing outside their tents, and singing along whilst they did their washing up!

The only thing that lets the site down is the shower and toilet facilities. There are only two showers for each sex, two sinks, and three toilet cubicles. They are basic, which is not a problem for us, but the sinks and surrounding area were not cleaned the whole time we were there, and on such a busy weekend, you can imagine the state of them. The floor was very dirty too. The showers are not in cubicles with a door, only a curtain, and apart from a hook at the edge of the partition, there is nowhere to put your clothes. They are operated with 20p coins, and the meter is outside by the sinks, so if you need to use more than one coin, you need to take someone with you to feed the meter. There was a very dirty mop and bucket provided to clean the shower tray, but the showers were filthy. The toilets were a little better, although they often ran out of toilet paper, so its a good idea to take your own in with you. So many people were complaining about the facilities while I was in there.

The facilities need an upgrade, even if only to install new cubicles with doors and somewhere to hang clothes/towels etc, new meters and a couple of new sinks. The owners definitely need to review the cleaning of the facilities! The one thing good about the showers was that the water was hot, and I felt that one 20p lasted long enough to have a good scrub and a hairwash.

Despite all of this, the site had a lovely old fashioned family atmosphere and charm to it, and we would definitely go back again, as we all had a lovely time, and would like to explore this lovely corner of Norfolk further.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


207 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!