Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - South Cockett Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest > South Cockett Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

South Cockett Caravan And Camping Park
Broadway
Little Haven
Haverfordwest
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 3TU
Tel: 01437 781296
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: PeeBarr 2 reviews from this member

This is a very basic campsite but good nonetheless. Large open fields mean that you catch the weather. We weren't so lucky with rain and high winds cutting across the open space which meant that we had to take our porch awning down. The fields are kept mown and tidy and there is drinking water and waste disposal on each field which is useful. Shower facilities are sparse and you're in for a ten minute wait if someone beats you to it. Just one shower isn't always practical on a site of this size, although a lady told me that there were more at the back but I could not find them. 20p in the shower gives you roughly 4 minutes which is just enough time if you're quick. It would appear that the site is used for seasonal tourers. We were the only visitors on the top field. My top tip would be to ask for a pitch on the field nearest the shower block as it's a looong walk from the top if you're caught short! Very convenient for Broad Haven which is a lovely beach. All in all we enjoyed our stay but think we would look for somewhere a bit more sheltered next time.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Openroads 12 reviews from this member

This is a nice, well kept site. It was quiet and peaceful whilst we were there (not school hols). Wide pitches and high hedges dividing the site into areas so it's not one massive field and it offers protection from the wind. Facilities were clean. Owner very friendly. Quite a few seasonal pitches but still plenty of green space.

If you want a beach in walking distance you might prefer another location but we were taking day trips in our car and this served as a good base for visiting this part of Pembrokeshire: St David's, Porthgain, Solva, Newgale, Little Haven, Broadhaven and Dale all an easy drive.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Longtimecampers 9 reviews from this member

An excellent campsite well manicured in every way, with neatly cut grass & very very clean toilet facilities. The owners were very friendly and helpful and were always around to keep the place neat & tidy; and it was good value for money. The location is very peaceful. The only down side is that there is no path down to the beach & it is a bit too far & too busy on the road for walking, so you have to use the car.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Len. 29 reviews from this member

The site was very busy during the bank holiday/jubilee break. The owners were very pleasant, and there were no problems with the size of the pitches. The large spaces suited the children.

There is a Londis in Broad Haven, and everything in Haverfordwest. It is however difficult to get far without using the car.

The site's dated facilities were stretched and we usually had to queue for washing up. Hook up is expensive at approaching 4 per night.

We will look for a few more home comforts next time.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Taffylass 1 review from this member

Just returned from a 4 day stay in South Cockett.We have been to this site several times and enjoy the peace. The site is always clean and tidy, the pitches well maintained.

Even though the toilets are quite dated, they are always clean and well stocked with toilet paper, soap and hand towels.The showers cost 20p but it is a small price to pay.

The fact that the tent pitches are around the edge of the field is a definite plus as it gave our children plenty of room to play and make friends!

Broadhaven is a small but busy village with a beautiful beach. There are a couple of good pubs for eating out plus a couple of restaurants. Little Haven is easily accessible although parking is sometimes a problem.

Haverfordwest is 6 miles away and great for a 'potter' about. There are supermarkets about 5 miles away for all your BBQ needs!We have never used the public transport so I am unsure of the frequency.

I would highly recommend this site for its peace, cleanliness and perfect position as a base for exploring the spectacular Pembrokeshire countryside and coastline!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darkwing 3 reviews from this member

Booked fairly last minute but found the owners very accommodating. On arrival at the site we were shown to our pitch but after that saw very little of the owners. There are a couple of fields with caravans and a camping field. Each field is quite large but having said that the pitches were very close together.

There are large bins dotted around the site but the whole time we were there they were very often overflowing with rubbish. We like to park up the car and bus or walk when we are away but when we asked for information we found that the owners had no idea about local buses and that to walk into Broad/Little Haven you have to walk two miles on a very busy narrow lane. This meant frequently having to use the car to get anywhere.

We also felt that the toilet/shower facilities were inadequate for a site of this size. The toilets closest to our pitch were in a 'portacabin' type building and very often smelt quite badly of sewage. The site was quite peaceful but you really do need your car to get anywhere.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kinger 1 review from this member

We have been visiting this site for over ten years and never tire of it. The camping fields are large, open and surrounded by hedges. The site is beautifully looked after and the facilities clean and well presented. It is a lovely quiet farm campsite with no added frills, no playground, no bar - just lots of space.

There are so many varied beaches and walks in the area. Little Haven is small and cosy and Broad Haven a massive, safe expanse of sand, great for bodyboarding and kayaking, or just walking the dogs.

There are pubs in Little Haven and Broad Haven, which also has a small supermarket. Haverfordwest has an enormous Tesco and a smart Leisure Centre for wet days.

The stunning coastal scenery never disappoints, whatever the weather. Altogether a lovely site in a very special part of the country.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ambermaine 3 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site with friends for the Bank Holiday weekend at the end of May, and our friends extended their stay for the whole week. We were two tents, each with one couple, and we had a really lovely time.

This is a very well maintained and friendly site. There are several smallish fields for caravans, and two tent fields, all with high hedges giving shelter from the sea breezes. The grass is immaculately mowed, and the pitches are very generously sized. Despite being Half Term, the field we stayed in was not full, and we never had to queue to use the facilities.

There are a couple of toilet blocks, with ample hot water in the basins (and plugs!) plus showers which cost 20p a time. One of the showers was rather temperamental, but the cubicles are clean and spacious.

We used the washing-up facilities (free hot water) but not the laundry facilities. We were able to freeze our freezer blocks (for nothing)

The owners are very friendly and helpful and the surrounding area is glorious. We enjoyed walks on the coastal path, and some excellent food in both pubs in Broad Haven (a couple of miles away, so walkable).

Exactly the sort of campsite we like, and afer 40 years camping these are rare finds!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Njrsharris 1 review from this member

This is a lovely quiet site which was perfect for what we wanted. I had read some reviews regarding problems at other sites and was a bit apprehensive to say the least about camping. However, bought all the kit two years ago and never used it so decided to give it a go with two teenage boys and wife. All quiet by about 10 o'clock. However, had a great three nights. If you are after peace and quiet and a base for visiting West Wales this is the site for you. If you want screaming kids, domestics, clubhouse, bingo and fight on the way home forget it.

The owners were very friendly and accommodating, pointing out several choice of pitches. There didn't seem to be any hurry for us to leave on final day which was great. Made use of the electric hook up provided. Fresh drinking water stations at various points.

There are laundry facilities but didn't use them. The owner allowed use of a fridge freezer in one of outbuildings.

The showers, toilets and washing up facilities were spotless. The whole site was immaculate in fact.

Broad Haven and little Haven are five minutes away by car. The pubs in Little Haven are superb offering nice bar meals looking out to the sea.

Massive Tesco 5 miles down the road which sells camping gear if you forget anything. Great site will definitely use again

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EB00 6 reviews from this member

This is a traditional farm camp site with modern facilities and therefore quite reasonably priced(considerably less than the advertised price for Creampots along the road). The toilets and showers are kept clean and well-stocked. Another camper commented that there should be more ladies showers but I only had to queue once, for a short time. The showers take 20p pieces - if you are female and use the separate showers not in the toilets the water will carry on running cold after the time runs out.

The owners are very friendly and helpful. There are no play facilities as such but tents are pitched around the perimeter of 2 or 3 large fields (they take caravans too elsewhere) so the children can get together in the centre and play and meet new friends where you can keep an eye on them - just how we like it. There are electric hook-ups if you need them.

For shops you will need to go to Broad Haven or the big Tesco in Haverfordwest - we found very few sites in the area which offered all the facilities we required (laundry, gas etc) as well as having shops on site or nearby.

Broad Haven has a large, safe beach and surf shop but it is very windy and cold. Other beaches we liked were at Nolton Haven(free car park and toilets) and Druidston (walk along the coast path or from the road) but at both of these you need to watch out for strong currents if you go in the water.

Broad Haven has at least 2 pubs and a cafe. Places we visited and enjoyed (with boys age 7 and 10) were Oakwood theme park, Heatherton(pay + play sports attraction)and Nant y Coy Arts (crafts, cafe, woodland and hillside walk nr. Treffgarne).


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


142 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019