Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The High Hermitage Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Prudhoe > The High Hermitage Caravan Park Reviews

The High Hermitage Caravan Park
Ovingham
Prudhoe
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE42 6HH
Tel: 01661 832250
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 1st March To 7th Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 21 Reviews
                7/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Shaun mac 2 reviews from this member

 Just one recommendation, you need a mirror in the gents toilets to enable people to get a shave as most travellers do not carry mirrors with them, especially if they are travelling light. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Karon266 1 review from this member

 Adam the owner is very friendly and helpful and the site is beautifully located. This site is really a tent site and is great for walkers etc.

HOWEVER it is massively overpriced for the facilities offered to tourers and totally unsuitable for mid sized caravans upwards. Ours is 6.2m long and we had to park sideways to fit on the pitch and consequently no room even for a porch awning.

Access to each of the caravan pitches is so tight a motor mover is vital. Adam offered to moved us (using a tractor) onto the grass but there is a very steep slope on to this and I feared the van would ground.

There was also a real possibility of being blocked in by other caravans. I also had concerns over the spacing of vans and cars in such a tight space.

We paid £30 per night for very basic albeit clean facilities which total one gents toilet, one urinal and two ladies toilets, one shower and one washbasin in each 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EstherP 23 reviews from this member

 We stayed here whilst cycling the Hadrian's Cycleway on our tandem. Good welcome from the site manager who was helpful and easy to get hold of on his mobile.

The toilet block is basic looking (a lick of white paint would brighten it up no end) but it was clean and the shower was warm and steady. The drains did smell a little bit and the hand dryers are noisy so if you are a light sleeper you might want to pitch the other side of the camping field. We made use of the laundry facilities - it cost £8 to wash and dry all our kit in the big machines and it was worth every penny to have everything smell lovely after some damp days on the road and an overnight flood the previous day! There is a covered veranda where you do your washing up and there is a washing line here for hanging things to dry too.

A really good site for walkers and cyclists. The Swan pub does excellent food but doesn't do evening meals on Sundays. Good micro pub in Prudhoe - wor local - very kind landlady who let us eat chips there and the regulars were welcoming and friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beerswiller 1 review from this member

 Arrived early Sunday afternoon 9th July 2017. Gave Adam a call who showed us to our spot.

We had a Tent and paid extra for electric hook up which cost £25 per night, we stayed three nights. The location was perfect for myself and wife.

The site facilities are adequate for what we wanted, some probably would say there wasn’t much. It would be pointless bring children as there isn’t much for them. The site is quiet where the campers respect the owner’s rules.

There is only one shower and one toilet for men and one shower and two toilets for women. It did get a slightly busy one morning when more people arrived with tents. Everything was clean but Adam! please fix that dodgy tap where campers do their washing up. ?

The site is just for relaxation and is brilliant for public Transport especially the Train. To the left out of the site takes you to Wylam where there are a few pubs and one superb pub called the Boathouse, right beside the Station. This had 14 hand pulled Ales, a must for the Ale lovers. The distance from site is 1. 4 miles.

In the other Direction is Ovingham where there is another great pub called “The Swan”. Meals in there are fantastic, there are four hand pull beers but nothing to excite the beer lover. The Swan is 8/10 th of a mile and is easy walkable. A little further around the corner and over the bridge is Prudhoe railway station 1. 4 miles from the site. Here you can get to Carlisle, Hexham and Newcastle. The fare with a rail card was £3. 45 return to Newcastle Central.

Wylam does have a few small shops and a couple of take away’s should the campers get a tad hungry whilst Ovingham had a Londis which sold pretty most things. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sdonovan4444 1 review from this member

 A very basic campsite for the price. No toilet paper in any of the toilets for the duration of our stay. The only plus was the roofed pavilion where we could sit out of the rain.

For Wall-Walkers, there was a convenient bus from Ovingham Village (very short stroll from the campsite) to the Three Tuns in Heddon. Although we took the bus back to Heddon in the morning, the bus had refused to stop for us in Heddon the previous the evening for no known reason. We had to spend the extra on getting a taxi to the campsite. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rob-ger 1 review from this member

 We chose this site for the easy reach of Hadrians Wall. It's a lovely natural setting just across from the banks of the River Tyne. Within easy stroll of two pretty villages with an abundance of pubs.

The caravan pitches are on the snug size and you will need levelling blocks but Adam has left plenty of resources to help. Campers are very well catered for with the wet weather shelter and washing up facilities.

The toilet and shower facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. We would like to wish Adam all the best with his future plans. 


Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Davie T-boy 17 reviews from this member

 Arrived on site expecting too much perhaps. Tiny little spaces for tourers etc, and had to park motorhome at a funny angle just to get it parked. Facilities very dated, and we had a large shed/building close to us (in owners garden I think), and there was a Rock Group practising in there - very loud, but very poor!

Then Bonfire night - the owners set off their fireworks right next to our van, in the garden where the wannabe rockers practised, and the next morning expended and used fireworks all around us! Dire site and deeply unhappy with fireworks part of it.

Avoiding this site is a definite action for us in the future. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Effe151 1 review from this member

 We arrived late on the Friday evening, called the site manager Adam as he was not there when we arrived, told us where to park and we were able to pitch tent wherever we wanted too within the tent area.

Adam popped by to make sure we were alright, the tent area is lovely. Kids were able to play on tree swings and run about during the day, shower and bathroom facilities are basic but clean. There is a bench area where you can sit and have lunch.

Adam popped back to make sure that we were fine and is always happy to help when needed. We will use the site again in the future. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ddave489 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night at this campsite, nice little place and the owner was very friendly and helpful. Being able to use a fire pit is always a bonus and the toilets/showers were pretty good to,

My only negatives are that it's quite expensive at £10 per head for just a basic pitch and they don't allow dogs, if it weren't for these 2 things we'd be back a lot more often. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mogs70 12 reviews from this member

 This site is not really suitable for larger vehicles, although there was a long caravan at the end - I'd have liked to see them get it in! Very narrow and tight turn into it. Sloping, so even with our blocks, still not level. More suitable for tents, plenty of space for them.

Toilet block - ladies was fine, but hubby refused to wash in the gents, very unlike him! - it was awash with mud. The block is down some steps which were very muddy - would have been helpful if there had been a mat inside the block as well as outside!

Owner very pleasant.

Nearest pub the White Swan, under a mile, does good value meals and real ale.

£20 for one night. Been on better sites that were cheaper. 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The High Hermitage Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The High Hermitage Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The High Hermitage Caravan Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Prudhoe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December