Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal Navarre

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Langres > Camping Municipal Navarre > Reviews

Camping Municipal Navarre
Boulevard De Lattre De Tassigny
Langres
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
52200
Tel: 0033 03 25 87 37 92
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 18 Reviews
                8/10 from 18 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 119 reviews from this member

 Site takes ACSI. Beware - the entrance is through the 'Parking Navarre' just inside the gate - and very easily missed. The site is a bit scruffy and unkempt and there is, as mentioned in other reviews, a bunfight for places. Warden arrives at 5. 30 when it's too late!There are limited electric points. We recommend arriving early and parking on the upper slope where there are good views, it's a bit more peaceful and less crowded. Newish toilet facilities are perfectly good. Cost 15. 50 incl electric.

The town is lovely and we enjoyed the walk round teh ramparts. Market day is Friday. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Morepints 38 reviews from this member

 Arrived here mid-afternoon, thinking to use it as a stopover. We found the site through ACSI, where it gets a 8. 3 rating.

While others may like this site, we weren't impressed. As it is within the town walls, and very open, locals were using it as a cut-through, or as a playground. I suspect this is why the toilet block is key-controlled. The general aspect was untidy, and had an air of disorganisation. As the office wasn't open, it wasn't clear what potential clients were expected to do, so mostly camper vans were parked haphazardly around a tarmac loop. We didn't look further, to where the pitches were; just didn't feel secure.

Maybe I'm being unfair; clearly others found the site to their liking but I'm posting as a word of caution, based on our experience. We moved on to Martigny le Roi. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rosenlaui 4 reviews from this member

 A very attractive municipal site overlooking the Haute Marne valley that puts UK towns to shame. Just inside the city walls so need to keep alert when entering through town walls to take correct road.

The lower area just inside the site seems to fill up quickly if you want an electrical hook-up. We got the last one but I understand there is a further area up higher although we did not investigate. 15. 10 Euros for unit and 2 people, cash only.

Town looks very interesting but unfortunately it started raining as soon as we arrived so did not get a chance to look around. Friendly chap on reception who spoke good English. Sanitary block adequate. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chrisandsandra 63 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with views over the surrounding countryside if you are on the right pitches.

We missed the turning for it on the first pass due to a large van obscuring the entrance (which is the first right if approaching from the arches at the entrance to the town) and had to negotiate the narrow streets of the town before getting back to it.

We arrived at about 3. 45pm to find the site already filling up and were fortunate to find an great spot to the far left of the entrance with plenty of space and an electric point on it. Later arrivals were forced onto the sloping land near the entrance which required some very long leads to reach the electric and some even opted to stay in the tarmaced area in the middle of the site. By 5. 30pm the site was full. In view of this we would echo the advice to 'arrive early'.

As said in previous reviews the reception is unmanned until 5. 00pm so you find a space then book in once the office opens.

Good, modern facilities with plenty of hot water when we were there, though you do need a code to enter them which you don't get until you have booked in, so if arriving before the office opens you need your own loo or a trip to the town!

The site is well situated and only a short walk to the town with it's bars, restaurants and shops. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant next to L'Europa bar (Le Rempart?) very near the campsite. The boulangerie nearby and the shop selling local drink (wine and beer) and cheese in the same area were both also very good. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Hotel California 10 reviews from this member

 We used this site as an overnighter on our way home. We were given a pitch up a slope by the big tower by the multi lingual warden who was very helpful. I presume this is what one reviewer called the ramparts. The site filled up very fast after we arrived. The facilities are all in one block behind the reception. Langres is a lovely town full of history. Some locals put on a display of the defence of Langres during the middle ages and live firing of the Arquebuse ( a rifle type firearm. ) with loads of smoke and noise when they were fired. This site is inside the towns walls so very handy for seeing Langres. This a fantastic site we will definitely be returning to. Campervan, 2 adults with electric 13. 08. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights at the Langres site in mid-September.

The site is definitely used by the caravan/motorhome community as a transit camp with a big turnover every day. If you want a good choice of pitch you need to arrive early. As the office is unmanned during the day it's a case of finding a space and erecting the tent bearing in mind the site is likely to get a lot more crowded as the day goes on. We chose to pitch up on the ramparts close to the Navarre tower.

There are no marked pitches but the various options are mostly flat and grassy, there is some shade but not a lot. Water is available at stand pipes on some of the electricity boxes. Use of electricity may involve some very long leads being required.

Loos, showers, wash rooms, wash up basins etc are in a big central block behind coded doors. The facilities are unisex. Facilities are mainly 'English' style but no paper is supplied. They are kept very clean. Washing machines and driers are available for hire. Showers and wash up bowls have hot, free water.

There is no bar or shop on site but the local boulangerie is 5 minutes walk.

The site manager is very friendly and helpful with an amazing ability at languages. Because the office only opened in the evenings there tended to be a big queue at 5 o'clock; relax and leave it 'til the queue dies down at 6 or later, there's no rush. You have to remember to pay the evening before you plan to leave. They don't take plastic money. Free wi-fi is available in the area of the office, get the details from the manager when you book in.

There's a fairly large Intermarche a short drive away. Fuel at the Intermarche is about as cheap as you will get in the area.

The town (city?) of Langres is a mediaeval walled city with most of its walls intact. An entire circuit of the walls is well worth the hour or so it takes to walk. There are very many old and interesting buildings in the town too, also worth getting a map from the local tourist information showing a route round the town to see many of them.

Langres and the surrounding area is on a plateau and is predominantly rural with gently rolling hills. There are lots of potential walks and cycle routes in the area. We chose to walk a circuit of one of the local lakes (Lac de la Vingeanne) which gave a good flavour of the landscape. The tourist information has a list of some 50 walks which can be downloaded. They will print one in the office for one euro.

The nearby town of Nogent houses a surprisingly interesting museum devoted to scissor and cutlery manufacture in the locality.

The nearest big town is Chaumont with an interesting 'old town'.

We enjoyed this site and would definitely be pleased to use it again. It has to be said that unless you are a dedicated walker or cyclist you may find it difficult to fill more than a few days in the area as there is not a lot in the 'tourist' line to visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkymik 14 reviews from this member

 We moved down from Lac De La Liez for a few days visit in the town before we set off to our next location we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, the site is inside the fortifications infact our pitch was directly under the Navarre Tower (open every day) the site as I've indicated is in the town of Langres and perfect for an informative and interesting visit, The site has a shower and toilet block, not supplied with toilet paper but clean and quite modern with a coded access, large roller bins spread around site for rubbish disposal and wifi however you need to be in the reception to use it the reception is open in the morning and again at 1730pm there is nobody on site all day so we did not leave out chairs and tables etc as the route to Navarre Tower is through the site for members of the public. I think I should mention at the time of our stay there was a problem with travellers using the site and the authorities were struggling to get them to move on as the price for the day includes electric and they were using it for work based activities, BUT having said that they were not noisy or messy people and did not go round looking at the pitches of others. The service point in town for MoHo's is closed you can only empty cassettes there now at the time we were there I did not use any MoHo service point on this site Child Friendliness only three from ten, it's open and the gate is not patrolled members of the public wander through for access to the historic attractions 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JeanAvTow 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night only on our way north and was very pleased. The reception was very busy with a queue of people waiting to be booked in, but the gentleman in the office was extremely nice to everyone and took each customer around the site to give them a choice of pitch.

The sanitaire was modern and very clean, with enough facilities for the size of the campsite. Pitches were not marked out so plenty of room for everyone. Mostly level with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside.

Walked around some of the walls and the town during the evening, after meal at the pizzeria (not too bad, but not the best either). Lovely old town.

No shop on site, but only a short walk to the local boulangerie in the morning for bread.

A longer stay here would be ideal for exploring the local area, which looks interesting with lots of walking/cycling. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bridgeywidge 25 reviews from this member

 A very popular site for overnight stops, and rightly so, as the facilities are great and it's in a lovely location, both logistically and aesthetically.

The site does't take bookings and fills up quickly (it's not large): get there by 5. 00 at least to be assured of a spot. We pitched and then went to pay as the guy (Xavier) was'nt around, but when he was, he's very good humoured.

Situated within the town walls with a tower forming one boundary, the site has superb access to the attractive old town and views across the countryside from it's vantage position.

The sanitaire was modern and clean and accessed using a security code.

The owner is only there at some times of the day, which meant a queue at Reception either pre or post pitching.

There is a bit of road noise from the N19 and lorries but nothing horrendous. The location and welcome more than compensated. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JULIED444 61 reviews from this member

 Excellent little site - decided to try it for our one night stop down to Spain as last year the other well known site in Langres, was just too pricey for a one night stop if you are not using all the facilities.

We managed to get a pitch where we did not have to unhitch which was handy as we were only staying one night.

Was lucky enough to visit the towers and saw some of the locals in costume with their guns - very loud!

Lovely bakers in town.

Warden very friendly, toilets clean, just don't forget the code, which is understandable bearing in mind the town location, will definitely use again. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal Navarre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal Navarre?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal Navarre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Langres      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3168 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement