Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Le Chene Gris

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Ile de France > Pommeuse > Camping Le Chene Gris Reviews

Camping Le Chene Gris
24, Place De La Gare Faremoutiers
Pommeuse
Ile de France   (Browse area)
77515
Tel: 0033 0164042180
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 346
Open: 27 March Till 1 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: TheChristerFamily 10 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights here so we could go to Paris for a couple of days. We chose the site because of the train station being directly outside the campsite. The train takes 1hour to get you directly there and trains run once an hour costing just under €20 for an adult.

I'm glad we opted for a comfort pitch as this gave us more room. The standard pitches were very small, not sure if we'd have fitted our tent with an awning on one. They also ran alongside the main road through the site, not ideal if you have young children. We were camping up the hill a bit with more of the cabins, pre-erected tents etc.

There was one small toilet block near by but the ladies only had one toilet, where as the mens had two and a urinal. Not enough and always a queue. The main block was a bit of a trek. The main block had plenty of showers and was always clean. We found it strange that the toilets didn't have paper in the cubicle, you had to take it from outside, no seats on the toilets and no basins to wash your hands, you had to go into the shower block and use a sink in a cubicle just to wash your hands.

General observations of the site was it was crammed together, accommodation close together, but we've never stayed on a big site like this so it might be normal.

Staff spoke good English but only one member of staff was helpful, we had our dog with us and needed to take him to vets for his check and worming in order to come home. Staff just shrugged shoulders and said 'I don't know'. I had to ask her to ask someone else. This person was very helpful.

Overall the site is good for a stopover or to visit Paris and Disney and I would use again for those reasons.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cherry660 1 review from this member

Overall an excellent site!

We stayed here for 5 nights over may half term with the main purpose of using it as a base for Disneyland Paris. The site is only about 20min drive away using the nontoll roads. The nontoll roads are good roads and Disney is very easy to find! I would recommend parking at the Disney village as its slightly cheaper as you pay for the hours you are there and its very close to the gates.

The site itself is very good. It was spotlessly clean and very well kept.

The outdoor pool area was a huge hit with my kids. The pool consists of 4 areas- a children’s play area with slides, an outdoor pool, a covered portion of pool and a shallow toddler pool.

The bar area was great but all outside with covered areas so could get cold on a night. The children’s entertainers worked hard and there were activities on daily. The bar prices were very reasonable and the food looked lovely from the on site take away however we never ate at the site.

The toilets and showers were kept clean and there was some great facilities for families including a baby bath area and a parent child shower which contained a large shower and a lower down one for a child the use at the same time! A negative was a lack of hot water during busy times- on a morning the water was only luke warm.

Other negatives to note were that the pitches are only small. Our pitches was not very deep and only just contained our small porch awning. Some of the pitches back onto the railway line. We never found this to be a problem in our tourer but the tent next to us stated that the noise from them disturbed them.

The wifi was also a slight issue you had to obtain a code from reception that lasted a few days however if it locked out you had to get another code and only so many codes could be issued a day. Wifi was free when we were there but they charge in high season.

Overall I would definitely recommend this site. It is an ideal location for Disney with plenty to offer on days away from the Disney parks.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Swanny65 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Chene Gris. The entrance is in the Pommeuse train station car park, so should be easily located.

The park was clean and tidy. The caravan pitches are small and packed in. Our friends twin rear axle motorhome could only be pitched by driving through a vacant pitch. The park is mainly frequented by families staying in static caravans.

The owners have used of every bit of space for accommodation. As a result there are no playing areas for older children apart from a single table tennis table next to the bar. The pool, reception and bar areas were very good. The pool was suited to the under 9 age group.

The on site supermarket was poor and had almost no stock, possibly to encourage visitors to use the on site restaurant.

Reception staff were helpful and sold day travel tickets to Paris. Unlimited zone 1-5 use for 53 Euro's for a family of 4.

On the downside there was no hot water in the shower block during the entire duration of our stay. The showers and toilet block looked new and were cleaned regularly. There was also plenty of washing up sinks - which did have hot water!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Creders 9 reviews from this member

We spent a week here over the Easter holidays as a base to visit Disneyland.

The pitches are crammed in with little privacy and are mainly hardstanding with postage size stamp areas of grass. They are mainly suited to caravans and motorhomes, the pitch we had was long but narrow and had originally been 2 pitches so we had an alternating surface of grass and hardstanding.

A long EHU lead is required but over the course of the week all of the pitches were being kitted out with individual water points and waste pipes (great for caravans not so for tents!). The electric points were 3 pin.

The sanitary facilities were spotless but no paper or soap available. There is one main sanitary block for quite a large number of pitches and I wouldn't like to say how it would be in the height of summer.

There are many statics on site which all seemed to be on top of each other, the site is terraced but level on each terrace.

The railway line runs alongside the site but after a couple of days the trains and train noise blended into the background.

The pool area was lovely but the pool heater was broke whilst we were there. The bar area is adjacent and was very nice alongside the restaurant and take away. The indoor play area was popular with the children. There is no open area for kids to play football or the like but there are 2 playgrounds with play equipment. In fact there's no grass around at all!

Shop on site was very basic but we were there on the opening week so maybe better stocked later in the season but was very expensive. Lovely bakers in town 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive. Supermarkets nearby in local towns much better stocked.

The drive to Disney took around 25 minutes on the non toll roads (5 minutes extra but current toll is 2 euro each way which adds up over the course of a week).

As a base to visit Disney its ideally situated but as a place to stay for an extended holiday I would look elsewhere.

Saying all of that we are visiting again in August for 3 nights with the sole purpose of visiting Disneyland.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Catlover174 20 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this site. We chose it for its proximity to Disneyland and for the facilities on offer, in particular the advertised heated covered pool which we felt essential for this time of year as we particularly like to swim when on holiday.

We were pleased to find that the location was excellent, being an easy drive to Disneyland, plus an added bonus of being right next door to the train station for a stress-free journey into Paris centre to see the sights.

However we were very disappointed by the advertised swimming pool. The heating was broken so the pool was bitterly cold. My kids gave it a go but didn't really enjoy it even on the sunnier days. The description of a covered pool is really somewhat misleading as actually there is no separate covered pool, but simply a small section of the main pool that has a cover over it, making it essentially just an extension of the main pool and therefore at exactly the same (very cold) temperature.

Despite being told that the problem would be fixed, the pool remained unbearably cold throughout our stay and my request for a partial refund was denied.

Another disappointing feature of the campsite was the very poor quality of the touring pitches. They have no privacy, are very cramped and are mostly gravel with a few weeds. The staff make no effort to match the pitches to the unit, so that very large motorhomes were being put on very short pitches and tents being asked to pitch on steep slopes. Our pitch was very difficult to manoeuvre onto even with our small caravan - it took 3 strong men to pull it on and prevent it from rolling down the steep bank onto the railway track! Once on, it required several wooden blocks to get it as level as possible and even then it still had quite a lean to one side!

The toilet blocks were clean and showers hot, but there was no toilet roll and no soap provided. A washing machine load will set you back 5 Euros! The kids entertainment programme was good and there was a popular soft play area for them and a much-used pingpong table. The bar area is lovely with plush decking and patio heaters overlooking the swimming pool area. The restaurant was good if a bit pricey and the takeaway snack bar was very reasonable. There is also a lovely rustic restaurant outside the campsite right next to the station with a 3 course fixed menu for 12 Euros 50 - a bargain. We had a day trip to Provins which is just under an hours drive and enjoyed 2 medieval shows - highly recommended.

Overall we have left le Chene Gris with mixed feelings and I don't think we'll be in a hurry to return.

Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Rachieb 17 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a quick Disneyland Paris fix!

3 nights in a static caravan ( very nice,and with decking,not that we used it in Oct half term!)

15 mins ish to Disney,you can either take the toll road and pay 2 euros each way,or the toll free route which is only a few mins longer,if that!

We had a lovely (but pricey) meal in the restaurant,lovely polite staff with good English.

Didn't make use of the pools etc so cannot comment on this.

On-site shop expensive (like any site though!)

Good location for Disney,also for Paris as the train station is opposite the site ( no train noise though)

Would stay here again

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DuckyCamp 5 reviews from this member

Just spent a week here (self and 9 yr old) in pre-erected tent (first time not using own tent). First the niggles. No loo roll in sanitary block, I know this is common on many sites but I still think it's a pain, especially for kids. Not all pitches have easy access to water. Our nearest point was down a steep grass bank which was very muddy and slippery - I couldn't get back up the slope with a full jerrycan, so made several trips. Also, water points are very much into the pitch and I noticed many people on pitches with water points had set up their furniture and washing etc in such a way that you couldn't get to it without moving their stuff. Final niggle, washing clothes/dishes - washing machines (5 euros) only do a cold wash, washing up water is also only lukewarm.

Now for the good bits. The site is clean and well maintained. Sanitary block cleaned regularly and plenty of hot water for showers. Staff are friendly, the tent well equipped and the beds comfortable. The pool area is suitable for all ages and was never crowded though we did tend to go later in the day. There is a small play area suitable for younger children and free use of a table tennis table.

The takeaway pizzas are very good and we had a reasonable meal in the restaurant but had a better one in the auberge across the road which does a 3 course dinner for 16 euros (discount offered for kids). The shop stocks the basics but there are supermarkets a short drive away.

The main attraction for me is the location (well signposted from the main road). Next to the station - trains every hour to Paris. 20 mins easy drive to Disney and 50 mins to Parc Asterix. 20 mins to Provins (medieval town) well worth a visit. All in all a good site and we would return.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Blongs 48 reviews from this member

We returned to Le Chene Gris again this year for our 2nd use of the Disney annual passes. We have now had 2 years, full 9 days holidays in Disney with these making them super value for us.

We arrived late at the site, well about 8:30pm and reception had closed at 8pm. We were met by the night porter for the holiday firms hired chalets, Robert, who was very nice and we agreed that I would pick a pitch and sort out paying the next day.

We had a choice of where to setup base. We did this last year as well so could find water, electric and a nice spot.

The touring pitches have been slimmed down a bit this year and more chalets put on site. Not sure what is happening but irisparc.Com are either part of vacansoleil or are taking over some parks.

There is still no toilet roll provided, I guess the chalets and tents get some provided but tourers have to provide their own.

The shop on site is expensive but we only bought bread there, this is 1E30 per stick so yeah its expensive but 1st thing in a morning I can't be moving the motorhome to the shop.

The supermarket in Faremoutier has also rebranded / been bought and we had problems paying with english cards. My Nationwide and Santander Zero cards were refused as was my girlfriends visa debit from HSBC. The cards were accepted with no problems at the fuel station attached to the supermarket though - cheapest price around.

We used the cheques again on this site bought in advance in the uk were £9 a night. We were there over a french bank holiday and there was no price increase (uk sites could learn a thing or 2).

The trains again were not a problem for us, there were a few people from England around, Polish tourers, Dutch, German, Spanish & French. The staff were all very nice and the place was clean and tidy.

I didn't find a grey waste point for emptying the MH tank so the bushes had to do near the train line when I was filling up. There is a chemical toilet disposal though with hose.

We had a lovely hot day by the pool, its all nicely laid out and safe. We didn't bother with the restaurant, takeaway or bar on this trip as most of the time we were at Disneyland or making our meals in the MH.

All in all, another great trip and we were happy with the site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Capnjack 3 reviews from this member

Le Chene Gris campsite is located only a 15 minute drive from Disneyland Paris and roughly 45 minutes from Paris. The site has around 200 pitches and also has 3 different levels of mobile homes and now offers two different levels of static tent.

We have stayed at this site before in October 2008 and May 2009 however September 2009 was our only trip camping. We stayed in a Luxury Tent (which is a Sunncamp tent) for 10 nights in September.

The pitch that we had was located 2 minutes from the toilet facilities and 2 minutes from the main reception area. This was ideally located for a family with two children under 3! The site has two main swimming pools, all of which are heated and one that is covered (note this is not an indoor pool but a covered outdoor pool) there is also a heated kiddie pool. Unfortunately we did not use the pools as we were far too busy exploring (mainly Disneyland Paris) There is also a bar and restaurant where you can sit and eat, they also offer take-away. Prices are expensive at around £10 per person. The Supermarket is very, very expensive and to actually get to the campsite from the motorway you pass two large supermarkets, I would suggest stopping there. The playground is useful for older children, but I felt it wasn’t safe for my two year old. Children’s entertainment is provided only in the height of summer.

Each pitch at Le Chene Gris is between 80 to 100m2 and has its own 10 amp electricity connection. The sanitary facilities are new and offer hot water throughout. They also have four sinks for washing up and also offer laundry facilities however we did not make use of these.

One of my favourite things about this site is the proximity to Disneyland Paris which is 15 minutes away via a toll free back route or around 10 minutes on the Motorway however this will cost you £2 each way which certainly adds up. One tip for any visitor to Disneyland Paris, if you intend on spending more than 3-4 days at the parks buy yourself an Annual Pass which includes free parking, saving yourself £8 per day and then offers various discounts inside the parks too. The difference between a 4 day park hopper and an Annual Pass is minimal.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cnutley 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this campsite for 3 nights in order to visit Eurodisney and Paris city centre. After reading previous reviews we had high expectations for this campsite. However, these were crushed within moments of arriving.

The first pitch that we were allocated was opposite the toilet block and right by a sheer drop onto a railway line. Toilet's being close were not such a bad point as we have 2 small children, however the sheer drop (with fence at the bottom - useful!) was not so good. After unloading the tent etc from the car we realised we couldn't see the electricity point. After numerous trips back and forth to reception we realised that our point was 3 pitches away and our 25m cable would not reach. Therefore we were moved to another pitch, slightly better located (but miles from toilet block). Pitch just about big enough for out tent (Vango Amazon 600) and car.

All the camping pitches and chalets were tightly packed in (bit like a refugee camp!) and there was no green area for kids to play, therefore kids were playing in the roads! The pitches were not very well tendered. Long grass, weeds and rubbish from previous tenants.

The bar facility was good and food was good but very expensive. The shop was extremely expensive, but there is a supermarket not too far away.

Beware - train station was closed, therefore not the most ideal location for our trip to Paris. We ended up driving and parking at Eurodisney and getting the train from there.

Toilet block was adequately clean, but showers had no power and just dripped water and no cold water to brush teeth. Also no loo roll, soap or hand dryer.

The only good point was eurodisney was about 15 mins away.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Ile de France

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5743 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019