Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hellesveor Holidays

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > St Ives > Hellesveor Holidays Reviews

Hellesveor Holidays
Hellesveor Farm
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR26 3AD
Tel: 01736 795738  or  07840 067956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 11
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 24 Reviews
                8/10 from 24 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Valte 2 reviews from this member

 So good we booked for next year before we left.

Absolutely fantastic little site. Mel and Andrew couldn't be more helpful or friendly, we arrived early but no an issue as our pitch had been vacated. Our pitch was fab and really can't recommend highly enough.

We stayed a week in a motorhome and it was so lovely and peaceful. Its dog friendly and most people seemed to have dogs with them.

Facility's were good and clean.

The surrounding areas are beautiful and well worth an explore. These's a lovely walk both ways along the coastal path but please make sure you have good foot wear as its a rockey path both ways. It takes 20 mins to get to the path from the site.

There are three little co-ops in the town and a bigger tesco but that's the other side of St Ives and would take at least an hour to walk and its very hilly. We hired a car so got about in that. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Magsons1 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site, clean tidy and well maintained. Facilities were really nice and could not be faulted

Andrew the owner was so helpful and friendly, as was his wife who asked if everything was ok, and gave us a cheery smile every time she passed by.

I would certainly recommend a stay here as itís such a peaceful site on the outskirts of st ives, with the coastal path down to town in edge of site.

St Ives, absolutely stunning. I wish we were there all the time. Views are spectacular along the coastline.

A must for anyone visiting Cornwall. Plenty of shops, fish and chips were the best, as was the pasties.

If we return or should I say when we return to Cornwall we will hopefully be booking with Andrew and Melanie as you couldnít fault this site, which was absolute value for money.

A big thumbs up for Hellesveor 👍👍👍👍👍 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Harryhallsdad 1 review from this member

 Our stay was a late call and Hellsoveor were able to accommodate us on a motor home gravel pitch which was a first for us.

Although nice not having to faff with levelling the van we felt out of place surrounded by larger motor homes and the people who drive them!

Hellsoveor have two lovely camping fields that accommodate tents and vans but unfortunately not available on our late call trip.

The site has extremely modern clean facilities. We visited just as lockdown finished and there was extra cleaning visible.

Mel we very welcoming and I am sure would have entertained more communication in normal times.

This was our first visit to St Ives and there may have been campsites closer to town but I guess no camper can avoid the CLIMB out of town and although we found a few alternative routes itís a committed journey.

Overall, I would stay here again without question, we enjoyed having our dog with us and sitting around an off ground campfire. With older children the walking wasnít arduous in fact it was delightful in beauty and the social communication along the the way! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jomead 1 review from this member

 Absolutely lovely site, very friendly owners, lovely welcome. Was even offered a cup of tea when we arrived.

Would definitely return to this lovely place 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Terdz123 1 review from this member

 I just turned up without booking after a long drive and owners was very friendly and helpful.

Very clean and modern site, very smart and will defo be coming again here. It's perfect and just 20 mins stroll to town.

Good price too 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PBAllen 2 reviews from this member

 A beautiful little site with a wonderful warm welcome from the young owners. ( I walked the coast for 12 days - this is the only place I was brought a cup of tea on arrival!)

They've really gone to town on the facilities with a lovely timber-built block.

There are 3 (or maybe more) small fields for camping, with access directly to a footpath down to the coast (1km). It's a great spot on the edge of St Ives - a taxi home was around £6-7 if I remember correctly. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cathee 1 review from this member

 I camped here for a week, and was given an exceptionally warm welcome. I was given help and advice whenever I needed it.

As mentioned by others, the washing and cleaning facilities are superbly clean, and the water for washing & showers was just the right temperature (there was chilly sea-fog when I was there so warmth was needed). There's a washing machine and spin-dryer of you need it. The design of the washing/cleaning block is very well thought out, with a good large family room as well. The decor delighted me, being made of good quality wood and stone, designed to have clean lines and yet modern, making a virtue out of the basic essentials.

The site is flat or nearly flat - lovely for camping. The camper-vans didn't need to level the vehicles. The owners have added more flat hard-standing standing pitches this year.

This is a small site, and being kept that way by the owners to retain a friendly atmosphere. I highly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stan on tour 48 reviews from this member

 Hellesveor is a really pretty small campsite nestled at the back of a farm with access to the coastal path but cleverly protected from the wind. The toilet and washing up facilities are on as par with the best we've experienced and spotlessly clean. We visited on a weekend in July and whilst expected it to be busy were disappointed that the site was so busy with tents and motorhomes packed in very tightly. There are only 3 toilets and showers so this meant early morning queues. The owners are clearly creating something very special with this site, but a second toilet block is urgently needed and perhaps a limit on the number of bookings they take. We would use this site again as its perfect for visiting st ives, but would avoid weekends and high season. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Thecraggies 9 reviews from this member

 We visited St Ives last year and stayed at the nearby Ayr Campsite. Whilst out walking the coastal path we saw Hellesveor and it looked fabulous. So when visiting this year we booked 5 nights and were so pleased.

The site is family run and everyone is made welcome - on our last night the owners young son even sold us some mackerel he had caught that day for £1! It was delicious on the barbecue.

The toilet and shower block are newly built and kept clean amd tidy even when the site is full. Apparently additional facilities are going to be built which will alleviate the occasional queue in the morning rush hour.

You can go straight onto the country path onto the SW Coastal walk and it is 20 minutes to St Ives. Or go the opposite way to Zennor and you are rewarded with a 2 hour walk of stunning views and the Tinners Arms at the end!

St Ives is beautiful and has a couple of dog friendly beaches around the town and 4 other glorious sandy beaches for family days or surfing ( cheaper equipment hire is available in town rather than on the beach).

The Schooner Inn on the harbourside has a great outdoor frontage and good food if you want to people watch for an hour or three.

Will definitely return 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 NOTE: in October 2014 UK Campsite's Administrator wrote: 'Hellesveor Caravan And Camping Site is under new management and they are undergoing several improvements to the site. '

Two years later I have just returned from a short stay. The new owners have transformed Hellesveor into an excellent campsite.

In fact, as an experienced camper I can honestly say it is one of the best small sites I have ever used. I rate it as 10/10 - full marks.

Andrew and Mel, the owners, live on site with their young children. I found them a really charming couple and they could not have been more friendly and helpful.

The site is well-maintained and cared for. The newly-built facilities block is well designed and very stylish. During my stay, the water was piping hot and supplies were regularly replenished. There are covered washing up sinks, a free freezer, and token-operated washing machine and clothes drier. There's a family bathroom as well as individual shower cubicles.

The site caters to family groups and couples - it is not for rowdy single-sex groups - so there is a noise curfew. On the nights I stayed it was very quiet after 10pm and I didn't hear traffic noise from the nearby road.

The location is very good indeed. Hellesvore Farm is within walking distance of St Ives and on bus routes from the town centre. It is effectively on the outskirts of St Ives but also conveniently near the junction of the B3306 and BB3311 roads - this means you can drive to the site without getting caught up in St Ives itself.

The access lane is signed from the B3306 road and is fine for small caravans.

For active campers, this campsite is a good base for walking - a footpath leads from the campsite directly to the South West Coast Path.

The site is on a very gentle slope but the pitches are level. The grass is well-kept and short but the soil is a bit stony in places so take rock pegs. There are EHU points around the edge of the field. During my stay there was an even mix of tents, camper vans and small caravans. Cars can be parked beside tents.

It was very windy on the last day of my stay and there was overnight rain. Being on high ground near the coast the site catches the wind but hedges, trees and buildings offer a bit of shelter. Despite the rain the site drained well and the grass didn't become muddy.

Dogs are welcome - there were several there during my stay - and the adjacent footpath is ideal for dog walking.

To sum up, this is a lovely little family campsite which is maintained to a high standard by its resident owners. I will definitely be visiting Hellesveor again and I highly recommended it. Truly outstanding. 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hellesveor Holidays child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hellesveor Holidays?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hellesveor Holidays dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Ives      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2092 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement