Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Langford Bridge Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Newton St Cyres > Langford Bridge Caravan And Camping Park > Reviews

Langford Bridge Caravan And Camping Park
Langford Bridge House
Langford Road
Newton St Cyres
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX5 5AQ
Tel: 01392 851459
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 13 Reviews
                8/10 from 13 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  13 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chris+jan 14 reviews from this member

 Arrived after a long drive, owner was very welcoming, explained we could pitch where we wanted.

Site was very quiet, only 2 other users though, with the rest looking like seasonal and a few static caravans.

Site was larger than expected from their online website. As you drive up pass the owners house, there is a few hard standing pitches, then it opens up onto the grass area.

Showers where basic, but clean, not sure about the shower curtains, wasn't a lot of privacy on trying to get dressed as your clothes and towel were outside the shower cubicle. Luckily it was quiet.

Large pond on site wasn't fenced off which could be a concern if you have children, it was quite overgrown around the edges too, which would have made seeing the edge of the pond more difficult to see. There is also a ditch/brook around the site, which was also a little overgrown.

We visited the local brewery, walking on the road, as no footpath, it would have been safer to drive due to the constant vehicles and then walking on the main road. Owner explained their is a public footpath, which goes through fields and over the railway and river, never tried it though.

Road to site from the main road was very narrow at times.

Grey and chemical waste was using the same waste point.

Cost is 23 as a couple with electric.

In all, a lovely quiet site, good base to visit places, with a couple of pubs within short drives. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mandm1 1 review from this member

 Lovely, peaceful site within easy reach of Exeter and surrounding area.

Clean toilet facilities and 'laid back' atmosphere. The whole site is flat, with a choice of sunshine and shade and no regimented pitches in the grass area that we chose, without electric hookup.

Nice dark sky at night and no site lights to spoil the 'away from it' feel.

Best approached from the south off the A377. Our satnav brought us in through Shute. Bickleigh and Tiverton. Off the southbound M5 which was not the best route to tow, even with our small Eriba caravan.

The weather forecast threatened 'thunder storms and heavy rain' but they did not happen, although we were concerned that flash flooding could have been a problem.

A pleasant stay and worth another visit.

PS Take care over the sleeping policeman as you drive in. There isn't much clearance on a loaded car! 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SarahEmmanuel 1 review from this member

 I loved it here, a little oasis away from it all.

Friendly helpful owners, everything a good basic campsite should be. Shower block always clean, nice hot shower.

It was a great place to find some peace for a couple of days.

Great for children who are old enough to be safe around a pond.

People very welcoming at this site 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Yeoblade 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed just the one night here, at 21 for 2 adults+motorhome incl EHU. On a hard standing.

An easy place to find and clean and tidy with freshly mown lawns. We visited the NT Killerteon which is close by and also found some good walks starting close to the site.

A pleasant stay all in all, we didn't really use the provided facilities though they looked pretty good. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rfrayling 8 reviews from this member

 Arrived to no owner in sight, the only message was to ring their mobile numbers. Tried this but no answer on either and very poor signal. Decided to find our own pitch. Half way through setting up the people opposite informed us there was no electric! Tried the owners again and finally got a flippant response. The power was on and off for most of the evening. Owner did come and check on us the following morning.

The shower block was freezing and not what we expected from an open all year site in February plus the water pressure is very low so you have to stand very close to the wall in order to shower. The toilet cubicles are so small you nearly impale yourself on the coat hook on back of door when you stand up. The toilet block is only cleaned once a week, but maybe that's not an issue out of season?

The chemical waste and waste water facilities are poor to say the least having to lift the full waste container into the air to empty!

Would not say that for 42 for a weekend this was value for money at all and not even offered a discount due to lack of power on first evening.

This is a very basic site and a bit run down but it is very quiet.

TV signal is good, phone is very poor and no wifi available. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Coffee 5 reviews from this member

 This site is fantastic if you like peace and quiet. I have read previous reviews and agree the speed humps are a little high, I scraped the jockey wheel of my caravan on entry, however, my car is a wheelchair accessible vehicle and with my wife's chair in the back is quite low and had no problems.

The owners also have low cars and I saw them drive over the humps with no problem, so, those who ground out it may be an indication that your suspension has had it.

The toilet block was small but functional, well kept. The owners were friendly any help full. The price was excellent, as other sites in the area were charging almost double for just a field.

I will definitely be back, it is hard to find a quiet, well run, friendly, family site at good prices. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Planem 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site - quiet, rural, but yet only 3 miles from Exeter. There are excellent bus connections to the city centre from the Exeter to Crediton main road which is less than a mile away, and the Newton St Cyres station has a limited rail connection and is about 30 minutes gentle walk away.

Trains run fairly infrequently but not overnight - and don't worry about noise, the line is at least 2 or 3 fields away and the trains very small local units rather than noisy heavy express trains!

We received a very warm welcome from the family owners, and had a choice of several attractive, level pitches, bordered by a stream, meadows, mature trees and wild flowers - the site blends into the surrounding countryside rather than being a piece of manicured suburbia so there are 'natural hazards' such as a clear-flowing stream, wild shrubs, nettles and dock to the fringes which are all part of its charm.

As long as you respect a sensible speed to negotiate what is essentially the owners front garden, ie as slow as possible in first, the speed bumps are not a problem - the owner's BMW coupe had no problem negotiating the access route, and neither did we. We were surprised that so many people had made such a big issue about them!

The toilet block and washup area were clean and nicely maintained, and a plentiful supply of hot water was very welcome! Yes, they aren't the size of a small holiday camp, but if that's what you want you are in the wrong place - 2 WCs and 2 showers in men's and ladies, a small laundry and 2 washup sinks should be more than adequate for most camper's expectations.

Overall a truly charming place from which to escape the normal routine, peaceful yet well connected, with excellent access to all that this lovely area has to offer. We will definitely be back whenever we are near Exeter. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Winediamond 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here on our first caravan outing for nearly 20 years ! Having bought a caravan rather rashly on e-bay and spending large to get it roadworthy and safe, we were keen to test it. We didn't want to go too far and Exeter was a distance we felt safe with from our base at Minehead.

We studied the UKCampsite.co.uk database and quickly found Langford Bridge which sounded fairly small and friendly with good facilities. Ideal for these silver haired explorers. Our phone call was answered in a very friendly and positive manner and we immediately warmed to this location.

Booking was simple and we arrived to find a choice of hardstandings, allowing us to practice some caravan parking capers, and settle in. The electric hook ups are plentiful and in good condition.

There were stand pipes dotted around and all placements are within easy trotting distance to the Facilities Block. Here we found 2 toilets and 2 showers in each Male and Female area. Plenty of free hot water and everything working well. There was also a covered washing up area, again with plenty of hot water and a room with a washing machine, large sink and shelving with local touring brochures and small library.

The site has a lively stream running through and a large pond with ducks. This may be a point of caution for families with very young children, they will need careful management when outside. There are swings and some biggish cages with interesting rabbits. We were very happy to be there and were made very welcome by the owners representative.

It was clear that great effort was put into keeping facilities clean in a busy period with some rainy weather and muddy shoes. Exeter is a short drive away and we enjoyed the shopping and dining opportunities. Interesting to see a very large John Lewis Store nearing completion! Also a nice Waitrose close by (our favourite) On future visits we plan to explore more of Exeter and then go a little further to the coast at Dawlish and Exmouth (many other good resorts in easy striking distance)

We also found a lovely spot nearby at Bickleigh, with a large riverside pub (almost irrisistable on a sunny day) a Mill and the Devon Railway Centre. A few miles on lies Tiverton and Exmoor. In conclusion, this is a friendly, well managed, reasonably priced, site with a fantastic array of leisure opportunities within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debi Riley 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site over 3 nights with a group of friends, in all there was about 10 tents in our group and only a couple of other tents and caravans in the campsite. On arrival our car got stuck on both the speed bumps and trying to drive off of them scraped the underside of our car quite drastically. I have read other reviews that also state this so this is an issue that needs to be resolved.

The site has a small unfenced lake in one corner and a stream on either side of the field. There was a climbing frame which the children immediately started playing on when we arrived only to be told by the owner that it wasn't safe and could collapse at any minute. There was no sign to this effect and no tape to cordon it off. About an hour later it was fixed and the children resumed their play on it.

The ground was flat and well grassed and although there were power points, the actual pitches were not defined so we basically just pitched out tents where we wanted to.

Around the field border itself were hundreds of stinging nettles so make sure you take cream for stings! By the way there are also lots of dock leaves! There is a train track a few hundred yards away and trains were running through the night when we were there, the first night it kept me awake, but the following two nights I slept through them!

The shower and toilet block caused a bit of a sticking point with me as we have camped in various sites over the last 10 years and so I feel I am justified in saying that this is perhaps one of the smallest shower blocks I have ever come across. There are only two toilets in both the womens and mens blocks, and when you are inside the cubicle there is practically no room to move, and your knees are nearly touching the door when you are sitting on the loo. This makes in particularly difficult - in fact I would say impossible - for you to take a child in there with you. Opposite the two toilets are two showers - open apart from a shower curtain each. No thought seems to have gone into this design as once you step out of the shower, you are not only right in front of the loos but are basically in full view of the door to the block and if other people are coming in and out it means everyone outside can see you! There is nowhere to dry apart from inside the shower once the water stops. The only place to dress is next to the 2 sinks - which happen to be behind the door, so if you are dressing there people can not get to the sinks and people will still be able to see you through the door window! Yes the door has a window, and although it is frosted one man walked so close to it that I was able to recognise him as one of our group. The toilet/shower block only seemed to be cleaned once a day - there was one occassion when one toilet had no loo paper in and the paper towel dispenser had run out. When there are 15+ women and 18 children on site the blocks need to be cleaned more regularly or perhaps leaving a mop in there is a good solution so people can mop the floor when they have had a shower. Certainly when I was there the floor was dirty with wet tissues, hair etc and whilst there I only had one shower, simply because the facilities were not up to scratch.

Having said all that the owners were friendly and the site was quiet and we had a nice few days there but I wouldn't stay there again on the basis of the shower block and the unfenced lake. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davebiddleston 5 reviews from this member

 After reading the other reviews, I was quite looking forward to our visit. The site is in a very quiet rural location and at this time of year, we were almost entirely on our own. The grass was green although the site lacked 'landscaping' or flowers etc. Sadly though, I feel that this site is quite disappointing in one or two aspects.

Firstly then, the owners need to lower the 'sleeping policemen' which severely scraped the bottom of my car! This is your first introduction to the site and can 'colour' your opinion from the outset. I drive a Rover 75 which is not the lowest of vehicles and even without the caravan, these things still scraped irritatingly.

Secondly, the automatic lights turn off in the evening when you're in the shower leaving you in pitch blackness. Personally, I have no problem with stepping out of the shower and waving my arms about madly but my wife does not like doing this at all.

Finally, (and I hope I am fair and reasonable in my reviews) the pricing structure needs to be more obvious. For example, the website shows that prices start from 6. 50, which sounds very reasonable. However, one unit with no awning but with electric cost double that in April which was a price hike I could not entirely fathom.

Once those faults are ironed out, this little site does indeed have the potential to be a 'little gem', but we'd be happy to see the basics sorted out first. 


Previous     13 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Langford Bridge Caravan And Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Langford Bridge Caravan And Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Langford Bridge Caravan And Camping Park dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton St Cyres      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4136 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement