Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Les Ranchisses

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Rhone-Alpes > Largentiere > Camping Les Ranchisses Reviews

Camping Les Ranchisses
Route De Rocher
Largentiere
Rhone-Alpes   (Browse area)
07110
Tel: 0033 0475883197
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 225
Open: 16/04 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 12 Reviews
                9/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

Back from second visit to this lovely site. We really enjoyed it again. Staff are fabulous and can't do enough to make your holiday great.

Take away food good. Little shop is good value for money. Bar good for ice creams (scrummy) and drinks - ok priced.

Entertainment okay, but then we don't really go for that anyway. Lots of other Europeans on site all getting along, friendly and happy to help out. Needed a bit of help getting onto our pitch!

Things to do

Went down the Ardeche by kayak again. Organised by site, coach picks you up from site and brings you back again.

Great karting track at Lavilledieu, used several times during holiday.

Lots of stunning villages to wander round.

Natural history museum in Balazuc - lovely site and even able to have a go at an archaeological dig!

Le Chateau de Montreal - owed by a fabulously eccentric Frenchman who has invested time and love into restoring a chateau. Certainly worth a visit. Cash only though.

Chateau des Roure - again a great little chateau, really interesting building and location of silk worm industry and museum.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gailbonney 26 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site. When we arrived it was very busy and appeared that folk were camped in a random fashion. Realised pitches were marked out but not delineated (as usual in France) with hedges. Could feel a little overlooked but people just got on with there own holidays. Despite site being full when we arrived, very little noise after 10pm. There was entertainment on a couple of nights at bar which was a bit loud but was pleasant to sit out and listen to music which was good.

Kayak lake (kayaks free to use) was excellent idea and we were able to get in some practice before we took on the Ardeche. Booked via campsite and were taken and returned to campsite. Great fun and stunning scenery from the water.

Take away good, restaurant not so!

Swimming pools kept our sons entertained too!

Washrooms plentiful, always clean and toilet rolls provided but no toilet seats.

Shop very reasonable and sold fruit and veg too!

Surrounding area absolutely stunning. No other words for it. We visited the The Caverne du Pont D'Arc, which was good but the Aven d'Orgnac Grand Site was wonderful (think Pooles cavern x 100000)and the guide excellent, too.

MAKE SURE you follow the directions from site regarding arrival. There is a fork in the road as you leave Largentiere and you MUST take the left turn. Really not that obvious and nightmarish if you make mistake (like us) and take right turn. Trying to turn around a hairpin bend with a van is not easy!

Also sign to site looks like it should be illuminated but isn't and its brown cut out on brown background so have to watch for it on the left.

Would definitely consider going back to this site as we loved it!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Katieep 7 reviews from this member

I have mixed feelings about this campsite - we were not camping and in a mobile home on the other side of the road to the main campsite - so slightly removed from the noise, etc of the main campsite. There was traffic noise from the road on the mobile home pitches - especially from motorcycles and trucks.

Most of The facilities - pools, restaurant, spa etc were fantastic but the rules in the pool areas weren't always enforced - kids in the adult only spa area, babies in the Jacuzzi meant for over 12s etc. The slides were frankly rubbish - I expected more for a campsite of this size and price and the bar area never had any food left when we tried to eat there. The shop was very expensive but had what you needed.

The river area was really disappointing very small and the water quality was poor - not suitable for swimming.

My real problem was the nightly entertainment which was horrendously loud from 7. 30 onwards and of variable quality - fine where we were in our mobile home but you could not have a drink at the bar as it was impossible to talk and the sound was distorted the closer you got to it.

The location of the campsite was a bit removed from many of the things we wanted to see - we found a beautiful river beach outside Roums on the La Beaume which we spent a lot of time at - approx. 30min drive. There was a campsite a little bit along from this beach that look really nice.

The Devil's bridge on the Ardeche is also worth a visit. We went horse riding nearby which was lovely and good value. The restaurant on the campsite was really good and Largentiere is also worth a visit.

If you are after a quiet mountain retreat this is not the place for you. If you don't mind a bit of road noise, being a bit cramped (the pitch size on the camping area was small) but want nightly loud entertainment, a good restaurant, spa - the spa pool was lovely - then this is the site for you!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 17 reviews from this member

Our second visit to this site, and it is a pretty fantastic place to spend three weeks in the summer.

The owners have made some improvements since we were here 2 years previously; the toilet/shower block has been extended and there has been additional drainage put in to cope with the torrential downpours that materialise every now and again. The first night we were there the heavens opened in a very big way. Unfortunately, we were on pitch 73, and it is one of few pitches that did NOT drain. We were ankle deep in mud whilst everyone around us was dry as a bone. The site did try to help out by putting shingle onto the pitch, but we ended up contacting the Caravan Club to help resolve the issue.

In the end the site did move us to a very satisfactory pitch; it's a shame - but when it rains hard, the water runs off the road and straight across pitch 73 to the river. The site only needs to put a drain across the pitch access; they have them most other places in the site. They may already have done it!

In any event - the area is fantastic; the scenery is amazing, it's darned hot and the pool complex at the site is cracking. This site is thoroughly recommended.

We stopped overnight at the municipal at Tournous on the way down - it's a bit of a drag from Calais, but hey! you're on holiday!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Green wellies 4 reviews from this member

A beautiful, well laid out site with excellent facilities. Unfortunately there was building /improvement work going on whilst we were there and the heavy machinery would start up very early in the morning which wasn't pleasant when you are on holiday. We were pitched in the area very close to the spa / toilets as the weather wasn't too good but even though it was cold and wet the (heated) toilets/ showers were always spotless. The pitches in this area are small, but adequate for our needs, in better weather I would have wanted to go on the pitches closer to the river. The pool complex is beautiful, in warmer weather I would have spent much more time there. There is bar, and a large health suite which was expensive. We didn't use the restaurant but it looked good. Internet on site is expensive, but is free in the tourist office in Largentière, a very pretty local town with a small supermarket.

It is ideally situated for exploring the Ardeche Gorge, and there are lots of character villages nearby.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 17 reviews from this member

We booked this site through the Caravan Club, as the Clubs seem to reserve some of the better pitches.

Our pitch was absolutely huge; we could easily have pitched another 'van on it. It was almost completely shaded, very welcome with the heat down there. It backed onto the main road, which wasn't as much an issue as we first thought, as there is very little traffic using it. However, we were right next to the toilet block. This turned out to be very useful to access dish washing area/showers/loos etc, but! Men's urinals had lattice stonework looking out onto our pitch, so at various times of day we were faced with chaps looking out of the shoulder high windows at us while they did what comes naturally! Not a major issue, but a little weird - just needs a windbreak pitched across.

Pitches around the site were varied - some were very spacious, and those along the river looked very nice, however some were sited along the road near to the swimming pools, and I would be exceptionally unhappy if we had been pitched there - they were in the middle of everything, with little shade and no privacy.

Facilities on site were cracking. The pool and gym complex were outstanding, with an adults only spa-type area as well as the usual family pools. Also has slides off to one side of the main pool. Be aware though, that you must wear speedos (brief or trunks accepted) else they will ask you to leave the pool.

There's a shop on site that has enough food and drink stuffs to keep you going, with plenty of shops both in the local village or slightly further afield but within about 15 minutes drive. Fresh baguettes and croissants available throughout the day, but lovely first thing in the morning!

The takeaway and restaurant on site are both to a very high standard, and thoroughly recommended.

The facility blocks were to a good standard - no toilet seats(!) which seems to be quite normal in many French sites, and you need to take your own loo roll! The blocks are not segregated - gents and ladies are all in together! But loos, sink cubicles and showers all of a good size so it's not an issue. Usually clean, but it does depend on those using them to clean up after themselves, and these can get pretty busy. Rarely had to queue though. Showers were warm, not hot, but this was extremely welcome due to the temperature outside!

The local town of Largentiere is always worth a visit; but then there are many places worth a visit nearby! Would definitely recommend trips to Le Pont D'Arc, (where you can swim in the Ardeche river or alternatively canoe down it with one of the local organised groups/excursions), and the Pont du Diable at Thueyts. For scenery, think of the original 'Italian Job', and those are the type of roads you can find yourself on - absolutely breath taking! This really is what I would like to think is 'proper' France.

Finally - staff on site very helpful from the time we arrived to time we left, with a visit from the site owner with a bottle of wine to say 'au revoir'.

We would definitely go again - its a bit of a trek from Calais, but we stopped overnight at Chalon sur Saone on the way down and Chalons en Champagne on the way back.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Sandle 13 reviews from this member

Had read good reviews, which were dated 2007, about this site, so were expecting a pleasant stay on good sized pitches, with a nice pool complex and plenty to do in the beautiful surrounding area.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful and showed us to our pitch. Basically our pitch was on the side of the entrance road approx 6 foot from the Pool complex wall. The noise of the pool and the screaming kids and splashing was enormous until the pool closed at 8pm. Peace at last! Only to be shattered by a live band who played until 2320 hrs. So loudly in fact that we couldn't hear ourselves speak in our folding camper & the sound from the speakers was distorted. Our pitch was right on the main entrance so that every camper would walk past us to the bar/shop etc. No privacy at all.

We walked around the site hoping to see a better pitch to be moved to, but frankly they are crowded in and give the impression of a shanty town. It felt very over-crowded.

The toilet blocks were adequately clean, but were missing toilet paper from most cubicles by 10 pm and the showers were pre-set (to only slightly warm). The pool complex was fabulous. However, this didn't make up for the small over crowded pitches and noise from the entertainment.

We only stayed one night!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lydia1 9 reviews from this member

Les Ranchisses deserves its excellent reputation - this is one of the best campsites we have stayed at in France. It is very well run and the investment in staff training is clearly visible.

The main part of the site is roughly split 50/50 between static cabins and tourers, with the 'overspill' (over the road) almost all statics. It is very popular with the Dutch.

The pitches are good-sized and shady. The site has a relaxed feel and while full when we were there, they coped very well (although the toilets might have been cleaned a little more frequently).

The restaurant and takeway are excellent - well worth visiting. The small lake with free use of canoes for the kids are a great idea. We also went on an organised canoeing trip down the Ardeche by bus directly from the campsite - highly recommended.

If you're going to the twice-weekly market in Argentiere don't think of taking your car - parking is an absolute nightmare. Instead, take the scenic path (15 mins each way) and save your stress levels.

The pool and spa were excellent (and free), with the spa a welcome break from the kids playing in the main pool. The evening entertainment was also good fun (except the magician. We're still waiting for him to reveal the serial number on the 50 Euro note!).

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OliverDay 24 reviews from this member

Just a short review as an update to the one provided in 2008.

The site has been extended onto the other side of the road with the addition of about 50 new static cabins. Access is through an underpass and this part of the site is only used by Keycamp and Selectcamp.

Although the pool appeared slightly busier it was difficult to gauge if the extra statics made a difference to the feel of the site. Although it was also not clear if all the new statics were fully occupied.

My gut feel is that Philippe, the owner, is at risk of turning this site into a Butlins style holiday camp rather than a campsite as the number of statics is getting too high.

We have visited this site five times since 2003 and due to the growth of the site to >250 pitches it is likely to be our last visit.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Rayovlight 2 reviews from this member

Amazing site, that just gets better - our 7th visit this year. Mr and Mrs Chevalier are superb hosts and take a real pride in their campsite.

Highly recommended is the wellness centre added last year, for those aged 16+ it has a gym, Turkish and Swedish sauna, whirlpool and fabulous out door pool with various massage jets and bubble beds. You can also book a massage (highly recommended).

For the more family orientated there are 2 other superb pools (and a whirlpool) all of which are maintained to a high standard.

The whole campsite nestles in a beautiful wooded valley so when your swimming in the pool you see gentle rolling wooded hills.

In addition one can use one of the canoes on the little lake or play tennis, mini golf and boules.

Overlooking the pool complex is the bar with family evening entertainment in high season. Behind the bar is a well stocked shop (fresh bread and pastries every morning).

If your into your French food the auberge on the campsite, is highly recommended - the set menus are great value and delicious and its in a lovely location.

Day trip/excursions options/local walking routes are innumerable. The ardeche river and in particular Pont D'Arch is a great day trip. The waterfall ray pic, also highly recommended as is Madeline cave.

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Rhone-Alpes

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5656 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019