Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sunnymead Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Ilfracombe > Sunnymead Farm Reviews

Sunnymead Farm
Nr Woolacombe
Ilfracombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 8NZ
Tel: 01271 879845
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 33 Reviews
                8/10 from 33 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: N2adl 1 review from this member

Pleasant site with sea views.

Toilets and showers could do with some updating and often the paper hand towels had run out.

But that's being picky

Owners always ready to help and assist with local knowledge.

Very open, so may be an issue is the weather is windy, but great when we were there

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Convoy 3 reviews from this member

We had a very good week at this little gem of a campsite

It’s a well kept site and the owners were very helpful

The bus stops outside the gate just put your hand out to stop it

A very enjoyable week on a peaceful and quiet site

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mattyboy1 8 reviews from this member

Nice little site. Owner was pleasant and the toilets and showers were clean enough. The campsite is right on the main road to Woolacombe so slight background traffic noise but nothing that bothered me or disturbed my good nights sleep. Would return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gordoncoll123 1 review from this member

This was our first 'wet' stay at Sunnymead. It was our third stay in a row so that must tell you something about the place(or us). The people that run the place Peter and Sarah are the nicest couple you could wish to meet, helpful and always good for a chat and a laugh.

Woolacombe is within easy striking distance close but not too close to be a problem, an array of nice pubs and cafes is also close but not too close. A real bonus is the dark sky, you can see the Milky way properly and my mother n law was astonished at the stars she could see.

The facilities were consistently clean and tidy, this must have been a real struggle given the weather and the showers are great!

We will be back next year but if you could order some sun that would be the icing on the cake

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bflemington 1 review from this member

Remarkably friendly and helpful staff who made our stay very enjoyable. We loved the bridleway path that can lead to places such as Lee, Woolacombe and Ilfracombe with limited road-walking. The views are excellent and the on site horse and donkey are very friendly! The small on site shop was useful to have so close for essentials. The only problem we found was the dog that lives down the road leading from the vets. It was very unfriendly, barked and snarled, and frankly terrified my friend and I. We literally had to run away from it on a few occasions as the owner leaves all of the gates open. I spoke to the manager and he said he would follow it up (June 2017). Beside this, we had an excellent time and would definitely return!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Al Lal 1 review from this member

We first discovered this site a few years ago when we made the mistake of turning up at Woolacombe on an August bank holiday. Our (then) usual haunt was packed to the gunwales so we set off to look a little further afield.

As it was we didn't have to travel too far before we found this little gem.

It's run by two of the nicest people you'd want to meet and that are only too willing to help with whatever concerns you might have.

The site is small and we'll set out with plenty of power and water points.

It is easily accessed from the road connecting Woolacombe and Illfracombe and is virtually located at mid point between these two locations.

Someone described this site as lively. I thought I was reading a review for another site. Lively it is not. On the contrary, it is quiet retreat - despite any traffic noise during busy periods which dies to virtually nothing at night and in any case is well damped by the high Devonian wall separating the site from the road.

The ablutions are cleaned and serviced regularly and are of a good standard.

There's also a great little play area for youngsters in a position that is almost always in eyeline from any of the pitches.

There's access to a lovely coastal walk from just behind the toilet block. Make sure you have wellies or boots though if it's been one of those British summers.

There are pitches for tents, campers and caravans.

All in all, if you like small, quiet, comfortable, personable at a sensible price, you can't go wrong.

And, as Arnold Schwarzenegger said in 'The Terminator' 'Aye, that'll do for me'.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Clackster090 1 review from this member

Our first stay at Sunnymead Farm and we booked another stay on our departure today.

Lively site with all the facilities you need with camping.

Clean / tidy toilets and showers even with a separate family shower area.

Small shop at reception with lots of information on the local area.

Short drive down to the main Village which has a massive variety of small shops and bars.

Huge beach with separate side for dog owners and their pooches.

Great site in all highly recommended can't wait to return very soon.

Thank you for a fab stay, The Clacks ;-)

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pbrad39 3 reviews from this member

Another good holiday at a most pleasant site good too see the new statics are not encroaching on the camping field. Showers and toilets clean as last year. Baguettes every bit as good as last year. According t my daughter's we will be back next year. If your looking for a small family site then this is for you.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Koffeebreak 1 review from this member

Just back from a week in devon staying at Sunnymead camp site.

We arrived in the middle of the storm with very high winds, unfortunately we couldn't get our tent up and had to sleep that night in our van where we were at least warm dry and safe.

The site owner was extremely helpful and let us put all our camping equipment in a spare stable until the next day when we were able to get the tent up. He also lent us some tent poles.

We found this lovely little site to be very well situated for all local beaches and towns.

The road can be heard at times but in no way spoiled our peace.

The facilities were clean and adequate for our needs, we didn't ever have to wait for a shower or toilet.

Plenty of hot water.

Easy to find with good access.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mothergriff 4 reviews from this member

The site was easy to find, Owners were very friendly and the surrounding area was stunning. Unfortunately the washrooms/ showers and toilets were not cleaned often enough and there was only one female, one male and one family toilet for 30 pitches. The site is very close to a main and very busy road therefore very noisy. The children's play area seemed well built, there was a grass area in front of the pitches but too small for a game of football without annoying your neighbours. No café was seen, nor was it mentioned by the owners. In our opinion the site is well over priced for what you get as there is much better for less in the near vicinity. We sited our caravan here and toured the area by car.

Management response: We are sorry you had issues with your stay and wished you had spoken to us during your stay as we are always keen to ensure all our visitors have an enjoyable holiday and we try to do our upmost to make it so.

Our site is accessed from the B3343, the main road to Woolacombe and Morthoe, this can be busy at times but does have the advantage of not having to negotiate the very narrow lanes that surround the area especially when
towing.

Our facilities are checked and cleaned at least 4 times a day and all have signs asking for problems to be reported to reception, which we appreciate being told about when you are with us. We also actually have 5 toilets, 4
showers and a family shower room plus hot dish washing facilities all of which are free.

We offer takeaway food which can be delivered to your pitch; a menu is displayed outside and inside reception.

The centre of each of our 2 camping areas offer plenty of room for soft ball games so parents can watch from the comfort of their pitch.

We may not now be the cheapest site in the Woolacombe area but feel we do offer value for money, as the cheaper sites do not offer the facilities we do.

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4377 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019