Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pinewood Lodge

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Leicestershire > Ibstock > Pinewood Lodge Reviews

Pinewood Lodge
Overton Road
Ibstock
Leicestershire   (Browse area)
LE67 6PD
Tel: 01530 264477
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 10
Open: 01 April - 30 September

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 13 Reviews
                7/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Leannepage 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend camping here and we thoroughly enjoyed it (despite a bit of heavy rain and wind). Very friendly and welcoming owners, relaxing atmosphere and a beautiful location, we wanted to stay longer.

Lovely hot shower.

Thanks for a great stay!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dandansdad1 6 reviews from this member

Probably the worst site I have stopped on.

No toilet roll, drinking water from the garden hose pipe.

No Elsan that we could find.

No toilet roll, and only one toilet for both sexes to use with a glass door. Sang many a tune while in there.

Children charged £3 each to use the pool. Doesn't say on website.

On a plus the fishing is good, but charged £5 a day.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HAP50 4 reviews from this member

We had visited last May and in spite of many of the issues mentioned in other people's reviews we returned this year because it is ideally placed for many attractions, it is small and informal so we the children can play ball games without fear of being run over and because the pitches aren't marked you can have plenty of space if you need it.

Pinewood Lodge is on the market. The pleasant couple that run it want to retire and this is reflected in the standard of upkeep overall. So it needs a better toilet/shower block, it could all do with a scrub, a few paving slabs could do with reseating, the pool heating should be turned up, and some weeding/grounds maintenance is overdue. But the ambience is relaxed and friendly, the facilities adequate for a short stay (we did 3 nights), and as it isn't terribly busy (4 units on the 1/3 acre level field while we were there) there is a lot of space to spread your family.

Campfires aren't allowed but stand-alone firepits and barbecues are, so we had a lovely time camp-cooking with the kids without worrying about smoking others out. There is a well stocked fishing lake, and several of those in the chalets seemed to spend all day sitting under the trees with their rods out.

Local attractions include Conkers, Snibston Discovery Park (amazing), Leicester Space Centre and others. The local farm sells lovely eggs and the village has all the provisions shops you could need.

It cost us £15 pn for 7 of us in an 8m tent with 2 cars, without electric hook up (there are hookups, which cost a little more). The pool costs £3 per person/day; so if you are going to use it, do it in the morning and then again in the evening to get your money's worth.And remember your loo roll

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PJI101 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here with friends to try out new equipment and for our families to have a get together. The positives are that there were only 3 units on the site (2 tents and one caravan) - there is a nice open space for children to kick a ball about - but this is the ONLY positive.

If the owners are trying to sell the site I do not feel they should continue to advertise the way they are. The site was very run down - the toilet was not great (no lock and a glass rippled door). The shower was unthinkable - the smell and the dirt was shocking and there was only a curtain for privacy.

The one washbasin was also filthy. There wasn't anywhere to wash up (it looks as though they started building something but have stopped).

The pool was shut but judging from the green slime I am not sure when it was last open. The chalets are currently being used by people renting them to live in, and there were at least 4 other caravans dotted about either abandoned or people living in them.

I am sure this used to be a lovely site but not anymore. It is a shame as there are so many places to visit near-by, especially being near to the National Forest, Conkers, Snibston, Market Bosworth, bike trails etc.

Needless to say we would not return.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hapspouse 7 reviews from this member

The road was noisy and nothing could be done about that, but the one shower, in a family sized room was dirty when we arrived and dirtier when we left 3 days later. No washing up facilities, we had to use the hand basin in the shower room. The hot and cold taps didn't work, only a mini water heater over the basin which was pathetic. The toilet close by had a broken lock on the slightly frosted glass(!) door and no toilet roll. We were told to use those by the bar, which we did and these were kept cleaner.

It has the look of a site in the process of setting up, but reading other reviews in previous years, not a lot is happening. It does have potential, but they are charging full whack for grubby service. As non-drinkers by and large, the bar did not interest us. There are a few chalets and a covered in swimming pool, which we didn't use.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Scampers28 1 review from this member

What a welcoming, friendly site!

We, along with 19 other club members, stayed at the site over the Easter holiday weekend.

Our club (Scamp owners club) were very much welcomed onto the site - in spite of our muddy cars - after one day of green lanes!

The facilities were perfect for our needs.

We stayed in a chalet. They were very clean, nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and beautifully warm (just what the doctor ordered after a day in the mud!) The shower was powerful but the en suite was a little cosy!

Other members stayed in tents and caravans on a flat grassy site - a little wet due to the rain but well kept. There was a shower and toilet which we did not need as we had the en suite, the pond - with a sweet single duck - was attractive and could be used for fishing if required. The swimming pool was out of use when we were there.

We all adjourned to the bar each evening which, again was cosy and inviting with a large wood burner to keep us all warm. The drinks were inexpensive and the owners were friendly. On our last night, we asked if we could order a meal and eat together in the bar which again was considered no problem.

I would heartily recommend this site to anyone requiring a small friendly place, but for other clubs like ours, it is the perfect meeting place. A real home from home.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sam22869 3 reviews from this member

We first visited this site in May, and have revisited about 6 times since, as soon as we entered the site I was inpressed by the surroundings, a large pond where fishing is permitted (when the fish arn't breeding!), plenty of seating areas, ducks and moor hens waddling about.

The camping field is level and the grass is always freshly cut, there are 6 electric points and the field is large enough for non electric tents or caravans and still plenty of room for kids to play. One toilet and electric shower both are clean, there are 2 toilets by the bar. Drinks at the bar are really cheap, beer and shorts are only £1.20 each, pool table 20p a game, 42' TV, very comfy settees in the TV area.
Large BBQ just outside the bar, take your own food and slap it on. The owners, Roy and Jan are the nicest people you could ever wish to meet, nothing is too much trouble for them. All in all a lovely friendly camp, highly recommended by us.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrsc1981 1 review from this member

Just got back from this site, it is very small and next to a main road so was quite noisy at times, although did quieten down at night. There is a small toilet and shower,which needed a clean, plus the shower room had no door, just a dirty curtain to pull across.
There is an indoor swimming pool which wasn't heated, but as the weather was so warm didn't bother the children much. The bar is cheap and friendly, the owners are very helpful and also very friendly.
The site has loads and loads of potential to be absolutley beautiful, but really needs a good tidy up, a clean and the small jobs finishing. All in all I would return to the site as had a good time

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yoyo + claire 4 reviews from this member

We booked this site as a last minute getaway as it was quite local to us, the site is very neat and tidy and the owners very helpful. The location is fairly quite ,you get road noise during the day but that goes in the evening as the traffic dies down.
The facilities are good and toilets and showers clean too.There is a fishing lake you can use by the chalets . The swimming pool was out of action but they were getting that sorted out. The bar was cheap and they have a pool table in there and a large tv.
Ibstock is only three minutes away if you need shops, cash point etc,and the local indian and chinese takeaway deliver to the campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marieandrobert 21 reviews from this member

Shops are in nearby Ibstock including a well stocked friendly butchers and a small bakers shop. The Main Road runs along the side of the site, traffic not to noisy. Small swimming pool £2 a day. On site bar with a few game facilities plus Ample outdoor seating. The owners Jan and Roy are very helpful and friendly. There are plenty of walks or cycling along the nearby lanes.

Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Leicestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3373 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019