Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Onzain > Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny Reviews

Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny
Onzain
Onzain
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
41150
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Statics only
Open: 20/05/2022 to 09/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 9 Reviews
                7/10 from 9 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Gertie100 2 reviews from this member

 Spent a week here in July with husband and 3 kids.

Had a 3 bed elegance caravan with covered terrace which was lovely. Clean, tidy, and the bottle of wine on arrival was drunk quite quickly!

Only complaint for the caravan was the main double bed. I found it extremely uncomfortable and had trouble walking by the 2nd part of the week (existing back issues)so spent a few night on the sofa which I found a lot more comfortable!

Nice size site, not too big or small. We felt comfortable letting the kids loose from day 1.

Pool complex was great. Kids absolutely loved it and would have spent all 7 days there had we had the weather. Lifeguards perhaps slightly over zealous, but better than way than the other.

Restaurant/bar area - slightly overpriced, but I feel it is the nature of the beast.

Shop has a great selection of wine!

Entertainment - they try really hard at this site. You could even say they have delusions of grandeur. If they took their aspirations down slightly and stopped trying so hard it would be better.

Lidl and Casino supermarket only a few minutes away which makes life very easy.

Also the local vineyard in Onzain was lovely and we bought a lot of wine back (better value than the supermarkets)

Locally, so much to do. Visited 3 chateaus and saw Leonardo De Vinci's tomb which was a bonus as we didn't know it was there!

Also stopped at LuLu Parc which the kids loved. Didn't spend all day there which I know a lot of families do, 4 hours was enough! Loads of inflatables, play areas etc. Worth a visit.

Also the restaurant next door to LuLu Parc was great. Good food, not overly expensive and line dancing on a Monday night. Was a sight to behold!

All in all a good site with reasonable prices for static hire. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Helenh 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 10 days in a 3bedroom Elegance caravan with terrace. The caravan was spotless and we really appreciated the terrace which doubled the living space. A lovely touch by Siblu is a bottle of wine and some wineglasses set up for your arrival.

Staff on site are excellent, very friendly and helpful. Our boiler failed one day, and a technician was at the caravan 20minutes after reporting it.

The toilet/shower blocks were kept spotlessly clean also. The camping pitches looked to be a decent size marked by trees and some by small hedges, the ground was very hard, so rock pegs would probably be needed.

The pool was FREEZING but the kids enjoyed it, and it is nicely set up. Ping-pong tables are spotted around the site and we had fun having little tournaments amongst ourselves.

There is a Lidl 5 minutes away in Onzain and a little bit further in is an inter-marche, with petrol station.

There are plenty of places to visit within an hours drive. We visited Chateau Chaumont (10min away) and Chenonceaux (1hr away). Blois is 25min away and the dragon show from the House of Magic opposite the Chateau was great. The House of Magic was reasonably priced to enter and was good fun. Zooparc de Beauval (1hr away) which whilst expensive we felt was worth it.

I wouldn't hesitate to visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mwrich 1 review from this member

 Not an easy site to find from the village - larger signage needed.

Excellent site for small children - plenty of activities. However - being a captive audience so to speak, the prices at both the bar and the restaurant were rather expensive. A two course meal for two, a small beer and a large beer came to 45 Euros +.

The local supermarket was just a few minutes drive away so stocking up with basics was no problem.

While the toilet blocks were clean, one block did not have any hot water for two whole days. Pitches were generally OK, a few protruding tree roots but nothing to cause serious inconvenience.

Would still recommend this site despite the drawbacks mentioned 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cleowales 1 review from this member

 We had a fantastic time at this park in our first time abroad in a tent. Our pitch was large and shaded and were situated right by a beautiful lake. The toilet and shower blocks were fine, there were, for some reason, a toilet and shower which were out of action for our whole stay, but they were cleaned regularly and the water was always hot. The site is small, but very well laid out.

The pool complex is great for kids, with slides and separate pools. The main pool was absolutely freezing and not very pleasant for the little ones. There was a small children's pool which was nice and warm and an indoor pool which was average temperature. A few kids parks, which out two little ones enjoyed. The evening entertainment was ok - kids enjoyed - and to be fair was put on by the multi talented day lifeguards!

The shop on site is very expensive and shuts during the lunchtime - as I found out when I needed to get something for lunch! (closed for about 2 and half hours!) Used the kids club - 'Bubbles' for 1-4 year olds, where you have to stay with your child and 'Pirates' 5-9 year olds. Both my kids enjoyed these and seemed to be run pretty well by French and English staff.

The local area is gorgeous and we particularly enjoyed Blois and Amboise. There is not a lot close to the park and you have to take a car to the nearest shops (or bike for the more adventurous). This wasn't a problem for us but if you wanted to go for a meal in the evening you would have to drive (miss out on your glass of wine!) Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Had no problems while we there and would definitely recommend it and stay here again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bazzerg 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site having spent two weeks on site june/july.

Not as noisy a we were led to believe from reports read elsewhere.

Pool complex good but only small, luckily the site was not to busy, which leads me on to my biggest gripe with this site. Shower and toilet blocks. There are two separate blocks and for the duration of our stay the gents side of one block was locked shut. The other gents block had two permanently locked out of order showers leaving just two for the site, and one of these was only working during our second week.

The gents also had only one working WC for the whole stay. The ladies blocks had a similar mix of working and closed facilities. The food prep sinks were filthy with no plugs for the sinks, the blocks were allegedly cleaned every day.

The bar was as the norm in France, expensive 4.5 euro for 50cl of draught beer. Never used bar or restaurant. Entertainment most nights could be heard from the touring area but not too loud and stopped midnight or before.

Site was well placed for visits to Blois Amblois Loches etc and in a quite rural setting. Pleanty of trees for shade on site. Local town Onzain has an Intermarch supermarket with fuel, gazole at 1.09 euro litre. Several ATM in town. Stay paid for with Tesco vouchers which is the only reason it scores a 5 out of ten for value, if I had paid it would be 2. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Michael.blakeney 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this site, and we were very impressed with the whole experience here.

We booked via Siblu in a virtually brand new mobile home complete with a large covered deck terrace.

The route from the Eurotunnel was fairly straightforward, however my Tomtom took us around Paris' notorious Boulevard Péripheriqu on the same day as the French FA Cup final day, so the traffic was pretty terrible. Needless to say we used a real map to navigate on the way back home avoiding Paris this time!

The weather during this week started with rain for the first 24 hours, but cleared up for a very warm week, there is usually a bit less rain in this region compared to the western parts on the Atlantic coast, so tend to have slightly have better weather.

The Pool (one covered and the other uncovered) were in very good condition, as were all of the facilities on site. Very well maintained in all areas. The bar was small but the staff friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this site.

The roads are very quiet, so safe to cycle into the village of Onzain with the kids, or if you are a bit more adventurous, you can head for the main Loire à Vélo cycle route which is only a few KM from the campsite, from here you can get to other parts of the region on bicycle, or take a ride to the magnificent Chateau Chambord.

There were a number of UK tourers staying here in Caravans and tents, some said they were down there for the whole summer.

I would give this site about 8.5 out of 10.

One things we noticed on the last night, which was Friday 4th June, there was some kind of French Bikers convention which was held on an adjacent farm, there was a lot of noise until the wee small hours, sounds like they were partying hard, doing doughnuts, loudly comparing tattoos, that kind of thing, for most of the night. So please check with the site before you book. Just in case. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Floss35 1 review from this member

 Have just had a great week at this campsite so felt had to update reviews as site has improved a lot since last year. All areas clean and well kept, even round the bins and recycling area. Yes the outdoor pool was still a little chilly, but fine on the hotter days. Children loved the games room with pool table and racing games etc, plus plenty of computers for surfing. Didn't try out the bar or restaurant as exchange rate meant everything so expensive. Children's clubs very friendly and organised, everything in French and English. Several nice little play areas. Fantastic goats cheese place 100m down the road and visited very friendly 'cave' to stock up on local wine - they didn't speak any English and our French very poor, but tasted everything! Reception very helpful too. Our first time to a Siblu camp, but so much better than expected. Lots of French as well as English. Would certainly consider going back one day. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Steve + Lisa 7 reviews from this member

 Seems like we were there at the same time as Tim in the previous review.

How true his words are. Sorry about the following rant.

The site is difficult to find although the entrance from the road is impressive with flags flying. We were all excited until meeting the receptionist. Everything seemed too much trouble. We were handed a map of the site and given a key for the caravan. Could we find the van?? Nope. Driving up and down embarrasingly my wife took the key to try vacant caravan doors. Two steps onto the pitch and disaster. Her shoes sank into the plot (Granted the weather wasn't perfect but come on! This was taking the pee). Luckily this was our caravan (No number on the plot but where plots did have numbers they were on the wrong ones - Granted by the end of our stay these were changed following an amusing display of french workers driving up and down as we did scratching their heads - And Tim said the entertainment was mediocre). Anyway after driving round to our parking space in front of the caravan we unloaded. There were planks laid to get us from the road to the decking but not out of the car. The car then almost got stuck. The clutch almost burnt out so we decided to park and block the road (Sorry to all those who tried to pass). Needless to say the condition of the ground was awful. These were clearly recently laid sections that shouldn't have been used until the Summer at least (The touring pitches do seem to have good services laid on though).

Despite the poor plan we found the site nicely laid out (although it was only 10% full). There were plenty of play areas and there is a small goats cheese farm in walking distance. The pool is OK. Was too cold for us to use the outside pool but the indoor pool was adequate. I do have doubts over whether the size of the pool is adequate when the site is full and it closes at daft times.

We used the restaurant a couple of times. Despite being a little disorganised we found it OK. The bar doesn't open until 6pm at which time there is a well worthwhile happy hour (Half price drinks including draught Leffe and Hoegaarden). The bar staff were always happy to see us, or at least appeared so which is appreciated when the rest of the staff seem grumpy.

The Van:

Very nice. The downside is that they are Euro plug sockets. We hadn't taken adapters because the literature stated that we would have UK plugs or two adapters. The inventory we received stated that we would have 2 adapters which we didn't. The receptionist didn't have any either and informed us we would have to wait until the next day. At 9.30am she didn't have any. One trip to Leclerc enabled us to get one. At the end of the day she had obtained one and demanded a 10 euro deposit 'because people steal them' even though we should have had two of them. She also said they were difficult to get hold of and was impressed by the fact that we managed to source one. She obviously doesn't get out much.

I really hope they sort this site out because it is in a nice rural and convenient location, great for exploring such a beautiful region. Unfortunatley Siblu lack organisation and customer relations on this site. We will return to the fabulous Chateau Des Marais Keycamp/Eurcamp site in future when visiting the region and not this site sadly.

Top tip: Leave this site alone until 2010. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim Smith 8 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at the end of May 2008, and are eager to pass on our observations.

Now this might sound complicated, but my Wife, my Son and myself actually hired an on-site chalet, which was quite nice and comfortable, even if it didn't have an oven or means of toasting bread (Top Tip: Take your own toaster!), but my Sister and her Husband dragged their Touring Caravan down to the Loire to join us, and this review is primarily for those of you who wish to do the same. (Take your caravan/Tent that is, we don't intend to go back to this site)

Quite frankly, we were all a little dissapointed with the site, and in particular with Siblu. Accepted, we went in late May and it did rain for most of the time, but even so, all but one of the toilet blocks were closed, and the one which was open only had one ladies WC and one Shower, which was too small for my sister to dry herself in, which meant a dash to the caravan in a towel!

The Pool was open for two hours in the morning (as was the very expensive on-site shop) closed for two hours at lunch and re-opened for four hours in the afternoon.Why?

Evening entertainment was basic:. Karaoke, Bingo, Pub Quiz etc

The welcome pack for us in the chalet was OK but was not an option for my sister, which meant that she never had a pass code for the barriers, (She could have asked for one, but we toured all together, and so wasn't actually needed until the day that we left, but should have been issued as a matter of course)

The touring pitches were sited under trees, which is not good for tents and awnings which may be damaged by Tree Sap, and the ground was muddy and soft. The site had recently been shared by Eurocamp, and Siblu had not dismantled any of the tent frames which were left behind, so there were pitches with 'dead tents' dotted about the place. There were no illuminated path markers, which meant that the trips to the evening 'entertainment' were frought with danger, especially if you walked into one of the aformentioned tent frames!

Directions to the camp in the sole piece of litriture which Siblu sent us prior to us leaving England, were basic in the extreme: 'Go to Blois and follow signs'. Not good if coming from the North - where England is! If they had supplied a Map, like Eurocamp and Keycamp do, it would have been better, It was fortunate that we took our old Eurocamp map with us.

Caravaners beware, the entrance to the site is on the apex of a blind bend, so you either have to approach from the south and swing out onto the other side of the road to get around the corner, which is a little dangerous, or approach through the narrow streets of Onzain and cut accross, with the risk of crazy speeding frenchmen smashing into your caravan around a blind corner. Either way it is not the safest campsite to get into!

Maybe in the height of the season, this camp could have the potential to be very good, but out of season, the camp was dissapointing and Siblu could learn a bit about customer relations if the look towards Eurocamp or Keycamp, because there was no effort made by anybody on site (or prior to us leaving the UK) to make our break anything other than basic, and for the money, I think my sister would have preferred to pitch her caravan in the Municipal site in the town rather than on this site.

Sorry Siblu, but we wouldn't recommend you to either Tourers or Static Hires, especially out of the high (and expensive) season 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Siblu Villages Domaine De Dugny dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Onzain      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6856 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement