Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Craigdhu Caravan Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Site Reviews

Craigdhu Caravan Site
Bettyhill
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 7SP
Tel: 01641 521273
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 90
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 14 Reviews
                5/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Kevtrix 1 review from this member

Beautiful location and views, Campsite facilities are basic but clean, Lovely family owners, Local Shop and Pub just a few minutes walk, Owners house just at the top of hill (across the road from the farm steading) also there is not the strict rules associated with most modern campsites.

My Wife and I own a static caravan on site and travel from Inverness every third weekend for the piece and quilt plus to enjoy all the beautiful things Bettyhill has to offer.

Just bliss

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Laura.breton 4 reviews from this member

There arenít many other places to camp in the area, and thatís pretty much the only reason for staying here.

The setting is lovely, on a hill with views down to the beach. But the campsite itself is in need of attention, to the extent that we paid (at the house at the top of the hill) but ended up not staying the night once we saw the facilities.

The track down through the statics is steep - when leaving itís easier to use the road at the bottom of the site. Most of the statics looked elderly and uncared for.

The field at the bottom for campers / motorhomes is grassy and sloping, but nothing some levellers wonít sort out. There are plenty of hook up points too. But there are two wrecked, ancient caravans abandoned below the field (did they fall or were they pushed?) which ruin the view and make the place seem neglected.

The toilets and showers are awful. Truly awful. The ladies was dirty and broken, and apparently the gents was worse. I canít imagine using them under anything but the most urgent circumstances!

The site was so depressing we ended up filling up with water and leaving, so it was an expensive tank of water.

Itís such a shame as this could be a beautiful site, but itís so neglected.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjacq 3 reviews from this member

What a shame. Bettyhill is an awesome little place. The site is very tired, grass desperately needing cut. Toilet/shower block needs a total revamp. The family that own it are really lovely. Just needs TLC

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Einsteinwasright 4 reviews from this member

This is a secluded hidden campsite that overlooks the valley and a sandy bay. Payment is via an honesty box at the owners house (which does overlook the site). This is a family owned business and they couldn't be nicer people.

Facilities include a toilet & shower block that although looks slightly dated is kept really clean, and the showers are really good. There are electrical hook up points (although we didn't need to use them) which are throughout the site.

We didn't bring our daughter - however there was a family with a couple of small children, they enjoyed running around the grass and playing, but other than that there isn't anything aimed at children.

There is also a pretty good pub nearby with a large selection of Whisky!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neeto 6 reviews from this member

This may once have been a pleasant campsite and it could be a great campsite. I stayed at end of August and ok we paid £10 but the toilets were unusable being either broken or disgustingly unclean. I didn't dare take a shower but they looked dilapidated and unhygienic. The site itself is full of ancient and mouldering static caravans.

This is a really shame as Bettyhill is wonderful. A spectacular and empty beach, sorry that should be beaches! A swimming pool with sauna and jacuzzi. A lovely old-fashioned village shop. A fascinating museum of local history. A great little tearoom. A hotel with friendly bar full of locals and helpful advice on their huge range of whiskies. I didn't try the hotel food or visit the local pub.

In fact Bettyhill has it all, other than an acceptable campsite and the present owner needs to do something about this for next year.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 175 reviews from this member

This site still costs £12 for EHU, on grass or on the one hardstand. It's a bargain, but if you want mown grass & posh toilets then it's an hour or two to the next site on the NC500. Fabulous views down to Farr Bay's beach, someone was surfing there, and we had the site almost to ourselves. Ladies showers (free) are new, gents are not. Toilets & sinks old but clean. No mobile or radio signal. Just silence, wild flowers, a fabulous sunset, and more birds visiting than on any other site in our week's trip. There are two entrances, one from the town (just past the excellent independent local shop) zig zags down through a few statics that you're not looking at once you've pitched up. The other, that we used as a easier exit heading east, is at the lower (beach) end. The owner is a lovely friendly chatty elderly lady, you go to her B&B on the other side of the road from the shop to pay (or put the money through the letterbox) - she doesn't come round the site collecting. We got the strong impression some 'tourers' were not paying at all, which is sad. The site has everything we need, we'd happily come back.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: PHolds 8 reviews from this member

Arrived while absolutely throwing it down with rain. Found a pitch. The grass could have been mowed it was way too long everything got so wet just walking through it was like going for a paddle. The toilets are basic to say the least. The WC looks like it was taken from an infants school, my knees were under my chin!it was so damp in there the loo roll had swollen to a formidable size. The showers were dilapidated.

Really could do with a huge face lift.

The pub just up the road (3 minute walk)food not bad, but pricey for what it was. Needs modernising and decorating, looks a bit sad.

Seems they've a captive audience both the hotel and the site with the new crop of Lands End - John O'Groats cyclists, think they ought to convert some of that into tiding the place up a bit.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2dogs n 2 humans 1 review from this member

This campsite was my favourite when I was touring Scotland recently. Stayed in other sites previously but the sheer paradise factor of the time I was at Craigdhu outdid them all. Stunning views across the bay and good weather made this a brilliant holiday. Shops with local provisions, pubs, beach and absolute peacefulness from the strain and stress of our working life.

Other reviews I have read of this site mention the poor state of the toilet blocks. Was not like that when I was there. Toilets flushed ok, hot water, showers worked too and 3 sinks to wash dishes in.

I would recommend this campsite to anyone who is prepared to 'rough it' and get back to the basics of nature. Not for anyone expecting waldorf astoria treatment but for the inner person in us all that likes peace and quiet and solitude.

I have only been home a few hours and I want to go back there now. Will definitely visit again.

Keep it as it is, no changes please.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Roving pair 28 reviews from this member

Oh dear where do I begin. The toilets washing facilities were awful not just old but dirty would not even go in. The views were lovely and only a short walk to the beach but that is it I'm afraid. Ok it had been raining but no more that is usual but we almost didn't get off the site. The only pub/hotel was under renovation but he did open for a few hours which saved our sanity as we had no TV signal or phone signal. I suppose if you want to get back to the real basics you may be OK.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kaatje 2 reviews from this member

We wanted to stay at the campsite at Bettyhill.

When we got there, we first checked out the toilet block. It was terrible so we drove on.

The rest of the campsite looked rather unkempt as well.

The campsite has a good view of the bay.

As I read the reviews of earlier years nothing has been done.

They still ask 12 pound a night.

Unfortunately the next decent campsite is as far as Thurso.

So we drove as far as Thurso an do our tours from there. Pity!

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1642 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019