Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Thacka Lea

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Thacka Lea Reviews

Thacka Lea
Thacka Lane
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 9HX
Tel: 01768 863319
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 31 Reviews
                10/10 from 31 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this *may* include shower or toilet facilities being closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Linda138 1 review from this member

 Spent 2 nights at the fab site for the Winter Droving festival.

Site is very near at own centre which has lots of shops, pubs, restaurants and other services. Added bonus of entertainment. Street theatre and torchlight parade for the festival.

The site is run by a lovely couple who welcome you on to your well sized pitch.

Toilets are spotless and individual washing cubicles available. Toilets also have an information point and even a small library.

Two garages nearby which have well stocked shops for any essentials required.

Site offers fab location and spotless facilities as well as being very good value.

So nice to see owners who appear to value their visitors and work hard to offer everything necessary for a fabulous stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rmfdevon 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely small campsite close to the town centre but surprisingly quiet.

Facilities were clean, the site was neat, the owners were pleasant. Didnít need anything else. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 21 reviews from this member

 Delightful terraced well kept very clean campsite with hard standings and generous grass in between for most pitches.

Reasonably priced though 50p for 7 min shower a bit of a faff as is single shower per gender.

Easy walk into surprisingly pleasant market town of Penrith.

Not far from M6 and railway, little noise from either. Hose for motor homes but no drive over grey waste disposal but only a minor inconvenience and to be fair itís a small site.

Will probably return and encouraged at the quality of non club and commercial sites 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 The site is located close to the town centre but not too near to be noisy. The train line runs near the site but did not disturb us at all during the night. We had great email communication with the owners when making our booking and they were friendly upon arrival.

We were able to choose our spacious pitch from those that were available and park whichever way round we wanted to on it.

The showers were 50p and this gave you plenty of time, sometimes some time would still be on the meter (which is outside the cubicle door but not too far away). Our only criticism is that there was only one shower in the male and one in the female block, an additional one in each would have been great.

The cubicle itself is really large and the shower is not a push button. There is plenty of room to get dried and changed in. There were a number of toilets and sinks and also a chemical disposal point.

We found this to be a great, quiet little site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Artic 15 reviews from this member

 On arrival we had a very warm welcome, and given the choice of a hard standing pitches.

The toilet/shower (50 coin operated) facilities where immaculate.

Slight noise from the trains, but where not an issue.

This is an excellent site and would certainly recommend it. We only stayed one night on our way Scotland but would stay longer next time. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 541 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a base for the Penrith Droving event in town. It's a ten minute walk to the town centre, where you will find all the services you need. There are a number of great bars and places to eat.

The site itself is excellent. Well kept, clean facilities, good value and a friendly welcome.

Will certainly use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paddyvan 7 reviews from this member

 A nice clean and tidy wee quiet site here,

toilet block very clean and tidy, staff / owners helpful and an easy walk into town where there are plenty shops and some nice pubs ( some rubbish ones as well )

If could just get Stobart/Tesco to lighten their cargo trains the site would be even better / quieter.

Great stop off for going further South or/and visiting the lakes.

We will use again. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CVM17 10 reviews from this member

 A lovely little site, at the north end of town just off the old A6 and very easy to find. Could not be better located for walking access to town centre, with a real ale pub and an Indian restaurant just a ten minute walk away.

A very friendly welcome and I was given a choice of hardstanding pitches. Toilet/shower block was very clean with lots of hot water. The only thing missing was a food prep/washing up area with hot water, but not a problem for those with on-board facilities.

I will definitely use again, mostly as a very handy stopover on long journeys between north of Scotland and middle England, but this site would also make an excellent base for visiting North Lakes or North Pennines. Penrith also has a very good choice of supermarkets and a large outdoor camping store within half a mile of the site. And not forgetting Graham's wonderful deli! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denises 5 reviews from this member

 Tourist friendly area with an excellent selection of shops, pubs and a supermarket. Close to the train station so you could be car free. There is ample parking on site. Good mix of tents and camper vans/ caravans.

The owner suggested a good place to pitch on a higher level. There are three levels. Good facilities with clean toilets, basins and showers. 50p coin operated shower for 7 mins was sufficient.

I was able to come and go as I pleased. The main gate must be kept closed at all times. Dogs must be on a lead and campers must adhere to their paid pitch sizes.

I only spent two nights here as I was walking Crimkle Crags, going on the new Keswick ghost tour and travelling on the Conniston Launch. I needed a place just to rest in the late evening.

There are rules written and unwritten here which need to be adhered to. Campers need to ensure that the no noise after 11pm rules are implemented each night. This immaculate, well-run campsite has great basic facilities and positioned near a good bus service route ticks many boxes for the solo traveller wishing to venture around the lakes car free.

I was using a pop up basic tent and travelled by car with my dog. I was charged £6 per night which was value for money. I will return car free on my next visit as I feel this area has all the needed essential facilities for the solo traveller. I was impressed with my initial phone call contact. I was made to feel very welcome by this family. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty247 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly relaxed site. Was a stop over travelling North. Very clean toilets and showers.

Given the option of site where we would like to park up. Very highly kept grounds. Plenty of space between rigs. Short walk into shops, plenty of traditional old style shops to choose from. Two petrol stations very nearby.

Slight noise from trains but not an issue. Highly recommend the site. Will use it again. 


Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thacka Lea child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thacka Lea?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thacka Lea dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5300 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020