Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Barry Downs Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie > Barry Downs Holiday Park > Reviews

Barry Downs Holiday Park
Barry
Carnoustie
Angus   (Browse area)
DD7 7SA
Tel: 07825 957629  or  01382 535386
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 14 Reviews
                7/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding On Site   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: January 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rjoine 1 review from this member

 Toilets were both modern(ish) and gross. Looked like they hadn't had a thorough clean since the end of high season.

Highlight was a smear of "brown substance" on the toilet door just beneath the sign asking patrons to clean toilet bowl after use.

Campsite was in a decent location not far from Dundee. They helped us get a last-minute pitch, which was much appreciated. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Darlen 1 review from this member

 Well laid out quiet site, clean toilets,

Fab restaurant with good vegetarian choices as well, good pub on site.

Have been a few times now and enjoyed on each occasion.

Handy for carnoustie or Monifieth, with bus stop at front gate. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Meleto 1 review from this member

 Site nice and clean, no kids, restaurant really good, pub very quiet, bus links into local town easy,

Bad - showers, one large cubical nowhere to shower and keep things dry, ended up keeping things in main toilet area, and constantly opening main door and closing it, I would expect a shower cubicle to be within the cubicle. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jenny2 2 reviews from this member

 Easy to find, lady in reception efficient and helpful. We got to choose our own pitch, they’re all level and gravelled.

We chose one close to the shower block (still open) due to the weather forecast!

Bar and bistro open on site, great breakfast!

Quiet site, adult only, I believe. Lots of units parked up on seasonal pitches. Now then, shower block. Ladies - two toilets and two showers. Both toilet seats were broken, one unusable unless you are into hovering. There was water on the floor coming from the other toilet, and it was dark. There’s only one strip light for the whole room. The shower cubicles are large, however there’s no stool or seat and only hooks on the back of the door.

The block was, however, toasty warm!

In short, it was fine, fix the toilet seats and we’ll be back! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Gdawso 1 review from this member

 Nice friendly welcome at reception, everything explained clearly.

Well laid out pitches, toilets cleaned thoroughly daily.

Restaurant and bar welcoming reasonable prices.

Yes we will return 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Templogin 3 reviews from this member

 I had cycled down from Aberdeen in heavy rain for the best part of the day, stopping every hour for food and drink, and to wring the water out of my socks. The roads were flooded so I was worried about how the site would be fairing. This was my first experience of a campsite that I have had to pay for, so everything was going to be new to me.

The reception was unmanned, so I went to the house and was told to just pick a spot and set up my two man tent. There was hardly anyone else around, and absolutely no tents, and with the rain coming down full pelt I was very tempted to set up the tent in the shower block! I braved the elements though and got the tent up. It was hard work driving in the Alpkit tent pegs and I managed to damage two of them badly.

The shower/toilet block was very clean. Half of the cubicles had been locked for some reason, but with so few people around this wasn't a problem. There was plenty of hot water, but one of the two open toilet cubicles had no toilet paper.

I visited the popular bar for a swift cider. The locals looked a bit wary of the soggy beardy bloke who had appeared in theirs midsts, but I can't blame them for that.

There was nowhere to put my wet clothes to dry, so I changed into dry clothes to sleep in and wore the wet ones the next day, hoping that they would dry out on my body.

I packed up in the rain and went across to reception to pay my fees, expecting it to be £10-£12 maximum. I got quite a shock when I was told that it was £20. If all other campsites were the same as this it was going to be an expensive six-week camping holiday.

All in all a dismal stay, due to the weather, in a very tidy looking campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buckland18 1 review from this member

 We recently visited the park and it was really nice me and my husband really enjoyed it, the pub on the park was a nice place friendly staff and the residents of the park seemed friendly enough too.

The cafe was good as well recently been taken over and extended and real cheap! also I think the park might have undergone some work to the toilet/shower area because the flooding problem I read about in the other reviews seems to have been resolved.

Me or my husband fail to fault this park apart from the the noises of work being carried out but it was at the other side of the park and we could barley here it! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Triciauk1970 3 reviews from this member

 Just bought our first caravan so we thought we'd go not to far for first outing on arriving here it took us a little while to get into site as it was after 5pm and office was closed we had booked and informed them it would be evening arrival.

Eventually we were shown in and given pitch on first view the place is very tidy and the shower blocks were clean but as in other reviews the showers were very small and tight for showering and changing and were prone to flooding.

The cafe on site is very nice and well priced and the staff are very friendly they informed us that the site wasn't really for people with children as there are no activities or parks on site for the kids and also that the children may only go into the pub until 7pm which for us was not a worry.

We did enjoy the site but did have to travel out with for kid friendly stuff to do and also for dog friendly walks but on a whole the site was very nice, but I would say it is not really family orientated and verges more to the older clientèle 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 On arrival the lady at reception wasn't very helpful, no change in till, told us we hadn't booked in which we did, were told to choose a pitch but the one's we did want for some reason we weren't allowed! Did not get shown where the toilets, waste disposal, water etc was. Very poor reception skills.

Toilets £5 deposit for each key. They were not as clean as they could've been. Bad drainage & no room in shower to get changed.

A bar is on site, with bingo & a man was singing who was good. The gym & hairdresser was next to the pub.

Small cafe on site we had the breakfast which was very good & very good priced.

The site is fine, there is a bus stop at the campsite entrance. Lots of beautiful holiday homes & everyone was very friendly.

Not sure if we will return to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elizabethkim 1 review from this member

 On arrival staff were really helpful friendly were shown to our pitch and manoeuvred in with ease, and were surprised to find we were allocated with a separate parking bay which was really useful. Toilets are spotless and well maintained as they go in at early hours to clean twice a day. Cafe is really good and friendly also cheap. Breakfast at 2. 50 for 7 items plus coffee and toast really nice people. The club has a great entertainment every week , also bingo and always made us very welcome. All in all a great stay and beaches are immaculate 


Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Barry Downs Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Barry Downs Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Barry Downs Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Carnoustie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Angus

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2248 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement