Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Graig Wen

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Site Reviews

Graig Wen
Arthog
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL39 1YP
Tel: 01341 250482
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bambi1963 1 review from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Really nice site. Wished we stayed longer. Toilets showers were spotless. Nice walks and the little honesty shop was lovely. Will return soon. Site owners were very friendly.

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneFB 1 review from this member

Great site, small with wonderful views and very clean facilities. You are able to buy fresh croissants and bread on site - great touch. There's also a camp fire (which I so wanted to use but sadly we didn't have time) and good access to Snowdonia.

Easy to book (stayed just one night on Christmas day). Hope to return for a longer stay next time.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tenttovan 1 review from this member

We walked into Barmouth and back a total of 7 miles but aside from the steep hill down through the campsite and the return climb the route is completely flat following a converted railway track and the fantastic mile long wooden bridge into Barmouth.

On our return we discovered the salt and pepper had been left at home but the honesty shop on site stocked them and also logs and kindling which we also bought.

We lit a fire in the communal fire pit for the hookup camping area but no one joined us as it was a tad cold and windy.

What a great day for our first ever weekend caravaning and what a great site in a great location.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesleylkp 2 reviews from this member

What a gem of a place. Lovely site, great views and really nice owners. The facilities are a little rustic, but spotlessly clean. However I suspect it might be a challenge getting a shower in peak season.

I had a panoramic pitch, which was fabulous with views across the hills and Estuary, and the walk down the steep path was amazing.

The honesty shop where you can pick up essential items or snacks is a nice touch too.

Sadly the weather was a tad soggy for my first visit, which restricted activities a little, but I will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alanglamorgan 1 review from this member

A lovely quiet site with fantastic views and plenty of walks in and around the site. The owners are very helpful and friendly and have plenty of information about the surrounding area. WiFi is available around the shower facilities only unfortunately and not on the pitch but we had good phone reception so could use data to catch up with emails etc.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: CharlieBear4444 1 review from this member

Had a wonderful 4-night stay with our two labs at Graig Wen. Can't thank Sarah & John enough for accommodating us at short notice. Location absolutely stunning with a path leading down through the woods directly onto the Mawddach Trail. We went out of season so no hustle for the shower facilities, but might get a little busy during high season.

Will most definitely be returning and recommending site to friends and family.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: G Ryall 4 reviews from this member

This is a lovely place if you like peace and quiet beautiful scenery and wildlife this is definitely for you. There is a road nearby but not all that busy. The facilities are kept spotless. Although the track to the estuary is steep my son was able to use it on his mobility scooter even though we had just had heavy rain. The evening before we left we were treated to a battle of wits between the owners cat and a fox! To our surprise the cat won and chased the fox away. Who needs tv when you see this from your window.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzann21 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst we hiked the area. Very friendly and welcoming on arrival. Showers were wonderful and clean. Loved the honesty shop and being able to refresh our ice packs was a bonus. We will definitely stay again. Thank you.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Heavymetalpirate 8 reviews from this member

We chose pitch 9, because we wanted a quiet pitch for our 2 dogs, and it was just as we hoped. Long and pitch pitch, but enough room for our modest trailer tent. We arrived after a period of extensive rain, as such the ground was very wet and muddy, but a duck board was provided, which we put to good use and certainly helped keep the interior of the tent clean.

Graig Wen is a fabulous site that makes use of the resources already there, the toilets are in an old utility building, but kept warm and clean. Showers were the same, copious amounts of hot water, in a spacious cubicle with no push button for the water (yay!). We loved the honesty shop and hope that people remain honest so that this unique feature stays.

There are 2 areas to wash pots, one under cover the other in the open, but both had plenty of hot water.

We liked that the rubbish is recycled, easy to do, with clear signage.

We wandered down the steep slope to explore the site and surrounding area. Wow! We loved the quirky nature of the 'campers' showers, loo and washing up facilities. The pitches on the lower part of the campsite are very well spaced, some with extraordinary views, and all have their own fire pit.

We walked along the trail at the bottom of the site for some miles, a fantastic path, with some lovely sights. We particularly enjoyed watching the tide slowly engulf the salt marshes.

Graig Wen is an ideal spot to explore Snowdonia and beyond. We stumbled across Coed y Brenin and Tan Y Coed, which have really well signposted walks for all abilities, with some of the best flora and fauna we have seen. Beautiful places. We also timed a visit to Tywyn beach to perfection, arriving on the beach as the tide was going on, we walked almost to Aberdovey, before we returned. We feel there is so much more to explore so will be returning, and we will be staying here again.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dwrowley 4 reviews from this member

Had a great time camping at Graig Wen. The facilities were very good and clean and tidy

They seem to improve the site year on year and its always a pleasure to go back to and looking forward to going next year

All the staff are very helpful

Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Gwynedd   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2826 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0977