Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cranberry Moss Camping And Caravanning Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Cranberry Moss Camping And Caravanning Site
Kinnerley
Shrewsbury
Oswestry
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY10 8DY
Tel: 01743 741118
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Richard54 1 review from this member

Great welcome from owner. Had just been taken over from CCC this season.

The site is lovely and spacious and is kept very clean and you are encouraged to keep it that way, as they even had Jcloths in the washing up rooms and washrooms so you cleaned as you used it. A mop and bucket to clean after your shower also provided. You had to be patient in the shower for hot water but it came eventually and was adequate.

The info room was good with plenty of leaflets and details of the area and walks and places to bike as well.

Situated just off the busy A5 there was road noise but you got used to it after a while. A bus service just across the roundabout to Oswestry or Shrewsbury every half hour was useful for motorhomers. Both places worth a visit in their own right, one a small market town and the other a busy large town with character.

Would definitely return here or use for a stopover before a visit to Wales. There isn't much for kids to do so would suit adults rather than families.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

Please note that as from the 2019 season, this site is no longer owned or managed by the Camping and Caravanning Club and is under new ownership and management.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 213 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- Once past Shrewsbury continue on A5 towards Oswestry. At end of dual carriageway take first left roundabout onto B4396 signed for Knockin and campsite can be seen ahead on the left.

This campsite is situated just off the main A5 about between Shrewsbury and Oswestry. It is not a large site having some 65 pitches set out around gravelled access roads. There is a mix of hardstanding and grass pitches, most having an open aspect. The site is open all year and non-members are accepted. Electric points are convenient to the pitches. There is one toilet block which is functional rather than luxurious. The building also contains laundry and dishwash facilities and the chemical toilet disposal point. Next to the toilet block is the motorhome service point. It only has a small drain point but should be wide enough to use with vans with wastes points on either side of the vehicle. Water and waste water points are dotted around the site. Near to Reception is what is called “The Barn” which is a multi-use building where events are held and it also has a TV and sitting area, a useful place for tent campers in wet weather. Reception sells a few essentials. Site wide WiFi is available and free, it seems to offer a reasonable signal as well. There is no on site play facilities for children so perhaps not as child friendly as other sites. Pitches near the front of the site may suffer from road noise but this is usually during the day time. We arrived the last day of August and felt that nearly £29 a night was expensive for what is a fairly basic campsite.

This site is conveniently place to visit both Oswestry and Shrewsbury and also into North Wales. For those that don’t have, or perhaps would prefer not to use their own transport there are a couple of bus services from immediately outside the campsite. Both offer an hourly service from Monday to Saturday. For shopping there are several supermarkets in Oswestry including a Morrisons next to the bus station and a Sainsburys. Oswestry is a nice town to wander around and when you want a rest go down to Cae Glas Park for a sit in the park.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LBBK 40 reviews from this member

Some sites are destinations in their own right. This one isn't as it is in the middle of nowhere, next door to the A5, between Oswestry & Shrewsbury. That said, it is a lovely area of the country but you will need a car to explore its charms.

The site is nothing flashy and the road noise may bother some but everything was clean & working - including the free wifi - for our visit. Camping pitches are level and the grass was cut. There is a recreation room with a TV and some board games. However this isn't really a site for children. Reception sells some basic supplies and you can order newspapers. There is extensive local information available and some discounts in village pubs. Owestry has Aldi & Sainsburys.

We visited Chirk castle (Nat Trust): a cross between a traditional Welsh castle & a stately home. It is expensive but allow all day for a visit as the gardens are extensive. In contrast the Pontcysyllte Aquaduct (Lllangollen Canal) is free and also great fun to walk over but you can get a boat ride. Small children may find it too scary but older children who have studied canals in school will enjoy both the history and the 'wow' factor. Another recommendation for a good weather day would be to visit the Stiperstones & Bog Visitor Centre south of Shrewsbury. You need to be able to walk a mile or so on roughish footpaths to reach the summit ridge but the rocky outcrops and extensive views are worthwhile.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magsie 31 reviews from this member

The site has both hardstanding and grass pitches and the usual C&C Club facilities. In addition there is a large common room, with books and games, where social get-togethers are often arranged.

A fish & chip van calls on Fridays, very welcome.

Unfortunately, the Reception is less welcoming. The site feels very much like a clique, with regular repeat visitors.

The free WiFi is absolutely useless, but when I told the woman in Reception she insisted that nobody else had complained, suggesting it was my fault. I have bought a one-year WiFi pass for C&C Club sites, but hers is a private system because 'people won't want to pay'. I had to point out that I prefer to pay for something that works and she was quite rude.

I wouldn't return, the site is too far from anywhere, and walking means a dangerous busy road.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site. Our first impressions were of a slightly scruffy little site. However the very warm welcome allayed our worries. The site is on sloping ground but pitches are mostly level. We were advised about siting to get good TV reception and location of toilets showers etc. The toilets/showers and other facilities were dated but clean, the promised free wifi wasn't working at any time during our visit. The reception housed a small, shop with essentials and papers to order.

The hourly buses to both Shrewsbury and Oswestry stop at the site gate. A Fish and chip van visits weekly and the social room houses a cake and chat session weekly where home baked goods are sold. The information room gives details of lots of local walks and local eateries.

We were not disturbed by road noise despite a nearby main road.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Agem25 2 reviews from this member

Arrived in the afternoon. The lady on reception wasn't a people's person which always surprises me when they are in such a role. We were shown a couple of available hard standings. We parked up but felt crammed in so we asked the lady on reception if we could move to a grass pitch 'I'll have to charge you more' I said for grass? She then retracted but didn't offer a refund.

Her husband Pete was lovely and he showed us grass standing availability. We chose one and felt much happier with more space, it felt like camping.

The washing facilities were good and very clean. They do need paper hand towels or a hand-dryer instead of one hand towel for the whole camp. My partner was happy with the men's facilities.

They have a fish n chip mobile unit on site each Friday 5-7pm which seemed very popular.

The downside for us was we thought we were in easy walking distance from local pubs and the centre of Oswestry, but we weren't and that was disappointing. If you have a caravan then you can use the car for trips out. We like to park up the VW Campervan and walk or get public transport. We had a day in Shrewsbury on the number 70 bus which stops outside the site. It wad £3. 50 one way.

We wouldn't stay here again due to location but Shropshire is lovely and worth a trip.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sylvieb 24 reviews from this member

Very nice site. Toilets and showers were very clean and well maintained and pitches were nice size. Wardens were very pleasant and helpful and there is free wifi. Bus stop right outside site, to either Shrewsbury, which is a lovely town, or Oswestry. It was good stopover on our way to North Wales. Would go back

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Madbrown 2 reviews from this member

2015 and expected to dry my hands on a towel shared by the all the women on the campsite. Peaceful it is not. Traffic noise intrusive. If you are going to charge top prices I think the site facilities need a thorough update. Walking from this site is not easy and involves walking roads without pavements. I had moved from a site in Cheshire same price but private shower rooms including lavatory and wash basin.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Malc1 9 reviews from this member

Sorry but we will not return to this site. Although the site is a camping and caravanning club franchised site it is unkempt and quite frankly scruffy. The ablutions are clean and relatively modern and clean.

The pitches are a bit unkempt and scruffy with grass not cut that regular.

Add to this the site is quite expensive.

Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4430 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!