Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Fortinerie

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Site Reviews

Camping La Fortinerie
La Fortinerie
Mouliherne
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
49390
Tel: 0033 02 41 40 82 36
    Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Willjmay56 3 reviews from this member

What a beautiful tranquil site. Plenty of trees to find some shade (and we needed some).

The new owners Tina and Julian are delightful and have created a place to chill and enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

The camping kitchen has a washer, fridge freezer & tumble drier - all free to use.

We used the permanent BBQs along with the table and chairs every night.

There are a couple of Glamping tents, one has a spa.

We cycled to the Loire (Saumur) which is signposted off the main roads and is pretty flat - the route takes you along some forest paths.

The local supermarket (Super U) is about 5 miles away in Vernantes.

This is one of the best sites we have stayed in and without doubt we will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Margaret and Garry 3 reviews from this member

Revisited this site from last year. The new owners have done a fantastic job upgrading the facilities without detracting from the peace and tranquillity of the site. The toilet and shower rooms are high spec, modern and immaculate. In the camp kitchen which is a new addition you will find everything you would expect in your own home from cutlery, crockery, pots and pans through to an oven, microwave, washer & dryer. Julian and Tina gave us a lovely welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely revisit this site on our next trip - thank you both.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Charles59 3 reviews from this member

This was our first time in France using small adult sites only, what a joy, even though we had some awful weather it was glorius, the site is excellent as a base for Saumar and the Loire valley. The site was clean well maintained and peaceful, very relaxed, the current owners are selling but we hope the new owners maintain the look and feel as we will be back next year.

Well worth taking time to stay, highly recommend staying here.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Philandval 1 review from this member

This was the first time in a while we left our motorhome behind and journeyed in our car. We arranged for the hire of the small gite on site. It suited our requirements perfectly. It was clean tidy and very comprehensively equipped. John and Mary were very helpful and friendly. We were also able to see the campsite which looked well kept and with loads of space.

This is a rural site away from the hustle and bustle and is very peaceful and relaxing.

So if it's campsite or Gite you will be very happy.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: California 2 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to Camping La Fortinerie and we were not disappointed. It is a quiet site set in a beautiful rural location. If you want to 'get away from it all' this is the site for you. John and Mary the owners made us feel most welcome and were always pleased to help if needed. Places of interest such as Saumur and Angers are also within easy reach of the site.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Notewriter 2 reviews from this member

A level well drained site set in a lovely quiet location on the edge of a forest, yet within easy travelling distance of Saumur and other places of interest. Friendly welcoming owners and we enjoyed two weeks of total relaxation.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alfiegeorge 13 reviews from this member

Lovely rural site set amongst the trees only a few pitches but as John our host said 'pitch anywhere you like' which is just what we did. Visited some lovely places some on the suggestions of other campers. Thank you to the couple from hull who gave us so much advice on the area sorry we missed you when we left. Hope you got the note ? please feel free to get in touch. Anyway as said before a lovely quiet site within a rural location. Many thanks. Phil and dee

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The folly Dutch 2 reviews from this member

After our first stay on this small and quiet campsite we decided to see if our experience of last year was correct. Indeed, the site and our stay met with our expectations. The perfect hosts John and Mary were there when needed and 'disappeared' if everything was all right, except for a small chat every now and then. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, even when thunder and rain came to try to spoil our days. We visited some of the villages in the region with old churches, lovely old cottages and of course we enjoyed the French food in Mouliherne.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Varaderoxlv1000 29 reviews from this member

Well what a place to stay. We have just spent the most amazing 15 days on this lovely site in the Loire valley situated just 17 miles from Saumur. It's the 1st site ever that we really didn't want to leave. It's a mecca for any wildlife enthusiast with more cuckoo calls heard in this time than I've heard in my entire lifetime. Add to that the Golden Oriole, Black Redstart, Turtle Doves, Garden Warbler, Blackcap, Mistle Thrushes and a whole host of others with Secadas (sp)chirping away you could have easily believed you were in the tropics. The site was very quiet, located in a rural area and with the friendliness of John and Mary we couldn't have asked for more. We visited some stunning chateau's (all very different) and the trogolodyte caves of the area all again with very different characteristics. If you are into horses then you have the Cadre Noir in Saumur. A real must but sadly we missed the only show of the month but then, that is reason enough to revisit this wonderful site. The site is 320 miles from Calais on the absolutely fabulous Peage roads or if you have more time on your hands then a few more miles via the N a D roads most of which outclass the UK roads but a large margin.

The site is extremely well cared for, so go on, have a nice relaxing break in this lovely part of France, go there now!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The folly Dutch 2 reviews from this member

We stayed in our tent for some 15 days at Camping La Fortinerie and we loved each and every minute, notwithstanding the days that rain came down like a curtain of water. Mary and John were there for information, for sharing some lovely plums and for a chat. Hospitality was great and the quiet spot of the campsite made us decide to stay one week longer than planned. Thanks John and Mary for letting us stay in you lovely flat the last night so we could pack our heavy tent when it was still dry.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1146 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019