Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Les Peneyrals

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Saint Crepin Et Carlucet > Camping Les Peneyrals > Reviews

Camping Les Peneyrals
Saint Crepin Carlucet
Saint Crepin Et Carlucet
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24590
Tel: +33 5 53 28 85 71
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 15/04/2022 to 15/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 12 Reviews
                10/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cat T 6 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this fabulous campsite - it's the best we've ever stayed at and we've been camping in France for the last 8 summers!

Pools - good variety, waterslides are fun, indoor pool perfect for cloudy/windy days, 2 outdoor pools - one is heated, one much cooler but is really refreshing on hot days and a great splash park for the littler ones.

Playground - a magnet for the kids, especially the inflatable pillow. Lots of space for games and hanging out with new friends

Washblocks - we've stayed in the lower part of the site both times and the washblocks are almost always spotless, toilet paper and soap provided too. Water for washing up is really hot, washing machines are great - cost about EUR 5 I think for a large load including the soap powder.

Pitches - generally a really good size, the pitches at the bottom are more private than those at the top. Nice mix of tents, caravans/campervans and mobile homes. Many people seem to book their pitch for the following summer before they leave and we've met a number of people who have been frequent visitors.

Entertainment - lots going on for all ages from kids clubs to dance lessons, walks, quiz nights, live bands, archery, petanque etc etc

Bar/restaurant - the food in the restaurant is very good quality, better than when we ate out in Sarlat! Ice creams and sorbets are delicious, take away pizzas are good and you can order a whole roast chicken with 24 hrs notice.

Shop - stocks the basics plus a new bakery opened this year giving more choice. Bought a gas refill here for almost the same price as the supermarket.

The staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable and genuinely seem to want you to have a great holiday, we've been made to feel very welcome on both of our visits here.

The campsite feels very well run, very safe and has incredible facilities for its size.

The surrounding area is beautiful, Sarlat is about a 10 minute drive plus there are canoe trips galore available on the river, paddle boarding (SUP Perigord), tree climbing (Monkey's Forest), inflatable water park (Etang de Tamnies is great for a fun afternoon out and much cheaper than an equivalent in the UK). We also went to Padirac caves (you need to pre-book) which was excellent.

Thoroughly recommend this campsite and the area 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dobboanddobbo 12 reviews from this member

 Overall really good site. We were given a complimentary drink of our choice on arrival then We were greeted by the owner who took me and the kids on his buggy (kids loved this) to our pitch while husband followed behind. He then asked us where we wanted to position the caravan and told us the direction of the sunset etc then helped us put the caravan in position. Great service after a long journey.

All staff were really helpful and gave good advice on the best places to visit.

The playpark is great for all ages and the pools were fantastic. The pitches are decent sizes and private which I liked but then I did feel it meant a lack of open space for the kids to ride their bikes and make new friends.

The location is fantastic, we visited a couple of caves etc plus Sarlat and absolutely loved going for a swim in the Dordogne. Its just a shame that there isn't a restaurant or bar etc off campsite within walking distance.

The toilets and showers are unisex which I hadn't realised when we booked and is something that personally I'm not keen on. They were cleaned regularly but unfortunately some of the toilets were left a mess by other users.

We had requested a fully serviced pitch with water and drainage and this was also discussed when we booked in. We thought that's what we had until someone took our hose of the tap and told us the tap was for 4 pitches. They had also requested the same as us. It did make me feel a little uncomfortable because I wondered if the other 2 pitches had thought we were just taking over!

We were there over a French bank holiday and the campsite celebrated with fireworks by the lake which the kids really enjoyed.

Decent on site shop for all essentials, Intermarche a few km away and then a huge Carrefour plus Lidl etc not far away in Sarlat.

Husband is a keen fisherman and says the fishing lake on site is good with some 10-20lb carps in. There is a large fishing lake nearby with much bigger fish in. My husband and son went night fishing there and it cost 20.

The site felt very secure but also relaxed and is dog friendly.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but the take away was good and the bar do the most amazing ice creams ever.

All in all a really good site and would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Beardsley 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed have just stayed one week in a 'Loggia' cabin.

Overall the campsite is very good. Rented accommodation is interspersed with pitches which makes the surroundings more attractive. The facilities are excellent.

The site is very hilly, just worth noting if you have young children longing to cycle around all day. The pool area is well presented varied, my only frustration was the (mainly English) holidaymakers reserving vast quantities of sun loungers and disappearing for hours on end. The lifeguards however were excellent and policed the area very well, you just need to ask them to create some space and off the towels go (to reception).

We would certainly return, for two weeks this time.

I agree with the other reviews, the location is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Newodyssee 6 reviews from this member

 An excellent campsite. Statics, caravans and tents well spread out with plenty of open space and countryside views. Superb pool facilities which never felt crowded despite the campsite being full. Generally able to get a sun lounger, plenty around. Good service at the restaurant, child friendly menu. Excellent evening entertainment and free activities during the day. Nice playground with a number of new table tennis tables and a bouncy pillow popular with kids. Reception staff friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bizley 1 review from this member

 Just back from an amazing 2 weeks camping at this fab campsite.

We've been to many French campsites over the years and this one was by far the best.

We were shown to our pitch, which was beautiful. Lots of sun and shade and as requested, not too near the bar but near enough to the toilet/shower block. Our booked fridge was ready and waiting and they even lent us a BBQ when we realised we'd left ours behind!

The pool complex was great. And the life guards were very friendly. I got a lounger every day. Only twice I had to wait for half an hour. Unfortunately, even though they're meant to remove towels from loungers if they've not been used for an hour, people still selfishly reserved themselves loungers for long periods of time.

The park was awesome. Our children, aged 8 and 11 said it was the best ever! Lots of sand surrounding the equipment, which they loved to build sandcastles in.

The mini golf was great fun and very well maintained.

The toilet and shower blocks were very nice and clean. I got a hot shower every day.

The bar area was lovely and the food was fantastic, if a little pricy.

We're not really a family that goes for the provided evening entertainment but there was something on every night. And from our pitch, it could barely been heard. Just how we like it.

The surrounding areas were beautiful. The nearest shop, pharmacy and tabac shop were only about a 7 minute drive away or 15 min drive to a huge Carrefour in Sarlat.

We went to a fab tree top trek that the campsite recommended and that was also only a 15 min drive away.

There were plenty of English children there, so our kids had no trouble making friends.

All in all, we loved it and will be going again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Minimoos 27 reviews from this member

 Great area - dordogne beautiful! We were disappointed with our tiny pitch for a 10 night stay so went to reception to ask to move. This clearly did not impress the owners and I waited for 1. 5 hours whiles she found a new pitch (next door?!). It was quite embarrassing not great service!

The campsite is huge with most of the pitches being a good size, the playgrounds were good and they holiday club very popular with kids. The pools were varied and plentiful, the slides a huge hit for older kids, it did seem to have a great range of facilities for kids. Shop well stocked and served lovely bread each morning. The village itself was tiny, but surrounding area well worth a visit esp Sarlat - wow! Castelnaud was incredible too and the weather was perfect. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Minnie1 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very clean. Lots of shade on touring and static pitches but some pitches have some or full sun if you ask when booking. Pool area is excellent. One with retractable roof which is very warm. Another which is also heated and open air and a third large pool that is lovely but refreshingly cold. There is also a separate pool with the water slides in which I found a bit nippy but the kids loved it. Always had at least 1 or 2 lifeguards on which were vigilant and did there job stopping any dangerous or annoying behaviour (there was very little of this on this site).

Playground the best I have seen with equipment for all ages children, very popular in the evenings. Table tennis tables, badminton, basketball court-all free and a tennis court for a fee. Wifi avail. 2 computers in reception 2 euros for half an hour on them. Didn't use restaurant but looked nice. Takeaway was good and quick. Kids club run by the site was good and friendly.

Shop a bit pricey and small but very friendly and nice baguettes. There is a huge carrefour about 10-15 mins away on way to Sarlat and a mcdonalds next to it along with cheap fuel. Mini golf is nice too. The site is very clean and most of the pitches are fairly private due to the clever planting. Quite hilly.

The showers and toilets all looked really good. The washing machines 5 euros with a wash tablet did wash very well. This site is in a lovely area very cose to Sarlat. There is a lovely sandy swimming beach on a lake a short drive away called etangs de tamnies - lovely.

The canoe trips on the Dordogne are a must the scenery is stunning.

Thoroughly recommend this well run site. All the staff I encountered were really polite and helpful. One afternoon my daughter ordered some frites at the bar. They then realised the takeaway was shut as the kitchen staff were preparing for a big fete that night on site (fireworks by the fishing lake)Instead of returning her money they cooked her some especially, fantastic service considering they weren't making much money out of a portion of frites. We can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Angie68 17 reviews from this member

 FANTASTIC!

A campsite that is working really hard to get everything right. We were given a welcome drink on the terrace overlooking pools when we arrived along with campsite info and local area booklets etc. We were then shown to a lovely partially shaded pitch. The touring pitches were well laid out amongst the trees and varied in sizes but all were generous, close to water and the sanitary blocks.

The Sanitary Block is the best we have ever found in France, lots of sinks, loos and showers all kept spotlessly clean by what appeared to be two full time ladies looking after the block. Great washing up and laundry facilities too.

One of the best things about this site was the prices at the bar and restaurant and for the extra facilities. Excellent house wine was just 1.50 euros for a decent sized glass. They terrace takeaway was also great value, with crocque monsoir 3 euros, frites 1.80 sausage 2.00, vegetables or salad 2.00 and Pizzas under 8.00 big enough to feed 3/4 at lunch time easily, it meant that a couple of drinks and lunch for 3 people and an ice cream for our daughter came in at under 20 euros.Bargain! Set price evening menus were a bit pricey but you could just order single items making it great value.

Huge playpark with loads and I mean loads for children of all ages. Table tennis, pool, badminton, vollyball areas too. We played the 18 hole mini golf one hot afternoon (lovely and shaded under a canopy of trees) it was 6.90 euros for three of us. We also booked a Canoe trip via the campsite reception and got 10% discount. We did the trip from Vitrak to Castlenord (12km) which was an amazing experience. Suitable for everyone from say 5 upwards its not at all hard work (no fitness required). We stopped our canoe on one of the may tiny beaches along the way and shared a picnic lunch with views that were unreal. At the end you get bussed back to your vehicle included in the cost of just 12 euros per adult half price for under 10's.

Lastly great pool complex, not as big in the flesh as it appears on the brochure but none the less it was plenty big enough with three main pools, one baby pool and a separate waterslide pool. Unfortunately the age old problem of people putting towels on sunbeds at the crack of dawn and then only using them for an hour late afternoon seemed rife when we first arrived making it not always easy to find somewhere to sit however the campsite were quick to put up a notice saying any towels left on chairs not occupied for over would be removed to the lifeguards station for collection - helped a bit but still some serial offenders (shame on you!) Pools opened 9am to 9pm which was excellent.

We will most certainly visit again hopefully next year and will stay for as long as we can, five nights was not nearly enough with so much to see and do not just on site but in the whole area.

10/10 Les Peneyrals - perfect hosts - perfect location, right balance of peace and quiet and activities - a site that will be setting the benchmark for our future trips.  


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidandkim 10 reviews from this member

 When we checked out after two weeks I could not believe how low was the bill. Fantastic value for money.

Superbly clean toilet blocks. There were facilities for disabled and even a doggy-bath. Friendly welcome with free drinks and bottle of wine at check-out. Superb restaurants on site with excellent staff - they also did high standard of takeaways but prices very reasonable.

There were three heated pools one indoors. Stacks of places to visit and we were also able to use our bikes a lot. They had good size and very private plots with water and electric supply. There is an excellent shop too.

Just one problem. There is a sports field close by and to our surprise on two nights drunken local yobs held noisy celebs there for two nights going on until 6 am.

Otherwise this was the very best campsite upon which we have ever stayed. Would definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sparkyhx 2 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fantastic site. We spent two weeks there in August 2008. And we rebooked for 2009 before we left. We were even allowed to name our pitch.

The pitches are level, individual and shielded by hedges. The toilet / shower block was clean. As someone has said the hot water can run out but it was never 'cold'.

I would say that some of the pitches can be a fair distance from the main showers / toilets. There are others, but we never saw these.

There is quite a lot of shade in most places - which is great to keep the tent cool but not so good if you are drying towels or if you wake up with a lot of 'condensation'

We had serious rain one night which came up through our breathable groundsheet and the site lent us a 'plastic groundsheet'. See below about the staff.

The pool facilities are excellent, but can get busy at times but not unpleasantly so. There were 3/4 pools, one headed and 'covered' two outdoor and one small kiddies one and then here are the slides as well.

The rest of the facilities are top notch, table tennis, tennis, archery, pool etc etc. You can arrange 'Segway tours' and 'quadbike tours' and other things with outside providers.

The staff right down from the owner to the waitresses and bar staff were a credit, all friendly and attentive. So much so we complemented them as we left.

The food in the restaurant is fairly standard faire, if a little more expensive than the outside world, but then it did come with some entertainment every night. Entertainment generally finished around midnight so if you are upset by such noise and go to bed early then maybe its not for you. We had two kids and the noise didn't bother us but we were down in the valley.

The shop was ok, but was quite expensive, but did have fresh bread and croissants every morning.

The region is lovely and immensely interesting with the constant presence of the river, beautiful old towns clinging to cliffs, and the pervasive prehistory dotted around the whole region.

We spent one day going round many of the other sites we had considered booking and none of them had the range of facilities or the pitch sizes of Peneyrals.

On many evenings we sat drinking wine outside the tent watching the bats flying around and listening to the rustle of leaves mainly caused by the huge number of hedgehogs, I even found two mating under the table just inches from my feet, they make a heck of a noise!

Fantastic place you will not be disappointed. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Les Peneyrals child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Les Peneyrals have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Les Peneyrals?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Les Peneyrals dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Saint Crepin Et Carlucet      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2927 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement