Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Marsh Farm Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Saxmundham > Marsh Farm Caravan Site > Reviews

Marsh Farm Caravan Site
Sternfield
Saxmundham
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP17 1HW
Tel: 01728 602168
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 45
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 29 Reviews
                8/10 from 29 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  29 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Philandlol 23 reviews from this member

 Whats not to like about this great site.

Just spent 8 nights at this fantastic site with friends. We asked to arrive a day early due to the strong winds predicted on the Saturday. This wasn't a problem at all.

Met by a very friendly lady who told us all we needed to know about the site. You basically find your own pitch but all are clearly marked by yellow discs. We had 2 pitches overlooking one of the lakes. It was superb.

The site is immaculately maintained, grass cut on a regular basis not a sign of any rubbish anywhere.

Fishing is excellent with some quality sized fished landed during our stay. Plenty of open space around the site and the lakes for dog walking or just sitting and taking in the views.

The facilities were very good indeed and again always clean and well maintained.

This is our 6th year touring in Suffolk and this is the best site we have stayed on. Looking forward to returning next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Miakatloder 3 reviews from this member

 Superb campsite. One of best I have ever stayed on. Perfect base for a visit to RSPB minsmere or hazelwood marshes. Lovely location. Very nice lady welcomed me and gave me phone no.

To get in and out of the gate. Had a walk round the fishing lakes.

Fantastic facilities. Just a bit off putting when found out they were unisex. As luck would have it nobody else was in there anyway. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Twogirls 1 review from this member

 We spent Easter weekend at this site to try out our new motorhome, we know the area well but this was our first visit to this site. When I phoned to book a pitch, at short notice, the lady I spoke to helpfully explained that the only available pitches were on their 'top field' which is quite a distance away from the toilet block, she reckoned about a five minute walk down a lane at the side of the camping field. All pitches had electric hook up. The price with electric was 17. 50 per night, if we wanted to put up an awning it would be an extra 1 per night (we didn't bother as very strong winds were forecast). We weren't asked for payment up front or for any deposit, and were asked to pay cash or cheque on arrival. I thought the charges were quite reasonable considering it was a Bank Holiday weekend. We were told to arrive anytime we wanted.

We found the site quite easily using satnav and it was clearly signposted once you got within about a mile away.

The site itself is extremely well kept, huge flat grassy areas which are so neat it looks like they've used scissors to cut the grass! There are several large fishing lakes which are very well stocked with prize winning fish judging by the photos displayed in the small reception/shop at the entrance to the site. The walk around the lakes is very pleasant, they are adjoined with little bridges here and there so you can meander around nicely.

As the weather was so bad some people had already decided to leave when we arrived so we were able to choose a pitch on the lower field, nearer to the toilet and shower block. The pitches are open (i. E. , not hedged in or marked out) and there are plenty of EHU points each with a water supply. There is a chemical disposal point and rubbish disposal area sited at the entrance to the 'lower' camping field and the owner said there was another one sited on the other field. When she spoke of the 'top' field, I think she meant the field furthest away from the main campsite entrance.

The toilets and showers are sited in portaloo type cabins inside a large barn. Being two women we only used the ladies' loos so I can't comment on the mens facilities. The toilet and sink block was perfectly clean and functional, my only criticism would be the lack of sanitary bins inside each toilet cubicle. It took some manouevering to get inside the toilet cubicle itself because the doors open inwards almost right up to the toilet seat so you have to kind of squeeze yourself against the cubicle wall before you can close the door! I'm not sure how easy it would be for a lady of large build to squeeze herself in. We didn't use the ladies' showers so can't comment on those.

The view from our MH was beautiful, despite the weather, overlooking the lakes one side and across miles of open country on the other.

The site is well placed for local attractions and areas of natural beauty including the wild coast line at Dunwich where you (and dogs) can walk the beach for miles. You can walk into Saxmundham using a lane at the side of the campsite which leads into Benhall village and then onto Saxmundham, about a 20 minute walk. Driving into Saxmundham would take about 5 minutes or so, there's a huge Tesco and Waitrose as well as a popular fish and chip shop which doubles as a Chinese takeaway.

We didn't have kids with us so can't rate child friendliness. There were no particular facilities that I could see for children (eg no play area) so I've given them 4 out of 10.

When we set up our brand new TV to try it out and realised we didn't have an ariel lead, the owner very helpfully came up with one for us to use (even though it turned out not to be the type we needed, we were grateful).

When we tried to leave on Easter Monday, it had been so extremely wet that we got stuck on the field, again the owner's husband rushed to the rescue with his tractor and pulled us off the field. Because of the high winds he advised us not to drive until the wind died down, so we parked up next to one of the barns in a sheltered spot and stayed there for a few hours. Again, the owners were helpful, coming over to see if we were ok and updating us on the local weather forecast).

All in all, we thought this was a lovely site and would definitely visit again, hopefully in better weather next time. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LWatts 1 review from this member

 We have visited Marsh Farm several times now and can highly recommend.

It is a quiet site with lovely fishing lakes.

There is a shower/toilet block although basic they are spotlessly clean.

We visited over the Easter weekend and endured storm Katie! We very kindly took up the sites offer the leave our caravan FREE of charge until we were able to return to collect. How thoughtful and helpful.

We have no hesitation in recommending a quiet peaceful site. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jango123 3 reviews from this member

 This site has some many plus point it really takes your mind off the down side. We arrived and greeted with a lady called Molly, took our money. Cash only! Park where you want and make sure you have jockey wheel on the yellow disc. Grass and site is lovely. Walks are endless. Downside is the owners were not friendly and the toilets are clean but inadequate - too far away and showers have no doors to lock, just curtains. We use our own facilities so we were fine. We had a lovely time there. The site owner cut the grass so near our van while we were out that he set our tracker off. We were leaving the following day, so why could he not wait and cut all the pitches then.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sadbags1 1 review from this member

 We started going to Marsh Farm 6 years ago! We go at least once a year more if we can. The children, dogs and us love the peaceful setting. Its clean well kept and has reasonable pitch price! My boys and husband enjoy the fishing! If you enjoy fishing or staying on a quiet peaceful site this is for you! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

 This site has many plus points but also some minus ones. First the plus points. The site is lovely with grassy pitches which you can, usually, choose for yourself. The fishing lakes are idyllic and also a nice place to walk the dog (on a lead). Prices are reasonable 18. 50 per night for car, caravan, awning and electric (awning is 1 for a porch or 2 for a full sized one). There is no charge for dogs. Saxmundham is a couple of miles away and has a Waitrose and a Tesco. Aldeburgh and Woodbridge are also a short drive away. The owners are friendly and don't enforce departure times. There is a small shop in the site office. Now the minus points. The awning charge is something I really dislike. Waste (grey) water disposal is a pain, it has to be taken to the chemical disposal point which for most pitches would be a trek (or a drive). The toilet facilities are abysmal. They are not just for the use of campers but for fishermen and, as I saw, any passing hikers. The Gents is a sort of portacabin with two toilet cubicles to cater for many potential users (yes, I know most caravanners have their own facilities, but still!). The Ladies has six cubicles. The showers cost 1 a time which seems very expensive, We used the caravan shower so I don't know how long you get for your money. Over all, even with the minus points, we liked the site and would use it again. Finally, beware your sat nav. Don't use it for the final few miles or you may find yourself going through narrow lanes around Benhall. Instead it is better if you leave the A12 at the junction with the A1094 (signed towards Aldeburgh) then turn left at Snape church then turn left to the site (which is signed). 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duzz 2 reviews from this member

 Another glorious visit to Marsh Farm. This is our third visit now, it seems to be becoming our Easter habit! This time, we'd upgraded to our caravan, previously we had a folding camper. We stayed in the 'top field' on this visit, which we were a little disappointed with at first having always stayed in the main field, but I think I'm a convert now! The top field was even more peaceful & relaxing, plus it had the sun for longer, being on top of the hill. As a previous review stated, toilets are either a fair walk away or a short drive but this didn't really bother us. We love the fact that the owners are very relaxed about arriving/departing times, it makes it much easier than the 'arrivals only from 12' policy of other campsites. Lots to see & do in the area. We're still discovering things! See you next Easter! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Gotahat 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for the first time on returning to this area,

We had a choice of pitches which where flat and large which I thought a reasonable price for the folding camper electric hook up and 2 dogs.

Staff where helpful and friendly small shop selling basics.

Toilets where clean, showers you had to pay 1

We where on the top field which had no toilets on.

When you wanted to go you either had a long walk or had a short drive to them. Good job we had a porta potti.

There were plenty of walks around the farm and the local area, very picturesque little settlements.

You must go to the smoke house in Orford and the fish and chip shop in Aldburgh

Saying this I would stay again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Durrell15 1 review from this member

 This site was just perfect for us, beautifully scenic, well looked after, quiet and relaxing and plenty of room between pitches, lots of wildlife to watch (and listen to, ducks seemingly having an argument at 7 in the morning in the stream a few feet from our pitch was funny!), and plenty of small lakes to fish in, should that be your thing.

The toilets were clean and plentiful, showers were good, 1 a time. The lady running the site was friendly and happy to chat to us, we were allowed to arrive any time after 9am and on our departure we didn't have to leave until 5pm, which was great as on our pack up it was rather wet, so were able to wait a couple of hours to dry off.

Only downside was there was no hot water to wash up with, only cold, this wasn't a problem for us as we just boiled a kettle and did the washing up outside the folding camper (well my husband did anyway!).

The site is close to the lovely seaside towns of Southwold and Aldeburgh, both of which were fairly sedate, again, we enjoyed this.

We would use this site again for sure. 


Previous     29 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Marsh Farm Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Marsh Farm Caravan Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Marsh Farm Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saxmundham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3621 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement