Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Neptune

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Agde > Le Neptune Reviews

Le Neptune
46 Bld Du Saint Christ
Agde
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
34300
Tel: 00 33 0 467 942 394
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 165
Open: 01/04-30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 20 Reviews
                9/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rhinomurphy 6 reviews from this member

This is the 3rd time we have stayed on this site and it gets better each time!

The welcome is friendly with site map being supplied and pitch highlighted ( we had booked prior to arrival). The pitch we were allocated was square, large with some shade and in a lovely tree lined avenue. There was a lack of grass but this year especially that was very understandable and the ground was soft enough for awning pegs.

The site is family owned and staffed. Toilet blocks are spotless with lashings of hot water. The pool is heated with sun beds round. We used the pool in the morning and usually had it to ourselves. A new addition is the area for children which looked fantastic. There is a bar and restaurant serving pizza, salad, etc. Very good value and good quality. A plus is that bread, croissants etc are baked on site and if ordered, when we were there, were delivered to the pitch!

The site is a flat 25mins walk into the fishing village and beach of Grau and approx. 40 minutes to Agde. The hypermarket takes 20 mins on foot and there is a fruit and veg. Stall about 10 minutes walk away.

This is an ideal site for a quiet, peaceful holiday and would certainly recommend.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kittiwake 13 reviews from this member

This is a very well kept small friendly site.

As we arrived late we were checked in by the security guard and shown to our pitch. It was generous in size, with some shade and good privacy afforded by the shrubs and hedges between pitches,

Pitches are arranged in allees with one large toilet block and a smaller one that looked like it was for peak season only. Toilet block was OK but perhaps not as clean as I would like. You need your own toilet roll. It's the only site I've ever been to where I had to turn the shower temperature down as the hot water was hot!

Pool is lovely and very warm. It's a good sized basic main pool area with a various jacuzzi jets and a whirlpool area. It was best in the morning but got very busy later in the afternoon.

Playground was small and uninspiring although there was a good (if small) artificial sports pitch.

Some low key entertainment but otherwise very quiet. There was a bar/snack bar we didn't use. Croissants and baguettes were good and cooked on site so didn't need to pre order

Cycling in the area is endless and you can pick up a map in reception. The riverside cycle path is simply opposite the campsite and you can cycle to the beach or to Agde town which then link to many other safe cycling options either inland or to various beaches.

There is a large Hyper you supermarket a short drive or cycle away.

I didn't like the area particularly and it felt 'tacky' especially having come from the Atlantic coast. Beaches were lovely however.

Campsite clearly has a lot of repeat visitors and I'm told and believe it is one of the nicest in the area especially if you prefer smaller quiet family owned sites. I think if the kids hadn't made friends though they would have found it a bit boring even though we generally prefer this style of site.

There is an amazing pizza restaurant just down the road called Le Notre Dame which we visited several times. It felt very French and the food was excellent. Simply go out the campsite, turn left and turn left after Camping Romarins. It's in a lovely square with a very old church and lots of people playing boules.

I liked the site but wasn't so keen on the area, it felt busy and touristy and didn't have the right feel for me. Whilst I appreciate the benefits of a security guard at night it changed the feel of the site and I think reflects our feelings about the local area.

For that reason I'm not sure we'd go back but if we did it would be for the fantastic cycling opportunities and we would use this site.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fgb54 5 reviews from this member

Well signposted once you get to Agde and a very warm welcome in reception. This is a very popular and friendly site with many of the French families that we spoke to being regular visitors for many years and keeping their vans in storage locally.

Access to many pitches for anything over a small caravan or tent was difficult. We saw and heard a number of stressed visitors struggling to get onto pitches. Sadly a number of maturing trees need to be cut back. The large sanitary block near us was clean but the water temperature, like the wifi, was very unreliable. Facilities were stretched with big queues forming at peak times at the showers. The pool was decent with plenty of sunloungers.

The on site food was good and reasonably priced.

There is instant access to fishing as soon as you walk out of the campsite gate. This was our first visit to the area and although as expected it was very busy we were able to get around easily on the excellent cycle paths with some very quiet tracks on the other side of the river. The beaches weren't packed, and there are many good places to visit like Sete, Pezenas, Aigues Mortes, and the canal du midi.

However we've done it now and I don't think we'll go back to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights, on arrival I was slightly underwhelmed probably because of the long drive and weather, first pitch suggested we couldn't fit in but second pitch was fine in a corner on the back against the fence, apparently we were the only Brits on site that could get a tv signal so turned out to be a lucky pitch. The showers on the back of the site were clean but a little basic block. The next day we found the main block with good washing up facilities as well, the weather brightens and things look up. The pool area was nice but pool a little cool for me.

The site was pretty full but what surprised me was the bar times, something like 8am to 12 then 4pm till 7pm? No food being served also. They said this was because it wasn't high season yet.

The best thing was the cycle path, the town was nothing much but we cycled on to the canal du midi and hired a little boat for an hour, it was lovely. Cycled down to the beach area, lovely little market and lovely beach, enjoyed the canal floating restaurants. We also cycled right round to the Cap and weren't very impressed with that area, but again good beaches all along.

I probably wouldn't go back and wouldn't have liked to have been walking to the beach each day but with electric bikes it was easy. All in all it was good but have stayed in much better.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leggy 3 reviews from this member

Very nice site situated on Herault river midway between Agde and the coast. Site very clean with good facilities and friendly staff. Accepts camping cheques from last 2 weeks in August.

Good sized pitches with a mix of pitches in the shade or some with sunlight. Our shady pitch was a blessing in the heat inorder to keep tent cooler. Campsite will arrange fridge hire - ours cost 20 euros for the week with fridge payable to company on delivery.

Facilities on site include lovely heated swimming pool. Restaurant /bar area with limited menu and opening times appeared to vary depending on number of customers visiting ( this was from 17 August ). Again takeaway service times varied according to demand. Entertainment on site is minimal so avoid if this is what you want. There do appear to be some children's activities but as these were not used by us we can not comment.

Small shop with few basics and fresh bread each morning.

Free wifi across the whole site (access codes on display board change weekly) but reliablility was a bit hit and miss.

Childrens multisports pitch, table tennis tables and small play area available.

Sanitary facilities kept very clean however water temperatures varied greatly and did not appear related to demand - at times showers and washing up water cold and other times showers too hot despite having temperature controlled taps.

Toilets are on outside of sanitary blocks - some with seats and some without. Need to take own toilet paper. No hand wash basin directly adjacent to toilets - you have to go into wash room area to access - one night we were there this was locked by 11pm.

Wristbands have to be worn on site and there is an 8 Euro deposit per person returned on day of departure. Reception does not open until 10am so if you want to leave early make sure deposit is returned day before.

The site itself is very quiet although some road noise can be heard. However you can hear noise from other campsites entertainment sometimes until after midnight and there is noise from a local go kart track which could be heard until approx 1am some nights ( may not be so noticeable in a caravan).

Generally despite the few niggles mentions this is a lovely site in a pleasant area and we would willingly return. One word of warning though - traffic around Agde can be horrendous so its vital to learn the smaller side roads quickly.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzie 42 reviews from this member

We spent a very enjoyable, if hot, week here. The campsite is well run. There is a lovely pool though water could have been cooler considering the temperature. We did need to queue for showers and loos at times so feel they could do with a few more. But facilities were very clean and well kept.

The pitches are a reasonable size and many have shade. We had asked for a shady pitch but got a pitch with only a little shade in late afternoon. I found it much too hot to be anywhere on the pitch after 10 am and before 6 or so with only a little shade and not much air circulation.

The best thing about the site is its location so near to the town Grau Agde and beach. We rarely used our car and instead cycled or walked to the beach and town. (Walking only in evening when it was a little cooler!) The town is full of little restaurants, some of which were great value. I had the best garlic prawns ever washed down with lovely rose for only about 12 euros. There was a concert in the town two of the nights we were there which gave a lovely atmosphere.

We would not hesitate to return to the campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MonW 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to France on a camping holiday and this is a lovely campsite. The pitches are all surrounded by lovely trees providing welcome shade and privacy.

The toilets are constantly being cleaned although the older block at the back of the site could do with a bit of a revamp. Lovely warm powerful showers and never had to queue for longer than a couple of minutes. Fantastic warm, clean pool and lovely beach nearby.

Both Agde city and Grau D'Agde by the coast are lovely places to visit and eat out and are a leisurely 20-30 minute stroll along the river path.

Supermarkets/pharmacies and everything you could need are all nearby. This really is a great site for a family holiday.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deewallace 2 reviews from this member

Very nice site. Large, level pitches with shade. Nice pool with very warm water;clean toilets and showers. Free wifi, but a bit slow and unreliable at times. Quiet site, but if you are a light sleeper, you may prefer a pitch towards the back of the site to avoid the noise from the cars on the one way system (heavy sleepers will have no problem!). Nice area; close to nice beaches; good cycling. We were there during the French holidays and there were lots of French, Dutch and German families. Some entertainment organised in the evenings, but can't comment as we didn't go to the bar area at night. Two weeks of no rain, hot during the day, warm enough to sit out at night, but cool enough to sleep. We didn't encounter any biting insects. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Devon-john 2 reviews from this member

We arrived at Le Neptune having booked on line and advising that we wished to pay with camping cheques. Check in was flawless and a special gate was opened for us to make our access to the pitch easier. We were in row B and would recommend it to anyone who needs some shade. We did as we encountered exceptionally hot weather for June, it was around 40C when we left.

Our pich was fine, electric supply nearby. When I accidently tripped out the supply staff responded in under 5 mins to re-instate supply.

The toilets and showers were spotless, with ample hot water, some WCs are Turkish in style but many are not. Toilet paper is not supplied as is the norm in France.

Pool area was clean, pool water was good I saw the chemical levels checked many times.

Wi Fi is now free at bar area but a bit unreliable at times. Does not extend to whole site in our experience.

All the staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

Shop was a little expensive as usual, bread was good in the morning.

The snack bar opened as we left so cannot comment as we did not use it.

All in all would have no hesitation in recommending this site, nice fellow campers, no noise at night. A very fine stay.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mistrom 14 reviews from this member

This is a pleasant campsite near the seaside town of Agde.

The pitch we had was generous, level and private. However we were situated next to the play area and the football often came onto our pitch and caravan, so beware of these places. All the others however are fine.

We stayed in the busiest part of the season and it was full. The toilet and shower facilities coped well and they were cleaned regularly. The staff were pleasant and polite.

The site is not to far from the sea. 30-40minute walk, 5 minute car journey. Ideal to cycle to the beach, very flat. We would leave for the beach at about 1pm and there would be ample parking spaces near the beach at that time. Became crowded after 4pm, the hottest part of the day.

Nice restaurants nearby.

Excellent beach.

Shopping centre very close by, extremely cheap petrol on the complex, but chaotic with all the tourists.

Just a note, if possible arrive when reception is open in the morning, you may have better choice of pitches in the busiest part of the season.

Would return to this site.

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


610 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019