Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pigeon Cottage

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Lincolnshire > North Somercotes > Pigeon Cottage Reviews

Pigeon Cottage
Pigeon Cottage
Conisholme Road
North Somercotes
Lincolnshire   (Browse area)
LN11 7PS
Tel: 01507 359063
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 15
Open: 1st April To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 19 Reviews
                8/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Philz55 12 reviews from this member

A warm welcome from Rik greeted us on our weekend fishing trip. The site is small but friendly with good facilities. The on site accommodation provides a pleasant dining room for caravanners and campers to enjoy a nice cooked breakfast with fruit juice cereal and toast. Toilets and showers are clean with plenty of free hot water. In North Somercotes village you will find two pubs 3 takeaways and a couple of shops. The fishing is excellent and Rik is as passionate about you catching fish as he is about his own angling. A nice touch is the visit to take your order at lunchtime for sandwiches, drinks ect. If you are looking for a great value small quiet site this is the one to choose. I will certainly be returning we had a fantastic time.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark laidler 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 4 nights particularly because of its location so that we could attend Cleethorpes airshow & to explore the coastline. The owners are friendly & helpful, the facilities were adequate & clean, we had no problems whatsoever. Our 3 boys had a great time around the site although busy when we arrived for 2 nights we were virtually the only ones on site apart from a few day fishermen. The local village a short walk away has great facilities well stocked local shops, Pubs, & great takeaways, particularly the new pizza shop, which had only been open 3 weeks. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davidhere1 5 reviews from this member

Pigeon cottage was a small flat field with two fishing lakes a basic camp site with clean shower toilets, I think the design of the showers in the block could have been better basically only one shower could be used if you preferred your privacy. Not much to do if you fancied a drink when I visited as the two pubs in the village were close One been refurbished this been the nearest but looks promising and the other limited opening times. No play ground or anything for children but as the site has only a limited number of pitches for tents and motor homes I feel this acceptable. There was food available at the site breakfast if you ordered it the night before and a couple of local takeaways the nearest been the Fourways just down the road at the pub been refurbished so potential for a few pints and a take away if that's what your looking for. I think pigeon cottage is overpriced for location.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buckingham30 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at this site.

The east Lincolnshire roads are not the best and it took much longer to get here, but it was worth it in the end. Very quiet site. Small and basic, but that adds to the charm. Good for children if they like playing among nature etc, but no specific play facilities. Just a couple of options for dog walking (carefully round the fishing lakes) but more further afield.

With regard to the shower issue in the ladies, it is possible to lock the outer door and the disabled wc can be made use of by another person. Used our own facilities in the caravan for washing up, but would be better to have dedicated washing up sink (if only for those in tents) rather than using the toilet block.

Several takeaways, pubs and shops in the village nearby (site is right at the western end of the village).

Donna Nook Nature Reserve short drive away. The sea is also a short drive away somewhere

Went to visit a relative at Sutton on Sea and that is worth a visit; nice little low-key resort suitable for families with small children and people over 50 and dogs.

Would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

My husband and I have just returned from a very enjoyable 2 nights here. We were met by the owner and he was very helpful. Got set up and off the hubby went fishing. I went over an hour later and he had a good few fish! (Happy hubby). Site was nice and clean we didn't need power so was able to park where we wanted. Facilities were clean but basic, would have felt better with a lock on the ladies shower door, did mention this to the site owner and he is looking at possibilities also a washing up area would have been nice. We will be going back here as the fishing was really good, site really pleasant, amenities were close by although we didn't use them.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hmiles 9 reviews from this member

Just had a very enjoyable couple of nights here. The tent was attacked by some heavy gusts of wind (Don't know if this is normal for the area as never camped here before) but will return as the owners were very friendly and helpful.

Had a short unsuccessful fishing session but am sure this was down to me and not that the lakes aren't well stocked.

One point to note there are two showers per gender which were warm and had a reasonable flow but are only separated by shower curtains and could cause a slight privacy problem if showering with a stranger.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Goldie10 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic holiday once again. Could not ask for better owners, so friendly, they make you feel so welcome to pigeon cottage. Very peaceful and relaxing loads of space for kids to play.

Fishing good as ever, kids loved it. Well worth the day ticket price, £5. 00 for adult or child, to say you can fish from dawn till 8pm.

Clean showers and toilets with plenty of hot water.

The shops and takeaways are a five minute drive from the site.

We are looking forward to staying here again on our next holiday.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nikki260863 1 review from this member

We found pigeon cottage a small family run site very friendly, helpful and well cared for. We loved the 2 lakes for fishing, our 13yr old son has found a hobby for life, thanks to the friendly fishermen who helped him.

It was idyllic to just sit and listen to the birds especially the cuckoo. There are some lovely country walks locally. Ideally placed between Cleethorpes and Mablethorpe for more livelier days out. There is a chip/pizza, chinese takeaway, and a lovely Indian take away/restaurant. There are 2 local shops that supply all your needs.

The toilet/shower block is very basic and would be better if there were individual lockable shower cubical, s in the ladies. Although they were very clean at all times. Also separate pot washing facilities would be nice. We will definitely be going again as the price is very reasonable.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jim07 2 reviews from this member

Had a nice stay here, the site is nice, but the owners where very off with us. I went to the wrong door trying to take my son to the toilet and boy did the site owner let me know about it. Then he came over and said why didnít you come and see us to pay. We said we did not know where to go; again the site owner let us know about it! speaking to us with his very sarcastic attitude - perhaps a sign saying please come to the house would be good as no clear reception area displayed as you arrive, so when you have been driving for four hours you know what to do.

Lovely site, not much to look at but clean toilets etc, but very let down by reading how nice the owners are on these reviews, to go and be spoken to like a five year old.

The fishing looked good but I asked if I could take my son down for an hour with his little telescopic rod and we were told we had to pay full adult day rate, a little disappointing given he is only seven and we were camping there.

A nice place but nothing for kids to do

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Monny 1 review from this member

Very friendly owners, very quiet site walking distance to shops and a pub that serves good food and a nice pint. Two showers (didn't use though) only one toilet each for men and one for women plus disabled toilet. Mostly used by weekend fishermen but that didn't bother us, they were out all day by the two lakes. Site within easy reach of Cleethorpes and Mablethorpe, but only two miles from the sea (but didn't see what that was like) Grass a little disappointing but overall a very nice site. Enjoyed our stay.

Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lincolnshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019