Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Point Of Ness

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Stromness > Point Of Ness > Reviews

Point Of Ness
Ness Point
Stromness
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW16 3DL
Tel: 01856 873535  or  01856 850907
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 49
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 53 Reviews
                8/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thegibbo4 12 reviews from this member

 This has to be the most beautiful campsite we have ever stayed at. We arrived to a warm welcome from Jem, having sailed past our pitch (no. 6) on the evening crossing to Stromness.

Our waterfront hardstanding pitch was ample sized for our 6. 4m van, with amazing views of the town, harbour and over to Hoy. We loved chilling out in the evenings, watching the boats coming and going.

Facilities were ample and scrupulously clean at all times. Loved the individual washrooms with underfloor heating, shower, sink and toilet in each. The outdoor washing lines and pegs were well used given the fantastic weather we had during our stay. Nice independent shops within easy walking distance in Stromness - Argo's bakery has most things you could want, Co-op if you need it at the far end of town.

There is so much to do on Mainland, we barely scratched the surface during our stay. Everywhere was really accessible with our campervan, parking was never an issue. A great day was spent at Skara Brae and Skaill beach (advanced booking required for Skara Brae - check the OIC cruise arrivals list to avoid clashing with the cruise ship tour buses).

Broch of Gurness is less well preserved, and not as old as Skara Brae, however you can go inside what remains so provides an interesting contrast. Highly recommend Maeshowe (booking required) and Unstan chambered cairns. Check the tide times and walk across the causeway to Brough of Birsay (sadly, no puffins when we were there) then go rock pooling on the way back.

Other must sees include Ring of Brodgar and the Standing Stones of Stenness. Take the passenger ferry from Houton to Lyness on Hoy and visit the Scapa Flow Museum.

Last thing to mention is the on site lounge - with two teenagers in tow it gave them a bit of independence from their parents (and all important wifi) - why can't more campsites have this!

We all left a piece of our hearts in Orkney and can't wait to return here. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Pedrosontour 11 reviews from this member

 Excellent couple of nights here. Drive around town centre to point of Ness by golf course. Out on peninsula surrounded by water.

Jem was very friendly and helpful.

Online booking very easy to guarantee pitch, hardstanding with hookup.

Best shower facilities we have ever come across on a site. Self contained wet walled room with openable window, with sink, toilet and power shower,

Meant I looked forward to my shower each morning.

Location perfect for exploring Broch Birsay, Skara Brae, Standing stones stenness, ring of Brodgar and Maes howe (tour slots at 11am and 3pm for those who turn up and book in the morning, so opportunity even if looks full online) 


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fionam 1 review from this member

 Great site.

Well positioned to stroll along the cobbled streets into town.

Clean facilities and real friendly feel.

Warden was superb. Gave us pegs to hang our washing out.

Would have stayed longer but couldn't change our ferry booking. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie 1 review from this member

 Ok what not to like, sorry can't think of any thing I didn't like.

Now what did I like.

Booking system

Confirmation email with maps attached

Toilet block very clean and practical

Lounge area although we didn't use it a fantastic extra for tent campers.

The view just fabulous

Will definitely use again when we visit orkney to visit family and friends. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alronald 11 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Jem the warden who showed us around the facilities on the site.

The site is in a fantastic location out on Point of Ness next to the golf course with amazing vews towards Stromness, Scapa Flow and Hoy.

The site is flat and inevitably windy although there were lots of tents about which didn't seem to be struggling unduly.

Site facilities immaculate - toilets / showers are all self-contained rooms so if the site's busy you might have to wait until one's free. Nice friendly comon room with kettle and microwave. Laundry and dishwashing facilities.

Superb position from which to tour mainland Orkney - nothing really's that far away. Stromness is a nice little town with a decent sized Coop for food shopping - we just missed "shopping week" their local festival but there were still lots of interesting places to explore. Couple of pubs / cafes serving food.

The Stromness-Scrabster ferry is a 5 minute drive away and whilst the site is signposted from the harbour it isnt from the site so make sure you drive out the way you came in. I inadvertently drove along the main street at one point. Never again.

Lots to do - recommend the Neolitic sites but you'll have to book Skara Brae and Maeshowe. If its open, check out the Ness of Brodgar archaeological excavation (only dig for few weeks over summer).

Foot ferry to Graemsay and Hoy operates from Stromness, car ferry to Lyness on Hoy runs from Houton, a few miles east (the Scapa Flow museum has just reopened in Lyness- we never made it across but its highly recommended).

The George Mackay Brown garden sits just outside the site and there is a historical trail commemorating his life.

You can also walk along the coast from the campsite past defensive remnants from World War 2 including the Ness Battery - also worth visiting but has to be booked.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 We booked 5 nights at this site on a hardstanding pitch.

The site has the most incredible views out to the sea and the island of Hoy, its great watching the Stromness Ferry come and go from the harbour.

The wardens Jem is such a friendly bubbly person and si helpful. The toilets are all unisex self contained cubicles so when busybody may have to wait sometimes, but they are kept very clean, Stromness is a lovely small town with a narrow main street,

Lots of quaint shops and a Coop supermarket.

We would recommend this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Damaca 85 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, great views of Hoy opposite and of ships, boats and ferries sailing past the site, which as its name implies is located on a little point jutting into the bay.

There is a nice walk from the site along the coast away from Stromness, or in the other direction into Stromness, a pretty little place with a few shops, cafés and points of interest.

A well stocked Coop is at the far end of town, with ample parking for motorhomes in the town's free car park nearby. The warden(s) were efficient and friendly.

On-line booking and pitch selection means you can pitch up immediately on arrival even if you get here, as we did, at about 9pm on the last ferry over.

The toilet, shower and dishwashing facilities are all clean and first class, with plenty of hot water.

Take care to drive to the site via their recommended route; don't try to navigate the extremely narrow main street through Stromness!

Also, it's worth booking tickets for Orkney's main ancient sites on-line before you come. We managed to get into one (Skara Brae) by buying a ticket at the site, but another (Maeshowe) was 'fully booked for the next 6 days'. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ghs1 1 review from this member

 Facilities are very good, clean and modern, and the staff are excellent.

However our tent and one other were wrecked by the wind. This site is not suitable for tents as it is too exposed and speaking to the motor home campers they didn't think caravans would have been safe either.

Our tent was a high spec one rated for wind speeds of 55mph constant. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 111 reviews from this member

 We booked this Site in February for an August stay which was just as well as it was operating under strict Covid protocols while we were there.

Every other pitch was left vacant, facilities like showers, toilets and dishwashing were limited to 1 person or family use. Overall then, it felt very safe and secure.

The staff were also very helpful. We'd stayed here before so knew where to get fish on the Industrial Estate and the local walks.

We had a great day on Hoy, taking the passenger ferry from Stromness and walking over to the Old Man.

A great site and always relaxing to watch the boats come and go. At £25/night with EHU its good value for money. The only negative is that it can be very exposed to wind. Not a problem in a Motorhome but could be a problem for tents or awnings.

Their Motorhome servicing point is open to non residents but they ask for a donation to be left in the Office. Although we saw several vans take advantage, disappointingly, none seemed ready to pay. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Darnto 1 review from this member

 Point of Ness is a great way to spend a few nights if your using it as a base while travelling or sight seeing in Orkney.

It had all the facilities I needed to maintain the motor home while there with utilities and hook up easy to use.

Stunning views and walks are a bonus.

Warden was so helpful from the minute we got there explaining everything we needed to do regarding covid restrictions and using the facilities they offered. First class.

Would definitely use site again if was visiting Orkney. 
via mobile


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Point Of Ness child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Point Of Ness?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Point Of Ness dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stromness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46578 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement