Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chateau Du Deffay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Pontchateau > Chateau Du Deffay Reviews

Chateau Du Deffay
Bp 18 Pontchateau
Pontchateau
Brittany   (Browse area)
44160
Tel: + 33 (0) 2 40 88 00 57
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 170
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sumboyman 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week at this pretty, rural, natural, non-typical French campsite. If we return to this area I would definitely use this site again.

Whilst being the last week of August it was not peak peak season it was surprisingly quiet which suited us perfectly. It’s quite a sprawling site centred around a large lake with a mixture of pitches of different sizes, on different levels. There are also a number of statics and lodges too but because of the layout it feels quite small and private. Our pitch was under trees which shielded us perfectly from the morning sun and allowed some almost unheard of camping lie-ins.

The facilities were a little old but perfectly functional and immaculately cleaned daily. The reception had a folder of walks and leaflets about things in the local area. The pool area was clean and well maintained. There is a small pool and a larger pool, both within one of those greenhouse things which was ideal for staying out of the full glare of the mid-day sun and remained at an acceptable temperature until late in the day. Next to the pool is a shop which had sadly closed the week before, but there is also a bar/ restaurant which was still open at the end of August. Whilst we usually do all of our own cooking whilst camping this place was too nice to resist a couple of visits too. The staff were lovely and the food decent and good value. They offered a few feature nights over the week. We went to the Wednesday Moules night which was great value and with a singer in the corner also had a lovely atmosphere without feeling at all like a holiday camp.

The play area was unimpressive and could do with a revamp but that said there were a couple of trampolines and bouncy castles which were kept running each day despite there not being that many kids knocking around, which my daughter certainly appreciated. There was also a pedalo on the lake which appeared free to use if you could brave the muddy shore to reach it. It was a little dilapidated, but fun and did just about did manage to get us around the lake although but again could maybe to with a bit of tlc.

As I said earlier, I would return to this site without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Marshaldog 3 reviews from this member

 An excellent site that I would definitely keep on my return list when in the area. Pitches are varied, some nearer the lake and more shady, whilst others up the top are more open (and larger I think, and also no mozzy problem to speak of). In either case it isn't manicured, and very rural. Facilities, whilst sort of old are perfectly functional, and I am fussy about that. Good washing area. The site itself is beautiful, just take a stroll round the chateau. Note sometimes they have functions on in the chateau at weekends which you may be able to hear, but it didn't bother us. The restaurant is now run by new people for the last couple of years, and they have it really going well, with feature nights several times a week - Moules night was 11E, brilliant evening. Accommodated our dog Ziva in the restaurant, absolutely no problem. Of course Dominique the manager will fix any problem, and all speak some english if that troubles you. Surrounding area by car is great, try La Roche-Bernard for lunch in a very pretty town with old quarter and quayside, and for the coast go to Piriac sur Mer and some litte beaches heading towards La Turnballe for dog-in-the-sea. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Montyturbo 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, with pitches on 4 tiers. Could be a bit noisy and crowded in high season. Some of the pitches are well-sheltered by trees, which will play havoc with a satellite signal, but others are well situated – it’ll be the luck of the draw, as pitches are allocated prior to arrival. We were lucky with our allocation, but as there were many empty pitches, we could have moved if we’d wanted to. Nice sized lake with pedalos for hire, and a bit of a ‘trim-track’ if you want to be that energetic. There could be a problem if there is a function being held at the chateau, as there was when we were on site; the ‘music’ from the disco didn’t finish until 7. 00 AM the following morning – it was so loud that the bass note vibrations could be felt drumming through our van. Clean facilities block with very hot showers. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sparrowlegs77 26 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderfully peaceful. The pitches are large and there is no rule concerning how you must pitch your caravan. Dominique is very helpful, always cheerful and friendly. The bread, croissants etc available every morning are fantastic.

The toilets and showers are kept very clean. The showers are the push button type and have no temperature control.

Do not come to this site if you want a lively site with Disco, water park etc - it is not that sort of site at all. I would describe the site as rustic for nature lovers. There is a bar and restaurant on site and a small shop selling the essentials at reception.

The grounds of the site are well kept but the grass is not mowed every couple of days as you may find in the UK. The pitches are separated by a hedge/shrubbery which allows each pitch a hint of privacy.

The site is an excellent base for exploring the Briere and towns such as Missillac, Pontchateau, La Baule, St Nazzaire.

I would return to this site without hesitation it is a wonderful place. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Marmitevw 2 reviews from this member

 We were really looking forward to this site and were disappointed with our stay. We only stayed one night but the pitch was tiny, uneven and plagued by mosquitoes. Facilities were excellent though with super clean showers and toilets.

The cost for a one night stay was quite pricey.

Luckily we had only planned to stay one night as that was enough for us.

There was a lovely lake to walk around but felt a bit 'caravan park' like with mobile homes and chalets.

Not sure how this was rated a five star campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: **CRYSAL** 6 reviews from this member

 We ended up here after booking on another site 2mile down the road which we didn't like. This came up in our search so moved.

Exactly what we wanted. Space/views /quiet/pretty site.

We had a lake side pitch. There are free pedal owes to use. My partner(early riser) came and collected me one morning on one(a tip for you men).

Spotlessly clean

Nice pool

Bar/snack bar(but didn't use these)

Great for couples or family's

We will be returning nx year :) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

 Nice location and layout although for our motorhome (7mts) some of the pitches were a bit small, whilst toilet and shower facilities were always clean with plentiful hot water there is no segregation! Staff were always helpful and the shop was well stocked for emergencies you could order bread & pastries each evening & I must recommend the pain au raisin! The on site bar/restaurant is worth visiting. The most surprising extra is a car for hire that belongs to the site, which can be hired by the day at one of the best rates we've come across! We would certainly recommend the site and will hope to return. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shirlg 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for two weeks in a cabin rented directly from the site. If you want a lovely quiet site this is perfect! We have two 14 year old girls with us who most days had the pool to themselves on two evenings I was on my own in the pool at 7pm in the evening. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and Dominique and his staff are all very charming. The site is large and all facilities were clean and well maintained. There is free use of pedalos on the lake and free fishing. There is plenty to do in the area with the large town of Guerande a must. The nearest beach is about 20 mins away and this was the only reason we could see for it being so quiet. Bar and restaurant was only open 7pm-10pm but food although a simple menu was delicious the pizza is obviously home made. Pool was still open several evenings at 9pm a great attraction as the weather was so hot. Only down side if you go plenty of mosquito repellent being by the lake there were plenty to feast on me! Can't praise this sight enough will go back again! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Wakker1 15 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this campsite for 3 nights on our way back to Calais

The site is about 4kms outside Pontchateau, which is a good place to do your shopping, as it has a large Supa you supermarket where you can park your motorhome in the car park. There are also a number of bars, shops and restaurants within the town.

The site itself is set in the grounds of a chateau, which also does bed and breakfast. The site is a mixture of static caravans, and cabins on one side of the lake, the other side is for touring caravans, motorhomes and tents. All the pitches are grass, some are flat but a number have a slope. The ground when we were there was very dry, even after heavy rain during one of the nights.

They have a number of serviced pitches on the lakeside, with water and 10 amp electricity, other pitches are 6 amp. The facilities are very new and are at the top of the site. Everything was kept really clean on a daily basis. There are washers and dryers available. The site also has a motorhome service point.

The reception has a small shop with quite a good choice of grocery's and wine, bread can be ordered daily. English is spoken by the staff and the majority of people on the site were English. The bar and restaurant were closed when we were there but I believe they open July/August.

The site is in a lovely setting with a lake and many trees.

No charge is made for a dog, and the site has wi-fi which was 3 euros a day. I will return to this site the next time I am in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Hardencamper 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week stay at Deffay Campsite. Will probably be returning again next year. I have to disagree with the reviews regarding the restaurant food. We think the quality was very good - we are a family with two teenage boys who eat A LOT. The food was good quality and quantity home cooked food.

We had steak and chips one night and beef bougenoure on another occasion, we also had the much talked about pizzas which we felt were freshly cooked to order. (Not frozen).

The site is kept clean, and tidy although a couple of maintenance problems need to be sorted out. Like the light in the 'gents' toilets, there are no soap dispensers in any of the toilets which I feel is a necessary requirement. The site is quiet and relaxing, we had a pitch on the shop and reception side of the lake which was flat, with shade and sun. (we needed shade as much of the 2 weeks was up in the 30 degrees). The pool is lovely, especially as it can be covered, which stops you getting burnt whilst playing and swimming. Also it did rain one afternoon and we all headed for the pool because it had been covered.

The bar was a great area to socialise in the evening with fellow campers, and for the older children to play pool and chess.

All in all I would highly recommend this site, this was our third camping trip to France, the other two sites being British owned. This site is more authentically French so you felt like you were experiencing the French way of life.

Penestin is not far and has a nice rocky beach, take your beach shoes and explore the rock pools for mussles and fish.

Guerande Salt Marshes are not too far and well worth paying for an English guided tour, as it explains the processes of white and grey salt.

The walled city of Guerande is another nice day trip.

Oh and one last tip, save hard and make a visit to Puy du Fou, It is E31 each, and took 1 1/2 hours to drive there but an absolutely fantastic day - right through to 11 pm. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chateau Du Deffay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Chateau Du Deffay have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Chateau Du Deffay?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Chateau Du Deffay dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pontchateau      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Lifestyle 2022 Show, Shropshire 06/05 to 08/05
Holiday homes, caravans, camping, holidays, garden rooms, hot tubs, garden furniture, gardening, health & fitness - 20% off tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3346 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement