Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thacka Lea Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Penrith > Thacka Lea Caravan Park > Reviews

Thacka Lea Caravan Park
Thacka Lane
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 9HX
Tel: 01768 863319
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 25
Open: 15/03/2024 to 15/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (12)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Riolge 1 review from this member

 We have coming to this camp site for nearly 20 years,

Itís well maintained and the toilet and shower facilities are always immaculate.

The owners are friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bryan8 1 review from this member

 Liked,

On arrival we were greeted with a smile and guided to our hard standing pitch, owner guided us onto pitch as the rear swing of the unit needed careful scrutiny so as to miss the wall.

Site is on three levels and pitches are pretty much level, did not need use of ramps.

Electric connection is right by pitch so no long cables required.

Showers are 50p each and change is available on wall by reception, great trust here which is missing in our society these days.

Penrith town only a 10 min walk and buses then to various destinations in the lakes area.

On leaving we were again assisted off the pitch, great service.

Disliked,

Only one shower in both ladies and gents toilet blocks, sometimes waiting for shower.

No motorhome service but use of waste master to drain grey water was available for use so not too negative.

In the pot wash room there are two sinks but only one had hot water tap, stayed 7 nights and only had to wait once so not too bad really, washing up later in the evening seemed to be the trick.

Overall it was a good stay apart from the wet stuff from the sky but I guess no rain would mean no lakes.

We will be returning in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Compas4461 7 reviews from this member

 Nice site owners very helpful too, dog walks were spot on,

Toilets were clean and same with showers

Will stay again was handy for walking into Penrith town centre 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Trshk 1 review from this member

 A small but very nice site with a choice of grass pitch with or without electric or hard standing pitches. Very clean and well maintained and friendly and warm welcome.

I chose this site as it was only a short walk into Penrith town, and also only a 5 min walk to the nearest small supermarket and petrol station.

As a solo female traveller, I felt safe and comfortable.

There is one large shower, and the toilet block is kept spotless, but do remember to take 50p to use the shower.

You can get internet but this is not provided free, I personally didn't need to use it as I used my own network.

I would certainly return here. If you do have a dog there is a nice country walk just round the corner. 


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elaine21again 8 reviews from this member

 Thacka Lea is perfectly located on the outskirts of Penrith. Itís a very short walk into Penrith which is an attractive town with a variety of independent shops, cafes and restaurants.

The campsite is well laid out with a well maintained facilities block. Itís 50p for a shower but itís a nice spacious shower and gives plenty of time to linger.

Bearing in mind the cost of the major club sites itís still a good deal at £25 per night.

The owner was very welcoming and helpful.

The only thing which may be a problem for some people is the proximity of the railway line with frequent trains and the low hum of traffic on the distant M6. It didnít bother me and Iím quite a light sleeper.

Would definitely recommend. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: John4703 21 reviews from this member

 When we arrived the owner came and told us which pitch we were allocated. He did not ask for money at that time. I went back later and paid and it was a very reasonable charge.

The pitch was good, nice and level with great views.

The site seemed to be well looked after and a really good place to stay.

The electric hook up was nice and close and the water was also handy.

We liked the site and are going back for a longer stay next month. 


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LRT4 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely 3-tiered caravan park 10 minutes walk from centre of Penrith.

Very helpful owners, clean toilet block (shower 50p), EHU, fresh water, toilet disposal point.

Will definitely stay again.

Lou & Pete 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bootlucy 14 reviews from this member

 Booked this site at very short notice for three nights in-between Christmas and New Year and what a great find it turned out to be.

The site itself is very well kept and the amenities are more than adequate for the number of pitches and are kept immaculately clean. Only one shower in both the ladies and gents, coin operated (50p for 7 minutes) but with only 25 pitches this wasn't a problem and we never had to queue.

The pitches themselves are well spaced out, some requiring leveling blocks and all have ehu, and are very well drained. Penrith is an easy walk and there are two garages five minutes walk from the site selling groceries etc, with buses available outside and a mainline train station in Penrith and only five minutes from the M6.

Some noise from the railway but we were on the pitch closest and it didn't bother us at all.

All in all a great site with welcoming host's which we will definitely use again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dunx 3 reviews from this member

 Located just a 10-minute walk from the town centre itís well placed for many attractions. In one direction thereís a nature reserve just a couple of hundred away ideal for a gentle stroll or to take a dog for a walk.

In the other direction, again just a couple of hundred yards or so, is a bus stop (to Carlisle in one direction and across the road into the town), two petrol stations that sell various provisions and a little way down the road is an Indian takeaway/restaurant. Excellent food but no delivery service.

The site itself is well laid out on three tiers with toilet/shower facilities on the middle one. Showers are available, one of each male and female, coin operated.

Very clean and tidy. Wi-Fi is also available, again at a cost.

The couple operating the site are very friendly and welcoming.

Will definitely return next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Kevbe369 9 reviews from this member

 Beautiful little site. Stopped off here for one night to break up our journey on our way to Northumberland. 5 minutes from junc 40 on the M6.

We'd booked in advance and were met with a friendly greeting and shown to our pitch.

The site was well signed, immaculate, and very reasonable price wise. 10 minute walk into Penrith where there were lots of places to eat and drink.

We hadn't booked for our return journey and when we asked if they would be able to accommodate us they explained that it was a bank holiday but not to worry they would sort us out even if it was on the car park.

On our return we were again welcomed and shown to a pitch which was ideal for one night.

We have no hesitation in recommending this lovely site and when in the area again we will definitely book again. 
via mobile


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Thacka Lea Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Thacka Lea Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Thacka Lea Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Penrith      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


51780 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement