Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Le Vieux Port

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Messanges > Camping Le Vieux Port Reviews

Camping Le Vieux Port
Plage Sud
Messanges
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
40160
Tel: 0033 01 76767000
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 8 Reviews
                9/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Judeandmikesmith 9 reviews from this member

 We only stayed one night en route, which we pre-booked. The 40 euro booking fee made this the most expensive site we stayed on by far! Having said that, we enjoyed our stay. We were allocated a pitch near the beach, which was great. The only odd thing was that, despite the fact that none of the nearby flatter pitches were occupied, our allocated pitch had a severe slope, which meant that we had to sleep either uphill or downhill if we didn't want to roll sideways all night. Surely, as we had paid so highly in order to pre-book, it would have been better to give us a flatter pitch?!

The site facilities (pool, fitness area, laundry) were excellent - and not too busy in September.

We ate in the restaurant (although I don't think that this was actually part of the complex as such). When I asked for water with my wine, I was asked what size water I wanted and a bottle of Evian was delivered. This is the only time I have ever been charged for water with wine in France. Usually you get a carafe of tap water free of charge whenever your order wine, in my experience.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would use the site again despite the few quirky things mentioned above. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Belinda Gregor 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic site for all the family for all ages.

We have been twice, and the second time was even better. We stayed in a Safari Tent, which was 'glamping' to say the least with our 7 year old son, and the location is perfect, with trees everywhere, plenty of space & brilliant facilities.

Lots of swimming pools (our son learned to swim here!), slides and big play areas, a lovely shop with fresh daily bakery. Easy cycle routes, a 5 minute walk to the beach, Supermarché with diesel close by, but not too close.

Le Vieux Port is such a beautiful town with a great local market, lake and restaurants.

Visit this camp site, you will not be disappointed 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madhouse007 11 reviews from this member

 Our party totalled 13 and the kids ranged from 3 to 15 years old. All of us were situated in Green area and staying in Keycamp Supertents. We visited in August, so the site was almost full to capacity. We booked this campsite for 12 nights in full knowledge that it was large and would be noisy/lively (as is our group), however we weren't prepared for that noise to be 24/7.

The pool area is too small for the number of pitches and sunbeds are almost impossible to come by. The main pool looks like human soup at peak times but well supervised by the lifeguards.

The bars/restaurant/takeaway are outside the boundary of the campsite and seem to fall outside of the jurisdiction of the camp security. One of the bars turns into a nightclub type place in the late evenings but doesn't seem to have a closing time. Also, the open area between bars and the car park is frequented by large groups of teenagers, and the smell of marijuana is strong most nights, I have to say all were very well behaved and not intimidating in the slightest.

However, as our tent was on the site's version of the M25 (pitch V77, opposite the tennis courts) this meant that everyone staying on this side of the campsite had to walk past us to get to their pitch. And as the late bar didn't appear to shut until very late, groups of revellers would crash past our tent until 5-6am. We didn't get one full night's sleep (even copious amounts of alcohol ourselves didn't do the trick!). The etiquette of not cutting though an occupied pitch didn't seem to apply to the French and teens (and older) happily chattered through at 4am. Discussions with the Keycamp reps fell on deaf ears.

Having said all this, if you were on a pitch further away from the 'action' you would probably have a much quieter time - the thing we found galling was that security would patrol just after 11pm and if we were talking (quietly) outside our tent, we would be told to be quiet, but the same patrol had disappeared by 4am! Obviously a group of middle aged parents is easier to quieten than stoned/drunk teens!

Toilet blocks were very clean, given the amount of traffic using them, however the use of the shower cubicles as an acceptable place to be intimate was disturbing - especially to my 11 year old son. Not really what he needed to hear at 9pm!

Bike hire was a non-starter as the lady in charge refused us hire day after day, despite having racks of bikes lined up outside - saying they were all booked up - even though we'd booked some of them!

The area is stunning, proximity to the beach is fantastic and the safety precautions in the sea are the best we've seen anywhere - we felt quite safe leaving our 14/15year olds on the beach all day, wave jumping, knowing that there were lifeguards should the need arise.

Port d'Albret is a 10/15 minute walk away and very pretty.

If we were to return to the area, we would probably opt to stay at the site next door, which was Camping Albret and use the bars/restaurants on Port Vieux (pool was a waste of time with the beach so much fun).

Also, a visit to the 'Bull Fight' on site is a must - absolutely bonkers (and not a fight at all!) worth every euro! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: REK1 17 reviews from this member

 A fantastic location - access to long sandy beach through sand dunes, lovely surrounding area with lots of pretty quaint villages and purpose built small seaside resorts. Flat area in pine forest with a network of cycle routes which we found an excellent way to explore the local area.

The beaches are beautiful but swimming in the sea around here is not for the faint hearted. Most days we were there the waves were big and crashing with a very strong undercurrent which comes straight in to the shallows and can knock people over who are only in the water to their knees.

Very popular with our children (11 and 13) who are confident swimmers and love the body boarding. The life guards are very on the ball and strict - quite rightly so.

The site is very big and busy and not my cup of tea. There is no personal touch. Very congested near the entrance with pedestrians, cyclists and cars - there are 1500 pitches so possibly 6, 000? people on site during high season.

Difficult for our children to keep a track of their friends due to the size and we were always getting lost. The pitches are small, sandy and in our case sloping.

All of the facilities are outside the site and with the exception of the toilet cubicles and pool area there are no bins on site. Toilets and showers clean and fine and site generally well kept.

We had a brilliant holiday but won't revisit this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Carrieon 1 review from this member

 We stayed here twice, a family of 7. The first year kids ages were 1, 1, 3, 3 & 6, the second time the kids were 2, 2, 4, 4, 7. We stayed in 4 bed mobile home both times and really enjoyed it. The facilities are superb. 5 or 6 swimming pools with slides and toddler area. Plenty of sun beds and space ( early June both times). 2 big playgrounds, outdoor gym machines, spa, restaurants and bars on site, take away available. Kids clubs however we didn't use them. Night time entertainment. Spar on site. Large super you few mins down the road. Beach access from site, football basketball tennis table tennis all on site, lots of laundry facilities, public bbq areas. I have no bad points about this site. We were far enough away from reception and entertainment that it was nice and quiet. People were friendly, mostly French and Spanish with very few English, irish or German. The local towns and area is quite nice and we visited other beaches in the area. 45 minutes from biarritz and a hour from San Sebastian in spain, both of which we visited, we even took a spin to lourdes on the only rainy / overcast day we had. Overall a beautiful site in a forest/beach area. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Clarybel 4 reviews from this member

 Had a super holiday here. Very family orientated and busy. Well kept. Showers very clean and good working order though had occasional queues at 5. But it was high season and a full campsite.

Pool good, and same old problem of sunbeds reserved by towels, and no sign of owners. Nice little snack bar by the pool, where you could also buy a beer.

Lots of eating options on site, and evening entertainment, predominately in French, that made it much more fun.

Beach absolutely fabulous but no train any more, so a bit of a hike in the heat with little ones. Its a tarmac path through the dunes, down up and down, some go on the bike but unless you are super fit forget it!

The waves can be huge but this isnt an issue for toddlers right at the edge running in and out, but maybe for older children who are not confident.

Forget Super you at the end of the road, its packed serving all the local campsites and a complete hassle! Drive to the next town down and there is a Carrefour, much more civilised and reasonable.

Its a nice area to explore, though we did get a bit fed up of pine trees after a bit!

If anyone is looking to book with a company Venue and Keycamp have tents pitched on the last row before the beach path, so may be worth asking about those. We were located in that area and would recommend it. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Selseybill 1 review from this member

 You can book direct with the camp owners for your own tourer or tent.

Great family site,clean and friendly.Set in a pine forest backing on to sand dunes.We have stayed here 4 times now and are returning in may 2010.In high season it can be hard to get into the swimming pools unless you like getting up at the crack of dawn but the sea is only a 5 minutes walk away.Facility's including football,table tennis,basket ball,horse riding,bike hire,kids entertainers,BBQ and something I've never seen elsewhere else is a locker style fridge units.There's a small super market on site along with bar,cafe.Lot of evening entertainment but this stops about 12.00 at night so you can get a good night's sleep.We would recommend this site to anyone but watch out for falling pine cones. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Rmurray19 2 reviews from this member

 We thought it was a really good site. Big pitches, lots of shade from trees and all nicely kept. The toilets /showers etc were very modern, really clean and well laid out. No need to queue as there were loads of showers etc. In each block.

It is a busy site (but certainly not noisy or rowdy).There are a lot of activities/ entertainment on site- large restaurant, bar etc, but most pitches are quite a bit away from entertainments so it doesn't disturb you. The pool area is great- 2 large pools, plus one covered heated pool, flumes and kids pool.All very well supervised. Play area, football pitch also on site.

The beach is really nice, very clean and lots of space. Being the Atlantic coast, opportunity for swimming is limited but great surfing. The beach is accessed via the campsite and the furthest pitches are about 10min walk max. There is a 'train' that goes back and forward through the campsite and takes you to/from the beach (1 euro a trip).

The pitch was bigger than usual, plenty room for TT and table etc. EHU and water next to pitch. Fridges can be hired.

There is a Super you shop about a mile away and lots of nice small villages along the coastline.

Would certainly recommend the site to anyone going to the area. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Le Vieux Port child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Le Vieux Port have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Le Vieux Port?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Le Vieux Port dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Messanges      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet New Forest Caravan & Motorhome Show 21/05 to 25/03
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4046 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement