Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Craigdhu Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Craigdhu Caravan Site Reviews

Craigdhu Caravan Site
Bettyhill
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 7SP
Tel: 01641 521273
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 5/10 from 16 Reviews
                5/10 from 16 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MotorhomeMand 1 review from this member

 The best thing about this campsite is the view of the beach at Farr Bay. There are no facilities at all, apart from electricity, so you are paying to park in a field. There is no running water on site, it's not child friendly and it's not disabled friendly. The owner is an elderly lady who is very sweet but appears to be completely unaware of the state of the facilities, as she will advise you that there are hot showers, laundry etc. This is completely incorrect.

Please please don't go in the facilities block - it is truly disgusting. I think previous campers have been emptying their chemical toilets in there, and there obviously hasn't been any running water for a considerable amount of time. Public toilets and The Bettyhill Hotel are a 5 minute walk back up the hill. Huge shame because with correct management and facilities, it could be a really lovely little peaceful site.

However, the £12 we paid was worth it just for the easy 5 minute walk to the completely deserted beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jamesjohnston 1 review from this member

 I have visited this site regularly over the years and it was well looked after up to when the original owner passed away. The current owner is unable to carry on the tasks.

Most of the reviews I see on this site tend to be accurate, and yes it does need modernised but yes also, it is not for people who expect pristine modern campsites.

I would also agree that any investment by owners would be quickly repaid because the village, scenery and local people are so nice. How about an upgrade and a fee raise.

I would add that there is a very nice site at Strathy long before you reach Thurso called the Halladale Inn and this would be a good alternative, with good food and bar. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Kevtrix 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location and views, Campsite facilities are basic but clean, Lovely family owners, Local Shop and Pub just a few minutes walk, Owners house just at the top of hill (across the road from the farm steading) also there is not the strict rules associated with most modern campsites.

My Wife and I own a static caravan on site and travel from Inverness every third weekend for the piece and quilt plus to enjoy all the beautiful things Bettyhill has to offer.

Just bliss 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Laura.breton 4 reviews from this member

 There arenít many other places to camp in the area, and thatís pretty much the only reason for staying here.

The setting is lovely, on a hill with views down to the beach. But the campsite itself is in need of attention, to the extent that we paid (at the house at the top of the hill) but ended up not staying the night once we saw the facilities.

The track down through the statics is steep - when leaving itís easier to use the road at the bottom of the site. Most of the statics looked elderly and uncared for.

The field at the bottom for campers / motorhomes is grassy and sloping, but nothing some levellers wonít sort out. There are plenty of hook up points too. But there are two wrecked, ancient caravans abandoned below the field (did they fall or were they pushed?) which ruin the view and make the place seem neglected.

The toilets and showers are awful. Truly awful. The ladies was dirty and broken, and apparently the gents was worse. I canít imagine using them under anything but the most urgent circumstances!

The site was so depressing we ended up filling up with water and leaving, so it was an expensive tank of water.

Itís such a shame as this could be a beautiful site, but itís so neglected. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jonjacq 3 reviews from this member

 What a shame. Bettyhill is an awesome little place. The site is very tired, grass desperately needing cut. Toilet/shower block needs a total revamp. The family that own it are really lovely. Just needs TLC 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Einsteinwasright 5 reviews from this member

 This is a secluded hidden campsite that overlooks the valley and a sandy bay. Payment is via an honesty box at the owners house (which does overlook the site). This is a family owned business and they couldn't be nicer people.

Facilities include a toilet & shower block that although looks slightly dated is kept really clean, and the showers are really good. There are electrical hook up points (although we didn't need to use them) which are throughout the site.

We didn't bring our daughter - however there was a family with a couple of small children, they enjoyed running around the grass and playing, but other than that there isn't anything aimed at children.

There is also a pretty good pub nearby with a large selection of Whisky! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neeto 7 reviews from this member

 This may once have been a pleasant campsite and it could be a great campsite. I stayed at end of August and ok we paid £10 but the toilets were unusable being either broken or disgustingly unclean. I didn't dare take a shower but they looked dilapidated and unhygienic. The site itself is full of ancient and mouldering static caravans.

This is a really shame as Bettyhill is wonderful. A spectacular and empty beach, sorry that should be beaches! A swimming pool with sauna and jacuzzi. A lovely old-fashioned village shop. A fascinating museum of local history. A great little tearoom. A hotel with friendly bar full of locals and helpful advice on their huge range of whiskies. I didn't try the hotel food or visit the local pub.

In fact Bettyhill has it all, other than an acceptable campsite and the present owner needs to do something about this for next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 186 reviews from this member

 This site still costs £12 for EHU, on grass or on the one hardstand. It's a bargain, but if you want mown grass & posh toilets then it's an hour or two to the next site on the NC500. Fabulous views down to Farr Bay's beach, someone was surfing there, and we had the site almost to ourselves. Ladies showers (free) are new, gents are not. Toilets & sinks old but clean. No mobile or radio signal. Just silence, wild flowers, a fabulous sunset, and more birds visiting than on any other site in our week's trip. There are two entrances, one from the town (just past the excellent independent local shop) zig zags down through a few statics that you're not looking at once you've pitched up. The other, that we used as a easier exit heading east, is at the lower (beach) end. The owner is a lovely friendly chatty elderly lady, you go to her B&B on the other side of the road from the shop to pay (or put the money through the letterbox) - she doesn't come round the site collecting. We got the strong impression some 'tourers' were not paying at all, which is sad. The site has everything we need, we'd happily come back. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: PHolds 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived while absolutely throwing it down with rain. Found a pitch. The grass could have been mowed it was way too long everything got so wet just walking through it was like going for a paddle. The toilets are basic to say the least. The WC looks like it was taken from an infants school, my knees were under my chin!it was so damp in there the loo roll had swollen to a formidable size. The showers were dilapidated.

Really could do with a huge face lift.

The pub just up the road (3 minute walk)food not bad, but pricey for what it was. Needs modernising and decorating, looks a bit sad.

Seems they've a captive audience both the hotel and the site with the new crop of Lands End - John O'Groats cyclists, think they ought to convert some of that into tiding the place up a bit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 2dogs n 2 humans 1 review from this member

 This campsite was my favourite when I was touring Scotland recently. Stayed in other sites previously but the sheer paradise factor of the time I was at Craigdhu outdid them all. Stunning views across the bay and good weather made this a brilliant holiday. Shops with local provisions, pubs, beach and absolute peacefulness from the strain and stress of our working life.

Other reviews I have read of this site mention the poor state of the toilet blocks. Was not like that when I was there. Toilets flushed ok, hot water, showers worked too and 3 sinks to wash dishes in.

I would recommend this campsite to anyone who is prepared to 'rough it' and get back to the basics of nature. Not for anyone expecting waldorf astoria treatment but for the inner person in us all that likes peace and quiet and solitude.

I have only been home a few hours and I want to go back there now. Will definitely visit again.

Keep it as it is, no changes please. 


Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Craigdhu Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Craigdhu Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Craigdhu Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3888 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement