Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Amfora

Campsite Search > Europe > Spain > Sant Pere Pescador > Camping Amfora Reviews

Camping Amfora
Av Josep Tarradellas 2
17470
Sant Pere Pescador
Spain   (Browse area)

Tel: 0034 972 52 05 40
Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: aprox. 750
Open: 23 April - 28 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf On Site   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barsar 44 reviews from this member

Why: We wanted a site in the Bay of Roses and this one had been recommended to us by friends.

Location: About a 30-minute walk into St Pere Pescador and a 15-minute drive from the AP7.

Check in – we had pre-booked through the caravan club to be certain of a pitch. We presented our letter of confirmation to the English-speaking receptionist and were shown to our pre-allocated pitch. Given that it was the 1st September we were surprised by the number of other campers also booking in. The site was not 100% full but it wasn’t far off. Many Dutch and German outfits with a sprinkling of English, French and Spanish at weekends.

Pitch –huge by Spanish standards. Even with our 7. 5m van, car and awning we could have got another large car on the pitch. Pitches are separated by hedges and all have water and electricity. For about 4 euros per night you can upgrade to one with waste water drainage. There are even some with their own private bathroom in a shed.

Facilities

• The shower block near our pitch was fairly new and was almost of Spa quality. There are other older blocks but all are very well maintained. All blocks are incredibly clean with a team of cleaners in attendance almost all of the day. Without doubt the best sanitary facilities of any site we have visited in Spain.

• Swimming pools quite large clean and well maintained. Child friendly.

• Bar and restaurant. Usual international menu mainly featuring frites but it was very busy and also very good and reasonably priced. Whilst there we tried the steak, seafood, pork and pizza and were not disappointed. The wine is also very drinkable cheap. You can buy the same wine in the bar to take away in a box. There is also a bar on the beach which serves cocktails and food until the early hours. This was also excellent.

• Supermarket with a wide range of stock. You could have done all your shopping there. Prices very reasonable.

• Beach – you can walk out of the gate directly onto the beach which runs for miles around the bay. It was cleaned daily and was great for adults and children as the sea is very shallow for some distance. No matter how busy it is you will always find a quiet spot. Beware, it can get very windy, which is great for the kite surfers but not so good for the sun worshippers. It got so windy that we had to leave on about 2 days during each week at the beginning of September. We did however return to watch the kite surfers who were amazing.

Pros

• Very well run and maintained site.

• Large pitches

• 5-star sanitary facilities.

• Site is more or less bordering the beach.

• Good value for money food and drink.

• Well placed to discover all the towns and sites of the Bay of Roses

Cons

• Can get very windy due to location South of the Pyrenees

• Whilst it was quiet whilst we were there we were told it can get very busy and noisy during the peak season.

Would we use again – yes. Had a great time. We would also pre-book again.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Junik53 9 reviews from this member

Amfora is my little bit of heaven, love, love, love it. 3rd time here and will definitely come again. It has something for everyone and gives a 1st class service. I would like to thank all the staff including the cleaning staff who do a fantastic job with the sanitary blocks and always have a smile on their faces. The restaurant staff are excellent, nothing too much trouble which makes the evening a meal to remember. The security staff are very good always challenging anyone without a wristband which makes us feel very safe. Shop staff good too also the reception staff who do what they can to get you a pitch that's big enough for your caravan.

We have seen the entertainment staff who all seem very jolly especially with kids on site, always something to do and going on even in low season.

The beach is lovely but can be very windy, ideal for all the wind/kite surfers. And something to look at while relaxing. The pitches are of various sizes mostly with hedges and some with trees for shade, most with water and electric and some have bathrooms. The whole site is clean and well cared for. Sanitary blocks are cleaned all day long and are modern and pleasant to use. Cant wait to come again. Lots of things to do in the area with Roses, Figueres, Emprubravia all on your doorstep and Girona a little further away.

We pay with camping cheques which make it about 17euros a night for pitch, water/electric awning and car, excellent value for money. There are many accommodations on site also ideal for family's who wish to fly to Girona and hire a car.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: J-Star 1 review from this member

Stayed May-June, Super site, courteous friendly staff. Beautiful setting, very clean & showers/toilet facilities have cleaners in attendance full time. Very quiet but expect when school holidays & peak season it would not be so peaceful so nice to take advantage of quieter early/late visits. Pool just perfect & the beach with a gentle breeze is a welcome place in hot temperatures ! Thanks to all ! (I'm sure it's perfectly child friendly & the baby change/washing facilities were spotlessly clean but no little ones with us therefore I have given n/a to * in that section)

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MHfamily4 7 reviews from this member

A good 25 - 35 mins walk into small nearest town which has some shops, bars and eateries. A petrol station and larger cheaper well stocked supermarche.

Beach access from the rear gate of the campsite, this area can be windy hence the kite surfing school. If you are on a windy pitch, make sure you have strong screw in pegs for awnings etc.

Food and facilities are good standard on site, supermarket prices reasonable. We had a good few take out roast chickens and the 4 of us eat for around 25 Euros. Restaurant is nice and casual and prices again very reasonable.

We found public transport a bit hit and miss, so a hire car opened up more opportunity to explore surrounding towns and villages which are beautiful. Bay of Roses is worth visiting.

Barcelona was about an hour in the car and well worth a visit, bus tours are available from the site to book. Many leaflets available for things to do if your the type to want to venture out the campsite like us.

Very impersonal customer services, no effort to go above and behond, they don't seem bothered whether you come back or not they're busy enough without repeat custom (that's based on our own experience of the 3 weeks we stayed) Not a cheap site either, you really are paying for all those toilet cleaners. Ample electric hook ups and water points, grey water disposal not on pitches we seen. Mostly Dutch and German which is fine but if you have young kids they might not make friends just as easily as having more UK families.

We would go back and do recommend you try it, but remember it's a big site and not everyones cup of tea.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Monty205 1 review from this member

There is little I can add, with regard to information regarding the facilities, that has not already been mentioned by other visitors to this site.

I have been visiting Amfora for many years, and have watched it expand, to the point that personally I think the last 70+ pitches that they have just added beyond the 'new' 5 star toilet block, may be the straw that breaks the camel's back.

The site is now also welcoming student groups in a tented encampment near the beach, not in itself a problem, but I would have thought that with a rather large body of young persons in tented accommodation they might have opened the third toilet block, but it remained stubbornly closed.

Having visited both in May/June and September, I have noticed that the full facilities are now open for a much shorter period than used to be the case.

The newer 'Amfora' shaped pool now seems to only be opened in the high season.

Over the last couple of years many of the older 'cabins' have been replaced by new ones, and a few more camping pitches have been given over to yet more cabins. Hence the 70+ new camping pitches, I guess.

The majority of campers seem to be Dutch and German, with a multitude of regular weekend Spanish visitors, who seem to delight in making a lot of noise late at night, which can be a problem. This scenario has gradually worsened over the last few years, or maybe I'm getting older and grumpier ?

Even with Camping Cheques booking is advisable in low season.

It is probably not a site to visit if peace and quiet is high on the agenda. It's still a fine site, but if they carry on expanding I doubt I will return.

Shame really, I will miss the leisurely 20 minute stroll to the bodega and restaurant at Mas Guso !

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Junik53 9 reviews from this member

We thought this site was lovely and clean well laid out, the pitches are mostly large long pitches with hedges between except the length of pitch there is no division, so you would be quite close to other van on the pitch, but, still enough room for caravan awning and car and still room for 2 loungers. You can have your own water so take a long enough hose to reach, I must say it was lovely not to have to keep fetching water barrels.

The beach is excellent but if you have limited mobility it could be an issue as its quite a walk from some pitches it being a very large site. If you take chairs and brolleys to beach you would need a trolley of some kind to transport them, we went to beach through the tropical bar/restaurant as our pitch was close to this and there is a pathway upto and on the beach so it was easy to walk it for us.

Security is very good with all staff including cleaners checking you had a wrist band on, and they all had radios or mobile phones on them, which we found very useful as we had an altercation with a steel post on exiting the site and cleaner called for help on her radio and they were there in minutes.

Shower block was modern and spotless with loads of hot water and good powerful showers with button press to keep water coming, they were going to close one of the blocks, there are 3, due to them closing on the 25th sept, wish they would stay open longer but I think they get a lot of high winds and storms later?

There are other facilities such as pools shops etc but didn't use them so cant comment.

The site was fairly full at time of our visit and get the feeling that this is the case all season

The only downside for us was the amount of dogs on site, mostly they were on leads with only occasional dogs getting free, but the problem was the noise of barking, when one started rhe whole lot started and it was like camping at a dog kennels. And we like dogs but it was a bit annoying, you could be unlucky and be parked opposite someone with whinning barky dogs.

Used camping cheques so good value for money

Overall a nice site and hope to visit again soon

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

I have little to add to the fantastic service and cleanliness of the place mentioned by other reviewers.

The town of San Pere Pescador is rather basic but the Tourist Office by the bridge is very helpful.

Just up the road, on the outskirts of L'Escala is a new Mercadona supermarket, which has a wider range of products and lower prices than the on site supermarket.

The wifi, for which you pay, is time specific rather than device specific, so more than one device can use the same code.

If arriving in the early season, remember that the area is host to the World Kite Surfing Championships. So it is windy.

The Tramuntana from the North West can spring up from 0 to force 5 in seconds, and play havoc with injudiciously placed awnings. ( The local camping shop has storm straps and awning repair kits very prominently displayed. )

As it takes Camping Cheques, this site represents a wonderful value for money.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Farside1 17 reviews from this member

We love this site. Admittedly we paid extra for a pitch with a private toilet and shower but after a few weeks on the road in the cramped environs of our van conversion it was a worthwhile luxury.

We were out of season so not everything was open but the contrast between weekdays when only tourists are there and weekends when the local holidaying Spaniards arrive is marked and much more fun for it!

Reception staff are great and entirely multilingual and the supermarket offers almost all you could want. The pool and general facilities are great and the beach although windy is fantastic. You may be disappointed if you go onto the very basic pitches - it's a bit cosy but that was the only slight fault we could find. Otherwise pitches are tree lined and private, run east-west to catch the sun, and are beautifully tended although in June you get burrs off the clover grass which required constant brushing from our dogs fur.

As a footnote - try the kite surfing (2 day course - 6 hours tuition ) totally exhilarating!

Oh yes - not the cheapest but good value - cash only for pitch fees although everything else takes cards. A minor inconvenience as they have a hole-in-the-wall at reception.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jsparkes201148 24 reviews from this member

First time in Spain and we were a little apprehensive. No need though, we had a really enjoyable week here. This is a very clean, slic, well organised site. Never been on a site this big before, but it has its advantages, we enjoyed our evening strolls looking at all the different outfits, from tiny. And I mean tiny to the German Juggernauts with the small car in the garage in the back.

Not very many English, mostly Germans and Dutch. , still quite busy a week before it closes.

The toilet blocks each had their own full time cleaner who sprayed / cleaned the toilet when you had left it.

Staff all very pleasant and helpful

Roses a is a lovely place, as is aEscala, very Spanish, no sign of English breakfasts etc.

We would come again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susiejane 21 reviews from this member

An excellent site, although it is large it doesn't feel overcrowded at all. All nationalities represented, everyone mixed in, which was good.

When we arrived we were shown to our pitches which were in a cul-de-sac which meant that there was no passing traffic, however it wasn't quiet! We seemed to have arrived on a Spanish bank holiday week-end. Lots of large groups of Spanish people all coming and going to each others tents or caravan. When they all went home it did become a lot calmer!

I agree with all the other comment regarding the toilets which were spotless always.

The supermarket had everything you could want making frequent trips to other supermarkets (which were near) unnecessary.

The restaurant was good, we ate there several times, also at the restaurant across the road which was also good.

Very flat in and around the site, made bike riding very easy!

We visited Roses and went on the Roses Express taking the mountain route. It was surprising how cold it was on top of the mountain compared to the coast. If you go take a cardigan or jacket.

We did go to the beach a few times but it was always windy and the sand blew about a lot making sun bathing difficult. Good for all the wind surfers though!

The only negative thing was at reception, on busy days, you had to queue with all the people booking in (which takes a fair amount of time) when all you want is a token for the laundry, lesson learnt, get the token when it is not busy!

The Wi-Fi was good but not good enough to Skype.

Some good evening entertainment, mostly we just listened from our own pitch, but we did go to watch a couple of times.

This was our second visit which speaks for itself as we rarely visit the same place twice!

Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Spain

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019