Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Yelloh Village Port De Plaisance

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Brittany > Benodet > Camping Yelloh Village Port De Plaisance Reviews

Camping Yelloh Village Port De Plaisance
Lieu Dit Prad Poullou
Clohars Fouesnant
Benodet
Brittany   (Browse area)
29950
Tel: +33 02 98 57 02 38
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 340
Open: 02/04to 19/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sssnake 34 reviews from this member

We have stayed there twice, in July 2009 and 2010 but just to let you know that the site no longer accepts touring units or tent camping.

This is a massive shame because its one of the best sites I've ever visited and has wonderful facilities in a lovely town. I would have given the site straight tens but alas, no longer!

However, if you find yourself in the area and the weather is shocking, then you could do worse than consider taking a short term let on a 'chalet' and enjoy the pool and restaurant facilities until the rain abates!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: P2ent 4 reviews from this member

Good site in a lovely area. Lots to do for the kids with a great on site entertainment, The staff are lovely.

The local area has a great beach and also there was a huge car boot sale there when we went in the August. Take a walk into town via the river estuary it is very scenic.

We stayed in a camp-site owned Static. This was very big and had lots of room. Sometimes the site has travelling circus on the playing fields.

The only problem we had was that the journey from Calais took a very long time, We use this route as we get to use the Tesco tokens on the Eurotunnel.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ann Morris 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this camp-site for 15 nights. Upon arrival we were given a pitch number and a map to find its location. The majority of the pitches are located behind the reception building (which was good because we could access the free wifi from our caravan) and are divided by shrubs and small trees the area has many pine type trees. The pitches themselves vary in size and shape ours was of a good size but had hardly any grass and was under the trees which ment a carpet of pine needles - although there are no site rules about which sort of awning sheets were to be used. The pitches are each side of a rather narrow dirt track road which caused quite a lot of dust when residents drove to and from their pitches. As a previous reviewer noted there are three shower blocks and the two furthest away from the touring area were the best.

That from what we could see were the only negatives for this site. Location, facilities for the children including kids clubs for smaller children, juniors and teens were well organised and attended, there are a number of 'Go Ape' type trails for all age groups too. Pony rides, trampolines, pedal carts were available most days - at a small charge. Free activities included surprisingly archery and kayaking sessions with instructors - places were limited and the uptake on these sessions were great. The pool complex was brilliant with an inside pool which had a slide. Thursday evening there was a late night session in the indoor pool and it seemed that most of the site attended.

The site does have a bar, restaurant, takeaway and small shop. The bar can be noisy when they have a band playing but the noise stops at an acceptable hour. There is a large supermarket within walking distance of the campsite but the site shop is excellent for morning breads etc.

Overall an excellent site for people visiting the area with or without children. We think the site will have to do something about the pitches because we found one of the main activities was sweeping up the dust.

Would we say their again - probably yes but maybe earlier in the season before all the grass has been worn away!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leggy 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 8 days at the end of August. Our pitch was away from the main touring area as we had requested to be in a quieter part of the site. The pitch was situated in a small Cul de sac consisting of 6 pitches all very large with hedges making them very private. Pitches were flat, relatively stone free and EHU close by - no reverse polarity on ours.

The site itself has a majority of static vans with one main area for tourers and a few camping pitches scattered throughout the site, these latter pitches tended to be bigger than those in the touring area. There are a lot of trees on site which can mean some pitches only get sunshine at certain times of the day.

There are three separate toilet blocks with the largest being near the main touring area, but in our opinion the better ones are the two further away. All the sanitary facilities were kept very clean and there was always toilet paper, but would have benefited from better hooks for hangin things on.

Facilities on site are good with excellent indoor pool complex which was open until late one night. The outdoor pools varied a lot in water temperature but were generally quite cold, particularly the water slide area. Plenty of sunloungers including well shaded areas. There is as mentioned a tree climbing circuit offering different levels of difficulty, and there are pedal carts and go karts that can be hired out. There is a reasonable children's play area, along with table tennis tables, basketball/sports court and playing field, and pony rides in the afternoons.

We did not use the restaurant but the bar area was pleasant and the takeaway was reasonable. The shop on site was ok but we did not use it much due to the proximity of the local carrefour.

The site itself was generally quite quiet for a large site although some nights the entertainment did go on well until past midnight and could be heard across the site.

The staff on site were all very friendly and helpful and the site had a good overall atmosphere. There are security patrols of a night time and they addressed any issues that arose eg noisy teenagers nearby.

The area of Benodet itself is very nice with good cycling and walking opportunities and the beaches are ok. We much preferred the beach on the other side of the estuary though as the sand was much softer and there were more rocks/pools to be found for the children. Quimper and Concarneau are both well worth a visit.

I doubt that we will return to this site as we did not like it or the surrounding area as much as another site we have been to in Brittany. However I would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone wishing to stay in this area if they are looking for a larger site with all the facilities that go with it.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 101sal 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for two weeks this year. This was our first trip to Brittany (two adults and two children).

Arrived at the site at 10am (three hours before official arrival time) staff were very helpful and let us have our pitch early as it was already vacant.

All pitches are set in a lightly wooded area with hedges between each pitch. The majority of pitches are slightly sloping and the ground is fairly free of stones. Water points are every four pitches so never to far to walk to and EHU points are located every other pitch so a standard EHU of 20 metres length is fine. No issues with reversed polarity and no euro to british plug converter required.

Main Shower/wash block and chemical toilet point was a short walk away (500m) which might not sound much but is a fair distance to carry a full toilet tank.

One dedicated shower room for males and another for females and also a mixed block too. Toilets were also mixed with urinals and toilets in one room, however, separate toilets are available nearby. Toilet facilities were cleaned daily but a few loos had damaged seats which were not repaired during the fortnight we were there.

Two chemical waste disposal points in the block we used but one of these was right by the entrance to the toilt/shower block in full view of everyone.

Excellent laundry facilities available by the site entrance so don't overpack on the clothing as the facilities are cheap and there is alway a machine free.

Site generally was very clean and tidy.The three outdoor pools were very good (max depth of 1.5 metres in the main pool)the indoor pool is fantastic, really clean and plenty of space for everyone next to the large indorr pool is a small one for toddlers and this was very good too.

The on-site shop held a good stock of basic essentials at a reasonable price. For more choice the nearest supermarket(carrefor) is a two minute walk from the campsite just at the entrance to Benodet itself. A larger Hypermarket is located in Quimper approximately 20 minutes away.

The on site take away is really handy if you fancy a lazy night with fresh pizzas, Paninis and burgers made to order. The on site bar/restraunt is also very good although 4.50 Euro for a grande beer does make you sip slowly, better to stock up in the local supermarket if you can.

Benodet itself is fairly quite with a really nice beach if you fancy getting awayy from the campsite for the day. Market day is every Monday and some of the fresh produce is excellent. Restraunts and dining out can be fairly expensive when compared to the UK (budget 50 - 70 euros for a family of four including a couple of drinks) and also the supermarkets are dearer than the UK but this may be down to the fluctuating exchange rate.

Quimper is well worth a visit with lots of shops and a weekly market, the Cathederal located in the town centre itself is fantastic but parking can be hard to find, most pay and displays were restricted to a maximum of three hours so its worth looking for on street parking if staying all day.

Overall a fantastic campsite in a beautiful location and well worth a visit, looking forward to returning next year.

Just one final thought, if you are planning on visiting its well worth booking with the site directly and advising them of your pitch size requirements as some of the pitches are on the small side, any central dome/multi bedroom tent (Hartford XL/XXl or similar) may well not fit but tunnel tents (we have a Vango Tigris 800) fit ok on the larger pitches.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rroodd 2 reviews from this member

This is an excellent site, we took our own caravan, our pitch was a decent size, just behind the reception and we could access the wifi from our caravan as we were close enough to the wireless radio. Toilet facilities could do with updating but are very clean and showers are nice and hot.

Lots of facilities for all ages, we had two teenagers.

The indoor swimming pool is brilliant, it doesn't matter what the weather it is also open late in the evening once a week. Apparently the outdoor pool is cold - we preferred the indoor pool which has loungers outside for sunbathing.

There is an excellent ariel playground which you can also do in the dark on one evening per week as well as each afternoon. Entertainment is provided each evening in the bar area as well as a mussells and fries evening in the restaurant.

Activities are also put on for teenagers during the day, such as football, waterpolo, boules etc.

Benodet itself is within walking distance and there is a supermarket almost next to the site.

Will most certainly be returning

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: K.murphy 10 reviews from this member

Decided to stop at this site this year after checking it out 2 years ago whilst stopping at another nearby site. Since this time the site has expanded with lots of new static type cottages where we thought we would be sited. Instead the tourers and tents are set under the canopy of large trees somewhat cramped. Once you had set up your van and awning there was little room to sit outside without encroaching into the road / paths.
However the site still has good facilities. Good and busy indoor pool with slides etc. An on site Parcours tree climbing facility is also on site. 10 min walk takes you into Benedot town where once again there was the annual spectacular yearly firework display on assumption holiday Friday. The town becomes a magnet for the nightly display after the excellent free music festivities.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Lisao 1 review from this member

We have visited this camping site for the last 5 years and really enjoyed our holidays there. We have 4 boys age range 1 - 17 and there is something to do for all of them so even parents feel like they're having a holiday too.

The campsite is clean, loads of places to shower, wash etc and with bags of facilities. The new indoor pool is great for the unpredictable Brittany weather and the outdoor pool is big with a large area to sit out on.
There is gym, table tennis, a great little playground for the little ones plus a kids club. There is a bike hire place on site, football / basketball pitch, outdoor bowling alley (just one lane), marked area to play 'boules', horses over on the farmland which is part of the site and a circus usually turns up at some stage during your stay and the camels camp out over on the field (away from all the campers, don't worry!) The 'Go Ape' type addition to the camp is a big hit and really worth a go (if you like sore arms the next day!)

The campsite shop is well stocked but there is a supermarket a short walk away. Sky sports in the bar on a large screen (plus a few extra Tv's around the bar) which shows all the big Premiership games (a must for my husband and the older boys!) Kids Disco's, Kareoke, a takeaway and a great restaurant - all mean you really don't need to go off site.

By the way, if you are looking for a good caravan, Benodet Breaks (situated on site) have some fantastic modern caravans, well kitted out -definitely worth a call.

If you do go off site, Benodet town is a short walk away and is beautiful with a fab beach, loads of restaurants, not many shops but a really beautiful holiday location.

I would recommend it to anyone, if we had the money, I'd buy a static there! Dream on.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Mr.paul 23 reviews from this member

Our visit to this site in South West Brittany was our first independent, book everything separately, holiday. This is a deceptively large site with 300+ pitches, both touring and static. It can be broken down into two area's: the older part comprising statics and tourers in tree shaded plots and the newer part - exclusively static - with an airy open feel. Our Static was in the old part, under the branches of a large oak which dropped acorns on us for the duration of our stay.

This is another site which has gone over largely to statics (no problem to us!). The majority are owned by the site. There are some owned by independents - we were with Vacances Directes - but the large UK firms such as Keycamp are not represented. Our mobile was very clean and well equipped. Mrs Paul was deprived of her usual whine of "it's filthy!"

The facilities on site are good. A new indoor pool opened in 2007 and this would have been really appreciated given the weather this year. The weather during our stay was very nice, however. The pools, indoor and out were clean and well maintained, but the poolside paving had the consistency of broken glass and was not easy to traverse especially since footwear is prohibited. This did effectively stop running and jumping in the pool area so not all bad.

There is a decent kids play area and an extensive high wire, zip-line affair. Also a basketball court and table tennis tables, a giant chess board and skittles. This is the first site where I have seen a multigym too!

The bar is reasonable & has a games area and attached restaurant - we tend not to bother with these having young children, but it did not keep us awake at night - couldn't hear it over the acorns anyway. The takeaway is pretty good though.

The site shop has a limited range, but covers all the essentials and is reasonably priced and is open until 20:30 7/7. There is also a medium sized Champion in easy walking distance of the site (the only supermarket in Benodet and the only filling station). Lots of other supermarkets within a short drive.

This corner of Brittany has some fantastic beaches. Unfortunately, the bad weather in the summer had caused lots of seaweed to be washed up in piles where it was merrily rotting. The local authorities were in the process of cleaning it up but it was not a quick process. The cleanest beach was at Benodet itself. While the beach below the tideline was a little shingly, the water was sparklingly clear and there is a lifeguard in the afternoon. The facilities here are really good to with several loos and even showers within easy reach. Yes it is busy but not money grabbingly commercialised. We also visited beaches at Ste Marine and Beg Meil, and the fantastic surfers beach at Pointe Torche.

Eating out. Just go for it - we didn't come unstuck anywhere. The shore front eateries are OK but just round the corner overlooking the old harbour is a great seafood restaurant that is cheaper than the others too.

Conclusion:
The site was not the best we have stayed at, but the area is fantastic - we can't wait to go back.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Benodet      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Brittany

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019