Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thacka Lea Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Thacka Lea Caravan Park Reviews

Thacka Lea Caravan Park
Thacka Lane
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 9HX
Tel: 01768 863319
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 12/04/2021 to 03/01/2022
           11/03/2022 to 03/01/2023

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 36 Reviews
                10/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (12)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Steve4 1 review from this member

 The site is very handily placed for an overnight stop to or from Scotland and is a short walk from the town.

Facilities were clean and looked after,

The pitches were level and easily accessible. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Travla 6 reviews from this member

 I chose this site for it's proximity to Penrith. The pitches are arranged on tiers and if you have a bigger unit it may be a bit awkward to manoeuvre onto your pitch.

It is close to a raiway line and there is some train noise but we didn't find it a problem. It's an easy walk into Penrith about 10-15mins.

There is a garage at the end of the toad which has a smal shop attached and another across the road but a little further away ( 5 minute walk ). There is a also a small nature reserve which is a good pace to walk if you have a dog.

The facilities are a little dated but when we went were spotlessly clean.

We will definitely be returning 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richardsdee123 10 reviews from this member

 Only booked for 2 nights but wishing we had booked more,

Fantastic site close to town and spotlessly clean and Covid aware,

On 3 levels with plenty of space, great dog walk around country park, site managed superb,

Recommend to anyone, we will definitely be going back, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Stellamaris 12 reviews from this member

 This site is a superb, central location, yet far enough away for peace and tranquility. Owners very welcoming and accommodating.

Facilities clean and canít be faulted. We stayed her with our three Bichonís who loved the beautiful walks in the area. Level pitches and good drainage.

Although we had no children with us, there is a play area just around the corner from the site.

Looking forward to our next visit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaste 14 reviews from this member

 This is our second year staying at Thacka. We found their corona procedures to be 1st rate and fellow campers tended to behave in a sensible manner.

Regretfully we didn't find the same compliance by some fellow campers at another site run by one of the big players. Thankyou 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Linda138 1 review from this member

 Spent 2 nights at the fab site for the Winter Droving festival.

Site is very near at own centre which has lots of shops, pubs, restaurants and other services. Added bonus of entertainment. Street theatre and torchlight parade for the festival.

The site is run by a lovely couple who welcome you on to your well sized pitch.

Toilets are spotless and individual washing cubicles available. Toilets also have an information point and even a small library.

Two garages nearby which have well stocked shops for any essentials required.

Site offers fab location and spotless facilities as well as being very good value.

So nice to see owners who appear to value their visitors and work hard to offer everything necessary for a fabulous stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rmfdevon 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely small campsite close to the town centre but surprisingly quiet.

Facilities were clean, the site was neat, the owners were pleasant. Didnít need anything else. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: LozzaS5 31 reviews from this member

 Delightful terraced well kept very clean campsite with hard standings and generous grass in between for most pitches.

Reasonably priced though 50p for 7 min shower a bit of a faff as is single shower per gender.

Easy walk into surprisingly pleasant market town of Penrith.

Not far from M6 and railway, little noise from either. Hose for motor homes but no drive over grey waste disposal but only a minor inconvenience and to be fair itís a small site.

Will probably return and encouraged at the quality of non club and commercial sites 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Glossopwhite 33 reviews from this member

 The site is located close to the town centre but not too near to be noisy. The train line runs near the site but did not disturb us at all during the night. We had great email communication with the owners when making our booking and they were friendly upon arrival.

We were able to choose our spacious pitch from those that were available and park whichever way round we wanted to on it.

The showers were 50p and this gave you plenty of time, sometimes some time would still be on the meter (which is outside the cubicle door but not too far away). Our only criticism is that there was only one shower in the male and one in the female block, an additional one in each would have been great.

The cubicle itself is really large and the shower is not a push button. There is plenty of room to get dried and changed in. There were a number of toilets and sinks and also a chemical disposal point.

We found this to be a great, quiet little site. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Artic 15 reviews from this member

 On arrival we had a very warm welcome, and given the choice of a hard standing pitches.

The toilet/shower (50 coin operated) facilities where immaculate.

Slight noise from the trains, but where not an issue.

This is an excellent site and would certainly recommend it. We only stayed one night on our way Scotland but would stay longer next time. 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Thacka Lea Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thacka Lea Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thacka Lea Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4205 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement