Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Bayeux > Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure Reviews

Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure
Boulevard Eindhoven
Bayeux
Normandy   (Browse area)
14400
Tel: +33 02 31 92 08 43
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 30th March Till 3rd November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 21 Reviews
                8/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming 5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 19 reviews from this member

We stayed on this site during the D Day anniversary which was both sad, and glorious at the same time, when you see the few veterans that are left it brings a lump to your throat.

Now to the site we would not hesitate to stay on the site again, although a municipal site the facilities were newish and spotless, following the river it is about 15mins walk into the city centre, this is well worth a visit not only for the tapestry, there are things to see, there are quite a lot of cafes and restaurants to cater for any tastes.

If we are in the area again we would not hesitate to use the site again.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wiggy010 8 reviews from this member

Loved this site, pitches mainly flat with showers clean and fairly new. Avoid if possible the pitches next to the road as it is quite noisy. Wi-fi was extended when we were there with a booster on the shower block.

Ideal position for all the Normandy beaches plus a nice walk into Bayeux.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lizzie 43 reviews from this member

An excellent site. Even towards the end of the season the site is kept in immaculate order with grass kept short and leaves being picked up regularly. The toilet block is the best we have come across in France and was heated. The reception staff are very helpful and it is possible to order bread for the morning.

The walk alongside the river into town is charming with an excellent field area where our dog was able to get a good run. Aldi is just across the road. No food vans at this point in the year but as the town was so near it didn't matter.

There was some noise as the municipal pool is being re-built but we were warned of this as we checked in and it did not spoil our stay. We loved the town and enjoyed the various museums. We would definitely use this site again if we were in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Deltheblue 9 reviews from this member

Best municipal site I've had the pleasure to stay at, the staff are friendly and welcoming speaking excellent English and happy to help.

The site is just 15mins from the town with supermarkets just outside, the grass is cut short and the grounds are impeccable. The site is ideal for all the Normandy sites. Free WiFi throughout with an excellent signal.

Food vans are at the gate most days so if you don't fancy cooking or the kids want pizza etc you can't go wrong here. Pricing is around 20 for two adults, pitch and electric. You can take a gate pass to come and go for 20 deposit which is returned when you leave. Shower and toilet block is being refurbished in time for 2018.

100% recommended.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JuneR101 1 review from this member

We checked in for a week and left after one night. Although handy for seeing the town the pitch we were allocated was rather small and underneath large pine trees. The car and unit ended up covered in dollops of pine resin which was, and still is, a pain to clean off. To be fair though there were other larger pitches away from the trees but, it seems, these were being kept clear for mowing on the day we left when a whole squadron of mowing machines descended on the site to give an interesting display of speed mowing/mower ballet!

The nearby road was rather noisy but didn't bother us particularly, and the fact that the site was on the Rue de l'Abbatoir was somewhat disconcerting.

The toilet blocks were clean but rather 'old style' and could do with a serious refurb. I only found two water taps on site and these were attached to the 'sanitaires'.

There is a large park across the main road where dogs can be run off lead and a couple of supermarkets and fast food outlets a little way up the road. The baker's van arrives around 08. 30 and gives a toot to announce his presence.

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ben.E 11 reviews from this member

This one of the best municipal sites have stayed on in recent times

10 min walk into Bayeux via riverside( sign posted)

2 loo blocks ( no paper supplied)

Hard standings for MHs

Free swim access to municipal pool next door

Free Wifi seems to work all over the site

Well tended grass areas

Madam can be a bit unfriendly but we got there in the end!

Hypermarket within walking distance

Definitely will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Smartizan 2 reviews from this member

Site is very well positioned for bayeaux centre. Pitches are well laid out with electricity. From there onwards it is downhill. Toilets and showers are basic and very outdated. Block nearest reception has 3 ladies cubicles all doors leading straight out to the walkway. No sinks to wash hands. No toilet paper. Mens urinals are in full view of passers by. Men's cubicles do not all have toilets At least one just has hole in ground. Sinks for washing up, no plugs and dirty. Site very noisy with passing traffic.

Staff very friendly. Two good supermarkets within a couple of minutes walk. Shame the basic facilities let this down. Would not recommend.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: T86C 4 reviews from this member

We turned up in early October, the site was fairly empty.

The whole place was immaculate, there were no signs of it being out of season, the hardstanding pitches were all tidy and the grass well tended.

The facilities were clean and were cleaned regularly, despite there being only a few other motorhomes on the site.

There is a motorhome service point to get water and empty grey waste. Plenty of water taps on the site.

Free wifi is available in the TV room and worked well.

There are plenty of supermarkets around the site, an Aldi opposite and Carrefour a few minutes drive with a petrol station with easy access. A 15 minute walk into the town centre with plenty to see and do.

This was our first visit to this municipal site but will return again.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Larry the bus 5 reviews from this member

Superb site. 5 hours drive out of Dunkirk. Got there about sixish so they put us in the rear part of the site. Spotless field, huge pitches all designated with bushes and shrubs. All facilities well kept, didn't risk the squat toilets but there are 'proper' toilets for you. Electric points are fitted with British three pin outlets and the continental two pin types so no problems at all. Lovely walks into town about 20 mins either by road or along the riverbank. Do not miss the market in Caen on Sundays. Hundreds of stalls. Hypermarket just across the road to the right 5 mins. Lovely cathedral town. Normandy beaches very close by. Will go back again with no reservations whatsoever. Great site at about 15pounds per night. Moved on to St Malo next.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elsiekay 49 reviews from this member

I picked this site as we wished to visit Bayeux but I wasn't expecting too much as it is a municipal site. However, I was pleasantly surprised. We had a good hardstanding pitch with hook up (no reverse polarity) and the site is very well kept with lots of trees, hedges and flowers. Aside from the occasional bit of traffic noise, you would never know you were only 10 mins walk into Bayeux centre. In fact we stayed an extra night. It was cheap at 15 Euros a night.

The showers were clean although the high roof area was a bit spidery. I just shut my eyes! The urinals are indeed outside but there is an english style gents loo and several ladies loos so, provided you remembered to take loo paper with you and looked the other way when walking past the urinals, it was fine.

I also used the laundry facilities which were operated by tokens from reception (4Euros wash 2Euros dry). The dryer refused to work but reception got it sorted.

I had tried to book by email but got no reply. In the event, there was loads of room and the young French receptionist on arrival was very pleasant and tolerant of my bad French. Some of the other reception staff were not quite so friendly and it does help if you have at least a smattering of French when dealing with this site.

There was a TV room and volleyball pitch and campers have free use of the adjacent indoor municipal pool, which we didn't use but looked great.

The tapestry is definitely worth a visit and Bayeux Cathedral is awesome. Bayeux Old Town itself is very picturesque with many restaurants, shops etc and pleasant to wander around for a few hours. There are a number of large supermarkets close to campsite which is just off the ring road round Bayeux.

I liked this site and would definitely use it again.

Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bayeux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2822 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019