Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Grange Farm Certicated Location

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > Site Reviews

Grange Farm Certicated Location
Salmonby
Horncastle
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN9 6QS
Tel: 01507 534101
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 5 CAMC Members Only
Open: All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 17 Reviews
                9/10 from 17 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a Caravan and Motorhome Club Certificated Location, which accepts just five caravans or motorhomes (no tents) and is for Club Members only.

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nigel163 6 reviews from this member

Having spent a week at this site, we were disappointed, the toilets and shower although very nice and clean were to far away for us to use, and the advertised laundry facility did not exist, as indeed neither did the WiFi. The fishing was to far away, and at £8 per day did not seem worth it. The view from the site was beautiful, Sorry but we will not be returning

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Les4paintings 5 reviews from this member

This site has a lot going for it. The owners, Diane and Tim are very nice people and a great help regarding what is going on in and around the area. The site is quiet with outstanding views.

However, the toilet block (one shared shower, one ladies and one gents toilet) although kept extremely clean and tidy, is about a quarter of a mile (400 mtrs) from the nearest pitch. My wife had great difficulty getting to the toilet block whilst the couple in the next pitch but one never got to use the facilities at all because they were disabled and we got the feeling that this was more the norm than unusual. Being a quiet Adult only site means that it is mainly elderly and retired people that use the site and this contributes to the quality and peacefulness of the place. But if you have trouble walking any distance then be aware of this shortfall, its almost a bus ride to the toilets.

The Elsan waste disposal, grey water and fresh water is nice and close to pitch 1 and adjacent to this is a neat patch of grass with a Christmas type tree on it. If Diane and Tim could see their way to ordering a couple of loads of breeze blocks they could have a toilet block right at the end of the pitches and it would then undoubtedly make this the Campsite Of The Year for many years to come.

Management response: Thank you for your review.

Our toilet block is actually 180 metres from the furthest pitch on site, not 400 metres as stated. Our facilities are very well used and we would question your comment about it being the "norm" for guests not to use them.

We would strongly disagree with your comment of our site being mainly used by elderly and retired people. We have a wide variety of age groups visit us from the younger guests just embarking on caravanning to our more elderly guests. Many of our guests do not have children and therefore appreciate the quietness of an Adult Only site.

Finally, your comment with regard to building a breeze block toilet adjacent to the service area. Firstly, we are in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and wouldn't for one minute expect the planners would allow it and secondly, what an eye sore it would be, as it would be the first thing the guests would see when pulling into the site.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bobmsmart 4 reviews from this member

Just returned home from a very pleasant stay at Grange Farm. Only our second ever trip anywhere.

Diane and Tim were very welcoming. Even a chalk A board to welcome us by name at the gate. Nice touch.

Well maintained hard standings and easy accessible water and waste area. Toilets and showers nearby in main buildings.

Good TV and WiFi coverage.

Lovely site overlooking the Lincs Wolds. In good location for trip inland to Lincoln or the coast. Excellent site for dog friendly with walks all around.

Weather was atrocious but actually, it just added to the enjoyment. We feel we are now 'Extreme Campers'.

Facilities were excellent.

Best review we can give is that we would definitely recommend and definitely go back.

Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 76 reviews from this member

We stayed at Grange Farm for 5 nights over New Year 2015/16 which was a return visit for us.

This is a super CL with probably more than we, as a motorhome, really need regarding facilities but in the winter months itís nice to be able to have a long hot shower without using up your entire fresh water tank in one go! The free Wi-Fi was an added bonus.

The owners were very friendly and non intrusive and passed through the site walking their dogs most days, so if you did have a query etc. , they were on hand.

The area has some good walks around the villages of Tetford, Salmonby, Belchford & Fulletby. The ridge by Bluestone Heath Road has some great views towards Lincoln one way & the Lincolnshire coast the other.

Our saviour for four out of the five days was The White Hart at Tetford which trebles as a pub [roaring log fire, good selection of real ales & friendly landlord], tea rooms & village shop [essentials only though]. It was strange how the end of all our walks happened to pass The White Hart!

So 10 out of 10 to Diane & Tim for their superb CL.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Posie 8 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this CL site, very well kept with a fishing lake at the bottom of the field. Lovely clean toilet and shower room with 'help yourself' toiletries. Lovely owners who are friendly and helpful, you can buy lovely fresh eggs from their house as they keep chickens who like to have a wander around the site. Will be booking again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Janx 116 reviews from this member

We have been wanting to try this site for a while and we are glad we did, the views were lovely, everywhere was kept tidy and mown, the facilities were good and very clean.

It is everything you would want from a CL site.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't as good as we had hoped, but the pitches seemed to be well drained.

There are walks from the site and the village has a shop and two pubs, we went in the furthest one away which is right round the other side of the village. We got a warm welcome but can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here.

Horncastle is about four miles away and we used the car as the busses appeared to be a bit irregular.

We liked the site but probably wouldn't visit again, we live not far away and we have been to Horncastle many times, but well done to the owners for their efforts in keeping it as nice as it is.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamperzzz 5 reviews from this member

Oh so disappointed, I've just tried to book this beautiful, tranquil, hidden gem and they are fully booked when we can go.

It is not surprising it is so clean and tidy and well kept.

We will have to be more organised and know our available dates much further in advance.

The owners are really friendly and helpful. As you drive upto the gate there is a welcome board, on it your name and pitch number. The shower and toilet spotless.

The mown walkways down to the pond and around the edge of the field are appreciated and welcome on dewy mornings.

The views are stunning, and as someone else has already mentioned the pub in the village, it is well worth a visit, especially if you like deer and antelope heads on the wall, there isn't just one or two. The landlady seemed nice enough but it was an odd experience, the clock even goes backwards. If I could turn back time. Although personally not eaten at the pub we saw some one having fish and chips which looked nice.

We were very handy for Horncastle and for Louth.

Congratulations to the owners on this wonderful CL Gem.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rugbyace 4 reviews from this member

We have just spent 5 nights at this site and is an absolute gem and I think when people find out about it it will be hard to get on it. The views are brilliant and the pitches first class. The toilet and shower block is excellent. The owners were lovely people and very helpful. The access to the site and the pitches is very good. If you are dependant on your mobile phone you will struggle as it is very hit and miss with the signal, but this makes it great to get away from the outside world.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pollymargaret 1 review from this member

Grange Farm is one of the best sites we have stayed on for a long time. Great views from every pitch, the shower and toilets were immaculate.

The owners were very helpful and friendly. Good walks very dog friendly, you have no need to use the car if you like walking.

No problem towing to the site if you use the caravan club site directions. Could not find any negatives. The site also has fishing lakes and first class holiday cottages.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ernie Montgomery 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely marvellous. Would recommend it to one and all. The views from the pitches are superb and one can take full advantage of the setting sun in a tranquil location. The site is immaculate and obviously well cared for. The shower block is equally immaculate at all times. Fantastic that there is a laundry room available, an advantage for those who take the longer breaks. The surrounding countryside is breathtaking with oodles of walks and bridleways. Ideal for walkers, pushbiking. The new owners, who only took over this season obviously love the area and the place itself, and are exceptionally helpful and friendly, always leaving time to have a chat when passing sometime throughout the day. Fishing ponds are so peaceful, its just a pleasure to sit and watch the wildlife let alone trying to fish. Absolutely top notch. Well Done and a big welcome to Tim and Diane the new owners.

Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019