Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Fidden Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle of Mull > Fionnaphort > Fidden Farm Campsite > Reviews

Fidden Farm Campsite
Knockvologan Road
Fionnaphort
Isle of Mull   (Browse area)
PA66 6BN
Tel: 01681 700427
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: BogDodger 11 reviews from this member

 As other reviewers have said, you will be lucky to find a pitch on the edge of the low cliffs overlooking the beach as these will be snapped up pretty quickly.

However, I was more than happy with a quiet spot set about a hundred metres back from the coast in a nice sheltered spot behind a small rocky hillock, with lovely views inland and towards Erraid and Iona.

There are plenty of gates in the cliff fence giving access for all campers to the wonderful beaches. Only two showers seems too few a number considering the size of the site, although I didn't have to wait too long in the evenings.

The showers are of the annoying push button type and sometimes the water was luke warm. There is now internet available close to the facilities block if you really can't do without your phone.

One thing I liked was the joint washing up and common room (seating for half a dozen people) which appeared to have heated floors (it was certainly warm in there on a cool evening).

There is a large chest freezer for ice blocks only, but this was heavily abused. I believe the owners should police this, as during the course of my stay, various items started appearing such as 5L water bottles, packs of sausages and on my last night, a large string bag of mussels!

Consequently, the freezer was crammed full and it was a struggle to find room for the ice blocks. All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay; the site is in a fantastic location for exploring Iona, Erraid, and various beaches and walks on the Ross of Mull.

The Keel Row pub in Fionnphort (1Ĺ miles away) was very good for meals as was the Creel Seafood shack near the ferry terminal. 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note the owner of this site have advised that No bookings taken. Just turn up and you will be booked in.

Also please note, dogs must be on leads at all times.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: LynnetteGriffiths 1 review from this member

 We have just had a wonderful stay at Fidden Farm. The views from our tent pitch was spectacular! The toilet and shower block is lovely and although thereís only a few showers, we didnít wait long even at busy times.

We spent many sunny days at the beach and the kids loved going about the site on their bikes.

Unfortunately on our second last night a storm arrived, we left a day early after nearly losing our tent in the winds, however, we managed to get packed up and greatly appreciated the help of the owners in allowing us to use a barn to open our roof box and load up, they helped us to fold our very wet tent in the wind too!

In spite of our stressful departure, we will definitely return to Fidden Farm as it is a lovely campsite in the most amazing location.

Many thanks again to the owners for helping us when we needed it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Speaker12 24 reviews from this member

 Fidden Farm is all about the location. If you time your arrival right you can get a great pitch overlooking the sea with Iona in the distance. I was lucky to get a pitch where the terrain meant I'd not get anyone pitching right next to me but I can understand some of the other reviews - some of the vans looked very tightly packed. Perhaps some strategic windbreak positioning would be beneficial!

The site owner was helpful on arrival. He provided a map/info guide. Also fine with my wish to be flexible with how long I was staying. Price was £10 per adult. I think it was £5 a child.

The site wasn't too busy so accessing the facilities wasn't a problem for me. I tended to use the showers outside of peak times anyway. I think a busier site would mean queues for the showers. The are two portaloos in the main field in addition to the block at the entrance.

Be aware that it can get very windy. There are some pitches next to rocks which will provide some protection. Also be aware that it's a working farm so you may, as I did, get woken up by a lamb going BAAAA right next to your tent.

Obviously Iona is the main nearby attraction. Continue past the abbey for some amazing tourist-free beaches. There are plenty of other lovely beaches within a short drive too eg Uisken and Knockvologan. Knockvologan is my new favourite beach on Mull. Visit when the tide is going out and you can walk over to Erraid.

Further afield there are the usual Mull attractions of Calgary, Dervaig and Tobermory.

There's a small shop nearby in Fionnphort and a Spar in Bunessan around 5 miles away. The cabin selling fish and chips in Fionnphort is recommended (opens 9 till 6) as is "A Taste of Mull" in Salen.

If you rely on being online then don't bother going to Fidden. I had no mobile or internet signal. There is free wifi if you park outside the Calmac office in Fionnphort.

So all in all a great site if you want to get away from things for a while, especially if you can locate yourself in such a way that you'll not get someone parking a metre away. 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 691 reviews from this member

 Campsite is just over 1 mile from Iona ferry. On arrival you book in and pay at reception, then choose where to pitch.

Without a doubt everyone wants a pitch with a view, we pitched with approx 5-7 metres between the units either side, within an hour a motorhome had pitched in beside us one side and then a tent and car the other.

As the evening went on and pitches with views became less vans were arriving and parking within a view feet of the next unit.

Views are spectacular, as are the beaches. If you need provisions take them with you, no shop on site and the small shop in Iona is limited.

The facilities block seems quite new, 2 toilets and 2 showers in ladies, very clean and well kept. With 60+ units on site they were reallty busy in the morning. There is a further 2 portaloos up on the camping field. Chemical disposal was next to the portaloos - but no running water for cleaning. There are water taps on the camping field, grey waste area is back down at the farmhouse as are the bins.

As previously mentioned no electric on site, so we thought quite expensive £10 per adult and £5 per child for basically a large field with showers and loos some distance away. That said the beach is beautiful and sure its a large draw to the campsite.

The other main attraction is Iona, a perfect place to spend a day walking and visiting the Abbey, a couple of lovely eating places too.

A long drive down to the area on lots of single track roads, plenty of passing places but took well over an hour from Craignure. Airly We did come back up around 10am - which resulted in meeting 8 coaches on their way down. Not too difficult with passing places but would leave it a bit earlier or later as when there are 2 or 3 together its a tight squeeze to pass in some places. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Neil and Jo 5 reviews from this member

 If you want to stay near Iona, stay here.

If you want to stay on the southern half of Mull, stay here.

The views are to die for, both seaward side (be lucky, we weren't) or landward (us, but not unhappy about it).

Toilets and showers and washing facilities have been recently refurbed I think and we're always clean.

If the site has a downside it is that the camping field is seriously HUGE, so you can have quite a trek to the facilities (if you choose to camp the other side of the site like we did). There is plenty of room closer though if you need to be thereabouts. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Michaelmorris 17 reviews from this member

 This site is all about location. And what a location! If you can pitch up at the front of the site you are right next to a stunning white sand and rock pool beach with views out across to the outer Hebrides.

The loos, showers and washing up facilities are all pretty good, if a little far away from the pitches. The chemical loo disposal point has no running water nearby.

My only real bugbear was the fact that anyone can pitch up anywhere, including right next to you (privacy?, fire breaks?)

You are just over a mile from the ferry over to Iona.

Whilst some of the facilities and the lack of marked pitches are not ideal, the stunning location wins. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pedrosontour 11 reviews from this member

 Superb location on headland by sandy/rocky coves

Quality facilities at site entrance dishwash area/fridge-freezer/charging sockets and decent shower toilet areas. Portaloos situated closer to where most folk pitch up.

Large grassy area to choose pitch - quiet or by busier shore.

Prices seemed bit steep £10 per adult and £5 per child per night. As no hookup etc only toilet/shower/dishwash

£25 for us for our one night toilet/shower option but paying for quality seashore location?

Adjacent campervan with 3 young kids had to pay £35?

Would like to return for longer trip in future 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Parahandy 15 reviews from this member

 There's no dispute its something of a trek getting there but its well worth it. The sites in a glorious but exposed location. It's very informal, just find your pitch and there's plenty of room you can pitch almost on the beach. £10 per Adult per night. The views are to die for.

Facilities wise its adequate, one toilet block adjacent the farmhouse, separate Male/Female Showers 2 of each. There's also a pot washing room with plugs for charging electronics and a freezer for ice packs. Noticed there are 2 portaloo's further away to substitute facilities.

If you're a Bar and clubhouse people you will be disappointed, the nearest Bar and shop is in the village 10mins drive away. I found the prices in both rather inflated. If you want a Restaurant, there's The Keel Row in the same village, but it gets very busy as it has something of a monopoly.

The next village Bunessan has a Hotel that does food and a small Spar with more reasonable prices. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AdelleandGar 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site, at edge of white sandy bay. Expensive though and only 3 ladies toilets, 2 in block at reception and 1 on site. Calm and quiet tues to thurs, Friday night loud and unsettled with family patties/ BBQ s until after 11.

Not suitable for those wanting a quiet time at weekend or a reasonable price £10 per adult. But absolutely beautiful. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Fidden Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Fidden Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Fidden Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fionnaphort      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle of Mull

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement