Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Point Of Ness

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Stromness > Point Of Ness Reviews

Point Of Ness
Ness Point
Stromness
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW16 3DL
Tel: 01856 873535  or  01856 850907
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 44
Open: 31/07/2020 to 30/09/2020
           01/05/2021 to 30/09/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Redmum3 2 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our stay.

Booking done easily through UKCampsite.co.uk.

Great pitches and the warden was lovely.

Good facilities.

Stromness is worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Asdu21 1 review from this member

 Best site we've ever stayed in; John at the reception was great,

The site was lovely providing a great view on the town of Stromness, the island of Hoy and the bay, all was clean and organized.

The toilet even had sanitary products handy. Really fab campsite, highly recommended. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mumpeebs 1 review from this member

 This Council, well- run site is a great point from which to set up base to explore Stromness and whole of the Orkney mainland. On arrival John, the Warden, sets out clear guidelines for the health & safety of all guests. Pretty much everyone wore a mask and was courteous. I booked our elec hook-up pitch online This Council, well- run site is a great point from which to set up base to explore Stromness and whole of the Orkney mainland. On arrival John, the Warden, sets out clear guidelines for the health & safety of all guests. Pretty much everyone wore a mask and was courteous.

I booked online and chose elec hook up pitch: PON07 - right on the seafront overlooking the bay.

The site is basic but well-kept and very clean. I liked how the Warden always checked in on his guests from time to time to make sure we were happy and not in need of anything. There is access to WiFi in the small lounge at reception. The showers are new, clean, hot, and free! As a middle-aged couple we were happy this site was quiet, but I’m not sure there’s much for young families here-no play area obvious.

It was a 15min walk into Stromness, interesting old architecture & history, and shops are few & far between, but there is a good sized Co op (Kirkwall would be better for retail therapy!)

I particularly enjoyed watching life on the water right next to our pitch; the Sail boats, lifeboats and the large Northlink ferry MV Hamnavoe, coming in & out! At around £20/night, I highly recommend this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thebutt 3 reviews from this member

 Small site but one of the few open on the islands. The site management are exceptional both in terms of vivid professionalism and general friendliness.

The site is in a very good location to access the main island sites, walking and Hoy.

Facilities are clean and comply with present vivid regulations.

In present times this is a 9 site although in normal times it is more like a 7. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 Campsite run by Orkney Council - situated right on the waters edge 15 minutes walk from the old town.

Booking must be made on-line of by telephoning council. You are given a pitch number either by return email or on phone and that is where you must pitch. There is a list in the reception of available pitches as of the time warden last there - but people could have booked in meantime - so if you turn up un-booked and chose a pitch you may need to move - it really is so much easier to book on line.

That all said - this is a great site. Warden is there for a few hours once or twice a day - really helpful friendly. There is a kitchen area with microwave, washing machine (£1 wash takes 15 mins) and dryer (£1 for 15 minutes), pus a dish washing sink with hot water.

Front pitches are hardstanding, rest are on grass but its very firm and well cut. All but a couple of pitches have ehu - you chose if you want electric when you book.

Showers and loos are old - but really well cleaned. The shower is 20p for I think it was 7 minutes. Fresh water tap outside reception and am motorhome service area the other side.

In the opposite direction to town there is a wonderful footpath, takes you around the coast adjacent to the island of Hoy with incredible views.

In Stromness there are a few cafes, a hotel and a couple of shops. For camping and and outdoor gear go to Stromness Rope shop (upp) they stock everything you could need from camping pegs to walkig boats and coats at really reasonable prices. There is a decent size Coop at the end of the harbour.

Would not hesitate to use this site or recommend its fabulous. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Site run by Orkney Islands Council, great location on a promontory overlooking Stromness harbour, Graemsay and Hoy where you can watch the ferry and boat traffic. Mix of hard standing and grass pitches with plenty of EHU.

Warden visits twice daily with times posted on reception door, if not there, information is posted on the door about available pitches. £19. 60 for campervan with EHU. Good facilities, clean but tired.

Washer & tumble (token needed from warden £1 for washer, tumble takes £1 coins). There's also a warm sitting room & kitchen for campers. 15min walk into Stromness where there's a couple of hotels for meals, golf course next door.

Pretty town with cobbled main street (don't be tempted to follow satnav through to access campsite, follow signs round Back Road). Site can be exposed in the frequent strong Orkney winds.

Small slipway next to site for canoe/SUP launching. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 8 nights and used this as a base for visiting the orkney mainland. Site is in a fantastic location with views accross the harbour to Hoy Scapa Flow and Gramsey.

We last visited this site 20 year ago and apart from a fence along the waters edge and hard standings nothing has changed and the facilities are in dire need of a refurb or a good clean at the very least.

With better facilities this site would excellent.

Wardens are on the site part time and are flexible with arrivals and departures. But as previously mentioned the booking system is constrictive!

Be aware that if you are in a tent you will hear the ferry late at night and early in the morning but that is part of Orkney like. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Larry10 15 reviews from this member

 We stayed 2 nights at £19. 60 per night including EHU. Site Warden helpful but only around part time but she did sort out a problem with the site washing machine for us.

The site was fairly busy and the marking of the EHU points and therefore the parking was not very clear. Although this was improved on our second day.

Laundry available on site, drive over grey water disposal near CDP.

NB Our TomTom took us along a supposed A road through Stromness, it was actually extremely narrow cobbled road, much better to use what is called the 'back road' 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Zhwe270 1 review from this member

 Point of Ness is a great campsite in an amazing location, bordered by water on two sides - you can see it as you come into Stromness on the ferry from Scotland. In fact we got used to seeing the Hamnavoe coming and going three times a day, as well as the little ferry that goes to Graemsay and Hoy.

I guess the weather is a big part of how comfortable your stay can be - it was lovely while we were there but there doesn’t seem to be much shelter if there’s a strong wind.

It’s a very well-kept municipal campsite - my only gripe relates to the booking system. The staff on site seem to be hamstrung by not being able to change bookings in any way, or from the sound of it can’t look at the system to see what bookings have been made.

We’d booked a pitch for our camper van and awning but it isn’t made clear when you book that the hard standing pitches are too hard to be able to get tent pegs in (it does vary from place to place, sometimes you can and sometimes you can’t) and only some of them have a big enough area of grass next to them to be able to put an awning up. We’d booked for a camper van and awning on the website and you have to book a specific pitch and we went for pitch 6 - unless I missed it there was nothing to point out that the pitch we’d booked wasn’t really suitable for an awning.

We asked if we could move but the warden said he was sorry, even if another pitch looked free he couldn’t tell whether it was until much later in the day when the booking system had updated itself. And he couldn’t alter any existing bookings.

I pointed out that we couldn’t really begin our holiday until we knew if we’d be able to put the awning up and unpack everything - and fair play, he did everything he could to help, and managed to move us.

But I think he was only able to do that because there was a pitch that wasn’t on the booking system, which did have enough grass next to it, so he could put us there. Otherwise all we could have done was try to book one of the other pitches online, or waited until that evening.

We’d have liked to stayed on our pitch for an extra night - most campsites would be able to see if they could juggle pitches or see who was coming in so we could have stayed where we were, but this doesn’t seem possible with the system Orkney Council use, so the only way to have stayed would have been to make another booking on a different pitch, take down the awning and put it up again. So we just moved on and went somewhere else.

The washing facilities are ok - they’re not that new and are also a public toilet and kind of feel like that, but they are kept clean and well maintained and the coin-operated shower gave enough hot water at a decent rate of pressure.

Pitches 1-12 are right by the sea wall and all are hard standing - if you want to put up an awning on, I’d reckon you can do it on the grass next to pitches 1, 3a, 3b, 8, 9 & 11 - but there isn’t enough grass next to 3 4 5 6 or 7.

3a & 3b are by the drying area, while 10 and 12 do share a patch of grass with 9 & 11. But I guess it depends if the other pitch are using it.

15-23 and 30-35 are all on grass and more sheltered as they’re next to a wall at the back of the site - from 30 you can look straight out and see the sea with no other pitches in the way. 23 is very large, 16 and 17 are in a corner so they’re smaller. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed 5 nights here as part of a block booking with Wildcamping, a nice location just on the harbour entrance, watching boats and ferry coming and going.

The site facilities were clean and tidy although they are coming close to the end of their life.

We would come back 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Point Of Ness child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Point Of Ness?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Point Of Ness dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stromness      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2234 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December