Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping La Fonteine Des Clercs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Site Reviews

Camping La Fonteine Des Clercs
1 Rue De Leglise
Montreuil Sur Mer
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62170
Tel: 0033 03 21 06 07 28
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 76
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 24 Reviews
                7/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Harveyrv 4 reviews from this member

Please read all of this

What a beautiful little site!

Access is a little tight through the streets leading up to this site and as long as you don’t meet anything coming the opposite way you will be fine.

Site is easily reached off the main D901 and the area is well serviced with supermarkets - Aldi, Leclerc and Carrefour - both with fuel.

Lovely town with cobbled streets, bars, restaurants, antique shops and a market in the square on a Saturday morning.

Now for the downside, - the toilets, showers and washing up facilities are amongst the worst we have ever experienced in France. They certainly put a capital G in Grim!

When they were built - probably 30+ years ago, they would have been ‘basic’ but years of nil investment and an obvious inadequate or non existent cleaning regime have certainly taken its toll.

My wife accidentally touched the wall when showering (in flip flops) and was shocked that it felt ‘slimy’!

I would have thought for the €22 per night that it should have been better.

Washing machine now removed so don’t expect to do laundry, but did find a good Laverie in town.

Bread van on site at 08. 30 with usual goods.

Payment at site only in cash

Good for stopover so long as you don’t need any basic services.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catarinabod 37 reviews from this member

Stayed one night here off the Eurotunnel enroute to Brittany. Easy journey (less than hour) and booking-in. The site is terraced up towards the citadel. We stayed on the bottom section in a good sunny and level spot. Upper terraces of the site were not occupied so felt nice and quiet. Separate male and female san facilities (need your own loo roll but there are seats and soap). There were some long term caravans not in use at the time we were there but didn't spoil the look or feel of the site. Mix of nationalities. Lovely walk up the hill to the ramparts. There was an outdoor performance of Les Mis at the citadel on the night we stayed, with a huge firework finale which woke us up. Lovely town with Grand Place and bars/bistrots. River and river walk (far side of river) the other side of the campsite. Could easily spend more than 1 night here and will probably use the site again as it is well looked after - we paid €22 for 2 adults, 1 child (12), 1 dog in campervan (no EHU). Nothing specifically for children, except icecreams! No pool or play area. The 'toot-toot' breadvan in a morning was useful - the other 3 sites we used on this holiday required you to book croissants/bread the night before. Described as toot but is actually a loud blast so you won't miss it! We all loved it - a fab start to a wonderful 11 night holiday in France.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jane Cooke 13 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights on our return to Calais. A secluded and peaceful site within walking distance [uphill] of the town of Montreuil Sur Mer, which we thoroughly enjoyed and walked round the ramparts. The facilities are a little dark and in need of sprucing up, but plenty of very hot water available. When we stayed the toilets and showers were shared but as there wasn't many people staying it didn't have much impact, I don't know whether that changes at high season - only the female loo and showers were available to all.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Elaine-n-Trev 28 reviews from this member

I agree with most of what has been said. It is (potentially) a fantastic little site. Great little town with loads to see etc.

The let down was that the toilets were only three (unisex) as the male toilets were closed. Off season we paid 21. 10 euros a night and although WIFI was free, it had a weak signal, so slow. There wasn't a couple, just a gentleman who seemed to be a heavy smoker and smoked in the office, which for a non smoker was difficult to breathe.

No loo paper, but soap available.

I guess the judgement is that it'll do for a couple of nights. If the toilets and washing facilities (no washing machine) were sorted, it would be a great place to spend time.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Derekcbr 62 reviews from this member

Yes ok, all that's been said is true! But! The facilities may be old but they are clean and have lovely hot water and no cost for the showers. The site is well looked after and the town is not to big to be daunting and not too small to be boring. In fact it's great for a stay of two to three days with a great supermarket not too far away. If you have not been here before you are in for a treat because a walk around the ramparts is well worth it. So, the site is good, the town is a little gem, great for the vet if you have a dog, good supermarket near for those last minute buys, and just about an hour away from the ferry or tunnel. What more do you want!

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: A Thousand Moons 4 reviews from this member

This was the first site we had ever stopped at in France having only had a caravan for a week, so we didn't have much to judge it on. A very enthusiastic couple greeted us who were clearly looking after the site for the weekend from their static caravan. It seemed nice enough and was very close to the chunnel. The walk around the Ramparts was fab and the local shopping good. All in all for what it is (a hop off from the crossing) it met our needs, but I wouldn't want to spend more than a couple of nights there. When the real manager arrived on the Monday he was not nearly so helpful!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Flax 1 review from this member

Very pretty site, terraced, so pitches nice & level, plenty of elec hookups, even for tents. Very easy walk into Montreuil centre & in easy reach of coast (Breck, Le Touquet, Wimeraux etc). Just over an hour from Calais, not towing. Toilet facilities big let down though: two blocks - main one by reception which was, well, ok - dated, and not partic clean. 2nd block at top of site was disgusting - very poor condition, neglected, tiles missing from crockery sink surrounds, paint peeling off everywhere, green mould and dirt on walls, cobwebs & dead insects all over. Plentiful supply of hot water in both blocks though. Free wifi was not working/available when we visited. Beware, credit cards not accepted - payment in cash only.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Strathlinn 5 reviews from this member

This was our very first site on our first trip to France with our caravan. We had pre-booked but on arrival the site office was closed so we had a look around and were opting to take a shaded pitch down at end of lower camping area which was not overly appealing but appeared to be all that was available. However when we returned to caravan site owner had turned up and took us to what I had originally thought was two pitches but turned out to be 1 large pitch with separate area for the car. Got sorted and had a lovely 4 days. Easy access from top of pitch to the town which as well as lovely walk round the ramparts, had a fascinating citadel which was well worth a visit for a reasonable entry fee.

Toilet facilities were basic, and if showering at night be prepared to be plunged into darkness when timer switch runs out! Fantastic 'toot toot' bakers van calls into site every morning (except a Wednesday I think) with fresh bread etc.

Excellent introduction to French campsites and would use again if ever in area.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: OliverDay 24 reviews from this member

We used the site as a stopover while en-route to the south of France. It is about 10 mins from the Autoroute and about an hour from Calais.

The site is situated in a very pleasant location next to a river and on the slopes of the Citadel. All the pitches are level although there are some steep access roads. It is close to a railway line but we were not disturbed during the night.

The main facilities were clean and perfectly acceptable for an overnight stay. We had booked via an acknowledged email. When we arrived, the owner eventually found his note about our booking and offered us the choice of two pitches.

The owner was helpful in explaining the walk, via the citadel, into the town. There is a good choice of restaurants around the town square and in surrounding streets. The area has some fascinating history, including the town being the inspiration for Victor Hugo's Les_Misérables.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SandraScot1 35 reviews from this member

I was impressed with this little site. I think we found it in the ACSI camping book. 18 euros per night, its a terraced site on different levels. We had a level hard standing pitch with electrics. The toilets are old but clean, showers worked okay and there is ample hot water for washing up. Free WiFi but no laundry facilities. Chemical loo disposal but not motorhome waste disposal. It's a tidy 10 minute walk up to the town (old walled city) with a wealth of shops, restaurants, bars and banks. Importantly there is also a Vet if like us you had to get your pooch sorted with the dog passport. The vet doesn't speak fantastic English but with my poor French we got by. That will cost you 43 euro. Vets is on the main square where all the bars/restaurants are, walk past the toy shop on your left and the vets is about 100 yards further on left hand side. At the large roundabout just outside the town there is a large supermarket so handy to stock up if you are returning to the UK.

The Site: old fashioned but beautifully situated down by the river at the foot if the town walls. Clean but old facilities. Very handy for the Ferry. There were lots of people who use this site on a regular basis and I imagine in the summer it would get quite busy so would advise booking throughout July and August. Owner very helpful and I would recommend this site.

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1682 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019