Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Buckland Field Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Buckland Dinham > Buckland Field Camping Reviews

Buckland Field Camping
The Bell Inn
High Street
Buckland Dinham
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA11 2QT
Tel: 07834 486345
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 09/07/2021 to 09/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 25 Reviews
                7/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <10 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie A 1 review from this member

 This site is beyond basic which I wouldn't mind if the price reflected this but at 14 a night for 1 adult and 1 child it certainly does not. The facilities in the pub were only open in the evening so basically it is a field with a portaloo. Outrageously overpriced. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Zeds5 1 review from this member

 Visited for a single night, and all is as described in the other reviews except I thought people should know that the pub has recently changed hands.

We had stayed here as a family once before and we all felt that the site has lost a lot of its atmosphere and quality since then. The field loos are very badly kept, the loos in the pub weren't open at the times the new owners had advertised. The 'big bonfire' area in the field is now a big rubbish dump. The pub itself and pub garden seem to have lost almost all their beauty and atmosphere.

The new owners weren't rude at all, but far from the super friendly and helpful welcome we received last time. It's a real pity as it was all these things that added up to it being a great short stay pub camp site on our last visit. I don't think we'll be returning - but it might still be what others are looking for. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shubs 9 reviews from this member

 Visited site for the music & cider Festival, which was exellent. Host's very welcoming and friendly. Food and ale's in pub very good (book in advance if you want a table). Campsite very spacious, with portaloo's and Water tap's although no shower's. Firepit's and wood available to hire. Plenty of room for the kid's to run around. Local attraction's include, The White horse 15 mins, Cheddar gorge 40mins(amazing tunnels and outside walks with views to the sea. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: CHEE 1 review from this member

 What a wonderful find!

We needed a site to stay on in order to break up a long journey, our friend found the Buckland bell, and I just wanted to say that for 8 per vehicle and 2 per head, it met our needs fantastically.

Yes it is a basic site but it doesn't pretend to be anything else!

This is what we base our review on - what the site professes to be - it is unfair to say 'there are no electric hook ups' etc as they do not appear to be trying to fit in the 'high end of camping'!

Yes there are portable loo's if you need a wee whilst the pub isn't open, but they were clean and had tons of toilet roll.

There is a covered washing area, and an out door shower if you are feeling brave

The staff were really friendly and helpful, we arrived at 1030pm after a long drive, no problems booking in, and the pub is gorgeous! 11 different ciders on hand. And there was a great band playing too.

Really relaxed and I will definitely recommend (already have!) and stay again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gary.fitton 20 reviews from this member

 Recently spent a night at The Bell using Sun newspaper 1. 00 promotional voucher scheme. Surprised to be charged 5. 00 (1. 00 for pitch & 2. 00 per person). Of all the sites we visited participating in this scheme this was the only one to charge additional fees.

Apparently without voucher it would have cost 12. 00 which in all fairness would have been excessive for facilities available.

Toilets consist of 2 portable loos, the type seen at roadsides for workmen.

Or if you could wait until 08. 30 am. the pub facilities were made available and remained so until closing.

Shower appeared to be outdoor arrangement (didn't try though due to weather) although I assume they had indoor facilities in pub?

No electric H/U.

Admittedly we were aware of limited facilities when booking and as only over-nighting not a major issue for us.

In summary very basic facilities worth 1. 00 - 5. 00 but certainly not 12. 00.

On the up-side lovely pub and good food! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pumps100 7 reviews from this member

 Excellent but basic small flat site. It is quite basic but we honestly prefer this sort of site. The owners were very friendly as were all the staff at the pub. At 8 per night plus 2 pp it really was good value.

It is a very dog friendly site with good walks available to the rear of the site. We also liked the Owners relaxed attitude on the site in dealing with customers - very easy going.

The pub is very nice and has a good selection of ciders and beer although we did find the food a little pricey.

We will go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattbanks 1 review from this member

 Just got back from The Bell. What a fantastic little site, every campsite should have a pub as good as this attached to it! Or is it the other way round? Either way a great little site, very basic but all the better for that.

The landlord and Lady, who seem truly & passionately devoted to their business, were very friendly and accommodating. We loved it, so did the kids and all our friends.

We had great weather and that always helps, but if it is a bit damp there is plenty nearby, Frome just down the road, fab little town or if you want something a bit more world heritage then Bath isn't too far.

On site the loo's are the pub ones until it closes then there is a couple of port-a-loos for emergencies! There is a covered washing up area and that's about it.

The pub does great food, beer (real ale) & if you like Cider the landlord said he 'has something a bit special in the cellar. ' Heaven! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mariamicalou 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from camping at The Buckland Bell Campsite and I couldn't have had a better time although it did thunder and rain but you get over that because nothing a couple of towels can't handle.

We went with another family who had a two and a half year old and he loved it. Feeding the chickens, playing football and riding his bike around as the whole area is safe.

The owners are very friendly and do their best to suit your needs.

We had a lovely meal in the pub on our last night, and I even got 'Curly Fries' served with my scampi!

We knew by reading the description of the site that it was 'basic' it was one of the reasons we first chose to visit.

If you want the 'all singing, all dancing commercialised site - go visit Haven or Butlins! If not, then come and stay here in the relaxing Somerset countryside, with excellent hosts, excellent pub and food and a laid back real camping experience. You can't beat it.

This is the 2nd time Ive been there with my parents, and can't wait to go back again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HenrySimmons 2 reviews from this member

 Wow! Just came back from a great few days at this campsite. Cant see how some people could have anything bad to say about it. Yes there are no showers or electrical hookup, but this is all clearly explained in the information.

I stayed with my wife and kids, and we had the campsite almost to ourselves. The weather was incredible and the area was so peaceful.

The kids loved following the chickens round the field, and there was plenty of space to play a game of football. The owners of the pub and campsite were very polite and helpful and the food we had in the pub was great! We loved being able to take some fresh drought cider back to our tent in a 'take-away' carton.

The 'rules' are very relaxed and we were able to turn up when we liked, pitch wherever we wanted, and book in when the pub opened at 6. The kids also loved the fact we could have a 'campfire' using the fire pits (beer barrel with dustbin lid on top, benius!) with logs purchased from the pub (5 bag got you kindling and plenty of logs, they even gave us some newspaper to get it going!)

Overall we had a great few days, and would definitely recommend for those looking for a relaxed and basic camping experience. With access to loads of local attractions (we spent a day at Longleat, 20 mins down the road) 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

 To say that this site is 'basic' is to do it an injustice - primitive might be a better word to use.

One Portaloo for the site for when the Pub is closed is, quite frankly, not good enough: Thank goodness that with a motorhome we had our own facilities.

The 'shower' would be amusing if it was in a 'Carry On' film. It consisted of a cold water pipe running into a colander. Needless to say, I didn't see anyone using it.

The washing up facilities, again, were cold water only.

The rubbish bins were not bins with lids but open blue drums; no doubt, appreciated by the local rats.

The field itself is grass and seems to hold water pretty well. If it has been raining be careful how you go to drive off as you may well get stuck. This comment would apply to any grass field.

The only thing that is in this site's favour is that it based on a Pub. If you want to drink, you can then go back to your tent, caravan or motorhome and sleep it off.

The Pub itself was very nice inside and seemed the sort of place that I would have enjoyed to have had a meal. I didn't bother after having paid my campsite fees. The reason was the usual lack of customer service that one seems to encounter with a lot of sites: To say that the service was off-hand would be unfair but disinterested would be spot on the money.

The fees were, I felt, rather high for what was on offer: 8 per night plus a further 2 per person was, in my opinion, very poor value. I have used other sites that have cost less and offered more. This is why I have given this site and overall rating of 3/10 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Buckland Field Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Buckland Field Camping?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Buckland Field Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buckland Dinham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4291 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement