Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hamperley Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Church Stretton > Hamperley Campsite Reviews

Hamperley Campsite
Marshbrook
Church Stretton
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY6 6PT
Tel: 01694 781441
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans, unlimited tents
Open: 17/05/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Juliet 1 review from this member

 The campsite was very quiet which was ideal in these times of corona virus,

Angela the owner was very nice and supplied fresh eggs, visiting every night to make sure all was ok. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: David Glew 2 reviews from this member

 A really enjoyable stay on this simple site. Facilities are basic, but this is what we wanted. No caravans with candelabra, no kids riding round on bikes, just other campers having a good time.

Great location for walking in the Shropshire Hills, especially the Long Mynd.

Angela is a very hospitable hostess and we will definitely return. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Twptwp 5 reviews from this member

 I liked the campsite, and was surprised there were not more people there. The field is so big that even in high summer, I couldn't see it getting anywhere near full. By contrast, a nearby site in the same price range that I also looked at was basically full at the weekend I arrived. I prefer sites like these to others which offer extensive facilities but at a considerably higher price. The charge for me and my tent was 6 per night and there was no charge for my car.

The new block is nice, though it is unisex, which might not suit some. It has two showers and two toilets, all coming off a central area with wash basin, a sink for washing up in and a small table and some chairs. The hot water for showers and washing up was properly hot.

Next to the new block, there is an evidently older block, with two (chemical) toilets and a wash basin, and that block is a useful facility if you don't mind the cobwebs etc. Both blocks are in the wooded area, just beyond the gate at the far left hand corner after you enter the site from the road, so most people opted to pitch towards that corner.

The portaloos were still there and were much nearer the entrance from the road, but they didn't seem attractive given the other options. Overall, the facilities seemed fine given how few people there were there, but would be pressed if the place became popular.

Unless one's fellow campers are noisy, the site is very quiet, being away from noisy roads, though still fairly easy to get to. There are sheep in nearby fields but they weren't a problem. It was easy to get tent pegs into the ground and I liked being able to park my car next to my tent, which not all sites allow. Mobile coverage (O2, EE and Three at least) was OK or good.

The showers are 1 for five minutes, and though they are well-designed, it's a rush to get showered in that time. I realise that the owners probably need to recoup the costs of the new block, but it would be much better if one were allowed a bit longer, and isn't going to make much difference to the total time you are occupying the shower, or the energy cost.

A few other things that would improve it. I found it surprisingly annoying having to open and close the entrance gate from the road and the gate to the wooded area which contains the shower/toilet block.

The former entails getting out of the car, and both have to be lifted off the ground to some extent. But it's a farm, so I guess the gates are necessary. The nearest shop is not within walking distance.

There is little on-site supervision - the owners are very friendly and keen for one to have a good stay, but they live about half a mile away, so any noisy campers probably aren't going to get dealt with quickly, though I had no problems while I was there. Hand soap is provided, but seemed to have run out in some places.

Overall, I would certainly choose to stay there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Moogie 2 reviews from this member

 Have stayed at this site many, many times. Beautiful setting, large grassed field with wooded area attached. Almost always tranquil (occasional well behaved youth groups and just once very badly behaved large group of adults). We love it and visit as often as we can.

Very friendly owners have had new toilet / shower block built so facilities good. Great base for exploring the surrounding area. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 5787robinb 7 reviews from this member

 It's a field! Make sure you go to the toilet before you leave the pub / cafe / supermarket / library as the portable loo is the not the most desirable place you would like to spend 3 minutes. 4 per person is fair doos.

Beautiful area couple o decent boozers nearby. Green dragon and ragleth. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruffcamper 2 reviews from this member

 This place is great, loads of room, basic facilities but a great fire circle in the woods. There were other people on site, but the the field is huge so we had acres of space. Super laid back owner, cheap fees.

If you don't know the area, it is beautiful round here. For walking the long mynd and the Shropshire hills should provide enough varied action for anyone.

Church stretton and shrewsbury are well worth a visit if you want good independent shops, and the pubs we visited in little stretton, the ragleth, sold good food and nice beer.  


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Angiemfak77 1 review from this member

 We just got back from 3 nights here after our first ever Camping trip in a tent. We chose this site because we wanted somewhere that allowed freedom for our Dog and also in the beautiful Shropshire Countryside.

I was really dubious as we are normally the 'Always happens to us' type people so was expecting the worse, but I'm happy to say this place was perfect for us! We loved it.

Back to basics camping in gorgeous surroundings. The field itself is huge place and when we arrived on the Tuesday we were the only people there, we chose an area close to the forest and the simple amenities which I'll come to in a bit.

The field is surrounded by glorious Shropshire hills, the forest and a farm on the other side, a county lane runs past the entrance but this is a very quiet back road and we noticed maybe 2 or 3 vehicles passing by each day.

The Owner seemed like a nice lady and explained that her Brother's sheep are used to keep the grass cut - which we had discovered upon arrival when we spent 10 minutes checking and clearing a pitch area of the sheep droppings (not that much but needs mentioning for those of you who are expecting a perfect lawn).

Said brother then arrived then next morning and asked us if we minded the sheep coming on that day - very polite of him to ask we thought and we obviously agreed to his request, sheep were no bother, took the dog a couple of hours to adjust and had to be told a few times not to chase them off, although it sort of felt like we had a patronus guarding the tent as the sheep wouldn't come within 20m of us with the Springer Spaniel on constant watch lol.

The Dog loved it - probably more then we did and is currently dreaming deeply of her camping trip, the forest is ideal for dogs and walking, I would have liked to have camped in the woods - wonder if that's possible next time?

Ok - the facilities

2 tardis loos at the entrance and a brick/wood shack inside the forest that serves as a loo, separate chemical disposal and wash room, some information in there too about local area- campsite info etc. Outside the shack is the water tap and also in the forest is a firepit area with a picnic table and aluminium wind breaks for building a fire, very concealed and quiet place, will definitely be back!

Was just me, him and the dog, not sure how kids would do here, but I reckon it would spoil the peace as its such a lovely quiet site in serene surroundings, kids would be bored probably - although there is the forest.

Overall for our first camping trip I would give this place 9/10. They lose a point for the sheep poop, but this is to be expected in this sort of place and providing you take some bags with you to clear it up - its no big deal.

Also your dog basically can do as they please here, providing you pick up their poop! Also gave them a 9/10 as the facilities are really basic and a little dated - but I guess this adds to the experience

Also- free range eggs was lovely - 1 for 6, and at 8 a night for a 6 berth huge tent and car - can't go wrong! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Harpoe 1 review from this member

 Went camping here with our 2 kids & border collie over the Easter bank holiday, as our usual haunt was fully booked. We rang to book before going & the owner said she could squeeze us in.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that there wasn't many folk there at all (11 tents 2 caravans 1 motorhome) Despite it being advertised online & in brochures as holding 10 tents & 5 Caravans the field was clearly capable of holding a lot more (double?) and all the tents were well spaced apart.

However this site is not for the camper who insists on all mod cons, there is no electric, showers or hot water. The toilet block consists of a rustic but well maintained & clean Tin shack nestled on the edge of the small woods, which hold two wc's (one for chemical waste disposal) one cold water sink.

It displayed a large map of the area and various leaflets & out and about info. There were also 2 'Tardis' like chemical toilets near the entrance.

The owner is very friendly and laid back and emphasised on booking that there was virtually no rules. There was ample access to the hills for walking just a short distance down the lane & our dog (and others) were able to roam free.

Apart from longhorn foghorn the cockerel crowing at 5am we had a very pleasant stay and will be returning for some good old basic camping and peace and quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TRISTAR121 1 review from this member

 We used this site on the August bank holiday, and what a little gem it turned out to be.

Because it is a little out of the way,it was a really peaceful place to go, and only 40 mins from Telford where I live.

Clean tidy and very picturesque, set in the landscape of the award winning Shropshire hills.

Very basic, but beautiful and friendly.

The very beautiful Cardingmill valley, and the town of church stretton are within a short car ride, also is Craven arms, where you will find the famous Harry Tuffins supermarket for all your provisions.

Hamperley is the perfect base if you visit Shropshire. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pauliner 1 review from this member

 I have just returned from this site. It is a big open field (sheep were grazing in it) with woodland next to it. Wood is ideal if you have a dog and children. The campsite is very basic with a toilet block with 2 toilets, you need a torch at night to use as it doesn't have any electricity. There is a drinking water tap. I would recommend it if you like a no frills basic back to nature camping. Well priced too, cost us 10 a night for 2 adults, 3 children and a dog. It is only about 5-10mins drive to Church Stretton where there are plenty of shops and Carding Mill valley for walking. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hamperley Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hamperley Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hamperley Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Church Stretton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/05
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement