Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Point Of Ness

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Stromness > Point Of Ness Reviews

Point Of Ness
Ness Point
Stromness
Orkney Islands   (Browse area)
KW16 3DL
Tel: 01856 873535  or  01856 850907
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 44
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 39 Reviews
                8/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Campsite run by Orkney Council - situated right on the waters edge 15 minutes walk from the old town.

Booking must be made on-line of by telephoning council. You are given a pitch number either by return email or on phone and that is where you must pitch. There is a list in the reception of available pitches as of the time warden last there - but people could have booked in meantime - so if you turn up un-booked and chose a pitch you may need to move - it really is so much easier to book on line.

That all said - this is a great site. Warden is there for a few hours once or twice a day - really helpful friendly. There is a kitchen area with microwave, washing machine (£1 wash takes 15 mins) and dryer (£1 for 15 minutes), pus a dish washing sink with hot water.

Front pitches are hardstanding, rest are on grass but its very firm and well cut. All but a couple of pitches have ehu - you chose if you want electric when you book.

Showers and loos are old - but really well cleaned. The shower is 20p for I think it was 7 minutes. Fresh water tap outside reception and am motorhome service area the other side.

In the opposite direction to town there is a wonderful footpath, takes you around the coast adjacent to the island of Hoy with incredible views.

In Stromness there are a few cafes, a hotel and a couple of shops. For camping and and outdoor gear go to Stromness Rope shop (upp) they stock everything you could need from camping pegs to walkig boats and coats at really reasonable prices. There is a decent size Coop at the end of the harbour.

Would not hesitate to use this site or recommend its fabulous.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Site run by Orkney Islands Council, great location on a promontory overlooking Stromness harbour, Graemsay and Hoy where you can watch the ferry and boat traffic. Mix of hard standing and grass pitches with plenty of EHU.

Warden visits twice daily with times posted on reception door, if not there, information is posted on the door about available pitches. £19. 60 for campervan with EHU. Good facilities, clean but tired.

Washer & tumble (token needed from warden £1 for washer, tumble takes £1 coins). There's also a warm sitting room & kitchen for campers. 15min walk into Stromness where there's a couple of hotels for meals, golf course next door.

Pretty town with cobbled main street (don't be tempted to follow satnav through to access campsite, follow signs round Back Road). Site can be exposed in the frequent strong Orkney winds.

Small slipway next to site for canoe/SUP launching.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

Stayed for 8 nights and used this as a base for visiting the orkney mainland. Site is in a fantastic location with views accross the harbour to Hoy Scapa Flow and Gramsey.

We last visited this site 20 year ago and apart from a fence along the waters edge and hard standings nothing has changed and the facilities are in dire need of a refurb or a good clean at the very least.

With better facilities this site would excellent.

Wardens are on the site part time and are flexible with arrivals and departures. But as previously mentioned the booking system is constrictive!

Be aware that if you are in a tent you will hear the ferry late at night and early in the morning but that is part of Orkney like.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Larry10 11 reviews from this member

We stayed 2 nights at £19. 60 per night including EHU. Site Warden helpful but only around part time but she did sort out a problem with the site washing machine for us.

The site was fairly busy and the marking of the EHU points and therefore the parking was not very clear. Although this was improved on our second day.

Laundry available on site, drive over grey water disposal near CDP.

NB Our TomTom took us along a supposed A road through Stromness, it was actually extremely narrow cobbled road, much better to use what is called the 'back road'

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Zhwe270 1 review from this member

Point of Ness is a great campsite in an amazing location, bordered by water on two sides - you can see it as you come into Stromness on the ferry from Scotland. In fact we got used to seeing the Hamnavoe coming and going three times a day, as well as the little ferry that goes to Graemsay and Hoy.

I guess the weather is a big part of how comfortable your stay can be - it was lovely while we were there but there doesn’t seem to be much shelter if there’s a strong wind.

It’s a very well-kept municipal campsite - my only gripe relates to the booking system. The staff on site seem to be hamstrung by not being able to change bookings in any way, or from the sound of it can’t look at the system to see what bookings have been made.

We’d booked a pitch for our camper van and awning but it isn’t made clear when you book that the hard standing pitches are too hard to be able to get tent pegs in (it does vary from place to place, sometimes you can and sometimes you can’t) and only some of them have a big enough area of grass next to them to be able to put an awning up. We’d booked for a camper van and awning on the website and you have to book a specific pitch and we went for pitch 6 - unless I missed it there was nothing to point out that the pitch we’d booked wasn’t really suitable for an awning.

We asked if we could move but the warden said he was sorry, even if another pitch looked free he couldn’t tell whether it was until much later in the day when the booking system had updated itself. And he couldn’t alter any existing bookings.

I pointed out that we couldn’t really begin our holiday until we knew if we’d be able to put the awning up and unpack everything - and fair play, he did everything he could to help, and managed to move us.

But I think he was only able to do that because there was a pitch that wasn’t on the booking system, which did have enough grass next to it, so he could put us there. Otherwise all we could have done was try to book one of the other pitches online, or waited until that evening.

We’d have liked to stayed on our pitch for an extra night - most campsites would be able to see if they could juggle pitches or see who was coming in so we could have stayed where we were, but this doesn’t seem possible with the system Orkney Council use, so the only way to have stayed would have been to make another booking on a different pitch, take down the awning and put it up again. So we just moved on and went somewhere else.

The washing facilities are ok - they’re not that new and are also a public toilet and kind of feel like that, but they are kept clean and well maintained and the coin-operated shower gave enough hot water at a decent rate of pressure.

Pitches 1-12 are right by the sea wall and all are hard standing - if you want to put up an awning on, I’d reckon you can do it on the grass next to pitches 1, 3a, 3b, 8, 9 & 11 - but there isn’t enough grass next to 3 4 5 6 or 7.

3a & 3b are by the drying area, while 10 and 12 do share a patch of grass with 9 & 11. But I guess it depends if the other pitch are using it.

15-23 and 30-35 are all on grass and more sheltered as they’re next to a wall at the back of the site - from 30 you can look straight out and see the sea with no other pitches in the way. 23 is very large, 16 and 17 are in a corner so they’re smaller.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Countrycruisers 12 reviews from this member

We stayed 5 nights here as part of a block booking with Wildcamping, a nice location just on the harbour entrance, watching boats and ferry coming and going.

The site facilities were clean and tidy although they are coming close to the end of their life.

We would come back

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 20 reviews from this member

Excellent position overlooking harbour with lots of boat activity, though not at night. Booking system is chaotic. If you just turn up and take a free pitch, then someone books it online you're off!

Warden turns up at 7 pm and is friendly and helpful. Showers and toilets were fine and free wi fi in reception lounge which was a nice place to sit and chat.

Stromness itself is drab and everything seemed to be closed at 4 p m on a weekday. But its a good place for visiting all the Mainland sites and trips to Hoy

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Headgardener 35 reviews from this member

This site is run by the Council and a warden is on duty in the morning and then again from 7 pm to 10 pm. Out of these times you can only book on line ( a recent change). There is a board at reception showing available pitches at 12 noon but it is not updated till 7 pm so on line bookings are not shown.

It has fantastic views out over the sea, is adjacent to the Golf Club and is very handy for Stromness and the ferry to Scrabster.

There is a sitting room in the reception area with free wi fi, a kitchen, toilets and showers. I had a look at the gents but decided not to use it! Likewise the showers.

The site itself appears to be all grass but there is a car parking area adjacent and some large units had parked there and run their electric cables to EHUs in the site. Dont know the ins and outs of this.

If you are happy to use your own facilities this is a great spot.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TheLaird 11 reviews from this member

Right out on the point with great views to the town/ferry (this is not a negative remark) and then walk around the point to look over Hoy.

Facilities are basic but clean. As said before they are open to the public but not sure they are used that much by the public. Water very very hot. Ladies, disabled, kitchen and lounge are all accessed via a 'formal' front door so the public would probably not enter. It is only the gents that is relatively open.

Plots are very generous in size. There is board in receiption that shows reserved and vacant plots.

Warden, who we only saw once in our 2 nights, was very helpful Told us some places to go and see and he was spot on. Thank you sir.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wildrover58 5 reviews from this member

Booked 4 nights online, full payment required in advance, online booking system indicated available pitches which could be reserved in advance. On arrival found several tents and occupants on my selected pitch, a number of whom claimed to have also booked the same pitch.

Warden has a flexible schedule for attendance at site, I missed him twice so unable to resolve my issues. Booked pitches list in window was several days out of date.

Struggle to find anything good to say, its expensive for a noisy and exposed site with dated facilities, I moved on after one night.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Orkney Islands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5408 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019