Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Normandy > Bayeux > Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure > Reviews

Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure
Boulevard Eindhoven
Bayeux
Normandy   (Browse area)
14400
Tel: +33 02 31 92 08 43
Visit their website    

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 140
Open: 30/03/2024 to 03/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 25 Reviews
                9/10 from 25 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  25 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: June19 19 reviews from this member

 The campsite is located just off the dual carriageway.

We had reserved a pitch for a >8m motorhome as we know it's a very popular busy site.

We paid €19 with our ASCI card and were given a hardstanding pitch with grass alongside.

If you go out the reception gate you can easily walk along the signposted path to Bayeux in 10 min. Alternatively go out the top gate and you have the municipal swimming pool and road into town. A McDonald's, Darty and other shops are to the right. If you go up to the next roundabout there is a L'eclerc.

There are 2 washing machines and 1 dryer with tokens bought from reception. Bread can be ordered. At the weekend a van came on site and sold food.

This site is so close to all amenities no wonder it gets busy. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Maggie53 19 reviews from this member

 We found this to be an excellent campsite. We were allocated a decent sized pitch which easily accommodated our small caravan, porch awning and car. The on line booking asked for dimensions.

We arrived very early on the Monday morning having caught the overnight ferry. As pitches were available from 2pm till 12pm, I was advised to book from the Sunday night, but wasn't charged for it.

A lot of care was taken to keep the grounds in good condition, and the toilets and showers were very clean. Although there weren't that many showers we never had to wait.

It was a very pleasant walk along the river into the centre of Bayeux so we could visit the Cathedral and Tapestry and generally explore.

It made a good base to explore the Normandy coast. It was also useful having a large Carrefour a few minutes drive away.

There were also cycle routes so it was possible to explore away from traffic.

Yes, there was some traffic noise but only to be expected on an urban site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jaiash 26 reviews from this member

 The good : Good location for Bayeux town, easy walk of 15 minutes or so. Short trip for the Normandy landing beaches and the new British memorial at Vers sur Mer. Good value, especially with the ACSI card.

The mediocre: the site was busy and in the mornings there was queuing for the showers. There aren't that many considering the size of site.

The site roads are quite narrow in places and a one way system IS NOT in operation.

Electric - quite low these days at 6 amps, but we managed very well by making sure we only use one 'heating' appliance at a time, ie hot water off when boiling low wattage kettle etc.

Reception was efficient and resisted in their use of English despite me answering in France to all their questions - I expect most people like the fact they speak our language.

The bad: for us at least - the pitches are quite small, so don't expect to get caravan, awning, car and outdoor table chairs on a pitch - no awnings to be be seen in fact.

Approximately half of the pitches ar dedicated to motorhomes and are hard-standing but these are not available for a caravan when I asked about them as the ground was very wet.

Many of the grass pitches have kerbs to the road some of which will see normal cars grounded. Our pitch kerb was 5-6 inches and had some wood blocks to help gain access but the mover couldn't cope and reversing in was difficult because of various obstacles around - hedges, lamppost, tree, cars parked partially on the road with owners not around. Probably just a bad combination of things?

Would I stay again. Only if I desperately wanted to see Bayeux and what it has to offer again. 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Passma 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site. A 15min walk into Bayeux and a short drive to all of the D-Day landing beaches and War Memorials.

The on site team could not have been more welcoming, we had a twin axle and Landrover so asked for a pitch which could accommodate that and they immediately reassured us that they could sort.

There is road noise at night, bikes rallying around the streets, which isn’t uncommon (unfortunately) in a large town or city.

The electricity supply is low and so we set on 1w and still couldn’t boil a household kettle so you’ll need either a low wattage kettle or a stove top. We hadn’t brought one, but found one in a little shop in town.

Overall we’d highly recommend, a beautiful site in a fab location 🌸 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site during the D Day anniversary which was both sad, and glorious at the same time, when you see the few veterans that are left it brings a lump to your throat.

Now to the site we would not hesitate to stay on the site again, although a municipal site the facilities were newish and spotless, following the river it is about 15mins walk into the city centre, this is well worth a visit not only for the tapestry, there are things to see, there are quite a lot of cafes and restaurants to cater for any tastes.

If we are in the area again we would not hesitate to use the site again. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wiggy010 8 reviews from this member

 Loved this site, pitches mainly flat with showers clean and fairly new. Avoid if possible the pitches next to the road as it is quite noisy. Wi-fi was extended when we were there with a booster on the shower block.

Ideal position for all the Normandy beaches plus a nice walk into Bayeux. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lizzie 63 reviews from this member

 An excellent site. Even towards the end of the season the site is kept in immaculate order with grass kept short and leaves being picked up regularly. The toilet block is the best we have come across in France and was heated. The reception staff are very helpful and it is possible to order bread for the morning.

The walk alongside the river into town is charming with an excellent field area where our dog was able to get a good run. Aldi is just across the road. No food vans at this point in the year but as the town was so near it didn't matter.

There was some noise as the municipal pool is being re-built but we were warned of this as we checked in and it did not spoil our stay. We loved the town and enjoyed the various museums. We would definitely use this site again if we were in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Deltheblue 9 reviews from this member

 Best municipal site I've had the pleasure to stay at, the staff are friendly and welcoming speaking excellent English and happy to help.

The site is just 15mins from the town with supermarkets just outside, the grass is cut short and the grounds are impeccable. The site is ideal for all the Normandy sites. Free WiFi throughout with an excellent signal.

Food vans are at the gate most days so if you don't fancy cooking or the kids want pizza etc you can't go wrong here. Pricing is around €20 for two adults, pitch and electric. You can take a gate pass to come and go for €20 deposit which is returned when you leave. Shower and toilet block is being refurbished in time for 2018.

100% recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: JuneR101 2 reviews from this member

 We checked in for a week and left after one night. Although handy for seeing the town the pitch we were allocated was rather small and underneath large pine trees. The car and unit ended up covered in dollops of pine resin which was, and still is, a pain to clean off. To be fair though there were other larger pitches away from the trees but, it seems, these were being kept clear for mowing on the day we left when a whole squadron of mowing machines descended on the site to give an interesting display of speed mowing/mower ballet!

The nearby road was rather noisy but didn't bother us particularly, and the fact that the site was on the Rue de l'Abbatoir was somewhat disconcerting.

The toilet blocks were clean but rather 'old style' and could do with a serious refurb. I only found two water taps on site and these were attached to the 'sanitaires'.

There is a large park across the main road where dogs can be run off lead and a couple of supermarkets and fast food outlets a little way up the road. The baker's van arrives around 08. 30 and gives a toot to announce his presence.

The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ben.E 13 reviews from this member

 This one of the best municipal sites have stayed on in recent times

10 min walk into Bayeux via riverside( sign posted)

2 loo blocks ( no paper supplied)

Hard standings for MHs

Free swim access to municipal pool next door

Free Wifi seems to work all over the site

Well tended grass areas

Madam can be a bit unfriendly but we got there in the end!

Hypermarket within walking distance

Definitely will be back! 


Previous     25 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Municipal Des Bords De L Aure dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bayeux      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Normandy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2880 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement