Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping La Vallee Des Vignes

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Concourson Sur Layon > Camping La Vallee Des Vignes Reviews

Camping La Vallee Des Vignes
La Croix Patron
Concourson Sur Layon
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49700
Tel: 0033 2 41 59 86 35
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 30th March - 30th September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dsouter 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, good sized pitches, very clean facilities, very helpful, quiet and relaxing, deserves to be busier. Great for tents, caravans an campers whether travelling as couples or families.

Hot showers, plenty toilets and washing areas. Mixture of shady and sunny pitches. Sunny pitches have no shade so choose carefully. Large groups of young children on site when we were there but so well behaved and polite.

Swimming pool looked inviting but didn’t use. Ground very hard for tent pegs. Restaurant and children’s play areas on site. One of the best sites we have used and not overly expensive

Good shopping within 10 mins drive. Zoo nearby. Very friendly area. Easy 10/10 from us

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bofs 66 reviews from this member

We are 2 adults in our 60s with a dog, in a caravan.

We decided to revisit this site for a few nights as we had good memories of a holiday here four years ago. Towards the end of August we were one of maybe a dozen units on site with people in a handful of the small number of mobil-homes on site, so it was very quiet.

It may be that we were expecting too much, but we were less impressed than last time, mainly because of the general maintenance of the pitches. The grass on the pitches was in poor condition, some of the water taps and electric hook ups were showing signs of age and not working and we felt in general the site was very overgrown, with overhanging branches, thick foliage, brambles and nettles around many of the pitches.

Despite this, there were many positives - the friendly owners (who seemed very hard-working and to be doing everything on the site themselves), the toilets (with seats and paper!) and showers were hot, clean and modern and the shower cubicles are really roomy, the pool looked very appealing, the bread service, the 10amp electric and individual water points, there was a nice walk for the dog along the lane to the village and out on to some playing fields, and the location, surrounded by vineyards, close to Doue and its amazing zoo (Bioparc) and a short drive from Saumur and Angers.

In conclusion, still a very good site but spoiled for us by the bare pitches and overgrown trees and vegetation.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: W0nderste 3 reviews from this member

Hello, here is my review of Camping La Vallee Des Vignes – France

Just got back from 10 nights camping at the wonderful ‘Camping La Vallee Des Vignes’ in the Loire Valley.

Overall, a fantastic family friendly campsite with nice pitches and excellent facilities.

The campsite was easy to find and we were welcomed by Nathalie and shown our pitch on a welcome guide. I believe you can have a wander around and choose a vacant pitch but I’d emailed Nathalie the week before and asked for a nice shady pitch as we had young children, so she had selected us a nice pitch with good tree cover. The pitch was a generous size; we have a big tunnel tent plus event shelter and there was still plenty of space to park the car and have extra room. I must note that the pitches did vary in size depending on the layout of trees/bushes. Most of the pitches were delineated clearly with shrubs and trees and most were fairly private. As far as I could see all pitches had access to water taps and EHU.

The priorities for us with two 5 year olds are a nice quiet site away from roads, nice shady pitches, good washing facilities and ideally some activities for the children to have fun. This site scored highly on all counts. The washing facilities were very functional and on the whole were very clean. Whilst not important to all people, there was no bath, only showers, which one of our girls wasn’t too keen on but the other loved. There was plenty of washing up sinks and laundry sinks along with a couple of washing machines, but as far as I could see there were no freezers for freezer packs, but we hired a fridge from the site for a very reasonable €4 per day, so that was not an issue for us. To be honest I was expecting a small camping fridge, but it was a normal sized domestic fridge with small ice box so a real bonus in the hot weather.

The site had a nice heated swimming pool with sunbathing terrace around (no slides). There were two permanent jumping castles, one of them the large slide type. There was a zip wire, playground, mini golf, Pétanque ring, volleyball court, football pitches/goals and plenty of space for the kids to run around. Overall the kids had a great time and I would highly recommend this camp site to families.

In the 10 days we were there, the site was a nice mix of French, Dutch and British families and couples and we had no real problems with noise or disturbance. Whilst not a main road, the road that is adjacent to the site could be busy at times and we could hear occasional traffic noise. Also at the top of the site across the small stream next to the site there is a small water treatment facility. Periodically some process on the site would kick into action and you could hear water movement, but it just sounded like water going over a weir. If you didn’t know the water treatment facility was there it sounded fairly natural. Our pitch was probably the closest to the water treatment facility and it was not at all bad (and I am pretty fussy). Overall it was a very peaceful site with lots of birds and wildlife.

The site was a mix of tents, campervans and caravans. It all worked harmoniously as the pitches are generous and quite private. I believe the campervans and caravans were excluded from using the washing facilities which were exclusively for tent campers so there was never a queue or delay.

Next to the pool was a restaurant/bar with pool tables and games for the kids to play with. I think the restaurant is only open in the high season but served an ok selection of salads, pizzas and local dishes. They also have regular entertainment and special menus like fresh mussels etc. We ate in the restaurant twice and it was pretty good. One night there was a lovely French singer/musician, which added a really nice ambiance to the restaurant.

At the reception there is also a small shop selling essentials like dried foods, tins/jars, milk, wine and ice-creams.

Whilst there we visited the following local attractions:

• Biopark zoo - Only a mile or so from the campsite near the local town of Doué-la-Fontaine. This was a really nice little zoo formed in an old quarry. Really nice natural habitats for the various animals. Amazing giraffe enclosure.

• Angers – nice town with lovely centre with nice restaurants and cafes.

• Saumur – Lovely medieval town overlooking the Loire river. The Château de Saumur is an amazing medieval castle with a museum perched high above the town and well worth a visit

• Château de Brissac -

• Kids Play park - Has activities for all ages and should keep kids of all ages entertained for a few hours. There is a guide and signs next to each activity saying what age they are appropriate for, but absolutely no one took any notice of them and we couldn’t really see any staff most of the time, so some supervision was required for younger children. However the kids had a great time.

• The local town is Doué-la-Fontaine which has a large Super-U supermarket and an Aldi and Lidl. The town centre is also quite pretty with a few shops and restaurants.

I would add that the site was not that busy even though it was the end of July, beginning of August, which surprised us considering it was such a lovely site. I would guess that it was only 50-60% occupied. I’m not complaining about that as it was a nice relaxed, unrushed environment, but wondered if the site would be quite so clean and relaxed if there was full occupancy. But perhaps that is how the owners prefer it??

Well, that’s about it. We had a great 10 days camping and would highly recommend the site to anyone, whether camping in tents, or caravans/campervans.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rob Burton 12 reviews from this member

This site is a gem. The facilities were very good. There was free wifi in the information marquee. Most importantly the pitches were large and well kept. Not for those who like large and noisy sites but it still has everything for a good family holiday, swimming pool, bouncy castle, zip wire run, sports facilities etc. Supermarket five minutes drive away. The Bio park Zoo is breathtaking. Site takes acsi card as well!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Egraydon 1 review from this member

One of the best campsites we have ever stayed at. The owners were helpful and friendly. You could order bread for the next morning. There wasn't much to buy in 'the shop' but there didn't need to be as just 5 minutes up the road in Doue la Fontaine is a massivveuper U. We could swap our freezer blocks into the freezer any time we wanted and for no extra charge.

Perfectly located. We visited the Biopark and Terre de Rose. Both brilliant. Saumer is only a short drive. Very peaceful.

The pitches were a great size (and flat) and were edged by hedges and so our tent was in dappled shade all day, perfect. The toilet block was always clean with a supply of toilet paper. The showers were amazing.

The swimming pool was lovely, perfect temperature. There were play equipment for the children: ping pong, crazy golf, bouncy castle, zip slide, volleyball net, swings, slide. To play all you had to do was ask in reception for the equipment. No extra charge.

Conclusion: An amazing campsite in a great location. Would definitely go back.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Blp999 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, small site with large swimming pool absolutley loved our stay here for 10 days swimming pool never crowded, nothing was too much trouble for thierry and nathalie who run the site. Loos always kept very clean travelled with 3 adults 1 teenager and dog

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Joodfirst 1 review from this member

Have stayed at this site previously in 2014 and there are differences between now and then, I have also written a review under Firstjood.

The first noticeable difference is the ownership of the site, it is now French owned.

The facilities are pretty much the same (see previous review) and apart from a couple of minor gripes the cleanliness of the toilet block remains good, gripes are cobwebs in corners and bird droppings down walls and doors.

There didn't appear to be any wardens on site and the cleaning was done by the owners.

Reception and the bar/restaurant have been changed and redecorated and the pool is now heated, better on cooler days.

There is a large marquee for socialising, book borrowing and WiFi (which remains free), at the top of the site.

We were here for 2 weeks and saw only one wine tasting evening and one food tasting evening, priced at €15 for sampling bread and filling it seemed a little pricy (didn't attend). There were no discos, quiz nights, karaoke nights. The menu includes pizza (lots of choices and well tasty), steak, fish and salads. Plenty of desserts there too. Breakfast can be ordered and bread is available by preordering from reception (boulangerie in village had closed down).

There is a football pitch and children's Bouncy Castle on site and bicycles can also be hired.

The only other noticeable difference is the lack of cutting back of hedges between pitches, these also have large brambles and can catch you unawares.

Given that the cost of this site is €32pn for unit, 2 persons, electricity and tourist tax I expected a little more entertainment.

There also appear to be less holidaymakers this year than in 2014.

As regards locally, it remains much as in 2014, as well as the bakery going the restaurant in the village has changed hands, new owners, new decor and new menu, plat du jour (5 courses) €12. 80.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Drees 4 reviews from this member

What a gem of a campsite! As soon as I arrived I was made to feel very welcome by the receptionist. I was allowed to choose a pitch that I wanted (given a list of those that had been reserved), I chose a pitch that fitted my large 6 person tent, an area to set up table, chairs, gas cooker and with plenty space for my family car to also be on the pitch.

The site is adult, child and dog friendly (one couple even had their pet rabbit on a lead!). The site is classed as rural but has just a short walk along a footpath to the boulangerie that also sell basic staples as well.

In the village itself it has a number of vineyards that you can go sample their wines. There are great bike rides for all the family straight from the site entrance.

The site is ideally located for many big attractions such as the Puy du Fou, Bio Zoo, Cadre Noir, Loire River, Saumur, Angers, dou la fontaine to just mention a few.

The site has a lovely outdoor pool with sunbeds which is cleaned daily and a childs paddling pool in high season. There is a great bar that was open in the afternoon for a couple of hours as well as in the evening. In the evening there is food served in the restaurant which is reasonably priced and good (I loved the moules and frites night they had), served by cheerful friendly staff, they had entertainment on some nights and the warden who did the quizz night was hilarious!

The toilet and shower block I would go as far to say are the best I have come across on a campsite and kept impeccably clean (had loo rolls too)

To finish off I want to say a big thank you to the very friendly and approachable owners who helped me out with a problem I had. The wardens were very friendly, helpful, always had a smile on their faces and always willing to help.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glitz 4 reviews from this member

Friendly welcoming site with plenty to do for the kids - park, zip wire, crazy golf and table tennis. Events are held at the bar on a frequent basis, although late in the season when it's quiet they may not run.

The sanitary block is modern and clean with huge shower cubicles. Bar food is simple and reasonably priced.

Didn't use the pool as the weather wasn't quite warm enough but then we were there at the end of the season. Looked clean and inviting though.

Be aware this is quite a rural site, and apart from a cafe and Boulanger the nearest shop is a couple of miles up a steep hill (I wouldn't want to cycle up it!)

Also if you opt for EHU you will need the two pin converter plug.

Wardens on site were lovely, lovely people. Two went over and above the call of duty when our car broke down and when a jump start failed to fix it drove my husband to get the parts to fix. Wonderful help in a stressful situation!

Attractions nearby are good quality and quite varied. Within an hour you have futuroscope and puy du Fou, both of which I'd recommend, a zoo within 5 minutes' drive and lots of beautiful chateaus and vineyards very close by.

Would definitely return.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: FirstJood 1 review from this member

Have stayed at this site a few times and have returned time after time because it is such a lovely site in a beautiful part of France.

The site is off the main road from Saumur to Cholet and only a 10 minute drive from the closest 'town' of Doué la Fontaine.

Concourson itself has a routier, several vintners that, in the main, offer free degustaion (wine tasting) and the opportunity to buy the wine they produce, usually cheaper than in the supermarket. There is also a boulangerie which has a small selection of foods should you forget something. Doué itself has a Lidl, Aldi and a couple of decent supermarkets, Intermarché and SuperU which both have a large selection of groceries. Should you not have a car Doué can be accessed easily by bicycle, and not using the busy main road. It can be reached by using the small hardcore roads that service the many vineyards in the area. There are plenty of shops and eateries/bars/restaurants in the town that cater for most tastes, whether it be a crepe for a snack or a 3 course meal.

The site itself is well laid out and the majority of the pitches are fairly large, I was able to have the awning on the van out and still park the car down the side! As with many sites in France electricity and water are on each pitch though you will need a European adaptor to hook up. If you don't have one, or forget to take it, you can borrow one from the site with a refundable deposit.

There were activities organised on the site, discos, quiz nights karaoke and even a scrabble afternoon. The pool is larger than you would expect for the number of pitches though it was rarely warm. The bar was open during the afternoon as well as each evening, except Monday when it was closed all day (give your liver a rest) and had a good selection of food available.

There are facilities on site available either free or at a small refundable deposit, zip wire, mini golf, table tennis, boules, 5-a-side football nets, badminton/volleyball net.

The site is well kept, gardens tended regularly and the toilet/utility block is very clean and kept so by a small group of staff who can be seen all over the site each day. All were friendly and approachable and can usually help with local information.

There are attractions close to the site, its own Biopark at the zoo, one location you can see eye to eye with a giraffe!, Puy du Fou, well worth a visit, Futurescope, rose gardens, troglodyte sites and restaurants to name but a few.

The site is rural and as such there is plenty of wildlife, coypu, buzzards, kingfishers as well as moles and mice.

In conclusion a site I shall be returning to.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Concourson Sur Layon      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2891 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019