Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rukins Campsite Park Lodge

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Richmond > Rukins Campsite Park Lodge Reviews

Rukins Campsite Park Lodge
Park Lodge
Keld
Richmond
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 6LJ
Tel: 01748 886274
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Linden 1 review from this member

 We passed through for one night doing our DofE walk.

It was very nice pitch and we had plenty of room to ourselves even on a bank holiday.

The facilities were nice and it was nicely located along the riverside.

The people were very friendly and helpful.

Thanks, we are all looking forward to our next stay :) 


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Thesaint 23 reviews from this member

 A great site in the Yorkshire Dales. One of the very few where you don't book and just turn up.

The views are great, there's several different area's for camping including the riverside.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The site has a small shop for basics and a cafe serving ice cream, bacon butties, etc.

Fires are allowed in the firepits provided and logs/kindling are available from the shop.

The showers were hot and the toilets were always clean.

A great place if you want to get away from it all, there's no mobile signal on any network available.

The prices are 10 per adult and 4 for children. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Truediamond 100 reviews from this member

 This is the Site to choose if you enjoy walking and the open air. We used the upper field where there are hookups and benefited from great views down the Dale from our window.

There are so many walks available on the doorstep that its difficult to list them all.

The facilities are all down near the Farmhouse in the lower fields and this would be one disadvantage of being at the opposite end of Keld 'village' (or is it hamlet?).

You had to walk down for a shower, to clean dishes and use toilet. They are all kept clean and are in keeping in style with the rest of the Site and had lots of hot water.

The drinking water tap in this field is a standard house tap without a hozelock type fitting so filling a motorhome tank was slow and damp. At the other end of the scale, there is no grey water disposal for a motorhome. A couple of niggles that prevent 10/10.

We found the Site owners to be friendly and helpful. Remember, though, you have to see them and check in before taking a pitch. Pricing is reasonable at 10/adult/night + 4 for EHU. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Billyn 1 review from this member

 Some of the best views I've ever seen up on the hills. The facilities were fantastic.

Literally the shower pressure and heat was amazing.

Only 2 showers but we were in and out very quick.

The reception staff are very helpful and kind. Made us feel welcome from the start.

Could not recommend this site enough. 5* all round. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cloedi 1 review from this member

 Very pleasant stay.

Owners were very helpful and bought the most delicious cake from reception.

Reasonable price.

Little bit of a walk to the toilets but they were very clean and a decent shower. X 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ratty 279 reviews from this member

 If there was such a thing as 'Campsite Perfection' then this site would not quite make the cut, however it is very very close indeed, and in my opinion only falls down on one very minor point.

We phoned to make our booking due to a last minute change of plan and the lady told us there was plenty of space and to just turn up. You have to check in at the cottage at the bottom of the village, but once you have paid your 10 per adult, you are free to choose your pitch.

They have 4 different areas, one by the river which we avoided due to potential midges and it was busy there, a large open field near the facilities block, however it did not really appeal, so we went back up to the top of the village and chose the top field, this was fantastic, absolutely stunning views and loads of flat spots for the campervan and many fire pits dotted about.

There are toilet and shower facilities and these are all included in the price and were very well maintained. They are around a 3 minute walk from the second top field which we were in. There are water points at the entrance to the fields and bins for your rubbish.

The farmhouse where you check in offers cakes, and nibbles and a few other things, I did not try them, but they looked good and she was very friendly and helpful.

If walking is your thing, then you will not be disappointed here, there are sooo many walk in all directions and a lovely waterfall not too far down the track from the site.

There is no phone reception here and this was perfect, we just sat outside, glass of wine, enjoying the most stunning views, the wildlife and farm action. Our dog loved the space and we were the only ones in the field, which made it even more peaceful.

We stayed on a Tuesday and the place was deserted, not sure how busy it would be at a week as it seems quite relaxed, but I cannot comment on that. There were some midges, but a bit of citronella and that was soon solved.

There is the Keld Lodge just above the site, it is a restaurant and bar, although we did not go in there so cannot comment.

Nothing for children except the huge open fields, the river, the walks, the lack of phone reception. , perfect for any children who enjoy freedom and camping.

The drive in is steep, so if your vehicle is not the best, you may want to make sure it is serviced and the brakes work well! However do not let that put you off, this site is definitely worth a visit.

Why was this not 'Campsite Perfection'? It needed a portaloo in the top field, that is it. Simply stunning site, beautiful location and very idyllic.
I will return time and time again. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Anphro 10 reviews from this member

 We camped here while doing the Coast To Coast Walk - the site is conveniently situated for this journey, and there are few other places to stay in Keld for those of limited means.

The Lady who runs the site was pleasant and helpful during the booking and arriving process. The toilet block and shower was clean, and I appreciated the system for airing the facilities between users.

The site is split between several locations around the picturesque village of Keld. However, none of the camping sites were very close to the facilities, they varied from a ~300 yd walk up hill by the river, to further away walks to the other sites. This is inconvenient if as an older traveler you need to get up in the night.

We camped on the nearest site, and our visit was spoiled by the long walk but mainly by the clouds of midges who congregated around our tent all night. I have never seen so many, I was breathing them in, despite having sprayed myself liberally with inspect propellant.

We felt impelled to flee the site at dawn, and prepare our breakfast on the journey, and left covered in bites. This was the worst experience of our recent trip. It may be a seasonal thing, but be careful if you go there in summer. Truly awful. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Scratts30 3 reviews from this member

 A great site for camping, best power shower ever. Shop and cafe on site with alcohol, free internet.

Very friendly owners. Enjoyed my stay here and felt very relaxed. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimmystuart 9 reviews from this member

 I liked this campsite and my granddaughter loved it, the only drawback was the local pub closed at 9:30 pm, Staff were friendly,

The facilities clean and well kept, there's a small shop in the farmhouse where you can buy the basics,

I would also like to say that some people had put us off visiting the nearby Kearton Hotel ( about 2 miles away)saying it wasn't friendly to hikers, My G/daughter and I called in after getting soaked walking up and down and around Kisdon, nothing could have been further from the truth the staff were wonderful and made us very welcome and went out their way to see us dry and comfortable before setting off back. To Rukins.

If I return to Swaledale this site will be my first choice. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tantesahara 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely time at Rukins Campsite, was free to choose a spot to pitch my tent: at the riverside, in the fields or with a beautiful view over Kisdon Fell.

Basic but clean toilets and showers. No charge for shower and well provided with toilet paper and handsoap. Good value for money.

Very friendly and helpful owners, do sit down in the garden at the teashop and enjoy a nice cup at this lovely place.

The walks around Swaledale are delightful and the scenery is stunning. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rukins Campsite Park Lodge child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rukins Campsite Park Lodge?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Rukins Campsite Park Lodge dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Richmond      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2323 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement